paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion

Viewloader Orion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Orion

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Orion
[ View Photos (44) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 379
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Viewloader introduces the all-new VL ORION semi-automatic paintball marker for 2003. The VL ORION is a tournament grade semi-automatic marker with features that include: a field stripable pin for ease of cleaning and maintenance on and off the field, hi-rise vertical feed port for increased feed rate, volumizer for increased gas efficiency, gas thru fore-grip, an aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver, a "self-locking" velocity adjustment, 2 panel grip with double finger trigger, laser engraving and a drop forward for increased cylinder clearance and enhanced compact profile.

Key features include:
- Volumizer
- Hi-rise vertical feed port
- Rear cocking bolt
- Gas thru fore grip
- Custom trigger guard with double finger trigger
- Custom drop forward


Mo_0?
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Orion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (38):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  Last
        Next Page
Paintsoft2009 Tuesday, December 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 custom
9" barrel
20 oz CO2
200 rd. hopper
Marker Setup: VL Orion, 11" custom barrel, Pure Energy 20 oz CO2, VL 200 rd. hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
longer barrel, better balls than Blue Streak, Wild Streak, etc.
Strengths: Very Accurate, Price, Power, Weight, shoots fast without chopping, ease to clean
Weaknesses: Color is too shiny, Loud shots
Review: This is a great gun compared to most others. The price of this gun related to ones of the same price is superb. Most guns of this price are pieces of junk. The actual gun is great for a newbie to get used to but, if your into tournaments, then you should get one of better quality. The blue metallic finish looks nice and would work for tournaments, but it's just to bright for woodsball. Overall, this marker almost never chops balls and is very reliable, and I've only gotten it jammed once.(bad paint)The rate of fire is resonable at about 4-5 shots per second. You also almost never need to clean it if you use good paint, and you never need to set the velocity, because its set at around 270-280 from the factory. A normal hopper is enough to feed its hunger.Finally, the entire gun works smoothly and if you happen to have balls break, then the paint has escape paths and doesnt sit in the gun blocking the airflow. The gun is great and I recommend it to any newbie.
Conclusion: I recommend buying this gun because of the price and reliability. If you want a gun to last you through the newbie stage, then this gun is for you. I give this gun a 10 because of its great characteristics. Buy it!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 30th, 2004 at 7:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbfanaticjoe200 Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
viewloader prodigy
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: 11" custom barrel
viewloader 200 hopper
Brass Eagle 9oz. co2
pure energy 20 &9 oz. co2s
Recommended
Upgrades:
the 11'' extra barrel, the 8'' is a piece of junk
Strengths: distance, accuracy, easy to cleann never chops decent balls, PRICE
Weaknesses: Chops zap, blue streak, wild streak, and other cheap balls. the gun is too metallic.
Review: when one fires the viewloader orion they cannot believe that the price is so reasonable,
for 50 bucks in some places you can get this fantastic gun. the accuracy is superior to all brass eagle junkand the gun has a constant firing rate. on my crhonagraph i got 19 out of twenty shots within 10 fps of 260 (that is what i play at). i have never found a marker in this price range that is so well built either. of course, like any marker this one chops cheap balls, and on occasion PMI premium, but what doesn't?
the only weakness is that if this gun chops one ball, the rest of the hopperfull is ruined.
Don't use Zap paint in this, the firing rate is constant and i once got 5 shots a second without chopping, the norm is about three for my trigger hand. the double finger trigger also comes in handy. i put camo on mine because of the reflective nature of this product, especially the barrel
Conclusion: Buy it if you want a good, quality marker. the term that yo get what you pay for is clearly obselete in this case. i give it a ten, its not perfect, but a nine is just far too low/.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

streetvigilante Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
this is my original gun
Marker Setup: viewloader orion with the stock hopper it came with in the package... which sucks
a 20 oz co2 tank on a remote, a 16inch barrel from the internet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrell-the longer stock one works fine, but you can get ones off the internet that are nearly 2 times as long as very accurate
Strengths: No chop
Stock barrell
Weaknesses: Everyone looks down on it, price and lookswise
Review: EVERYONE looks down on this gun... and they shouldnt, it is a fantastic beginners gun. It rivals a lot of guns that people pay over $100 for. I spent a little over $50 for it, then spent $25 on a new barrell from an auction site. I then bought a remote for $30 and a 20oz co2 tank for $25. I have had very few problems with the gun. it had a leak from the volumizer once. Other than that, it worked much better than my teammates gun which he spent 75 on... he now upgraded to an a5 and im up to a dragun TES. Other than the fact the gun looks like hell and everyone looks down on it, its a sweet gun... all you have to do is make a few awesome kills, and everyone will be wondering how you did it.
Conclusion: I would definitly recommend this gun to anyone who is in the beginning stages of paintball.. dont spend over $65 for the gun and definitly buy a new barrell for it
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

