paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion

Viewloader Orion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Orion

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Orion
[ View Photos (44) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 379
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Viewloader introduces the all-new VL ORION semi-automatic paintball marker for 2003. The VL ORION is a tournament grade semi-automatic marker with features that include: a field stripable pin for ease of cleaning and maintenance on and off the field, hi-rise vertical feed port for increased feed rate, volumizer for increased gas efficiency, gas thru fore-grip, an aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver, a "self-locking" velocity adjustment, 2 panel grip with double finger trigger, laser engraving and a drop forward for increased cylinder clearance and enhanced compact profile.

Key features include:
- Volumizer
- Hi-rise vertical feed port
- Rear cocking bolt
- Gas thru fore grip
- Custom trigger guard with double finger trigger
- Custom drop forward


Mo_0?
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Orion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (38):  First  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  Last
        Next Page
Stormwolf877 Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
N/A
Marker Setup: VL Orion, 14in CMI True-flight barrel, 20ozCo2, VL2000 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Inexpensive
Simple
Pretty accurate
Not one chop in a full day of play
Weaknesses: Loud
Foregrip threads like to strip out
Heavy trigger
Review: Ok i purchased this gun on ebay for around 50 dollars just as something to go out and play a few games and see how i liked it before i shelled out major cash for a higher end marker.
when i first chono'd the gun before my 1st game the velocity was jumping all over the place between 230 and 290 fps, after the game however I did it again and it had settled in at about 285 and never changed more than 5 fps again.the standard barrel is pretty much crap and i would reccomend getting a aftermarket one but with a good barrel it shoots pretty well and it didnt chop a single ball with either barrel. later in the day i noticed that the foregrip was getting wobbly so i checked it out and lo and behold the threads that attatch it to the body had stripped out so i removed the grip. To me that wasnt a big deal but it might be to some people.
Conclusion: If your a newb like me i would reccomend saving a little more money and getting one of the higher end spyders or a tippman but if you absolutely cant scrape up more than 60 bucks this is not at all a bad gun.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bluespider Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Xtra, Tippmann 98C, Tippmann A-5, PMI Traccer Tagmaster, Custom AutoCocker
Marker Setup: VL Orion, 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel (Spyder threads) , VL Revy 12v w/ X-Board, 16oz CO2, VL Proseries expansion chamber, home made "left forward" (like a drop forward, but it goes left and forward).
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel (I don't have one yet)
Better drop forward (If you want to deal with the hassle of cutting a notch in your fore grip)
Strengths: Powerful, accurate, reliable, easy maintenance, CHEAP CHEAP CHEAP.
Weaknesses: None that I have been able to find.
Review: This is my first paintball gun, but I did do a little research before buying this gun. When I went to Wally-World (Wal-Mart) and bought this gun, I also bought a 200 box of blue streak ( they suck, look like water when they break) paint balls and a disposable CO2. We went to the shooting range to test it out. Even with a severe cross wind, we were able to regularly hit a man sized target from about 35yds out. Out of the 200 shots I had no jams, breaks, or misfires. Though it did have a little trouble re-cocking during rapid fire.

UPDATE
I did finally get a real tank (alright its only a 9 oz),and that seems to have fixed the problem at rapid fire. I have now played about 20 games with this gun, and am still happy with my investment. No seriously you can't beat it for 60 bucks. I no longer use the blue streaks Radiation Red Scorch shows up much better. I have fired aprx. 2000-3000 rds and still no breaks (in the gun). I have also discovered that most upgrades that work on the Spyder Xtra work on the VL Orion, plus there are the
upgrades from VL pro series, so it's more upgradable than I originally thought. I get far more kills than deaths (eliminations for you politically correct people) and can keep up with people who have Spyders, Tippmanns, and Piranhas. This may be a skill level issue more than a equipment issue.

UPDATE II
I recently had the pleasure to borrow a VL Proseries E-Grip from a from a friend. It worked flawlessly, and even at higher ROF I still did not chop. I am definitely gonna get me one. The only draw back is, it is hard to keep paint in the hopper. It just keeps flying out the barrel. Sounds like an operator malfunction; I guess I'm gonna have to learn self control, or I'm gonna go broke on paint. I did chop my first paintball (it was bound to happen), but 1 chop outa 5000 balls is not to shabby. To be perfectly fair the chap was not the fault of the gun; between the body of the marker and the hopper neck, there is a small gap, and as luck would have it splatter from someone else's gun got in there and jammed things up bad enough to make me chop. I also did a little more accuracy testing. At 100 feet standing and pulling the trigger as fast as I can, all of my balls stayed in a 18 inch circle. I would probably have better accuracy at slow fire.

