paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray / Brass Eagle Stingray

Brass Eagle Stingray Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Brass Eagle

Buy Brass Eagle Stingray

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Brass Eagle Stingray
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 476
Average Rating: 6.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Stingray has a lightweight all plastic design featuring removable aluminum barrel,rear dove-tail sight, and an asa adapter which accepts constant air tanks.
Product Availability 
The Brass Eagle Stingray is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (48):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
ZacHx Thursday, December 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BE Talon
Marker Setup: Syndicate Gear Paradox Electro marker
Phat Pipe barrel
Viewloader revy hopper
Fuel 12 oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Cheap
Durable
Good starter gun
Air efficient
Weaknesses: Limited upgrades
Review: I myself don't own one of these guns, but one of my friends owns a purple Stingray 2 (The picture above is of the 2, I believe, so I'm writing about it). This gun was found for around 15 dollars. For the price, I would have bought it, as well. It has no real problems other than that sometimes the handle will fall off, but this is reperable. Just tape it back on for a quick fix. This gun got my friend into the game with a small rate of success, but after he purchased a new barrel, he became a real force to reckon with. The gun was transformed into some purple beast of doom. It shoots rather nicely, especially with the new barrel. Also, his 9 oz. co2 tank has no problem providing enough air for a full day's play. If you can find one of these for a lower price and are just starting out, I would suggest buying it. If you can afford a better gun, go for it, as there are no real upgrades available for the Stingray other than the barrels.
Conclusion: I would say that this weapon is good for its position. It is only a low-end gun, so people should stop reviewing it as a top grade electronic marker. For some poor kid, this would be a great marker to start out with.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

knockout350 Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
icon z
Marker Setup: icon z
20oz tank
whisper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not much
Strengths: Reliability acuracy
Weaknesses: Nothing
Review: This gun was my beginer gun and i still use it as a back up gun and i have not had to replace anything yet. I think its actuly a realy good gun and it has served me realy well.sry for the crap that follows but there is a 50 word minamum to this part.
Conclusion: I realy thik its a good gun and if ur looking for a beginer gun that will last a wile buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Luscious Thursday, November 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing really. not saying its a bad gun, but theres nothing like it.
Marker Setup: Changing soon, right now, nothing too special
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe an expansion chamber, but thats about it.
Strengths: Cheap, somewhat reliable, shoots ok, easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Plastic
loud
BE stigma
not so good barrel
Review: Well, In about 99, I started paintball with this marker. Back then this was the hottest thing on my block. I thought i was soooo cool with my Stingray. I bet weve all been there at some point (we think ours is soo cool, when the opposite is true) But its lasted me 5 years, and has been in mud, under water, dropped 10 feet, and still worked. Maybe this was the special exception, because this BE gun was good. But my marker has lasted, and with a little work, its been trukin on. Dont flame me for this, you silly people, but i love this gun, even when i have over 500 in my other guns. Sometimes i even use it as my main marker. I may be crazy, but its a good gun, for both beginners and those who want a little bit of a challange against angels and cockers.
Conclusion: Well, like i said, there are many obvious drawbacks to this marker, but it still fires paintballs in the general direction that i want them to go, and thats all I need, but i dont know about any of you guys. Im giving it a seven, 2 for the actual marker, and 5 for every year its lasted me (just kidding)
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mike108 Saturday, October 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo,VL Prodigy,PMI Piranha GTI e-force
Marker Setup: Use the rodeo right now, good gun I like it came with a 12" barrel not a bad size I got a 14" because I don't play in small places. Use a PMI hopper on it
Recommended
Upgrades:
Longer barrel
Strengths: Its intimidating, sounds like shotgun. It was pretty accurate for having a short barrel.
Weaknesses: Hard to work on and take apart.
Review: Everyone was scaryed of it. Mostly becuase it sounded like a shot gun when I shot. So when I did shot it everyone turn and ran the other way becuase they thought someone had a real gun out their. It was pretty funny. The gun lasted a little while after about a year it just wouldn't recognizer that their was CO2 in their and would just decock itself.
Conclusion: I can't rate this gun verry becuase it just to hard to try and take apart and clean and fix things and then try and put back together. Its like brasseagle wants you to jsut go out and but another gun. Even new springs and o-rings are about half what the gun is worth. So I give it a 2. Mostly for sounding cool.
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

