paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion / Viewloader Orion

Viewloader Orion Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Viewloader

Buy Viewloader Orion

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Viewloader Orion
[ View Photos (44) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 379
Average Rating: 7.9 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Viewloader introduces the all-new VL ORION semi-automatic paintball marker for 2003. The VL ORION is a tournament grade semi-automatic marker with features that include: a field stripable pin for ease of cleaning and maintenance on and off the field, hi-rise vertical feed port for increased feed rate, volumizer for increased gas efficiency, gas thru fore-grip, an aerospace grade aluminum alloy receiver, a "self-locking" velocity adjustment, 2 panel grip with double finger trigger, laser engraving and a drop forward for increased cylinder clearance and enhanced compact profile.

Key features include:
- Volumizer
- Hi-rise vertical feed port
- Rear cocking bolt
- Gas thru fore grip
- Custom trigger guard with double finger trigger
- Custom drop forward


Mo_0?
Product Availability 
The Viewloader Orion is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (38):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
FreeRider87 Thursday, August 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A-5
Flatline Barrel
Nitro duck compressed air
Strengths: Reliable, cheap, and shoots cheaper paint well.
Weaknesses: Big trigger pull, not a very good woodsball gun fps spikes on co2 sometimes
Review: I bought it as my fisrt marker i liked it a lot. it was a good gun to decide how seriously i wanted to get into paintball. i liked how reliable it was and simple.its easy to clean i was not a big fan on how big the trigger pull was. it shoots the cheaper paints like scorch well. its a good way to get into the sport with little cash.
Conclusion: overall i would say it is a very good gun to get into the sport with cheap reliable easy to learn your gun inside and out (simple) I would suggest this marker to all those of you new to the sport or poor like i was lol
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

kidwithagun Thursday, July 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
piranhas, spyders, tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: piranha sts g3, revy w/ x-board, smart parts progressive barrel, 32 degrees x-chamber, crossfire 68ci 45psi hpa tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel, if not just get a better gun
Strengths: It shoots
Weaknesses: See below
Review: -Its dinda heavy
-The foregrip is retarded its thick, round and bulky and its just a hunk of metal hangin there
-This is one of the most inacurate guns ever, the short barrel is even worse no matter wat paint you use.
- One of my asa bolts sheer off and your tank will wobble back and forth

*I used to have one but i got rid of it be 4 i through more $$$ away
*there are three kids that i play with that still have these and 2/3 have problems with theres. one had the bold and valve mesed up and the other jammed every game.

Conclusion: Don't buy this its a waste and a money pit
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

ff7_phantom Tuesday, July 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Icon spyders 98
Marker Setup: Phantom vsc T stock 3.5oz
Recommended
Upgrades:
None
Strengths: Hardly breaks
Weaknesses: Overpriced
Its a viewloader
Better markers for a little more
Review: I bought this marker not for me but for other people. i rent guns to other people so our wars can be bigger. when i first shot it the paintballs curved like no other i mean i couldn't hit a tree 20yrds in front of me. the paint broke like no other and i bought good paint. there are 10x better guns for a little bit more and those are the guns you want to buy.
Conclusion: Buy a better gun for a little more don't go cheap when buying a paintball gun you will regret it in the end
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Xx123xX Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Mokal Fokus
Marker Setup: ViewLoader Orion, 14" J&J Ceramic, VL 200, (Threw Quantum into trash...) 20 oz. Pure Energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Paint job/tape
Strengths: Construction, reliability, ease of use, low breaks
Weaknesses: Power, color, cannon sound, needs something of a sight...
Review: Overall I think this is a good gun, however it IS a noob gun, but not the worst gun made. I hardly ever play so I really don't care if it is noob. I've used this gun in 1 v 1 woodsball against my friend with his Fokus, which is full auto. I haven't really been able to compare this gun to others except his, but from what I gathered from target practice and shooting at him was this.
1. Power is dangerous if not set correctly. I didn't think about this having it up halfway, and hit him in the stomach from about 50 feet. It left a bruise the size of a popcan top, that was black. He was wearing a t-shirt and a sweater, so be careful where to aim.
2. Accuracy is decent, but I haven't yet compared directly since I got the J&J. (Lack of Co2 fillers)
3. I didn't like the light blue finish, so I painted it black/silver fade.
4. Very sturdy, I've actually tried to shoot rocks out of it (Shows how idiotic I was) and it performs fine even after that.
5. Easy to use, doesn't make my brain hurt to field strip.
6. I have actually had lots of breaks with the stock barrel because of Wild Streak or w/e it's called paint that was over a year old and coated with broken ball filling which actually broke in the barrel, not on the bolt, but since I've switched to Scorch, I've experienced no breaks out of 700 balls firing quite quickly.
7. Very loud stock barrel because all the Co2 has to escape all at the same time since it's just a solid metal tube.
Conclusion: Get it from Wal-Mart, if you don't like it, simpily return it. It is NOT the best gun made. Call me a noob if you feel the need because it's from Wal-Mart or some other reason, but I refuse to buy a new gun that cannot put meat in the freezer...
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 20th, 2006 at 11:53 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

