paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Zap Rec Series Paintballs / Zap Rec Series Paintballs / Zap Rec Series Paintballs

Zap Rec Series Paintballs Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Zap

Buy Zap Rec Series Paintballs

Paintball Paintballs

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Zap Rec Series Paintballs
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 158
Average Rating: 7.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Natural Shell, robust forumulation.
Product Availability 
The Zap Rec Series Paintballs are older, so they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
imajedichken Saturday, March 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Hotspot, Cryptic, WGP Annihilation, Visible Impact
Marker Setup: 98 Custom Platinum
Shocktech Superfly Bolt
14" Smart Parts Teardrop
Rap4 CAR Stock
20oz. Pure Energy CO2
Recommended
Barrels:
larger bore (.687-.693)
Strengths: Thick visible fill
Decent shell when within 6 months of purchase
Cheap
Weaknesses: Doesn't always break on target
People think they are terrible
Review: Many people think that these paintballs are terrible, but for a day of recreational play they work great. The shell isn't all that brittle but they break most of the time. The fill is really thick and visible. It stayed on my clothes even after the day was over (I was using blue fill). Just about every time I hit someone, the ball broke. I even lit a few people up with them and they were covered in paint.
Conclusion: For a day of rec play in the woods or on a field, these work great.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 30th, 2009 at 7:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

J-R0D Wednesday, March 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dynasty- THE BEST
Draxxuse Rec Sport- I Always Buy it
Draxxus Hellfire- Great
Marker Setup: SP Ion
NDZ Composite Trigger
NDZ Feedneck
68/3000 tank
Vlocity Hopper
Recommended
Barrels:
None, Because This Paint BLOWS
Strengths: -None
-None
-None
- I Got To Use The Container 4 Tools Afterwards
Weaknesses: -Dimpled Like Crazy
-Different Sizes
-Shells Sucked
-Bounces, No breaks
Review: This paint was th absolute most horrible paint i have ever tried in my entire carreer of paintball. I believe that monster is better than this. When i used it though my ion, evey baal bounced, they would fly all over the place, and that if it did break, the fill was crap.

The Good: i got to use the container for my tools after i threw them out.

Conclusion: Spend the extra money, this paint is absolutely horrible, i give it a 1 for the container.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jrhummel Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
big balls
scorch
nelson hemhorage
zap spank
diablo heat
draxxus rainbow
Marker Setup: Tippman A-5
R/T
14" SP barrel
double trigger
co2
Rex R3
cp reg & on/off
lapco bigshot
halo b v-35
45/45 tank
Recommended
Barrels:
match the paint to the barrel and go the next size up. .689 and .687 both work nicely
Strengths: THICK FILL, no wipes
round when fresh
price
Weaknesses: paint residue in bags
color...Sometimes. Explained in description
weak shell seams
Review: This paint at my local wal-mart is $26.95 for a case of 1800, best deal anywhere. This is practice paint, not competition paint, hence the recreational series: I'm rating this with this aspect in mind, compared to other recreational series paints.
strengths:
This paint is always fresh since it sells out in less than a week at my wal-mart. The balls are consistantly round and have an amazingly thick fill for a practice paint. This is the best feature of the paint, the fill is as thick as pudding and leaves a bright color on clothing. Absolutely no wipes during play, but still is removed from clothing without discoloration or damage with soap and water. I'd say the balls are small, perfect fit is .685, however i use a .687 or .689 bored barrel depending on the weather and humidity. I have never had a break in barrel or chop with the light colored balls.
weakness's:
Don't even bother checking the bags for broken balls or paint residue, theres going to be some in 90% of the bags. However, i have never found smashed or shattered balls in any of the bags, just leaky balls where the seams didnt join correctly. If you really want to check for bad balls, just give a light squeeze, the bad ones will pop right at the seals without much pressure. The very worst part of these balls is when wal-mart gets a stock of dark blue/black colored ball shells. My halo b hopper and my guns eyes cannot detect these balls at all. This causes my halo b to try to keep feeding balls, then detecting a ball jam which doesnt exhist. This also caused several chops in my gun when i was trying to figure out the problem. Almost ruined an entire day of paintballing if i didnt have my backup tippman. These colored balls should only be used with mechanical guns. Lesson learned, I'm only buying these balls when the white, yellow, green, and multi colored shells are in stock.
Conclusion: I prefer these over big balls and scorch because of the price and amazingly thick fill. For the dark colored shell balls i give it a 3/10. The lighter colored shell balls get a 10/10. Its cheap practice paint, super thick fill, and round - great when fresh.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 at 11:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Purple Monkey 0 Sunday, June 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Triax Patriot
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R W/16in. Barrel (a stock gun)
Recommended
Barrels:
A larger bore they are pretty big
Strengths: Thick Fill
Usually Break
Cheap
Thick shell
Weaknesses: Some odd shaped 5 out of 2000
Review: My dad bought these because we were playing the next day and couldn't get better paint and I was some what satisfied. They shot staight with little curves to the right (every ball did this with no wind). And the fill is a dark blue like the shell and horribly thick the refs can see it hit. In woods ball they work really good you can't really see it that well if it coming at you and won't give away your position. I went though a case found about 5 to 7 malformed balls but none got in my gun.
Conclusion: Since the gun I use doesn't allow me to shoot that fast it won't chop.
The 8 is because it curves and those seams are deep and themishaped ones.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HooglyBoogly Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None, these were so bad it is unbelievable.
Marker Setup: DM5
CCM No Rise Feedneck
Tadao M3 Chip
Contract Killer grips
Empire Reloader B
MacDev Conquest Air '03
Recommended
Barrels:
None. Dont even waste your time buying.
Strengths: None.
Weaknesses: Everything.
Review: Ok, I evacuated to Texas to avoid Hurricane Katrina and while I was there I decided to go play some paintball. I contacted the local field and they said if you bring your own gun you can use your own paint. I was like, ok. I went to the local Wal-Mart there and they were totally sold out of paint, well almost. All they had was two 500 boxes of Wild Streak, four 200ct. of Scorch, and two box/plastic tubs of Zap Rec Series. I decided to go with the Zap because from experience with some of their other paint I thought these would be good also. Well, the first box/tub I grabbed was opened, I was like no way I'm not getting this one. However, since it was open, I wanted to check out these balls. The ones in this container were SUPER dimpled, SUPER oily, and smelled strange. I started to debate on whether I should get the un-opened one.