dude14 Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader orion- alot better
Spyder victor- alot better
any cheap dragun, spyder, or viewloader- alot better
Marker Setup: Stingray
Lapco stingray to spyder barrel adapter
14" PMI razzor
acrylic ball detent
starfire bolt
4*32 scope
custom internal porting
custom enhaced feed neck
filled grip
new sear assembly
polished internals
9oz. co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
uh, most important upgrade would be the ball detent
then the bolt
then the barrel
and so on and so on
Strengths: VERY upgradable
ultra reliable
powerful
Weaknesses: Horribly pitiful stock
loud
gas hog
only operates on high pressure
Review: ok, this is the review on the BE stingray, one of the most underrated guns out there. This one isnt by a dumb newb or just a brass eagle flamer thats used this gun once or "only tested" it. hah, aight, well here we go. IF YOU PAY ATTENTION TO ANY OF THESE REVIEWS, PLEASE PLEASE PAY ATTENTION TO THIS ONE!!!

This gun is very very horribly pitiful when you use it stock. Its extremely loud, it breaks balls constantly, and the accuracy is sad. So people that use this gun stock, yes, i agree, it deserves about a 2 out of 10 becuase it does work and it does shoot paintballs. The only good thing about this gun when it is stock is that it is really reliable. I bought my ray' used from my sisters X bf. then it was about 2-3 years old. that was 3 years ago. It was my first semi-auto, and i was so proud of it, despite the fact that it chopped about 1 outa 10 balls, it sounded like a cannon, and it ate gas like fat people eat their chunky soup. I never oiled it or cleaned it, and it had paint encrusted on the bolt, in the barrel, and the thing hadn' t ever been taken apart and cleaned. It still worked fine though, well the gun assembly. It cocked back EVERY time except when it ran out of gas ( I dont think you can find another blowback these days that will do that), and i never had problems with it besides the ball breakage and horrible accuracy.

Well, then the gun's glory faded when my friend bought a victor. That thing made the ray look like crap. I was embarrassed, but i still played with it for a while, until i lost the last barrel pull pin. I used that as an excuse to buy my orion ( an awesome gun by the way), and i used that for a little over a year. My ray sat in the closet and grew mold and got rusty. Well, i began lookin at stuff on ebay, and i typed in stingray paintball one day to see how cheap you could buy a stingray for. Thats when i saw all the upgrades and stuff, and then i discoverd www.stinggroup.addr/. That sight tells you every thing about stingrays and stuff, and thats where i learned it could be a decent gun.

Well, i ordered a starfire bolt, an acrylic ball detent, some new pull pins, and the detent cap, spring, and pin( all that stuff had fallen out), and installed the parts. Well, i guess you could say this is a whole new gun. It breaks about 1 outa 400 balls ( bad to some people, but good enough if you have a playin style like me), the range is unbeleivable, and it's accuracy is amazing. If you got it on some kind of gun rest and fired it 10 times at a 6 inch square peice of plywood, i guarantee you would hit it each time. It's still a gashog though, and it only has that amazing range if u use a 9 ounce or a 12 ounce. It operates on high pressure i guess. It can get about 500 shots off a 9 ounce, but the last 100 shots dont have the really good range, but still decent range.

Well, this gun looks absolutely amazing. With the big scope i got on there and the Realtree camoflauge paintjob i got on there, it looks absolute pimp. Its also very unique, u dont see many stingrays these days. All the newbs have some kind of spyder clones, and every body else has tippmans or cockers or somethin like that if they play tourneys. The thing is about 3 feet long total with the 14" barrel on there. O yea, and the barrel adapter and porter barrel make a big difference. I'd put a PMI razzor( what i have) or a progressive or teardrop on there. Or you could take a chance and buy one made for stingrays from ebay. some are good, some arent. but yea....

