paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels

Smart Parts Progressive Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Progressive Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Progressive Barrels
[ View Photos (39) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 486
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Progressive barrels are available in lengths (12/14/16/20") and are available for most paintguns. They come in black, blue, red , silver & green.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Progressive Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (49):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Monkeyboy13 Wednesday, January 28th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels, tactical tippmann m-16 barrel, tippmann 16 inch barrel, bt ak 47 spyder barrel.
Marker Setup: ACI Maverick with JJ Ceramic Barrel and 9 oz tank

MR1 with Tippmann hopper, trinity clamping feedneck, 16 inch Smart Parts progressive barrel, and 9 oz tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
rec sport works great. any paint that matches the barrel works well
Strengths: Dirt cheap, really accurate, durable finish, good end-only porting, easy to clean.
Weaknesses: It can be tough to play tight with( length),
Review: I love this barrel. i originally got it for my MR1 so i could have a spare barrel. i use it all the time now. it is much more accurate than my stock barrel. the stock barrel could hit a 1 foot wide square all day long from 70 feet. the SP progressive barrel hits a 6 inch square all day long from 70 feet. i like this barrel because it has porting only in the end of the barrel. the accuracy is determined by how far the barrel goes without porting. the porting only helps reduce the pop at the end of the barrel. it also makes it easier to keep dirt out of the barrel, a regular barrel sock covers all of the porting while storing it. Anyways, this barrel works very well, i never barrel break with it and it shoots consistently. i reccommend it.
Conclusion: It's a great barrel, go buy yourself one.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tactacan8 Monday, December 15th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar to other Smart Parts one piece barrels.
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
14" inch Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Shocktech Trigger
Custom Product Regulator
Empire Reloader B Loader
Virtue Crown
Trinity Clamping Feed Neck
Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
Virtue Board
Virtue Eyes
Virtue QEV
68/4500 PSI Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus, Severe
Strengths: Accurate
Inexpensive
Very Nice Looking
Doesn't Scratch.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This barrel I've been using for quite awhile now. This barrel is extremely accurate (when you find the right paintballs). The price is reasonable. I got mine for $40 at my local paintball shop. Doesn't scratch and I'm usually sliding and diving on the paintball field. I got my moneys worth.
Conclusion: Get this barrel if your on a budget.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 15th, 2008 at 4:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sp4nkySlayer Monday, October 13th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Stock A-5 barrel
and
Tru Flight 16"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5
Response
Double Trigger
14" Smart Parts Progressive
OpsGear G36 Folding Stock
32* 2003 Expansion Chamber
X7 Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use diablo heat at fields and monster balls in the woods with my friends
Strengths: Snipe-tacular
Quiet compared to my previous barrels
Cheap (ebay stores sell for $20)
Weaknesses: Nothing major, see review
Review: The barrel is a great for not so much hurt on the wallet.
I got mine for $20 on a ebay store and i cant beat that.
It shoots darts and i have never seen a ball curve. ( exception this past weekend, but i shoved my barrel into a defective paint grenade when i slid behind a tree and i had to clean all the crusty paint out of the porting, so not really anyone's fault but mine.

The only minor details i can see are:
A slight (so small) difference in range
The thing about the smart parts logo not being straight, when the barrel is screwed in all the way the logos are almost above and below the barrel so smart parts kinda messed up there, but no biggie because the barrel still owns face.
Conclusion: For a mere $20 you triple your accuracy of the stock barrel and it is easily the best mid priced barrel out there without moving up to something like a Freak Kit. A 10 because of its great performance in its price and design catigory
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