VL_orion Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
pmi r6 pirranna (witch isnt simmilar it sux),tippman 98 custom semi-auto,tippman custom
Marker Setup: I use a VL orion that has a camo vinal job on the barrel the ,co2 lowerer ,handle,place were the hopper goes in ,and the volumizertab underneath the barel.9 inch barrel ,200 hopper,kustom carbon fibre trigger,9oz co2 tank,
Recommended
Upgrades:
a kool dark flat coloured paint job so you dont stick out in the woods ,a longer barrel ,a camo paintball bag (like mine) ,daily basis tuning (keep it in good shape) ,oil the o-rings .
Strengths: Good power,fair price,good on co2,7 shots second,good accuracy with stock barrol.
Weaknesses: Manual doesnt tell what o-rings are, the paintballs can get caught 1/10000 rarety .
Review: i have had this gun about 1 year , this gun is incredibal if i were to pick the gun of this century it would be VL orion . It has good power,fair price,good on co2,7 shots second,good accuracy even with the 9 inch barrel. about 3 weeks after i had it i notest people were noticing me in the woods because of the shiny silver and blue colours. so i disided to start a vinal so far i have accompplished a camo vinal job on the barrel the ,co2 lowerer ,handle,place were the hopper goes in ,and the volumizer tab underneath the barel.then i got a carbon fibre trigger on it .it has a 9 inch barrel ,200 hopper,kustom carbon fibre trigger,9oz co2 tank,
Conclusion: This paintball gun is amazing me my freinds dusin and brad all have the VL orion . it is cheap , has good power,good on co2,7 shots second,good accuracy even with 9 inch barrel.i recommend this gun to anybody with good tayste .

Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, December 30th, 2006 at 6:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rockitz Thursday, July 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Victor II
Icon X
Marker Setup: Kingman spyder acs,egg2,rocking trigger,20oz compressed air.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel
New trigger(Long trigger pull)
Strengths: Powerfull gun
Good for begginers
Weaknesses: I didn't have any major problems,just change the oring.
Review: I used this gun for the first time and it worked great well I was a noob before, but now it a very good gun, and I took a guy down with and A-5 and he had a response trigger and he asked what gun I had and I told him I had a Orion and he was like OMG!.So Yeah.Its a great gun all and all.
Conclusion: Get this gun Its good for people that have just started or as a backup or as your gun. It fits into all categories.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 13th, 2006 at 3:10 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

davyb Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: stock gun including
-VL Orion marker
-stock 8" and 11" aluminum barrels (comes with both of them)
-14 oz co2
-16" J & J Ceramic barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-a barrel for sure, you tend to loose accuracy past 50 ft even with the 11" barrel
-cover up the paint on the gun, looks great, but you can be easily spotted
-a remote, this will give you a huge advantage by keeping the guns weight down with the tank in other places
Strengths: -Lightweight and strong
-Great on co2!
-Never chopped a ball
-Great price
-Loud as hell!
Weaknesses: -Screws come loose
-Need to keep it oiled
-Long pull on the trigger
Review: This gun is very cheap and reliable, and for it's price you can't go wrong. Lightweight construction, yet very durable (my gun was run over by a tractor, but it still works perfectly). Very easy to field strip, but practice a few times before you go onto the field, also clean the gun every few games or 800 balls. Never had ball chops yet, and I played a game the first day I bought it which involved some heavy firefights. It heald up great, awsome on co2, I outlasted everyone else and my gun was almost at full power! The noise of the gun is very intimidating, I scared off a few people with it and hunted them down later. The rate of fire is decent on the gun, it could be a bit faster, but if you can sneak up on someone you don't need to shoot alot of balls anyways. I had some jams in the hopper, but a slight shake and it was working great again. Bought the gun for $100 CAD from a friend who didn't use it, $140 at Can... Tire (can't mention store names). Trust me that you will not be dissapointed, this gun is worth ever penny.
Conclusion: FOR A FIRST GUN I would definitaly recommend it, for price, functionality, ease of use, and maintenance. Oh and in the affair of accuracy the better the ball, the better the shot. As my first gun I am surprised at the quality of this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, August 15th, 2006 at 8:36 pm PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