Unfortuantely I decided yes, I should have just bought the small amount of Scorch and try to fair off with it. So I got home and opened the box/tub.The same exact thing. I opened the bag to one of them and OMG it was terrible.They looked and felt like those bath balls you throw into a bath. You know what I am talking about? The little things that dislove and make the water smell good? Anyway, I was like holy crap! Me, being my stupid self, decided to load them up and try to shoot them. Should I rename my Spyder Imagine the blender? Thats what it looked like when I looked down into the breach. I didn't see any shell! All fill, nice and creamy and smelled really wierd.
Thats basically the end. I got real mad and threw them in the freezer then shot them all at a tree, and surprisingly the splattered!? WTF?
Conclusion: NEVER, EVER buy these. They suck beyond belief. They seriosuly reminded me of bath balls.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 6th, 2006 at 9:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brad_VG Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Assortment of Diablo paintballs (Much better)
-Random Canadian Tire Specials (Much worse)
-X-Ball Bronze (Much better)
-Blue Streak (If you like shrapnel, this is the ball for you, MUCH MUCH WORSE)
Marker Setup: Pirahna e-Force GTI w/ 14" Teardrop, Dye Sticky grips, Ricochet 2KX
Recommended
Barrels:
These are in no way high end tournament paintballs so any stock barrel or low end barrel would work just fine with these balls. (Currently using 14" Teardrop)
Strengths: -Fairly cheap (in price)
-Most of them fly well
-Nice thick fill
Weaknesses: -I have shot off a lot of duds
-Many times they have broke in packadge.
Review: I bought these balls from the local Walmart so I wasn't really expecting quality. I was suprised though with my first batch of 2000 because they did shoot off a lot better than I thought they would. I was impressed with the thick fill and its bright colour which made your ball contact areas way easier to see. After that batch though things started to go a little bit downhill. I encountered numerous breaks in the bags (in no way my fault) that required me cleaning off each and every ball with a paper towel. (No one likes shooting wet paint) When I finnaly got them to the feild I was shooting all over the place and I swear that I could shoot around a corner (bit of exaggeration). When I looked inside the batch I noticed many of the balls were warped and I even spotted a few that were on the verge of leaking (nice candidates of hopper breaks). But honestly thats what I was expecting with these balls, they werent expensive and I was only using them for recreational play so i'm still gonna use these balls whenever I get the chance.
Conclusion: Overall these are a good ball for the non-hardcore recreational player. You may find that they don't consistantly fly the straightest but the cheap price of this paint will still leave you with a bit of a smile.

