paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt / AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt / AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt / AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt / AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt

AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount AKA

Buy AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt

Paintball Spyder Bolts

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 7
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $55

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Lightning (R) bolt drastically increases focused air flow over other bolts (average velocity increase is 30 to 70 fps). It increases velocity and allows for reductions in operating pressures. 12:00 index mark for accurate insertion. Accepts AKA Evolution style pull pins. Hard anodized and nickel plated or delrin.
Product Availability 
The AKA Spyder Lightning Bolt is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
PBaller5208 Friday, April 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 2 Stock Bolt
Marker Setup: Spyder Victor 2 + 14" Whisper
Strengths: Does increase velocity and FPS by a lot.
Weaknesses: Very hard to install or cock with a marker that requires a long bolt.
Review: I recently bought a Spyder AKA Lighning Bolt for $40 and was disappointed. I first opened the beat-up package and noticed there was no manual or help at all. This was ok for me because I already knew what to do, but for a newbie this would be a problem. I tried it on my Victor 2 and when it was uncocked, it wasn't even visible. I couldn't cock it without taking it apart. I looked past this and tested it to notice it did give my marker more speed and distance. I can get my Victor 2 up to 8 BPS without any chops. I was unsatisfied after all because i couldn't cock it during a game so i decided to return it.

Conclusion: I would reccomend an awesome set of alan wrenches, a externally cocking marker, and a lot of patience.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Toodeep Friday, February 4th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Bolt , C5 Bolt. 32* bolt.
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 Avant
T-Board
BreakBeam Eyes
T-Chip
50g Switch
Evil Valve
Evil Detanator
JJ 14in Full Tilt
Evolution 2
Z Board
NDZ Low Rise
AKA Bolt
CIP Assualt Block
Uni Mount
Dye Gague
Eclipse Gague
Macroline
SPPS Dragon Trigger magnet return
Dye Stickys
90ci 4500psi
3A Cover
Evil Barrel Condom
Halo B
Rip Drive
Victory Board
Strengths: Higher FPS. Tight Fit.
Weaknesses: Doesnt come with a cocking rod. O well.
Review: This was an awsome bolt . totaly worth the 30 bucks i paid. out of all the bolts i have bought this is the only one the improved on preformance.

The fit on the bolt is very tight . The one I bought has 4 o-rings. so no more blo-by.
Conclusion: This is the only bolt you should consider when looking for a bolt. if not just mod your stock bolt and you will be fine .
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, February 4th, 2005 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Metallix6403 Tuesday, April 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder TL Plus
Total Freak
Boo Yaah E-LCD
AKALMP Lightning Bolt
AKALMP Tornado Valve
AKALMP Excalibuir Regulator
Shocktech Spyder LPC
Drop Forward, Folding Combat Stock, Bi-Pod
Multiple Upgrades

Armotech Zeus R.I.S.
Strengths: Perfect for low pressure
Ausome Velocity
Tight seal
Not as much chopped paint
Weaknesses: Can't find anything except for the stock rear cocker.
Review: This bolt is unbelievable. Only have had around five chopped balls since I installed it and my velocity has greatly increased. Its also low pressure which i don't really mind for but I have got a hundred or so more shots out of my 20oz.

The only problem that came with this bolt was my own stupidity. I forgot to order the alan wrench screw that fastens the cocking knob to the bolt and hammer, the actual cocking knob and the rear cocking attachment. So in order to get the gun up and running i had to order the cocking knob and alan screw separately. As for the rear attachment i decided to make my own rather than order the standard because it looks horrible. After a few hours of welding, power sanding and polishing i came out with a 3d flame rear cocker. The next day I got it 3 color anodized and it looked unbelievable.

Besides that the bolt is great. Hasn't failed me yet.






New info

About a year ago Ive completely overhauled my Spyder. Its now completely Low Pressure and opperates at 350ish psi, 295 fps +/- 4 fps (I thank OtterSC for that). I get an amazing 3500+ shots out of a 20oz and usually have 2 or no breaks at all even when Im firing at 18bps. This bolt is an absolute must if your going to go LP since the internal volume on the bolt is just so large. jive it a shot and I gurantee that nothing will go wrong for you; just remember that if your not LP your going to gain some speed and that increase may break some balls, chrono first.