slowerpig81 Saturday, October 4th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
98 Custom Pro stock barrel- ok, worse than this barrel
A-5 Stock barrel- also worse
Phantom Barrel - Obviously better (these are not mass produced)
Marker Setup: Primary:
Tippmann 98 Custom Pro
Cyclone feed system
Pure Energy 48/3000 HPA Tank
-or-
SC Black CCI Phantom
14" stock barrel
Rear Bucket changer
Stock class stick feed
Daisy electronic point sight
-or-
Tippmann Pro/Carbine
Drop Forward (Tippmann)
A-5 stock barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
Almost any work well
Strengths: Cheap, looks cool to some (not me), handles paint well
Weaknesses: Lower quality, not as accurate as some
Review: My friend has this barrel on his A-5 and it is not the best barrel I or he have used. His in particular has some defect that makes all balls curve a little left, but they are not that accurate anyway. However, my friend was able to shoot this terrible paint that was dimpled and not even round at a scenario, somehow he did not break balls in his barrel at the frequency of mine (his broke 3-5 in the day, he shot a case), and lucky him, his cyclone was not made into a blender while mine was.
Conclusion: There are better barrels out there for the same price, and still better barrels. It is an upgrade for most low end stock barrels.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hell_hunter Tuesday, May 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Various Stock Barrels
-Various opsgear barrels
-Apex
-Flatline

Marker Setup: Primary Speedball
-SP Gen1 Ion
-APE Rampage Board
-DW Fibur 12" barrel
-DW Finngerlock trigger
-DW Hollowpoint Bolt
-DW Pro ASA
-DW Negitive Ion body
-DW QEV
-Halo Happer
-48CI/3000PSI steelie tank
-CP shortty reg

Primary Woodsball
-98 custom
-Opsgear 18" Fluted SNIPER Barrel
-Rocket Cock 2
-Opsgear 12" Floating SR Hand Gaurd
-APP Stainless Steel Screw Kit
-M82A1 Gas Thru MAG
-GTA Car Stock
-TACAMO AK-47 style Weaver Rail
-Polished internals, Pen spring mod

Backup
-overlord RX
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything but RPS polar Ice! Shot Diablo Nighmares just fine.
Strengths: indestructible
Short (12")
Weaknesses: Porting
Review: Ok well i was up at wassaga for the day playing paintball and i brough along my ion, Im still waiting for my DW barrel from the USA so all i had with me was the stock barrel. Now ive used this stock barrel and its not to bad, but its nothing special. So i decided to pick up a cheap progressive for the day to improve my accuracy. Ive used one of these barrels on an old spyder agressor my friend used to have and it was fairly decent on that gun. Well anyways started the day with RPS polar ice (which i already know my gun hates, seems to like to break in the stock barrel) and i was having barrel break after barrel break, i squegeed several times (both pull throu and battle brush) and i was getting no where. After swiching to Diablo Nighmares i had much better luck. Now i could actuly shoot stright and hit people. With the nightmares i would say the accuracy improved over the stock barrel, although i dont thing the range did (which makes sence as they were both 12"). One other thing i found about this barrel is the porting really affects the paint, if its got paint cloged in it, your accuracy really drops. And when paint does break its a real pain to clean the porting.

++update++
Used the barrel again today with XO V1 paint, This is a very hard shell paint and i was playinf speedball. I have to now boost the rateing to an 8 because the small size and accuracy was very helpfull on the speedball feild. Not 1 barrel break and we were playing in the rain (expanding paint due to mosture). Almost all my shots hit there targets. I think its starting to redeem itself after was wassaga paint breaking episode.
Conclusion: I will give this barrel a 7, its more accurate then the stock ion barrel, but with the porting and barrel breaks it cant posibly get a 10.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, May 21st, 2008 at 8:19 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ERW14 Saturday, February 23rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI Trueflight, J&J ceramic, 32* Quiet riot, SP Progressive, SP All American
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine, Palmers reg, Psychobalictics dovetail on/off drop, Shocktech delrin bolt, Custom 6061 aluminum hammer, Custom 6061 aluminum valve, 15* asa, PMI 68ci 4500psi fiber wraped, Evolution 2 w/ Z-Board
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything not sold at walmart
Strengths: Quiet, exrtemely acurate
Weaknesses: None
Review: I have used many barrels in all of the years that I have played paintball and this is by far the best. It shoots straight and flat. This barrel ie extremely durable and has a durable finish that does not scratch easily. a a a a a a a a a
Conclusion: An absolute must have
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Sunday, February 10th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP 2006
Proto 1 piece
Marker Setup: Dust Blue Proto PM5
Dye UL Frame
Dye Boomstick
CP Feed Neck
CP On/Off
Halo B
Dye Throttle 91/45