Well, thats about it. This gun is sadly pitiful and an embarrassment to the Brass Eagle name when you buy it stock, but if you spend a little time and money on it, not to mention a little love, it can be great. My stingray setup probably cost me, uhh, bout 80$. Thats with co2 and everything. 20$ or less for gun ( ebay), $14.50 for starfire and ball detent ( ebay), 9 ounce co2 bout $16, and razzor ($30), barrel adapter ( $20) itsa rip off kinda but i guess the adapters worth it.

mmmk... this gun is great for anybody that likes to tinker. The PLASTIC body that people like to make fun of can be drilled into easily, and you can put all kindsa stuff into it. The gun itself with teh cheap upgrades shoots great. I love my ray, and i proudly STING with honor.
Conclusion: ok, well this is a good gun if you upgrade it. If you have a stock one that you hate and want to burn and blow up, just go to ebay, look up stingray paintball, and buy the starfire bolt w/ the acrylic ball detent. only bout 15$ total with shipping. It will make a world of difference. My ray shoots so unbeleivably far and accurate, and i love the thing. So people that dont want to work on a gun, then leave this thing alone. People that have any brains and can look on the internet and figure out how to fix things, this would be an ok gun. When you upgrade it, the only bad things are the kinda loudness and 500 shots off a 9 ounce. well, thats bout it. Stock, this thing could get a 4. Upgraded, bout a 9. So 6.5 average, plus 1 for the unreal range this thing can produce, 7.5. I'll round it up cause this gun deserves a better rating.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 27th, 2005 at 6:07 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

YoBoneDaddy Sunday, October 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 (Similar cause it shoots paint)
GameFace Bone Daddy (Ditto)
Squirt gun (Also light and made of plastic)
Marker Setup: 2001 GameFace BoneDaddy
- 14" CP 1 Piece Classic
- Ricochet G2K
- 32° 4 Stage X-Chamber
- Pmi Bottom line
- Anti-siphoned 12 Oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Don't bother
Strengths: - Light
- Quiet
- Okay at close quarters
Weaknesses: - Chops
- 3" Barrel
- Range
- Accuracy
Review: Whoa! Okay I feel the need to write this review for the sake of the new users out there. Brass Eagle owners I have no beef with you I just wanna relay my experience. Obviously I have my own marker. I love it, 'nough said. I went out to the local field yesterday to play some paintball. Between kickin' a$$ and taking names I found some time to have sympathy for the poor people forced to use the BE Stingray. By the lunch break every single one of them had a slimy layer of green paint oozing out of their stubby little barrels. I would stand in front of some players facing 6 or 7 guys with these guns. They were trying their damnedest to hit me but I'd just line them up and *pop* *pop* they're done. Not just because I was a better shot but because they couldn't reach me. I got a look at one of these things up close and was blown away by the permanant 3" stock barrel. These were rentals at the local field so it's kind of tough to judge a gun based on a rental but I've never seen anything work this poorly. Just figured I'd warn people.
Conclusion: The price on a new Stingray online is like 15 bucks more than my Bone Daddy. Whoa. You can pick these up for dirt cheap on Ebay for less than 20. If you want a gun to have some fun with in your back yard go ahead. But don't bring one of these things to a paintball field and hope to compete. I'm giving it a 4 because I believe for the price it's way below average. I'd rate it lower but it was a rental.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PhearMike Friday, October 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
This is a "classic" nothing compares.
Some kind of pirahna (semi)
Marker Setup: Tippman a-5, hpa, lpk, e-grip, freak barrel kit, and jcs duel trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
i like it stock.
Strengths: Fun to play with...
Weaknesses: -Loud
-You call that a barrel
-Heavy trigger
Review: This was my first gun. My friends were like umm.. you wanna go paintballin' with us. I was like dont have a gun. They said well get the $100 bill in your pocket and lets go to wally world. I was kool bought the gun, mask, co2, hopper, and balls for under $100. Still had money to get the field fee too. This gun is great for the beginner, you cant beat the price of $50 for a semi. It shoots accurately enough, fast enough. Cheap enough that you won't kick yourself in the leg for buying it. This gun is one of the reasons paintball is where its at today. This gun is great for people to just get that first taste of paintball. I keep this gun around for 2 reasons. 1) If one of my non paintballin' friends want to come, ill let them use this, not like they are going to break it. 2)I have a thousand dollars in my tippmann and use this thing for kicks on occasions. This gun is fun, people they just look at you really strange when you come on the field. Whats even funner than that is when they get took down by a stingray, you should see that look. Using this gun keeps your focus up. I can send 15 bps at a guy with my tippy easy. This gun I have to concentrate on aiming more and it helps when i switch back to the tippy. If it takes more than shots 5-6 shots to take a guy down time to get out "old ray". In 3 years of owning and using it heavily for the first year and once a month for the last 2 year of the 3 years, not once has it broken or required extraordinary maintenance. Shoots like the day I got it.
Conclusion: Great gun for the beginner, fun gun for the veteran player (that wants to get strange looks). (2/10)If you looking for a tourney gun, run for your life, ban this gun from entering your personal space.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 8th, 2004 at 3:53 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SpyderMann14 Monday, October 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Maxx they both suck.
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter/ 14"Teardrop Barrel/ ESP frame / Shocktech supa fly bolt/ 20 oz.co2
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a new gun.
Strengths: Hurts like hell if you manage to hit someone.
Weaknesses: Chops balls, inaccurate, loud, plastic, uncomfortable.
Review: This gun is not good at all. It is loud, inaccurate , plastic and not comfortable to hold. The triggerpull is really hard and its barrel is smaller then my wang. lol
If you want a gun get a spyder or somthing that shoots straight and quiet. This gun holds lots of dirt in all of the cracks and if you want to clean it then you might as well throw it away because you wont be able to put it back together.


