paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / SP Mod / SP Mod / SP Mod / SP Mod / SP Mod

SP Mod Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount

Buy SP Mod

Paintball Bushmaster Accessories

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


SP Mod
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 8
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $75

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The SP Mod is a mechanical anti-chop system.
We have been testing the SP Mod with several people.
There have been two reported chops with the Mod installed
Both reports of chops came from people testing the mod, while
running the marker in full auto at 20 BPS, with a VL200 hopper.
Neither person was able to release the trigger before the ball
was pounded into submission.Specs:

Lowers Bolt pressure
Reduced kick
Quieter shots
Reports of minor efficiency gain
Reports of minor consistency gain
Virtually eliminates chops
Product Availability 
The SP Mod is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
fedafedafeda Tuesday, March 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PDS
Marker Setup: 2K3 BKO
PDS
Z-grip
Sidewinder reg
SP mod to ram
Bonebreak pds harness w/quick disconects
tornado valve
Blastermax Board
J&J Full Tilt 16 in barrel
Externally adjustable LP reg
Zentram LP Mounting Block
AKALMP Mitey Max
Low rise clamping feed neck
Empire Reloader B hopper
PMI 68/3000 carbon wrapped tank
Strengths: Gets rid of breaks almost completely.
Weaknesses: None
Review: I can run my gun 18-19 balls a second and when I don't feel like using PDS i just flip it off and i still dont break. It's amazing. When you put PDS and SP mod together, it is the most amazing thing you can do I think. You will pretty much never ever break a ball. I have used this alot and I have never broken a ball in my gun ever.
Conclusion: Get it, it is a really good mod and its not that bad of a price too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rmdiablo Tuesday, March 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
level 10
Marker Setup: silver bko
evo II
32 drop
aka tornado valve
aka mitey max
aka sidewinder
apocolypse 2k tank
16" J&J Stainless steel 2 piece
Strengths: Reduces amount of chopped balls, doesn't eliminate chopping, just reduces the chances of chopping.
Weaknesses: Might have to wait 3 months. Might also get it back damaged like mine.
Review: Well well well...... this was an experience to remember.
I ordered mine the 26th of December and sent my ram out the next day. I was so excited to receive it back because I knew that this mod was rated an A++ and shootpaints customer service was top notch. Boy.... were they wrong. I waited 2 weeks..... 3 weeks.... until I finally emailed them and asked them if they received my ram.... I waited a couple more weeks for a response... I kept emailing them, and emailing them, and emailing them, until finally I got a response. I tried every type of email. I tried the threatening email, the happy carefree email, the concerned email, and the suck up email. They replied to the suck up email where I complemented them on the "great"(I lied) customer service. I got a reply saying that they would send it out the 19th of January and that it would arrive soon. I guess that these people like to procrastinate because I ended up waiting another 2 weeks. I emailed them again and again, and again, and again until I got another reply saying they would have it done soon and sent out soon. I waited another 2-3 weeks, so I emailed them again and again and again.... are you sensing any repetition??? I didn't get a reply for a friggen long time and soon it was the end of February. I emailed them saying that if they didn't get sent out by the end of February then I wanted a full refund. One day I came home and I couldn't believe my eyes!!!! It had finally arrived!!!! Just a shade under a decade!!!!! Im guessing that threats are a good way to get your point across when you really want something. It took almost three months for mine to arrive when it took 2 weeks for other people to receive theirs. I even live 4 hours away from shootpaints HQ!!
I excitedly put the ram back into my gun and gassed her up. I heard a loud steady stream of leakage from my marker. I cursed a thousand times as I took my gun apart trying to find where it was leaking. Solenoid? No. Valve? No. LP? No. Ram? Yes. Blue macro-line hose connected to ram? YES!! I quickly revealed where the leak was coming from and found that the person who did this mod damaged the hose as well as the oring inside the ram. Hmmmmmm.... not very gentle are they? I jerry-rigged a new macro-line hose and heated it so it would fit on to the hose fitting, I also put the o-ring in properly because it wasn't in right. I gassed it up and found that the marker was working swell. I finally got around to testing the mod. I put a paintball halfway into the breach and watched the bolt bounce off of the paintball. Well, at least they did something right. The mod works ok but isn't full proof, paint still breaks, and if you use small paintballs then double feeding can occur easier then without the mod.
Conclusion: Deffinetely not a proffessionaly done mod. Deffinetely not a proffesional company, deffinetely not worth the price for four tiny holes drilled into the back of the ram and me having to replace all the parts they screwed up. My recomendation is to either do it yourself or send in your marker to ICD, the real proffessionals who reply to you when you email them, and have them install pds for $165. Just save your money for the pds, pds will keep your bolt from even touching the ball while the sp mod will not. The sp mod just wasn't worth the price for a crappy done job. I've had things shipped from TAIWAN THAT ARRIVED FASTER THEN SHOOTPAINTS CRAP. Im giving it a 5 because the company sucks, the price sucks, the workmanship for the mod sucks big time, and the long wait and crappy costumer service blew like none other. I cant even begin to tell you how dissapointed I am with how poorly shootpaint did with this mod. It could be a great mod in the right techs hands, but until they work all of their bugs out in the company then I would recommend not purchasing anything from them unless you want to go through what I went through. I am also pretty sure you could do this mod yourself, it looks pretty easy.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

bighall Saturday, March 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
level 10 is the same thing
Marker Setup: SP modded BKO
Torpedo reg
Strengths: Nearly eliminates chopping
Weaknesses: none
Review: This is a great upgrade. I was spending more time cleaning my gun than I was playing. I was about to sell the BKO but decided to try the SP mod. I was extremely disappointed at first. It didn't seem to help at all. After one day of play I guess it "broke in" and I have been happy ever since. Before SP I would chop 3 or 4 times a game. Now I harldly ever chop.