UPDATE III
I got some upgrades fo' my gun. The J&J barrel makes a big difference at long range, and the expansion chamber helps to keep my velocity more consistent at different temps, so I don't have to adjust it each time I play, and it's helps accuracy. As winter ended and the temps rose, all my friends guns started shooting to hot, but mine stayed right where it was at 285fps. After a year of use and probably close to 10,000rds, I still only have that one chop where I already had paint in my gun. It is still very reliable gun and I would recommend it to anybody. A few of my friends are now looking at getting them.
Conclusion: All in all probably the best gun for $60. If you are looking for a decent marker for a very low price, this is the one for you. I am giving it a 10. Good first gun for beginning players who don't want to break the bank, or for someone who wants a good backup for a good price. It is as good as or better than any gun that I've seen under $400.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 5th, 2005 at 3:02 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

superboop Friday, July 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Blade 02 Not really similar but oh well
Marker Setup: Right outa the box with standard 8" barrel and 9 oz co2.
Strengths: Cheap,Reliable,All Metal,No Chops
Weaknesses: None that I have come across
Review: This is by far the best gun for the money. The eradicator doesn't even compare to the Orion. I went on ebay and bought it for 38.00 and it came with a case, a duffel, a loader, two barrel plugs, 3 140 rds pods, and belt! It is the perfect gun for entry level and medium level players and it doesn't cost you a fortune to get a excellent semi-auto marker. If you are just getting into paintball or if you want to upgrade to a semi from a pump this is the marker to do it. Look at the reviews they're as good and even better then markers twice it's price. I have never had a problem with this marker and its is very reliable and its metal so it's not going to break like a stupid Eradicator I almost bought one of those stupid things. If your a newb or one to move up a level this is defintly the best gun for the money!!!!
Conclusion: I would defintly buy this gun, it is the best gun for the money. If you want to get into the sport or move up this is a great gun to do it with and you don't have to know much about them because it's not so high strung thats it always runin hot and you never have to replace much because its not so strung out.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 2nd, 2004 at 8:22 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ice_caps Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
i once used a paranah ......ah......parahna.....some sort of paranah....it chopped balls alot more....didnt have a for grip...
Marker Setup: stock everything....cut the spring though
Recommended
Upgrades:
you might want another barrol...i find it fine with the little stock one...
Strengths: acurite
easy to maintain
only ever had it chop once
nice grip
AWSOME GUN
Weaknesses: .....Barrol is small but pretty acurate once you learn to controll it.
Review: i love this gun.... it is easy to clean. it takes about a month of pickin' off trees in your backyard to get use to aiming....just hold it at the waist and i find your hands will guide you. as for the color.....oh well. i love it! it came with every thing you need exept paint at one hundred fifty $ canadian....yes CANADIAN!!!!!
Conclusion: I LOVE IT!!!!!!! AWSOME GUN AWSOME PRICE!!!!!!!!! ....i do want to know what barrols i can use on it tho....*hint hint*
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

evilcountrygirl Monday, July 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Talon, Stingray, and Blade 2, Icon Z, and Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Strengths: Does not chop, Not easily broken, Dependable, Not a gas hog, and Fun.
Weaknesses: Sticks out a little in the woods, fix it by air brushing it
Review: I recommend this gun to the new people and to those that don't want to spend all that much on a great marker. With the time I have had this marker not one ball has busted, I like that. I only recommend that you get it air brushed a different color so you don't stand out in the woods because it stands out a lot, and get a better barrel so you can shoot at a farther range so you don't be seen as easily
Conclusion: The Orion is a great marker for newer people to the sport, its quick, reliable, and a cheap marker. I also recommend this gun because I haven't had a break down yet and I use it at the very least once a week
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, January 23rd, 2005 at 3:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sonykid712 Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor 1-i dont liek this as much as veiwloader
Marker Setup: all stock exept i bored holes in the barrel
9 oz pmi co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
prolly new barrel
Strengths: Strength
Accuracy
Dosent chop/break balls
Good on c02
Weaknesses: Loud
And for some its a veiw loader dosent bother me
Review: Well last night i bought this gun only 60 bucks from walmart got 1000 pack a blue streak paintballs and c02... Well this morning i went outside good accuracy all the way up t0 25 yards could hit a bottle (all i tested) only bad thing i can think about is its loud and it hurts well im not getting shot so i dont mind ... But to fix the loudnes drill some holes in the barrel and where the hopper goes because of blow back
Conclusion: Buy this gun it great
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