Still a magnificent product!
Conclusion: Probably the best after market bolt out there. Definitely recommended.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 5th, 2006 at 1:00 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Madogg Wednesday, February 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Orr-Acle, 68/4500 crossfire tank, evlution 2 hopper
Strengths: High flowing
Weaknesses: Metal...
Review: This is a great bolt if you can get them for cheap or are in need of a really high flowing bolt. The only prblem i had with bolt is that it is mad of metal and not of delrin. I was having consistency problems Then i installed this bolt and I could get the velocity right where i needed it.
Conclusion: I would recommend this bolt to everyone who is trying to get a LP spyder and needs a very high flowing bolt. This bolt does everything it is suppose to and more. Cant go wrong with a product from the LP experts
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

agentdowell Wednesday, February 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
ottered bolt
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Imagine
- Viewloader eVolution II
- Phat aluminum feed neck
- 14" black Evil Pipe kit
- Gen-X2 reg
- Shocktech chrome trigger
- Shocktech chrome volumizer
- AKA Tornado valve
- AKA Lightning bolt
- chrome bottomline and PMI remote coil w/slide check
- Pure Energy 48/3000
- 32 Degrees spring kit (lp spring setup)
- polished internals
Strengths: for lp no one beats AKA: The Low Pressure Specialists
Weaknesses: unfortunately no one sells AKA: The Low Pressure Specialists products anymore
Review: Strengths

Low Pressure

This bolt is an absolute MUST have if you are uprading to low pressure. It is extremely high flow and was specifically designed for low pressure guns. When I first put this in my gun, it happened to be my last low pressure upgrade and I was able to get my gun operating at 270 lb @ 295 fps. Yeah, I know, it's crazy and insane.

Weaknesses

AKA is awesome

Unfortunately AKA only sells their products to authorized dealers who come in short supply. It took my several days on the phone with pro shops and dealers all over my area before I found the place to go. When I got there I asked the shop owner if anyone else sold AKA and he said, "No."
Conclusion: If you are going lp, this is the bolt for you. But lp requires more than just one upgrade. You will find that you have recocking issues and the like if you only get an lp bolt or reg.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nerdcore Thursday, November 20th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock bolt
Marker Setup: spyder e-99
aka lightning bolt & valve kit
bl torpedo
equation designs 10" bizerk barrel kit
reloader
anti-siphon 20oz tank
Strengths: lighter than stock
no useless venturi
free (from my cousin)
Weaknesses: ain't cheap
don't know who carries them now
Review: used the stock bolt for a few games when my cousin dug out a bunch of spare spyder parts taken from his old shutter. one of them is this bolt, still in good condition.

it's a lot gentler on the insides than the stock bolt, plus there's no need to remove a venturi because it doesn't have one.

it comes with it's own beavertail of sorts that slips in behind the bolt & is held in place by an elongated sight rail screw (goes through the sight rail & top of marker, into the lightning's beavertail). this makes the setup quite loud since the back of the bolt bangs the beavertail every time it recocks. solution? just don't install the lightning's beavertail. don't need it especially if the marker's stock sight rail/beavertail is still on there.
Conclusion: If you want a good bolt that isn't delrin, can find someplace that sells it & the price is ok with you, then get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

firekow Wednesday, September 3rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock bolt (not really similar)
Marker Setup: Spyder victor (Blue)
14" teardrop
AKA lightning bolt
Strengths: Velocity increase
3 O-rings
smooth surface
Weaknesses: INSTALLATION!
wimpy manual
price
uses more gas (?)
Review: I bought the AKA lightning bolt from victory ballistic works for $100 canadian. I haven't regretted it, except for when I first bought it. I opened up the box, and found the bolt, a cocking rod, and a tiny little piece of crap installation guide. Then, the troubles began.

First of all, I had to get the link pin out of the stock bolt. I stripped the screw, and that kind of screwed me over. Also, I figured out that the cocking rod was meant for externally cocking spyders, such as the Aggressor. This was a problem, but nothing our hero, CAPTAIN DREMEL, couldn't solve. We (Me and my dad) found a screwdriver about the same diameter as the link pin. We then cut out a chunk of the shaft using the dremel and quite some time. Those things are near impossible to cut. We then had that part finished. Then, we needed something the same size, and with the same threads as the cocking rod. I found an old brass screw, which we then dremelled down to size. We then put it all together, oiled it up, and tested it out. The thing worked like a charm, greatly increased my velocity.
Conclusion: I reccomend this to anyone with an externally cocking spyder, and a good allen wrench set. I also reccomend that you use the proper tool to remove the link pin. The price is pretty steep, but still is affordable. All in all, It's a good product if you don't mind the work.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
17 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media