Hope this helps!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fuzzyllama Sunday, April 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
nothing, only used midnight which is way better
Marker Setup: rental =P
Recommended
Barrels:
barrels that arent extra sensitive to not perfectly round, or nice paint
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Read review
Review: So me and my friends went paintballing yesterday, and we needed cheap paint. Went to academy, and for 30$, hey, why not. This paint is extremelly cheap, but has its fair share of problems. I didnt have any dimply paint, but around the seam of the ball, it was very easy to catch while feeling with a fingernail. Iono if that is bad, but i would think so, cuz it wasnt round around the seem, fairly flat. Also, of the 3 bags, 2 of them had 1 break, ok for crap rental guns, but if ur using ur own stuff and dont want it ruined, the entire bag may have been a waste. An ok product for a cheap price. I must say, dont kno if it was the tippmann or this paint, but very pleased that i didnt chop once (im very confident it didnt)
Completely forgot, paint has lots of bounces, and only breaks easily if hitting solid objects (bunkers). Fill is easily wipeable, and not much in paintball. Waasnt too bad for me as im not serios, but if you are thats a prob.
Conclusion: If you cant afford nice paint, get this. If your on a budget, or just wanna screw around with slingshot or not serious, etc, this is for you.
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, April 22nd, 2007 at 9:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IWishIHadMore$ Friday, April 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
lots of stuff, scorch-decent, chronic-sweeet
Marker Setup: EXT 2k4, 20 oz, smart parts barrel condom
Recommended
Barrels:
around .687-688 or so
Strengths: Cheap
Weaknesses: Read above
Review: Well, this stuff is cheap, but it didn't fit my barrel, at all. The paint bounces a lot, after sitting for a while the paint gets very soft and breakable, not brittle, like gooey. This is good if you have the right size barrel for it but in mine it was shooting all over the place. It was like maybe a 10 foot diameter in the paint circle.
Conclusion: This stuff is ok, I guess, but fit my barrel very poorly, it should be large, it is rec paint so I would suppose that it is larger so that it fits stock barrels better, and rec is normally people with stock stuff, so if this was larger and fit more stock barrels I would give it a better score, so, it gets a 6.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BaZerK Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
heat,hevy metal,midnight,inferno
Marker Setup: ion... ect
Recommended
Barrels:
none, dont even put this paint in your gun
Strengths: None, balls didnt break unless you where in close range
Weaknesses: Everything thin fill balls broke in gun
Review: These balls SUCK !!! i bought 5 cases and every case had the same crappy quality and if your giving these balls a rating any higher than 5 then you must have never used anything better that walmart paint. balls break in gun not on target all had dents and fill was very thin
Conclusion: Dont buy !!!
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

magixx Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Heavy Metal Paintballs (200)
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
16" Tiller Barrel
32 Degrees Universal Drop Forward
Sub Zero Expansion Chamber-Mabey, Looks like it though
Some Tubes for connecting Air System
Recommended
Barrels:
Anything
Strengths: Still the cheapest for quantity so far @ WM
Hurts when hits
Box
Weaknesses: Wal-Mart Price, was 40$CAD now 50$CAD for 2000
Chops
Smell
Review: Well these balls are the cheapest I found, I first bought these at Wal-Mart for 40$CAD, I had just gotten my gun and wanted to try out something cheap. I was not very amazed with the accuracy. But whatever, I played woodsball in late winter and had quite a few problems with them. My gun seemed to like to chop one of them evry so often, and when that happened, if i didnt clean the barrel, the ball would for some reason always explode just as its coming out of the barrel and not hit anything. Now I found out Wal-Mart has raised the price to 50$CAD (WTF Wal-Mart!?!?! What happened to "Every day Low prices"?).
Also the bad/good thing is that in woodsball, you might get hit and have the ball not explode on you so you can cheat. Im trying to get hold of a "WhiteBox" and see if its really that bad as people say.
Conclusion: Buy if you beginner/poor(13-17 year olds will probably buy this) or are just playing for fun.
Bring a barrel cleaner and some water incase it chops.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 10th, 2006 at 9:53 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (16):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media