oldspice Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann
Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: Camo tape
Strengths: Cheap, Worked well, Easy to work on, Did not leak, Few chopped balls
Weaknesses: Didn't always recock itself, did break a ball or two
Review: This was the second time I've ever played. It's been a lot of fun, but the single shot pump I used last time was shelved in favor of a semi-auto.
I've been reading this site for a while now searching for which gun to buy. With money a deciding factor, Wal*Mart became the decided solution. The Tippmann 98 Custom was what I wanted and what my friend bought; however, the View Loader Orion came home with me.
It came with two barrels as all have already mentioned. The longer of the two was immediately attached and the shorter lost; it's not needed, truthfully, and I have no review for the shorter barrell. The longer one is supposedly more "accurate" so that's what I did.
The marker worked well. It was thrown around quite a bit and got extremely dirty. At least one ball did break in the barrell, but a second shot cleaned it out and nothing bad came from it (accuracy, other broken balls, etc.). I never experienced any air leaks, though I am paranoid enough to wrap all threads with Teflon tape as a kind of preventative maintenance (last gun I had leaked, Teflon tape on all the fittings fixed it).
When firing quickly, the gun would occassionally not cock itself. One would fire off five shots or so and then nothing would happen. To rearm the gun you have to grasp the cocking bolt (whatever that thing is called) and pull it back until it clicks. THEN the gun will be ready to fire again. My buddies told me it was because I wasn't pulling the trigger all the way back, and upon experimenting with that easy fix (pulling the trigger all the way back) the gun never had any more problems.
I had a good time. I and friend had the same gun and we both killed guys with more expensive guns. One buddy bought the 98 Custom Kit at Sports Authority for $200 and ran out of air, running him out of the game. He was the only guy who ran out, but it was weird for he never shot more than 500 rounds.
Gun: $59.99 Tape: $2 Tank: $40? (20 oz.)
Conclusion: For what it accomplished, I'm giving it a 10/10. It's a great, cheap, nicely-performing gun. Did I mention cheap? It cleans easily thanks to the "pull-me-and-everything-comes-out" release pin. It did not leak air and broke only one ball to my knowledge. I would buy this gun again. Accuracy was no worse than my friends' guns. It killed other people and saved me $140 through my not purchasing a Tippmann instead. I'll upgrade eventually, but I don't play that often to begin with.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 19th, 2004 at 10:10 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

snowlover905 Monday, July 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine , Tippmann 98c, Brass Eagle Maurader
Marker Setup: Vl Orion, Stock
20 oz co2
11 Barrel (stock)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Expansion chamber
Strengths: Accurate (for its price)
Durable
Double finger trigger
Weaknesses: Bolt
trigger pull length
colors
plastic grip frame
drop forward position
lots of blow back
Review: the only gun i had before this was a BE pump and i didnt know what to look for in a marker. it is fairly accurate compared to others in its class, but i would go for a more expensive spyder or actionmarker. it is good for a begginer and viewloader makes some upgrades for it, but if your going to spend the money for the upgrades i would buy a different gun. there is quite a lot of blowback and i have had balls get pushed into the hopper and break. to fix this you can drill a hole in the side of the feed neck.

Update:
I've now had this gun for 2 years and its still running good. The only problem i've had is the trigger doesn't catch on the sear consistently but i dont care becuse my friend is gonna buy it and part it out. Still think its a good deal for the beginner.
Conclusion: If you are new to paintball and play rec or w/ your friends it does just fine.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 18th, 2005 at 7:54 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MantaRay818 Sunday, July 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
BE Marauder.
Marker Setup: VL Hopper
14" barrel
20oz PE Co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrels, expansion chamber
Strengths: No chopping
Weaknesses: Check to see if the bolt it fully to the rear.
Review: Great marker. Some folks thought it was a spyder until they got up close to it, then bashed all over it until I hit the field. Best upgrade to date. Good price for the make of the marker. But like people say "You get what you pay for". I do believe that for $59 was a good price. Also look at the quality of paint that you play with too.
Conclusion: Upgrade what you can and it will make the marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bobisntmyname Thursday, July 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
any cheap spyder-same as this basically
triad-basically same
eradicator-horible
stingray-horrible
Marker Setup: VLorion
co2
gravity hopper
14"pmi razzor
Recommended
Upgrades:
uh, maybe a barrel but the stock ones are pretty good
Strengths: Cheap
Accurate
Efficient
Good distance
Durable
Weaknesses: Foregrip sucks
Screws and stuff come loose
Shiny( not good for woodsball)
Review: i got this gun from wal-mart. The stock barrels are pretty amazingly good. use the 11' one. Its loud, but hey its accurate and has good range. Unless you REALLY care about the loudness, dont get another barrel. Its really good on c02( i shot at least 700 on a 9 ounce one time). if you use the stock barrels and use decent paint (draxxus dusks) and dont shoot over 5 bps, i guarentee, YOU WILL NOT BREAK A BALL!!! i clean and oil mine after every game. but u dont hafta. i took the crappy foregrip off, and a screw on my bottom line came out, but it doesnt really matter. i just keep it tight. I love this gun. Its like the cadallac of wal-mart guns, and it easily holds its own against spyders. It has upgrades too. e-triggers, regulaters, expansion chambers, bolts, springs, everything u need made just for viewloader products. i forgot the websight though. but its fine without them.
Conclusion: Go get it. i love this thing. its not cocker, but for the price ($55) its so freiken awesome. i wouldnt trade mine for the world( well i prob would but who cares).
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (38):  First  |  25  |  26  |  27  |  28  |  29  |  30  |  31  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media