paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon / Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon / Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon / Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon

Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 9.8 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $585

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Prices start at $585 for vertical bottle. Bottom line (shown above) is $645. Back bottle is $618. Dual bottle (both vertical and back) is $660. A double barrel version is $828.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Typhoon is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Unregistered User Friday, March 29th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder; 'Cocker; Mag; Stroker; curren Hurricane started life as KP series rifle, converted to DF in '87; converted to semi in '92
Marker Setup: I run a Palmer's Hurricane with full custom stock, 45 frame, vertical Palmer's Rock reg; HP system is run remote. Bolt is one-peice delrin.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I managed to fit an STO valve into my 'Cane. Worth the effort.
Strengths: Not actually running a Typhoon, but having a vertical bottle Hurricane set up pistol grip, the only difference is really in the back-body section, where I retain the ultra-heavy stainless steel rifle hammer and rocker action trigger, so I figure (having shot both Typhoons and Strokers) that the disparities are minimal.

Amazing accuracy aside, I'd have to say the best feature of me Hurricane is durability-- and I mean that in terms of no breakdowns, and the fact that I've been using it regularly for over 10 years. Other markers have come and gone, but my Hurricane will never leave.

Playing in a rec-ball game about 5 years back, a buddy of mine called me over to lay suppresing fire up a hillside across the ravine from him. Firing uphill, into heavy brush, I took out two opposition players better than 50 yards away. Thats Palmer's.
Weaknesses: The big bolt and hammer mean that the ram has to be run hard-- around 800psi-- anything lower will start to effect velocity. I've gotten mine down to around 700psi with a ported valve, lightened bolt, and different rate springs-- but take that as a problem specific to the Hurricane-- my buddy's Typhoon runs down around 500psi.
Conclusion: I've seen pretty much every gun you can imagine on the field at one time or another. And while load of nicely anodized aluminum are at times quite tempting, and 14bps has a nice ring to it, it's tough to beat insane accuracy, awesome reliability, and the ever-present comments at the field of "Wow! What kind is that?!?" I've carried it in tourneys, walk-on, and over a decade of recball. It can't be beat.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gandhi85 Saturday, February 23rd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I've used lots of things, but I'd have to say nothing really compares. Its operation is like a cocker only i find that it is more accurate, and in the right hands, its as fast as a mag.
Marker Setup: Just plain old stock....vert tank rf. I don't even have a ported barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either porting or a muzzle break (or both)
Bottom line
Protouch if you don't like the stock pull
Some kind of vert foregrip..either gas through or a reg
Strengths: This beauty is really impressive. It looks really nice and the time i finally got to use it I got a bunch of compliments and a lot of "what kinda gun is this?"