alex343 Tuesday, July 11th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
a wrist rocket...but it was 5 times better, reliable accurate etc
PLEASE rate this "helpful" so it can go to the top for everyone to see...so they dont have to go through the pain of having to deal with it.
Marker Setup: The plastic loader that came with it
Recommended
Upgrades:
A uh... better gun
Strengths: Dirt cheap
Relatively easy to clean
Weaknesses: See below.
Review: CONS:


chops waaaaay too much
too inaccurate to hit ANYONE
2 screws on bottom of marker (one for each hand) that scratch your gloves/ hands
LOUD
paint actually came off the trigger after 2-3 uses
in my second game with it one of the screws fell of of the drop forward, leaving ME to hold the co2 tank up while firing
if you are ANYWHERE NEXT TO LUCKY you MIGHT be able to get out 5 bps
someone shot the plastic loader off
weak gun...maxed at 330 fps for me
blue and silver for no camo
useless drop forward....bulky and only drops forward an inch
unreliable---can drop its fps to 170 when you chrono and everyone laughs(at a large field too)

its just not worth it


***Update*** i went to a field and it was an airball, nppl size. i brought ol faithful with me and this one guy with a high end emarker made fun of me by running around in the open 20 yards in front of me....i almost threw the gun at him.
Conclusion: dont get it it is a weak gun. unless you like losing! if you like losing then get it its PERFECT for you. i wouldnt reccomend it for even a newb like i was just save up and get a good gun.
Rating:
1 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, August 10th, 2006 at 9:10 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tippmannkilla22 Monday, July 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
other mechs
A-5
98c
Xtra
Victor II
R6
Sonix Pro
and many more
Marker Setup: Xtra
14" Redz Pepper stickz
Alamo City Delrin bolt
32*spring kit
Bandit high flow valve
WGP Ergo regulator
macroline
dead on drop foward
ESP trigger frame w/ custom trigger
12v revvie
20oz pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
spring kit
bolt(if you could get someone like bandit bolts to do it)
Strengths: Reliable
accurate(ish)
efficient
doesn't need a feed tube for hopper
easy maintenance
Weaknesses: Not very upgradeable
chops paint paint to much compared to what I'm used to
Review: First off this marker is actually pretty good for a beginner gun. It's very reliable and easily one of viewloader's best guns. That's considering how lot of thier other markers are bad. I had used this marker for a year and I did great against Spyders and Tippys proving that it's not just the marker but the person using it.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you're not going to play speed ball that much and/or if you just want a good decent marker that works.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CADPAT Monday, July 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-viewloader genisis
-Tippmann 98c (in terms of ROF)
Marker Setup: 1)
-Tippmann 98c
-14" progressive barrel
-Vlocity hopper (not in use)
-32 degrees hopper
-3000 psi PMI air tank

2)
-Viewloader Orion w/ 11" barrel and viewloader 200 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
-better barrel
-viewloader 12v revvy
Strengths: -Looks cool
-Does not chop often
-Rear cocking bolt does not bulge out
-small
Weaknesses: -Metallic noise
-tends to lose air when bolt is uncocked
Review: Ok. Normally i would not buy a viewloader marker after my genisis broke down, but i was desperate at the time. I was going up to my cottage for the weekend and needed a spare gun for my friends. Well i tried this thing out and i gotta say i liked it. Its accuracy was great with the stock barrel and it only chopped a few balls. Plus i was using cheap paint. The velocity was easy to turn up and down and i liked the size. only problem is that when the bolt is forward it leaks, and the feedneck does not fit many hoppers. Otherwise it is excellant quality and seems to be an excellant buy.
Conclusion: IM going to give the Orion an 8/10 because it is a great gun, but i don't like how many of my hoppers don't fit the feedneck.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (38):  First  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media