paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels / Smart Parts Progressive Barrels

Smart Parts Progressive Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Smart Parts

Buy Smart Parts Progressive Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Smart Parts Progressive Barrels
[ View Photos (39) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 486
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Progressive barrels are available in lengths (12/14/16/20") and are available for most paintguns. They come in black, blue, red , silver & green.
Product Availability 
The Smart Parts Progressive Barrels are newer, so they should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (49):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
blakf0x Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2006 model of this
Marker Setup: -2k3 vision impulse
-47/300 crossfire
-CP feedneck
-CP volumizer
-Voodoo bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ive used, marballizers, Buzzballs, and draxus dusk. All worked great. Best results with the buzzballs though.
Strengths: Accurate for a stock barrel [with impulse].
Weaknesses: A little heavier, then other barrels ive used. But its no big deal
Review: This barrel came stock with my smart parts impulse. I was surprised, people usually spend 50$ for these and mine came stock. I went out back, with about 150 paintballs, and shot at a peice of plywood. Very accurate. And alot quieter then other barrels ive used. After i shot, i looked inside it and it was very clean. No dirt or any thing.
Conclusion: I would buy this barrel again. VERY accurate for a stock barrel
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmz boy Saturday, December 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Apex
Stock spyder barrels
Pipe kit
Marker Setup: PILOT ACS 05'(RED TO BLACK FADE)
SMART PARTS 14 INCH PROGRESSIVE BARREL
HALO B WITH VICTORY
TRINITY Q LOCK FEEDNECK
PURE ENERGY 3000PSI TANK(FIBRE WRAPPED) WITH DYE RHINO COVER(RED AND BLACK)
DYE STICKY 3'S(BLACK)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Premuim seem to shoot well in it
Strengths: Accurate
Looks pretty awesome
Average noise
Price
Weaknesses: Non self cleaning
Kind of loud
Review: Well honestly a barrel is a barrel some are more accurate than others and some cost more. Here's my opinion on this product.

STRENGTHS

ACCURATE: This barrel is defiantly better than my stock spyder barrel. In accuracy I believe the progressive ties or runs up with the apex. However apex massacres in distance. The Pipe just rune right over this product, however the pipe runs at$200-250 C.A.

LOOKS: The barrel itself has quite a intimidating look to it. I know I have scared many noobs by the look of this barrel. Barrel seems to look nicest on Low end electronic markers. However that's my personal opinion.

NOISE: Meh... It doesn't sound like a Rhino is charging after you or anything but I do think the barrel seems a bit to noisy for my preference. However some people like the noise because they say it scares their opponents. I however would rather sneak up and bunker you.

Price: I think this is one of the best priced barrels out there I bought the 14 inch for 50 bucks C.A but you could probably find something even cheaper. It's defiantly a bargain for the quality of this barrel.

WEAKNESS'S

NOISE: Like I said before it could be less loud but it'd a personal choice.

SELF CLEANING: This is where I hate the Progressive. If I chop a ball or have a barrel break it just will NOT self clean itself. I actually did a test at my house. I broke a ball in the barrel(on purpose) and tried to shoot through it. I went through a HALO full of balls and accuracy was running at about 75-80 percent. I would like higher. I'm one of those people that don't go down in their bunkers unless totally necessary. When my opponent pops his head up and I break a ball i would like to actually make that shot instead of being goggled. Whatever though that's why squeegees were made.

SUMMARY

POSITIVES

ACCURACY: + 4
LOOKS: +2
NOISE: A neutral point
PRICE: +4

NEGATIVES

NOISE: A neutral point
SELF CLEANING: -2

10-2 gives me a middle 8.
Conclusion: Personally I say it's the best barrel you can get for your money(40-60 bucks). However if you want unparalleled accuracy go for the pipe or freak. If your into distance grab the apex. However if your not willing to spend $120-$250 grab this.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Tak14 Monday, December 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Excel, Ultralight, Freak Jr., Many stock barrels
Marker Setup: 05 Shocker SFT, CP 48/45, and Pulse Loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
I don't recommend any specific paintballs.
Strengths: Kind of light
Pretty accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: None really
Review: I got this barrel with my Ion and it has served me well. Not the most accurate barrel out there but is good for the price. It also doesn't add a lot of weight to the gun so that is also good. I was also surprised to see how quiet it was. I like it better than the Dye Excel.
Conclusion: Definately recommend it to any entry level player if you are not looking to spend a lot of money. I give it a 9 because it is one of the best barrels in it's price range.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, April 17th, 2007 at 12:29 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbrogue Thursday, November 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
sp linear (about the same)
dye ultralite (much better)
sp Freak (much better)
a bunch others that were a lot worse

Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Smart Parts Ion Firebolt
CP Rake Trigger
CP Regulator
Dye UltraLight 14" barrel
Dye Airport
Dye Sticky Grips
Shocktech Feedneck
Scenario Dreams T-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
any as long as they are round and match the barrel

i would recommend Heat, addiction, or any other med. class paint
Strengths: Cheap
Pretty quiet
Weaknesses: Can't selct bore size
Review: I bought this for my 98 custom before my first tournament. I figured any barrel would be better than stock and it was the cheapest one for the quality. It did greatly improve the quietness and accuracy, but it wasn't perfect. I've since bought an ion and karnivor, so i gave the barrel away to a friend, but it treated me well while i had it.
Conclusion: If you are just getting into paintball and aren't sure what barrel to get, and you're pinching pennies, then get this barrel. I'm giving it a nine because its not the best barrel, but its very good for the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Seabass9000 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" SP Freak with AA tip, 12" SP Progressive about 8 years ago, 12" Stainless Steel Dye, 12" 32 degrees Carbon Fiber, 12" Dye Boomstick, and a few others...
Marker Setup: Blue Nerve, 14" Freak with AA tip, Max Flo 68/4500, Shocktech drop forward and VLocity hopper.

Black to Silver fade Mini E-Orracle, SP 14" Progressive barrel, Chrome Shocktech drop forward with silver SP on/off, Chrome Shocktech locking feed neck, Crossfire 70/4500 and an Evy 2 hopper with Z-board.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer seemed to work pretty good.
Strengths: Its accurate and cheap.
Weaknesses: Nothing for the price.
Review: Well if you need a barrel upgrade and you don't have a lot of cash... This is your barrel. It shoots great for being as low as $25 (Action Village- Autococker threads). It is pretty light weight, easy to clean out ports, not as big of a deal if you smack it on something... like a $200 barrel would be, etc...

I bought one about 8-9 years ago for a pump I had and loved it... I recently decided to try one out again for my Cocker. Works just as good as the old one did.

Conclusion: Great barrel for the money. Its light, accurate, pretty quiet, and it looks nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, November 20th, 2006 at 12:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NHbooniesballer Wednesday, November 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak- great if you have the money
Evil Driver- more accurate, but also costs more
Evil Pipe kit- very accurate, only used once, but very impressed
Marker Setup: Electra 06 with eyes: and
Freak Barrel kit
4500psi 68ci Tank
Vlocity hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
The new Xball, really any medium bore paint is great in the one I've used (as long as it's round)
Strengths: Price
Accuracy
Tolerance
Don't need expensive paint
Weaknesses: Shine
Finish rubs off fairly easily
Review: This barrel is awesome, I bought it at only 20 bucks and I still use it. For the price I don't think that there is anything better out there, but if you're looking to spend more, or even to upgrade, look at a kit.

I have only had one chop because of this barrel and I've used it for about a year. The accuracy is great for a barrel of this price range, out of 50 balls at 25ft, only 2 missed, and the others were within the 6" circle (Using Xball)
*Re-tested with Marballizer and got the same results

For big games/tourneys I'll use my Freak kit or the Evil Driver just for the extra accuracy, but for rec. games I'll use this, and It's fine on my electra.

Also, this barrel can stand a beating, I lent it out to one of my friends, and it took such a beating that I was getting worried even though it was only 20 bucks. They hit it off of trees, the castle at Canobie, but luckily not the rock wall. When I got it back, I saw the expected scratches, but it performed just the same.

The only weakness that I could find with this barrel was the fact that in most cases the barrel comes with a high shine which isn't great if you're trying to flank the other team, but if you're on the front-lines, then that really isn't a problem.
Conclusion: Smart Parts proved themselves once again with this barrel, affordable yet one of the most accurate barrels that you can buy for under 40 bucks. If you are really serious about the game though, spend the extra 40 bucks and get the Evil Driver or even the Freak if you want to spend more.