Well i bought it around christmas time and finally got to use it for the first time yesterday (2 months after xmas). The accuracy and range is crazy. Sure, people will argue that the same velocities should shoot the same range, but go ahead and shoot a phoon a couple of times and a mag a couple of times (to make sure there are no fluke shots) and you'll see how much farther the phoon shoots. Even though it has a 2step trigger, it is surprisingly fast. I got into a firefight at a distance of like 10 feet going through soft cover (I don't know we we each tried to shoot through it) and I was shooting faster than I thought I would. Unfortnately, I'm stupid so I short stroked pretty bad like twice leading to two straight chops. Right after the shots were pretty bad, but it almost shot through later on (maybe 10 balls). I would say around something like 95%% accuracy returned for the rest of the day with just a pull through squeegee (it all returned after thourough cleaning). That cleaning went really fast; it took less than 10 minutes. The weight feels nice in your hands but I'm not a fan of vert tank (I had to save money to buy xmas presents so I got this the cheapest possible way). It felt a little unbalanced to me (with the tank where it was) and I'm sure bottom line will fix this. It is compact, too. Only 16 inches I believe (the same length as a newbie barrel). Its also pretty quiet , even without any kind of porting, which makes you feel secure in woods play.
Weaknesses: There really ins't anything too bad. It might be a bit pricey, but I have nothing else to spend money on and I'm really glad I invested in this. The weight might be a problem for the girlier players, but it balances nicely. It might also be slow for a spoiled player that only can use electros (cef).
My only true grievances are that it doesn't shoot through breaks right away and the upgrades are expensive (hey, its a pain that I have to buy a umb as well as an asa).
Conclusion: This is a really great gun. I would reccommend it to those who want something different and something they can really enjoy. Using it, I laughed, I cried, and a peed in my pants just a little. If i could give it a 9.9 I would (only because it WOULD be nice to shoot just a little quicker, but I'd rather sacrifice some speed for accuracy). But I'm giving it a 10 becuase it is the perfect gun and it's the only gun I've ever owned that I won't think about selling for a long, long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, February 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Tigershark, It's closed-bolt, that's about it
BE Raptor, Comparable performance in ROF, just not in accuracy and range.
BE Stingray - Cannot Compare.
Kingman Spyder - Excellent accuracy with replacement barrel, Nitro, and Good paint, not a bad ROF with a decent trigger Job.
Marker Setup: I use The two above guns:
Upgrades:
Tigershark - Coned bolt, Barrel Extension (NOT A SILENCER)
Raptor - Silenced hammer mod, EagleWorks Barrel (Sucks!), Top-cocking, Custom Milling and ano job from Boston Paintball
Recommended
Upgrades:
Gotta Have a Ported Barrel. If you can find one that will fit or have Glenn make you one, you gotta have .45 frame. Stabilizer Reg pretty much mandatory.
Strengths: A kid brought this gun onto the local indoor field a week or so ago. I immediately recognized it as a palmer Typhoon, so I asked him if I could try it out. He obviously let me or else I would not have written this.
I loved the stock trigger pull, Short and Hard, just how I like it (why else would I shoot a Raptor with no trigger job?)
Accuracy - I could hit a squirrel in the left nut from twenty yards left-handed with this thing, knowing how bad a shot I am, that's pretty impressive.
Noise signature - No louder than an automag with ported barrel.
Sight rail - Lone Wolf's like myself gotta love the ability to attach a telescopic 'scope for the ability to do long range recon.
Looks - I almost crapped myself when I saw this silver beauty, it looks that good.
Weaknesses: Two-stage trigger - Takes time to get used to, but since it's so short and stiff, when you pass the snap point in the pull, inertia slams your finger back so the pneumatics get activated. I'm not sure how that would work out with a double-trigger or a pro-touch trigger job.

:) I BET YOU THOUGHT I WAS GONNA SAY PRICE RIGHT HERE DIDNT YOU? :) IT'S WORTH EVERY PENNY ALTHOUGH I DONT OWN ONE.
Conclusion: Well worth the money, I'm saving up already. I give it a 9/10 since I kinda dont like worrying about the two-stage trigger pull. Excellent buy anyway.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, January 2nd, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mag, Pro-Lite, Shocker (with select fire)
Marker Setup: Like an ass, I sold the damn thing. It was a spiral ported, bottom line set-up with a Stabilizer regulator. I did add some custom grips to it that worked out sweet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Spiral porting is a must. Super quiet, super accurate. Any other upgrades are personal preference. Be warned, figure out what you want the first time. These bad daddies are custom made so if you want them to make changes it may take a while if you are sending your gun back. But then again, their service is absolutely awesome so depending on the upgrade they may be able to get it done quick enough.
Strengths: Most accurate gun I've ever shot.

People will argue that all paintballs at the same initial velocity will travel the same distance. From my personal experience with this gun, that is untrue. This gun consistently long-balled dancing idiots who thought they were out of my range. Mine was a thing of gold-anodized beauty and I never played a game where I didn't receive a compliment. Palmer is all class, as are his employees. It is extremely well-made and requires almost no maintenance.
Weaknesses: I chopped balls occasionally. I had one of the first guns, so maybe the new trigger job and 2-fingers would have helped. Sold it at Exotic Sportz in Pinckney because I needed the dough. (I truly regret this...)

Rate of fire won't keep up with e-guns. (Big deal, you'll have a blast nailing people before they can range you.)