rynedude Tuesday, December 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder AMG classic
Tippman A-5
Marker Setup: The extended stock barrel
Pure Energy Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Strengths: -Cheap
-Very Rarely Chops Balls
-Verticle Feed
-Good Distance/Accurate
Weaknesses: -Without lube can easily break Orings
-Very loud
-Barrel is shiny easily spotted
Review: This is a very good gun especialy if you havent been paintballing for a verylong time and moneys tight. In the year ive had this gun its mabey sliced a ball 2 or 3 times, and its pretty CO2 efficent. The one thing it could definetly use is a new, better barrel because its extremly loud and unless you crank up the velocity the balls ill only travel an average distance and not be totaly accurate.
Conclusion: I remcomend this gun to anyone who is just gettin into the game and if money is tight.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Crazy_Nut Sunday, December 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor II, Spyder Victor, Tippmman Custom 98, Black Maxx, Maurauder

I liked both Spyders better than this, but the other three didn't live up to this marker in my eyes.

The Spyder Victor and Victor II both had a great feel to them, and were faster than the Orion.

The Tippmann was much slower, impossible to field strip, but it was more durable.

The Black Maxx performed much like the Spyders, but it had many cheap parts.

The Maurauder just plain sucked.
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS, Viewloader eVLution II (egg), Centerflag 47/3000, Lapco Universal Feedneck, Shocktech Adapter, Pyscho Ballistics Drop, Checkit 15* Assault Block, Maddmann Rocket Valve, Shocktech Srping Kit, Checkit Sweetspot Trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel (But what gun doesn't?)
-Bolt
Strengths: - Comes in a kit.. Great for beginners
- Accepts most Spyder-friendly upgrades
- Doesn't chop
Weaknesses: - Horrible customer service
- Gas Hog
Review: This was my first gun. I looked at it on the Canadian Tire website for months until I conviced my Mom paintball isn't all bad. Then, came the day I had been waiting for for weeks. I bought the gun in a kit, for $199.99 CDN. Taking it out of the box, it had no spare parts kit, and no manual, just a website.

I took it to my neighbour's house to try it out, but I noticed balls just falling out when I turned the gun down. I brought it inside to look at it. I went on the website, and noticed I was missing what was known as a "Ball Stop". I called the tech center and was on hold for nearly an hour. The guy then gave me no help whatsoever, and told me it was my fault. I called again, and the guy told me it would cost me nearly 80$ to order in the part from Toronto (I live in Nova Scotia).

6-8 weeks later I finally got to use my gun!. But then, when I was told to field strip the gun and oil it up. I took out the pin, got hit in the nose by the bolt, and spent an hour trying to find all the parts. After that, I had no idea I was supposed to wiggle the trigger to get the bolt back in, so I took off the entire trigger frame to do it. From here, the valve in my 9oz tank burst, so I was out for another month because I didn't know the problem.

Overall, this is an okay gun. The grips are quite comfy. It doesn't chop, in the time I have owned it, I have never broken a ball, but this could just be because the long/heavy trigger pull results in very slow firing. As far as noise goes, it isn't loud, and it isn't quiet. The feedneck, which is simply welded on, is not replaceable, and really only tightly fits with the stock loader. When I took it out of storage, and tried my Egg on it, the Egg would spin around, and if I tipped the gun upside down the hopper would fall out. The stock Barrel is 8", and unported. The stock barrel is also very inaccurate. The marker is horribly inefficient, and shooting at 280fps at about 25¢ª got me an efficiency of only 300 shots for a 9oz. My dropforward came with only 1 screw, so after every game I always had to re-tighten it so my ASA wouldn't start spinning around.

Also, if you buy this marker outside of a kit, it comes with an extra 12" barrel.


Concerning upgrades.. I won't be able to have prices for the Pro Series Upgrades

Barrels - This marker has Spyder threads. I would suggest either the stock barrel, or if you have about another 50$ to spare, look into a J&J Ceramic barrel. I have one on my Pilot ACS right now and it works great. If you want a barrel kit, I would recommend looking into an Empire 4 Piece (about 100$), because with an Orion, that's all you need. You could also look into some of the Smart Parts barrels. The Teardrop, (70$) and the Progressive (50$). They come in 12-16" lengths and the Blue Teardrop especially can look very good on this marker.