The shine, although not a huge factor, kept this barrel from getting a 10 although I can't stress how impressed I am with this barrel.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 28th, 2007 at 6:58 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bdimagine74 Sunday, October 29th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: Imagine
-14in progressive barrel
-20 0z c02

soon to be
-superfly bolt
-new dropforward or remote system
-new hopper
-folding stock
Strengths: Accurate
Improves range
Great looks
Weaknesses: None that i have seen
Review: As i stated above i own an imagine and it came with a crummy 9 and 1/2 inch barrel and was pretty innacurate. I bought this barrel from action village for 20 bucks i think and it was a great buy. I deffinatley improved accuracy and range. when i used it it increased my range by 40 or 50 yards and accuarcy alot. It did exactly what i though it would do. although my gun is still sometime innacurate but that is because of the bolt (very cheap).
Conclusion: I would deffinetly reccomend this product because of the price and it does exactly what it is supposed to
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

PB_ryan Monday, October 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
avenger stock 9" barrel
Marker Setup: Avenger3, 20 oz. pure energy tank, 14" progressive barrel, Halo tsa backman

coming soon-
Spyder Imagine
Recommended
Paintballs:
all paint works pretty good, BE goes without saying
Strengths: Cool
Tough
Accurate
Weaknesses: Shakes loose after many shots
Not much extra distance
Review: I got this barrel used for 20 bucks down at a local paintball store. The guy told me it was a teardrop, and i asked him why it said progressive on the side, he said that teardrop was a kind of progressive barrel. Anyway, later my friend told me it was definitely a progressive. Oh well. Any way, i used this barrel a day later and loved it. It shot much straighter then my crappy stock. the only problem is that it gave me no extra distance over my stock. overall a great product though Also after 50 or so shots, the barrel would shake loose no matter how much i tightened it. It could be the o ring, so ill replace it and see what happens
Conclusion: Buy it! Looks great, shoots great.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 16th, 2006 at 12:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

xxxnewjerseyxxx Thursday, October 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Linear Barrel
Marker Setup: WGP Trilogy Pro Autococker
Tippmann 98 Custom
Empire Reloader
Response Trigger
14'' Progressive Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've Only Been Using Diablo Heat and Monster
[Monster Sucks Most of the Time]
Strengths: Accuracy
Doesnt Break Paint
Fits Many Markers
Looks
Weaknesses: None Found, And I've Used This Product Since March of 2006.
Review: Smart Parts has done it again. Their Progressive Barrels, which I have on my 98 Custom, are near perfect and just rock my socks..

The Barrel's accuracy is amazing, and i have not had ONE problem with this product. Its looks are nice but not gorgeous...(it is only a barrel)... but it does have a suspicious purple glow [black one]. For me, that is a preference,, i like the originality. The Progressive also fits many markers like my Tippmann 98 Custom, which again... i love. Finally, i have only had one brake and i was using a crappy/old brass eagle paint. I usually use heat(like said above) but i am also a regular with monster... i dont reccomend monster.. but i havent had problems with them... only the old and outdated balls...


Please Note if this review has been helpful.
Conclusion: I Reccomend This Barrel To All Tippmann Owners Looking For Something Cheap that Will Give You Efficient Accuracy.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kek Friday, September 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CMI Thunder Pig - way worse
Flatline from both A5 and 98C - less accurate, more range
Armson Stealth - Comes somewhere close, but way more expensive
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
E-Grip
14" SP Progressive
G36 Folding Stock
BT Double Finger Trigger
Ricochet R5
Remote
68/3000 HP

Tippmann 98 Custom
14" SP Proggressive
Univ. Air-through stock
HALO TSA LED Frontman
Remote
48/3000 HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Worked nearly perfect with Draxxus Blaze & Tomahawk Field
Way bad with the Fuego Strike, which of course is crap paint
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Sound
- Looks
- Price
- Quality of finish
Weaknesses: Maybe the somewhat small bore size
Review: Well, this is one of the best barrels I've had so far, esspecially for this price. It is more accurate than both the A5 and the 98 Flatline's. Of course it doesn't have the range these barrels have, but you can't seriously call that a weakness.

The proggressive is also way more quiet than both the A5 Flatline and the Armson Stealth, because of its porting, which of course the flatline lacks at all. I estimate that the flatline is twice as noisy as the progressive, which can be described as both a good and a bad thing. But as I prefer function over looks & impressiveness, the quietness is a good thing to me.

This barrel looks very smooth on almast any marker, perhaps the older model looks even better than the new one, but as there's no accounting for tastes, that's just my opinion.

At around 35 euro's, this barrel CANNOT be beaten by any barrel under e. 75,- that I know or ever heard of. This is a great price for a barrel like this one..

the quality of the finish has been excellent at both of the progressives i own, so no complaints about that

The only (small) weakness the progressive has is that is has an little smaller bore size than most other one-size barrels (except for the J&J then), so big bore paint will not function perfectly. For a good paint-barrel match, try using Draxxus Blaze or Tomahawk Field, both pretty good paint, which will give no breaks what so ever (shot more than 5 cases with the both of them)
Conclusion: Almost perfect barrel, and unbeatable for this price (even if it was 30 bucks more) and good quality product, that says it all I guess...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (49):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media