Conclusion: I dont recommend it to anyone. if you HAVE to choose any Brass Eagle dont pick this one.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VLTriadRecBall Sunday, September 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: VL Triad
12" Tear Drop Barrel
20 oz. C02
VL Quatum

Dont trash VL
Recommended
Upgrades:
Mabe a barrel if you can make one yourself but its accurate w/ the stock barrel
Strengths: you can put the C02 on your soulder, and it feels cofertable
Weaknesses: It kinda hurts your ears
Review: I used this gun once at my friends farm and it performed pretty good. it was load but the kinda paintball we play, it doesnt matter. The velocity can get up pretty high and still be accurate. the barrel is held in by only like 2 pull pins so it doesnt screw in. You might lose those pins but you can buy new ones.
Conclusion: If you can find it on Ebay for like 20 bucks, get it but I wouldnt get it for more than that.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

buffaugust Wednesday, September 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom, Viewloader Orion, Viewloader Prodigy E-grip
Marker Setup: VL Prodigy E-grip, 12" Spyder stock barrel purchased secondhand, eVlution II, 20 oz CO2 tank. I also have and occasionally use a Brass Eagle Stingray 2 that has been custom painted but otherwise is stock (GREAT woodsball gun for beginners, but loud. Very tough little gun and with the right barrel, I hear it can be a winner!)
Recommended
Upgrades:
I don't have one, but a longer, ported barrel would be great. Also, go with something that has a better color than the nice bright silver barrel. The stock barrel could also be ported and painted to reduce some of the quirks of this marker. My Stingray is painted in a woodlands-like camo scheme, courtesy of a field stripping of the marker and a couple of cheap cans of ultra-flat OD green and tan paint, which you can get at wal mart or at any surplus store.
Strengths: Simple, rugged, reasonably accurate, inexpensive, easy to use
Weaknesses: Loud, slow rate of fire, barrel needs work
Review: "For any one familiar with rifles, this is the AK47 of paint ball." Thank you, claychase! That is the perfect description of this marker. I bought this marker for $100 in 2001, and it came complete with a tank and a decent set of goggles. Now it's nothing spectacular, but it is a solid performer for its cost. I've read a lot about this marker being inaccurate. ANY marker, or firearm for that matter, is inaccurate when you're trying to fire a thousand rounds a second. This marker is accurate enough in the right hands. As a newbie, I used it two times, and the innacuracy I experienced was more due to my own shortcomings rather than any defect in the marker. That being said, this gun really is too loud, and it does need to be oiled up, just like any marker. Oh, and if anyone laughs at you for bringing a Stingray to a field, just ignore them. They are probably the same ones who picked on other kids because that was their only way to feel good about themselves.

EDIT: I had to buy a tune-up kit for my stingray, but it was very easy to do and was really inexpensive.
Conclusion: If anyone laughs at your Stingray, make sure you give them the number of a good psychiatrist, because that person has some serious insecurity issues. There is nothing wrong with a Stingray, and it's actually way more durable than many of the fancier markers that are around today. It's definitely not a tournament marker but it is a solid woodsball gun and probably better than most Spyders or Spyder-clone markers for woodsball!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 at 11:29 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (48):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media