Drop Forwards - It has the same screw assembly as a Spyder, so before you do anything, you need a Shocktech Adapter*. You can get this for under 20$ usually. After this it depends whether you want a dropforward with on/off capability. The best without I would have to say would be the series Shocktech has, ranging from the Super Mini to the Long. If you want an on/off, then you should look into the Checkit Speedy, or the Psycho Ballistics Drop. there is also a Viewloader Pro Series dropforaward, but I have no figure for the price.
note - the checkit speedy does not require an adapter. all dropforwards are available for under 75$

Feednecks - Unless you do a custom upgrade, the stock feedneck is welded on, so don't bother looking into feednecks.

Grip Frames - There are only a few that will fit this. I won't go into any mech grips much. There is an old WGP one meant for an old forgotten marker, but I can't remember it's name. The one that stands out, which is made by Viewloader, would be the VL E-Grip. I think it is capped at 13bps, but the trigger pull is horrible. This frame will make your orion about as good as a JT 3.5E. I'm pretty sure Spyder Grips will fir this. As for Spyder grips, you have the Kingman ESP Frame (270$), the Kingman IPI Frame (120$), the Sprint Frame (100$), and the Kingman Rocking Trigger Frame. I would recommened any of these, but I wouldn advise you to stay away from the VL E-Grip, or the Kingman Rocking Frame. The Rocking Frame will hit your wallet hard, and it is overhyped.

Expansion Chambers/Foregrips - I don't know if the Expansion Chambers I mention will fit this, but I will list them anyways. You have the 32 Degrees 6 Stage (50$), you have the 32 Degrees Cut and Carved (60$), you have the Bob Long Expansion Chamber (40$), and the Pro Series Expansion Chamber Kit. Of all of these I would recommend the Bob Long, or the Cut and Carved, because the Bob Long has the best value, and the Cut ad Carved looks awesome.

I think that's all you would ever want on an Orion, but there is more Pro Series stuff, although I would not recommend it.


Looking back, I wish I had looked other places than Canadiantire and Walmart, then I could have started paintball off on a better foot.

All prices I have mentioned thusfar are in Canadian Funds.
Conclusion: I would encourage any new players to buy this gun, but beware. If you notice any problems send it back immeaditily, and don't waste your time with Viewloaders poor customer service.

I would also lower it's rating more, because a Spyder Victor II package is about the same price, (actually, it is less) so it pretty much takes away any need for buying this marker.

I would say do not buy it.

This gun is great, but put in the hands of Brass Eagle it loses much of it's value. Because of the poor customer service, and that it could be better for the price, I give it a 7.

Before I finish, I would like to talk about the package this comes in. It comes with a really bad JT mask (i have nothing against JT), a 9oz co2 tank, and a VL200 hopper. At CanadianTire, this is $199.99 (CDN). After looking around, I have found a Sypder Victor II package on Canadianpaintball.com for $169.99 (CDN). The Spyder package includes the Victor II, which is a much better marker, it includes a VFORCE Armor, which is much better than a nameless JT mask, it also includes a 12oz tank, with a hopper also. There is a much better value package here, and it isn't the Orion package. To start out on paintball, you can get much more for your money. Because of this horrible value, I take a point away.

The marker itself, minus the customer service, I would give an 8.5/10.

FINAL SCORE : 6
Rating:
6 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 1:52 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

thacaptain Wednesday, December 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
A couple Tippmanns, a bunch of other Viewloaders, PMI Pirhana. For the most part, the Orion held its ground just fine when pit against these other markers. The Tippmanns had some superiority to them but nothing insurmountable.
Marker Setup: Just upgraded to a Spyder Fenix. It's equipped with a Ricochet Apache loader and, of course, my beloved Smart Parts 14" Progressive.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The first upgrade to this gun should be a new barrel. Everything else is gravy. Smart Parts makes some superb barrels for a really good prices. Check out the Teardrop or the Progressive. Just find one that matches your paint size.
Strengths: Solid body, very low maintenance, inexpensive, and reliable.
Weaknesses: Poor barrel(s). Poor customer support. Hard to find parts.
Review: Don't be fooled by the Viewloader logo on the side of the gun. The quality is surprisingly high. The body is very solid and is not prone to easily breaking or yielding to the normal wear and tear from the field. The lack of additional bells and whistles keeps the price of the gun low and affordable (around $100 last I checked). Maintenance is about as easy as it could possibly get for a paintball marker - Just pull the strip-pin and all the internals come out.