Kinda heavy. (I'm 6' 2" and 235 lbs, so it wasn't an issue to me at all. Rather, it added stability when snap shooting.)
Conclusion: I'm seriously thinking of dumping my Shocker and picking up another Typhoon. As a fairly serious rec player, I feel many of our games break down to "spray and pray" furballs with eliminations going to the biggest firehose. My Typhoon let me reach out and touch a lot of these guns before they came into range.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, November 15th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Autococker, Minimag, M98, Tricked Spider, Pro-lite
Marker Setup: Ported barrel, double trigger, pro touch trigger gaurd, bottom line, 12Oz CO2 tank, 9 volt VL Revy
Recommended
Upgrades:
Ported barrel, double trigger if you like them, pro touch trigger job
Strengths: This gun is my favorite marker. First off it is reliable, about as reliable as an anvil. second it is as accurate as any marker can be, use some good to decent paint and you can pull off shots that will put "lesser" guns to shame. Third its easy, what do I mean by this? To squegee in the middle of a game takes about 15 seconds, faster than a mag. Thourough cleaning will take you 5 minutes, the manual actually recomends taking the gun into the shower with you. Another thing it is easy on is paint, this barrel is able to deliver amazing performace with out having to match the paint to the barrel and as soon as you are used to the trigger a choped ball will be an extremly rare occurance. In my case I rarely even bring a squegee with me out on the field. Another plus in its favor are the cosmetics, the first time you see one of these bad boys you can help but fall in love. The pictures really dont do this gun justice. Another plus, and I'm going out on a limb here, is the guns light weight. Sure it might be "relatively" heavy, but come on, the thing weighs a little over 3 lbs. I'm sure I'm forgetting something but these are the basics.
Weaknesses: Okay, I dont like this bad catagory. "Some people" dont like the stock trigger, they are used to shooting electros and so to them it feels too heavy. Luckily for them Palmer offers the pro touch trigger job. This sets up the trigger to your specs. Problem solved. You could also just get the double trigger which is cheaper and also helps tremendously. Although I got both :) The only other thing is there will be a wait for a new gun. Each one is hand made from raw materials to your specs. This takes time, but is forgivable. Other than that.... hmmm.... nope.
Conclusion: I've already said the Typhoon is amazine, and I already commented on its performance. Here are some other things it has going for it. The Palmer owners group. Here is a vast resource guide, where people with Palmer guns have gathered. Have a problem? Post a question. Overall a great group of people. And every so often they have a mass order, so that you can get your gun for 15%% off. Do a search for the MGMO. Another thing these guns have going for them is Palmer and the people who work for him. He makes himself available to answer the buyers questions, and odering through them is a breeze. I should also mention that the gun I got would have been about $800 if I would have ordered it from Palmers but I was persistent and got a used maker, never fired, for $425. But I had been searching for about a year. It would have been quiker to just go ahead and order the damn thing. If you have any furthur question about the Typhoon, send me an email. I'm always ready to talk shop. Later
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
autococker
prolite
model 98
spyder
Marker Setup: typhoon +stabilizer + 12V rev hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
stabilizer
rev hopper
Strengths: 1.)accurate - can make impossible shots seem easy. i shot a ball between
tree and a bunker (and area of 3 inches) and nailed my opponent at 50
yards. can put 5 paintballs into a 4 inch diameter circle at 25 yards. it even
shoots pretty good at long ranges. i would say it is effective 10 to 15 yards
past most of the other guns (other than the flatline)
2.)quiet - all i can hear i the pneumatics and a slight whuff noise
3.)efficient - shot 600+ balls through it and still had more than half of my 20
oz left
4.)works good on co2 - palmer actually claims the phoon works better on c02
5.)looks good - not a huge factor, but it is unique and the matte chrome looks
pretty groovy
Weaknesses: 1.)not upgradeable - period. unless you pay beaucoup deneiro to palmers
there is nothing you can put on it. the upgrades that are available are a
double trigger, trigger job, pump kit, and site hood. people like doc nickel
are considering making .45 grip frames for it and punishers custom will
make delrin bolts but that is about it.
2.)anti-tinker - don't mess with it! you really can't tinker with it and the things
that you can you shouldn't mess with.
3.)a touch on the expensive side - $600 and more for the stabilizer and match
honed barrel and such can really rack up the price tag. but consider that a
similarly priced cocker will not perform any better and might not be as
reliable.
4.)fixed barrel - a fixed barrel, no upgrades are possible. not that you would
need to, but having the option of a boomstick or palmer barrel or freak or
whatever else would be nice. but seeing how the barrel is already one of
the best possible, this isn't too much of a factor
Conclusion: i find myself asking the question of why in the world did i get a M98? why
didn't i get the phoon right away? i should have.
as for other people's opinions, it is not heavy (i think it is lighter than my 98 and
flatline) and balances well. it is quiet with the ported barrel and shoots like
you would think a gun should. that and using co2 is cheap. if you are a tinkerer
or want all of the best upgrades and want something electronic or what everyone else has, then get something else. my friend has a minicocker that he really likes and i reccommend that as well. of course, he also likes my phoon and is considering getting one of palmers best barrels for it. and last,
palmer has the best service and support and will get back to you about anything that your heart could desire.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, November 5th, 2001
Strengths: Accuracy, Consistency, Reliability. That is what I care about in a paintball gun and not a single other gun I own deliver those important qualities like the Typhoon does. I own a syder TL, a carbine, an automag, a model98 and a STO cocker and not one of these guns is as accurate.
The barrel is made from brass and is extremely smooth which makes for an amazing flight path on the ball. I easily nail targets that I could never hit before with the other guns (and none of them have stock barrels).
I have a nitro bottle set up with my typhoon and chronographing the gun goes exactly like this - 280,280,280. Amazing.
People shy away from the Typhoon because if anything serious goes wrong you have to send the gun back but guess what - I've had mine for years and nothing's gone wrong yet (and I play mostly woods where the gun is bound to receive more of a beating).
The gun is a breeze to clean. The only other guns that are as easy to clean are the mag and spyder and even though you have to take the bolt out of the Typhoon to squeege properly it's still faster than unscrewing the Spyder barrel. The bolt is one whole piece! no spring to fly out, no wacky seals. Only the mag beats it in this category.
If you play a lot of speedball, on a small field - look elsewhere. there;s no way this gun keeps up with the ROF on the RT, Angel or Shocker. If, however, you want every shot to count and play a lot of woods and rec ball then there is no better gun (only the carbine comes close and only if you get another barrel).
Weaknesses: I don't consider this a bad thing because the gun is perfect for me as it is but it's not the easiest thing in the world to customize. Also, they are built like Ferraris - on command. It may take a while to get a new one so buy used if you can't wait - otherwise be prepared to wait. One more thing - I don't know if this problem is me or the gun but a motorized hopper is A MUST on this gun as far as I can tell.
Conclusion: The most perfect gun for the money. It has taken me a long time and I've been through a lot of guns to get to this one. There is nothing better on the market for the price. Nothing.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

