paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray

Brass Eagle Stingray Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Stingray

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Stingray
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 476
Average Rating: 6.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Stingray has a lightweight all plastic design featuring removable aluminum barrel,rear dove-tail sight, and an asa adapter which accepts constant air tanks.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Stingray is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (48):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
conyers Sunday, February 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
talon, winchester
Marker Setup: 14 inch tru flight barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Definitely a barrell, it makes more than 100% difference in performance
Strengths: Great beginner gun
Weaknesses: Not sure what to say here. for those who know paintball, its a stingray
Review: This was the first gun i ever owned and used. It was purple which was interesting as far as field comments go. As i said, i consider this a great gun for a beginner. it does what it needs to and in many cases it does it reliably, though there are some out there that kinda suck. If your gonna use it, you have to get a barrel for it. I started out with it and to say the best of my skills, i sucked. Might have gotten 2 kills at the most. Then i bought that barrel and my game improved in vast amounts. It doesnt increase accuracy as the stock stingray doesnt have any. The barrel will enable you to hit things you shoot at. One thing that might be considered a weakness of the gun is that its made of plastic. however, its pretty durable for a plastic gun. itll take some beating to break it. I cant really say its a gas hog nor is it efficient as all stingrays vary i have found. Also it isnt a high maitnence gun which is good for beginners. It doesnt have a high rate of fire (maybe 5 at most if you can pull really hard and fast). but then again, how many beginners go out blazing. The tank connects to the gun differently than anyother guns, short of some similar BE's. I kind of like the long setup with the tank and barrel. It gvies you somethin to mount on the shoulder. It makes a good backup gun for woods ball. In my case, we sometimes let younger kids and friends come in and play. This gun is great for loaning to someone to play with. You know it will work for their puposes and wont be a disaster if it breaks.
Conclusion: In conclusion let me say i dont think i would have ever paid 90 dollars for this gun even brand new years ago. But you can find them pretty cheap today and they make awesome beginner guns. No, its not a brilliant piece of machinery or in any way comparable to most other guns. Im gonna give it a seven based on the numerous stingrays ive used and as use for beginner gun. Thats important for you reading this and who may disagree. A beginner gun. It got me into a sport i really love.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 24th, 2005 at 9:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

laneiac Tuesday, January 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Anything from Spyders and Tippys to Cockers and Angels.
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine- 12v revy, HPA, Palmers Reg, J&J Ceramic Barrel, CP Drop, CIP Sweet Spot Trigger, 50g Switch, DYE 3's, Bandit Bolt
04 Vert Cocker- Freak Barrel, HPA, Empire Reloader B, E blade, Macdev Reg, CP Drop Dye 3's
Trilogy Sport- HPA, DYE Xcel Barrel, WGP Double Trigger Frame, Prostock Reg, 12v Revy, System X Drop, DYE 3's, JAM Bolt
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Anti Siphon CO2 or HPA
Polish up those internals
Acrylic Ball Detent
Better Hopper (Like a VL200)
MAINTENANCE MAINTENANCE MAINTENANCE
Strengths: Cheap
Strong
Great Beginner Marker
Easy to clean/repair
Weaknesses: Factory ball detent eats up bolt
Trigger pull a little hard