Conclusion: If you are having trouble with chops get the SP MOD.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cobalt5 Wednesday, October 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None.
Marker Setup: -Black 2k3 BKO
-68/3000 Java Nitro
-Palmer Stabilizer
-14" Teardrop
-Ricochet 2k
Strengths: -Easy Setup
-Lowers Pressure
-Reduces chops, no matter what hopper you have!
-Not too expensive
Weaknesses: Has a break in time of around 1,000 shots.
Review: So I placed my order and then promptly sent in the ram the next day.

When Travis receives your ram, he mods it, and sends it back to you, but turnaround time is really unpredictable...as since everyone wants this product. :) He was really nice to call/e-mail if I had any questions about my order or other upgrades for my BKO.

When I got my ram back, I just put it back in, turned my pressure down to 200psi, and let 'er rip. I didn't know about the breakin period, so I chopped once or twice during then. Now, when I fire, I don't chop at all. [Although when I walk with my ricochet I get more dry fires than actual shots.]
Conclusion: If you don't want to go with a Halo or eVlution to stop chopping, then get this. It costs less, reduces your pressure, and works!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 2:39 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

caNCer420 Thursday, August 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: 2k3 black icd BKO, vapor valve, sp mod, system x drop, aka mighty max, sidewinder reg, zentiram block, micro rock, mac dev guage, and evo2
Strengths: awesome anti chop mod, great tech support, and a fast turn around time
Weaknesses: none
Review: this is a great anti chop mod, specially for ppl with bko's who dont want to deal with the hassle to get pds. if you have pds makes a great fail safe. tech support is A++ for 55 bucks just send pack and send your ram in and in no time you'll get it back.
Conclusion: get it, its only 55 bones. better safe then sorry, am i right or am i wrong
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

SABO Friday, August 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing for the BKO but the Lvl 10 for the mag is somewhat similar in final outcome, though not in design.
Marker Setup: Vaporized BKO with Vapor bolt, valve and trigger, Chaos Max Chip, Gladiator Reg, Zenitram ASA Block, with Micro Rock LPR, and SP Mod.
Strengths: It does exactly what it is deigned to do: eliminate chops.
Weaknesses: Has a break in time of about 200 shots to get the lube worked through.
Review: I was privileged to be one of the beta testers for this product for the BKO and I am very impressed. Owing a very highly modified BKO, I have added on each upgrade at a time (with the exception of the trigger and the valve which went on together) in order to be able to see just how each product effected the markers performance. Up until this point the vapor valve was my favorite mod but the SP mod is simply outstanding. A redeigned ram by Travis at www.shootpaint.com allows the Bushmaster user, made for both the B2k and the BKO, to fire the marker at higher rates of fire with no more worry of chops. This mod allows the bolt to "reset" if it contacts anything before closing the breech on the marker. I have lost no efficency with this mod whatsoever, there is no FSDO, and I have chopped only twice with this mod, both times intentionally pinching and repinching the paint until it gave way. On high end brittle paint for low pressure markers it took 8 attempts and on recball paint I was at 27 pinches when the ball broke.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this mod to any who own or plan to own a BKO or a B2K.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:02 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

JTramoDude Thursday, August 7th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing for bushmasters
Marker Setup: bm2k
Strengths: eliminates chops....
slightly lowers volume, lowers kick, raises consistency, lowers pressure
costs like nothing
Weaknesses: nothing i have yet to see
Review: eliminates chops....!!!!! what can i say more than this... its amazing
one test i did included pinch testing 3 balls, these were old diablo midnight paintballs in 80 degree weather with blaring sun.
the first i was able to shoot with the ball halfway in the chamber 9 times untill it broke
the second time i was able to shoot wit the ball halfway in the chamber 7 times untill it broke
and the third time i shot 4 times untill it broke...
any way of looking at them.. these results even in an older version of the mod prove that an in game chop is nearlly imposible
videos of newer versions (including BKO's) are even more promising.

also
slightly lowers noise, lowers kick, raises consistency, lowers pressure
very cheap.. 55 to modify your own, 75 for the new pieces.... wow
not to mention that shootpaint.com is a great company especially travis whom i worked with primarily.

i am running an older version as a beta tester and i can only say this is sick. i have yet to chop a ball in a game ever since i got this. i cant really say much aside from its a great design, great concept, and its only getting better with every version.
Conclusion: defiantely get this, this and the chaos chip are the two most essential/best value upgrades for the bushmasters out there.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 12:02 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ImpYa Wednesday, August 6th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
LVL 10 On Mag
Marker Setup: 2k2 Custom Milled Vaporized BKO /w BL Torpedo Reg, Vapor Valve, Vapor Trigger, Chaos Chip, Shocktech Supa Fly Bolt, Zentriam ASA, Palmers Micro Rock, AKA Mitey Max, Smart Parts Sticky Grips, SP Mod
Strengths: You will never chop.
Weaknesses: None
Review: For $55, if you send in your ram, its one of the best upgrades you can get. I have tried many times to chop with this gun, but it wont. I out ran my eVLution 2 /w Y-Board 5 times and didnt have one chop. Out ran an X-Board Revvy /w JMJ Impellor many times...no chops. Finally, I put a VL 200 on my BKO...more dry fires than shots, but still not one chop. Its simply amazing!

Conclusion: I outshot my eggy2 and a HALO B double fed on my gun, so the SP Mod seemed like my only way out and im glad i chose it!

Great job on the mod Travis!

ImpYa
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media