z_mann_z Sunday, October 28th, 2001
Strengths: This is the best closed bolt marker I have ever owned.Unparalleled accuracy, reliability, beauty, and cult appeal are all tied together by the wonderworkers at Palmer Pursuit. That is all I can say about the venerable Typhoon. It is the most near perfect sheridan based marker out there, save for the Blazer and only because it's lighter.
Weaknesses: Weight. It is made of two brass tubes, making it a pretty hefty marker. I have found though, that it makes for more stable shooting. The only other downside is the wait. That is why I bought used. When I got the used one, though, the previous owner mistimed it, but I easily fixed that. Some say the trigger is heavy, but I installed a double trigger shoe and it doubled ROF and eliminated chopping.
Conclusion: Overall, this is the best closed bolt marker out there. The only upgrades I would recommend are a factory double trigger shoe and redoing the trigger per ravi Chopra's specs. His Big Kahuna trigger job beats the pants off of the pro touch. Also, Palmer's spiral porting makes the gun quieter. I personally am an efficiency freak, so I left this off, going for an Al muzzle brake for looks. That's about all though. If you want a good reliable marker that performs any where with little maintenance, get a phoon. Also, get a glass case and some windex for it. Your fellow players will look at it drooling and cross eyed, so you have to clean th glass alot. You know, I have made money and gotten paint for letting people hold it and shoot it!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, August 18th, 2001
Strengths: This marker one of the only guns i know that you can use the sight!!! It is extremely accurate and will catch everyone off guard with its amazing grouping pattern. this gun is legendary in the pnuematics world like the angel is in the electro .
Weaknesses: It is quite a bit heavy, but the custom look ,feel, and accuracy is worth the weight.
Mine only likes medium to small bore and big bore flys out in crazy patterns. it is picky about anything in the barrel(paint residue water oil).
Conclusion: If you are looking for accuracy buy the typhoon i got mine for 400!!! well worth every penny. if you want a good rate of fire get a pro touch trigger job. if you want acurracy and HIGH rate of fire with less weight buy a decked out Palmer's blazer.(best fast fireing pneumatic marker on the market. the reason it gets a 10 is perfect accuracy and its a legend.i love mine and have given it to my brother only to buy myself a Blazer! Palmers knows custom built still counts!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, August 17th, 2001
Strengths: This gun is extremely awesome! it shoots fast and is exremely accurate. i tried one of my friends typhoons(it was actually Craig Palmers at one time so it was tricked out like hell) and it was so nice i asked how much he would sell it for! The trigger pull was nice and it was kinda heavy though.(im only 13 so it might not be for older people)
Weaknesses: the only bad things about thsi gun is it breaks paint every now and then and its heavy.
Conclusion: my conlusion is that you should by this gun and get it pimped out and you will be a head turner with this gun. it is exremely good and i suggest getting it. i give it a 9 becuase it was mainly the heavy factor and the ball breakage was realy no problem at all because it is so eaxy to clean
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media