Review: Great gun for a beginner, easy to work on though the pins make it a little difficult to strip down quickly. With a few upgrades this gun can easily compete with lower end Spyders. Brass Eagle has recieved a lot of bad press about this gun, but I feel that it performs great for what it is (now all those non-believers do to after I marked their Cocker toting rear ends with this "cheap, plastic piece of junk").
Conclusion: Good gun for cheap, easy to find on ebay for ten bucks. If your just starting out, or want to build a fleet of guns for you and friends to use on ocassion, this is a great gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thehornetsteam Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra
Marker Setup: 9oz, VL 200
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel
Strengths: -Accurate
-Doesn't chop balls
-Scary sounding
-Good sniper gun
-Cheap
Weaknesses: plastic
loud
hard to cock
eats Co2 alive
Review: this gun is a very good entry level gun but if you want to play speedball you need something with faster response. this gun if you are a sniper like me is ideal with a silencer but if you are up front where the action is than leave it as is. I would suggest a new barrel though (stock barrels stink anyway).
Conclusion: Overall this is a very reliable gun. Because you could throw it on the ground and it still last. (not recomended)
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BubelTLM Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder IMAGINE, Tippman 98, A-5, among others...
Marker Setup: Stringray Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer Barrel w/ holes, Bigger Hopper, 9 oz. air or higher for maximum velocity.
Strengths: Performs great after fine-tuning and proper maintenance.
Weaknesses: Out-of-the-box is inaccurate, bad range unless high air pressure used.
Review: Ok, so I see a lot of different reviews and post about the adv/disadv of owning a Stringray. I'll say that the 'Ray was my first gun, and I've played with it up until now, and I don't plan on stopping unless a win a million dollars...then I'll just upgrade the thing.
When you buy a Stingray, first thing you need to do: strip it (be sure you know how), and oil every joint that has no lubrication. Then, go out and PRACTICE shooting it. The more you shoot and the more you fine-tune the velocity, the more accurate it's going to be. If you pull it out of the box into a game you're going to be disappointed. After every session (day of playing), clean it the way you should every marker. After about every 5 sessions strip it and clean out the housing, it gets messy. Lube everything with a clear oil (like you lube parts for lawn equipment), not grease, to keep it working and it won't fail you. Keep it out of humidity! A lot of posts are talking about the indent ball rusting...it won't happen if you clean it before storing it in a cool, dry place!
There's the advice, here's my opinion of playing with it. I've played with it for a long time, it's old but trusty. I've tuned it to be the most accurate gun I've played with. The only problem is, when I use the small gram air canisters, I usually find myself on the front lines because that's the only way I'm gonna hit effectively. But it lands where I aim. Also, it's a great gun to root out opponents from bases because if you need it to shoot short-range when it counts, (such as 3 players not knowing you're flanking them) it won't fail you. In the five+ years I've owned it, I had an o-ring break before my game last week, luckily I came prepared and fixed it easily. A lot of players have been impressed with the work the Stingray has pulled off during tense games.
Conclusion: Upgrade the barrel and air tank, spend some time adjusting speed, calibrating the aim, and getting used to it. Holed barrels reduce sound, longer ones will help your accuracy even more. I've found great success with mine, and with proper maintenance and care, you should too.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Razorpaintbalor Thursday, January 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom
A-5
Talon(only fun when everyone has one for backyard use)
Spyder Victor
Marker Setup: 98 Custom
Response Trigger
14in. Teardrop barrel
Adco Hot Shot Red dot sight
*Empire reloader coming soon*
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new gun, I rather throw paintballs than use this gun.
Strengths: Cheap
Gets people into the sport
Weaknesses: Everything:
accuracy
rof
and so much more read review.
Review: First of all I know how some of you guys only have a walmart. But please walmart carrys better guns than this. I even see know Walmart has the 98 power pack.Well this was my first gun even know it didnt even last long enough to even play a game with. So it opened my eyes to this great sport(BMX still rules though).So i put in my 9 ounce tank shot some targets and it was extremely inaccurate. First of all you don't even screw in the barrel it just has two prongs to hold them in, the barrel wiggles. So I said atleast i got it for cheap. So next time I went target shooting I screwed in the tank and the cocking bolt flew 15 feet.So after an hour of looking for the bolt i put the tank back in and realized it required alot of force, then Co2 started spraying everywhere. After all the co2 was let out and took the tank out the threadings were all stripped.By the way it wasnt me or the tank cause i know how to put a tank in and i still use that tank sometimes. So with my broken stingray gun I took it to the pb shop to get it fixed but he said basically "its no good" and even this 70 something year old man who has been playing since pb started couldn't fix it.So I saved my cash after testing my cousin's a-5 with response and said Im getting a Tippmann. And so I bought the 98 custom with factory installed response and its incredible. And you can upgrade anything for the gun. Only difference with a-5, is the a-5 has basically an agitated loader built in the gun which runs on c02 instead of batteries.But tippmann or if you cant afford that get a Victor for 70 bucks.
Conclusion: Dont buy it. I know that a lot of people's only source of paintball shop is walmart but even walmarts are selling tippmanns now so don't buy this.I heard the Spyder Victor is pretty good and could be found for $70 at mcsports so if your low on the dough get that over this it might be 20 bucks more but it makes alot of difference and they actually work.But if you have $140 go with the 98 custom anything you dislike about it can be "customized" to what you want it to do. Only reason im giving it a three is cause it gets people into the sport which is good.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

§tevospb Tuesday, December 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Not many markers are like this one
Marker Setup: Spyder Aggressor XT with VL200 hopper and 9oz tank, new barrel on the way
Recommended
Upgrades:
polish internals, barrel, foregrip, trigger mod, bottomline, new bolt
Strengths: Strong, Reliable(Can get the crap beat out of it and still work), Modifiable
Weaknesses: no accuracy(stock barrel), loud, CO2 in awkward place
Review: I was given this this marker from a friend for free and immediately began modifing it. If you do some of the basic mods, buy a new barrel(which are very hard to find except on Ebay), get a bottomline, and put in a rear cocking kit; you'll have a pretty good marker. Ya I know it's alot of work, but it all evens out in the end. This marker is NOT for newbies unless they were dumb like me and just wanted it. I use my modified one as a secondary gun and it works great if you know every single part on it. Go ball and automaggot today!
Conclusion: Great marker for the tinker or advanced player, but NOT for newbies. Not a bad marker as it will go and go forever and the parts cost nothing to replace.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