I have to emphasize though that this is a very basic mechanical marker meant for beginner players. It doesn't have an expansion chamber, or a regulator, or an electronic grip frame, or anything fancy. It's as simple as it gets and so it's not fair to compare it against Autocockers and Intimidators (or my new Spyder for that matter!) Instead, just know that it doesn't chop balls, it doesn't leak gas, it doesn't guzzle liquid CO2, and you don't have to live in fear of breaking it when your running with it on the field.

I mentioned the barrels above. The gun comes standard with a 9" barrel and you get an additional 11" barrel if you buy the gun as a standalone product (as opposed to in a starter kit.) The 9" barrel is far too short to provide a proper runway for a paintball. And neither barrel has any porting. As a result your shots are loud and the precision suffers a bit. A new 12"-14", micro-honed, ported barrel that matches your paint size makes this marker considerably more precise.
Conclusion: If you're new to the sport and would like to get into it without spending an arm and a leg then this is a perfect starter gun that won't embarass you when you show your friends.
However, if you're looking for something with more features then save your money for a marker in a higher price range!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JSCARFACE2005 Wednesday, December 1st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dragun tes, spyder rodeo, crappy pump, orion
Marker Setup: orion,16 oz. chromoly, reloader 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
any vl 200 is fine. Maybe a new barrel but all the rest is fine.
Strengths: Powerful as heck, fast trigger pull, looks way better out of the box.
Weaknesses: Not the best looking gun but it will look lots better when you use it.
Review: Best gun under $60, probly the best looking too. never had a single problem with it and it remains my best gun besides my dragun tes. The one small problem was that in order to put the velocity under 300 is to take out the adjusting pen, but it still shoots at around 280.
Conclusion: If your looking for a really cheap but most reliable gun under $60 this is your best bet. I even guarantee tippmann people will love it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Shanathon Wednesday, November 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
This was my first gun! Now I have ViewLoader Maxis EG! RG is an upgrade from Orion, EG is an upgrade from RG. But I skiped RG!
Marker Setup: ViewLoader Maxis EG! 2 9oz, 1 12oz, and 1 20oz Co2 tanks.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ViewLoader Quantam Electronic Hopper! Even though it is a simi-auto, go ahead and get the electronic hopper. Its worth it!
Strengths: Fast for a simi! Light! Great starter gun! Cheap!
Weaknesses: Not Electronic!
Review: This gun is a great gun for a starting player! Its cheap, lightweight, and can keep up with any other simi on the market! I would recomend this gun to any starting player, interested in playing paintball! If you want to have an electronic go with the ViewLoader Maxis RG or EG! Whatever you do stick with ViewLoader! I had a problem with the first Orion i bought at Walmart it had been damadged in shipping and Walmart wouldnt take it back! So i called ViewLoader and they shiped one out to me NO QUESTIONS ASKED! They have great customer service!
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are a starter! Its very good for kids!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, November 24th, 2004 at 9:30 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

Dantrooper Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Eradicator by Brass Eagle: Breaks balls more, extremely inaccurate
Marker Setup: Stock VL Orion
Recommended
Upgrades:
haven't tried, but would like a more accurate barrel, and response trigger
Strengths: Pretty accurate
rarely breaks balls
easy to clean
low price
Weaknesses: Bright: easy to see even under cover
Trigger: not very easy to pull
Review: During one paintball game, I was trying to sneak around and shoot my friends from behind, but they saw the glare from my gun through the trees; I got CREAMED. An improvement would be to give this gun a dull finish. During another game, I couldn't shoot fast enough with the trigger, so I got shot instead. It has a long throw, and a high trigger pull force, making my hand, at least, tired when firing a lot of rounds.

It's a better starter gun than some of the cheaper guns that can be very frustrating to beginners, turning them off the sport. My brother has an Eradicator, and because it's always breaking balls, he hates paintball. When the balls actually get out of the barrel in one piece, no one knows where they'll end up.
Conclusion: This a good starter gun for beginners, and it doesn't cost much.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Running Riot Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Eradicator, PMI Eforce VTL
Marker Setup: Viewloader Orion, 14in Armson barrel, HALO TSA LCD, 20 oz Co2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better Barrel
Strengths: Powerful,almost no chops,reliable
Weaknesses: Bad Accuracy
Review: I first bought this because of the price. I was surprised when i shot it. My first paintball war with the Orion I wasn't getting any chops with the gun especially after I got the Halo TSA LCD loader. The gun works great in poor weather. The orion is great on Co2. 20 oz Co2 tank=1000-1300 shots depending on conditions.
Conclusion: Great gun for the Price. You well not regret if u buy it. Great Gun for a beginner. Anyone that says otherwise is wrong.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (38):  First  |  22  |  23  |  24  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media