Black to Red Dye DM4
Dye UL Barrel
Shocktech Trigger
Tadao M3 chip
Hybid Grips
eVLution 3
Dye Throttle 91/45
Recommended
Paintballs:
Smaller size
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: This barrel is inexpensive and good. It may not look like it is very good because of the cheap price tag, but it is very comparable to the proto 1 piece. The proto 1 piece comes stock on the proto matrix and is a very good barrel. It shoots about the same as the 06 model but the look and maintenance of it is better and easier to clean out. It is also much lighter than its older model.
Conclusion: Comparing this to the Proto 1 piece i would say its just about personal preference, the colors on the progressive is glossy while the colors on the Proto is flat.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wrightusmc02 Sunday, January 20th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, PMI Razor, Freak Kit, Bt 16
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom silver
Cyclone Feed System
Collapsible stock
RT triger
BT 16 Barrle
BT fixed sight rail
BT Roctet Cock (closed bolt system)
Leapers Mil-Dot Scope
RAP4 Thunder Grenade launcher
using a remote
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've used all types. From just plain old white box to X Ball.
Strengths: Accurate
Distance
Good price --$25
Weaknesses: Shiny finish not really practicle for woodsball use.
Review: I got this barrel a couple of years ago. I have been very well pleased with it. You can use a wide range of paint with this barrel. Of course if you have crappy paint no barrel will really work. That is the only time I have had trouble with the accuracy. I have a scope on a raised mount on my 98. When another player is close I can look through the mount to sight down the barrel. If they are farther out, I use the scope. Either way is no problem. At 25 yards I can hold a group in about a 12 inch circle. The group does get larger the further out you go but hey your shooting a glob of paint.

I have not hade any barrel breaks that I can think of due to the barrel. I have chopped balls and had balls break in the barrel because I was shooting bad paint.

The distance is pretty good too. If given a clear lane of fire, the Progressive can almost match the Flatline-almost. Its never out shot my Flatline, but almost matched it. At that range though it's more of suppresive fire than being accurate.
Conclusion: I would deffinetly suggest this barrel. Its a little older now so you can get it real cheap. Overall this is one of my favorite barrels. I do like it better than both the Flatline and the Freak Kit.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Sgt._Schultz Monday, December 17th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
SmartParts teardrop barrel, SmartParts All American barrel, SmartParts Freak Jr. barrel, Tippmann Werks barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Custom Pro ACT
BT16 M16 barrel kit
Bt16 sight rail
Tapco six-position stock
Remote coil
Recommended
Paintballs:
Impact and Tacamo paint works very well.
Strengths: Accurate, VERY inexpensive, light.
Weaknesses: Umm, not terribly accurate at longer ranges, but most barrels aren't.
Review: Ok, the first time I saw a Progressive barrel, I just KNEW I had to get it and try it out. It was SOOOOO inexpensive that I figured that it would be just plain junk. I was VERY pleasantly surprised! I got mine on Ebay for $1.26 (I kid you not!!!!)!!!! It was one of the best deals I have ever gotten. I took it out back to test it, and it shot circles around most of my other barrels!! It had ball-on-ball accuracy at about 40ft in prime conditions (No wind, etc). I was SOOOOO surprised! Buy it, its great!
Conclusion: Buy buy buy buy buy!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tippy King Saturday, October 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Freak Junior. slightly similar accuracy but progressive is lighter and quieter
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
e-grip w/ W.A.S board
shocktech relocator bar
14"Smart Parts Progressive
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used with an off brand paint it worked Awesome.
Strengths: Very Accurate, quiet, Light.
Weaknesses: I draw a blank :D
Review: I just got this barrel after hearing so much about it. I screwed into my A5 today and shot it. The accuracy was very surprising. DEAD ON. nice and quiet. and very light. I played several games with it and owned like I never have before. The most accurate barrel I have ever shot.
Conclusion: I deffinatly think you should get this barrel..its very accurate. and much cheaper than most barrels
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (49):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media