KoncreteAngel Thursday, December 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI E-force ext 2k4, autococker 2k1, impulse
Marker Setup: Blue black fade Piranha E-Force EXT Pro 2k4
12v Empire Reloader 2
12oz co2
All stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel didnt help at all
Strengths: -Cheap
-Extra gun for friend
-throw this thing on concrete and it will be fine.
Weaknesses: -Inaccurate
-Holy crap its loud
-Breaks o-rings easily
-slooow rof
-Get laughed at
Review: My first paintball marker. After about 1 hour of play on my first day, it started to leak co2. It busted an o-ring after only 20-30 shots! I had played about 8-9 rounds, and many rounds I didn't even fire a single shot, and it still broke a brand new o-ring. Every time you fire it makes a very loud ping sound, almost like you took a thin metal piece and hit it against another thin metal piece. Rate of fire is a joke, 3-4bps is the max you will get out of this thing. My friend had a 12 inch stingray sniper barrel lying around. Took my old 8 inch barrel off(it was loose as hell, plastic pins hold it together), put the 12 inch on, and had no improvement in accuracy. After about 2 months of using this thing I bought a used autococker 2k1 for 200 bucks, and gave the stingray to my friend a few houses away for free. Really, it was that crappy. Amazingly, 2 1/2 years later, the gun still works after many of my friends playing a total of about 30 hours with it. It has broken about 7-8 o-rings, but it still works. Thats why I give it a 6 for lasting all that time. Its really useful for friends that don't have guns.
Conclusion: If you can handle the laughs, the inaccuracy, and o-rings busting, its actually a pretty decent buy for 50 bucks. Use marker oil it to keep it running smooth. But its best just to buy a better gun online.
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 23rd, 2004 at 10:38 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mr.z fury Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Rain maker with alot of mod's
Recommended
Upgrades:
Just leave it stock
Strengths: Cheap good for new people .
Weaknesses: Plastic
Review: Sting ray is a good marker but there are better but it it shot's like a tippmann but not as Fast but still a good marker for new poeple but it's a good sniper gun . but i would Probly just buy a tippmann but i like the sting ray because it's cheap and loud .

You can get these about 20 buck used .

I gave 5 cent's for mine used but i had to buy a barrel .

Make sure you oil it alot .
Conclusion: Cheap buy it for a freind .
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, December 14th, 2004 at 8:50 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

play ball Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
zap, tippman 98
Marker Setup: Stingray, BE custom barrel, remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
The penny trick, VENTURI BOLT, LONGER BARREL (get those, it increases accuracy dramatically), remote or bottomline, red dot sight, do what you want
Strengths: -Very upgradeable
-Accurate when tricked out
-Can look a lot like a rifle
-Cheap
Weaknesses: -CO2 tank decreases accessibility to get sight
-Needs to be oiled a lot
Review: I personally love my ray, get a venturi bolt and a longer barrel, that will increase accuracy insanely. the stingray was built for newbs, but is good enough to be used by pros, I'm always gonna have my ray and ill always love it. you always have to oil it to keep it in good shape, beautiful gun and would recmonend it to any one.
Conclusion: Get the gun, itll never let you down, as long as you have the skill to use it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hacker947 Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
my tippmann 98 custom with ups
The dragun
Marker Setup: Black Dragunfly Mech., black magic reg, A+ autococker bolt, Halo tsa backman, 68/4500 centerflag w/ hyperflow, Dye stickies, and 14" J&J cermic
Recommended
Upgrades:
too many
Strengths: It is build strong
cheapish
Weaknesses: Loud
doesnt shoot very straight
almost impossible to cock
Review: This was my first marker and i bought it ( I actually got a stingray 2) at walmart. It started me out in paintball but when i played a few other kids i couldnt get close enough to hit them because of the swerve on the ball. but it never broke except for the hopper. When I was dueling with a friend he put 2 shots right through the hopper and i had to get a new one but that wasnt bad. I am now 15 and i can still barley cock it but it has been sitting in my room for about 3 years.
Conclusion: It's good it ur just starting paintball and need something that will work every time
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 5th, 2004 at 5:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (48):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media