paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant / Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant / Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant / Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant

Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant
[ View Photos (32) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 312
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $250

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Same as the Spyder E99, but with some extra features.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder E-99 Avant is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (32):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
AutoC Tuesday, August 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant w/ Dye X-Cel Barrel, Air Tank w/ Dye Rhyno Tank Cover and a 9/12 volt Reve
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
Fast hopper
New bolt
Strengths: Shoots fast
Durable
Cool looks
Electronic
Weaknesses: Bolt chops paint sometimes
Needs a new barrel
Review: This is a great gun for all types of paintball. Woodsball, Speedball, or Tourneyball. It is a durable gun for a new player and is worth the money you spend on it. If you take care of it, then it should be very durable and lasting throughout the years you use it. I have had mine for almost a year now and it has been the best gun to me yet! I think you should buy this gun!
Conclusion: This gun is worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gigiboopoo Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Prodigy, Rebel BTB
Marker Setup: e99 with 16 carbon fiber barrel, rev, 72ci pmi nitro
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel stock broke paint when i shot it, fast hopper, nitro
Strengths: Fast, design, colour, adjustible feed neck
Weaknesses: Nothing maybe stock barrel but cant expect much from them
Review: i used the prodigy for awile and desided that it was a royel pyle of **** so i thought about a tippmann, well screw that 90% of rec players have them. So the the best gun after that for the poor man was a spyder. I went with the e99 and with co2 in the cold it is bad but in warm wheather all my friends are scared of it.
One thing that sucks for me is that the rev isnt fast enough for fast auto but i keep it on slow auto and it works great. Out of 1500 shots last battle it broke 1 which is pretty damn impresive for being on auto the whole time.
Conclusion: get it it is great for rec in warm weather, maybe with nitro it will be better in winter i havent tried it yet. If you want a reliable gun and dont want a tippmann because everyone has them this is a great gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Pman09 Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
View Loader Orion...good for a backup gun
Spyder Xtra...great gun for starters
Marker Setup: Spyder E99 Avant
J&J Ceramic 14"
32* Uni Drop
Shocktech Supafly bolt
New Designz low pressure chamber
Lapco Clamping feedneck
VL evo2
Dye Sticky grips
68/45 Centerflag

WGP Mini Orracle (Black/Blue)
VL Evo2
Centerflag 68/45k
Dye Rhino Cover 05
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel stock is'nt great.
A good electro hopper
New bolt
Strengths: Fast
Pretty light
Accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: Bolt scratches
Feed neck
Review: STRENGTHS
Speed: This gun tops out at around 14bps which requires the use of an electronic hopper i had an Empire Reloader and now have a VL Evo2. They both work fine but the Evo 2 keeps up with most guns anyways. I can walk it to around 12 bps but the full auto mode which is useless chops a ton and jammed my gun up when i tried it.

Accuracy: Has decent accuracy with the stock barrel. But not great, so i bought a J&J ceramic which is perfect for this gun. Now it has great accuracy and is very quiet. I can shoot a rope of paint and the shots are pretty much right no top of eachother.

Looks: Its an average looking gun. I like the looks of it ok but you prob wont get any compliments on it unless u put a ton of ups on it like i did lol.

WEAKNESSES
The stock bolt rips the heck out of the internals so I highly recommend a new bolt. I love my supafly. It never chops and reduces kick.
The stock feedneck will definately break after a few uses so get a new one of those too.
Conclusion: I like this gun for being the price it was. Its reliable and a good beginner gun. Extremely upgradeable. The possiblilties are endless. If you're low on cash and want a worth while gun. Go get the E99 Avant.
9 because of some annoying problems.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 6th, 2005 at 12:01 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

alpha20 Saturday, July 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99 (Avant is better in changing fire settings)
Spyder Pilot (Better than Avant)
Spyder Imagine (Worse than all listed above)
Marker Setup: 1. Spyder E99 Avant- Venturi Bolt, Empire Reloader, DYE Xcel Barrel.
2. Spyder E99- New Bolt, Velocity Adjuster, Drop Forward, Expansion Chamber, Smart Parts Barrel.
3. Spyder Flash LCD- No Upgrades yet.
Recommended
Upgrades:
(In Order)
1. Electric Hopper
2. Barrel
3. Bolt
4. Expansion Chamber
5. Nitro
Strengths: -Selective Fire
-Looks
-Ease of customability
Weaknesses: -Bolt
-Barrel
-Stock Expansion Chamber
Review: I like this gun, as it is very well built and very easy to maintain. You must remember that you need to get several new components to the gun before you actually really kick some butt. You need an electric hopper for constant, even feeds, and a barrel for good accuracy. You will also need a good bolt, because the stock bolt is less than perfect. The expansion chamber should be bigger; it is certainly a welcome upgrade.

Reccomended Brands:
Barrel: DYE, J&J, Smart Parts
Loaders: Empire, Halo
Bolt: Shocktech, Venturi
Conclusion: Overall, this is a good starter gun for the Newbie to the Advanced player. An excellent choice for speedball. Just be sure to adjust your trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Adam 1 Thursday, July 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix- close
RT Pro- Better
Marker Setup: 3000psi tank
dye sticky 3 e grips
shocktech superfly bolt
empire electro hopper
lamco feed neck
Quiet Riot 12" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, bolt, electro hopper, dye girps





Strengths: No breaks with stock bolt and stock barrel shoots ok
Weaknesses: None
Review: When i bought this gun i didn't know how good it would actually be until i used it for the first time. It is just a great gun. I only used the stock barrel once and it shot ok but not good enough for me. Also the stock bolt really sucks if you want to use 3 round burst or fully auto so get a superfly or new bolt. After that the gun is just amazing. I have killed so many people with it. The distance and everything is wounderfull. It is really close to a tournement level gun if not one after just a few cheap upgrades.
Conclusion: Great gun after some upgrades
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Honda-Tech Wednesday, July 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Other spyders
Marker Setup: Stock E-99 Avant
20oz CO2 Tank
Regular Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel and an electronic loader is a must for auto mode.
Strengths: Reliable.
Good Looking.
3 shot burst.
Full auto.
14Sps.
Fireing mode switch button.
No breaks.
Weaknesses: Stock barrel is not very accurate at long distances.
Review: This, friends, is the Acura Integra Type-R of paintball guns-It's fairly cheap, beautiful, reliable, fast, upgradable as hell, and most of all fun-right out of the styrofoam box. I got the black one (I prefer the colors of actual guns, although most people like the green one better) for $150. The Avant is my first marker and so far (about 1500 shots) I have had no mechanical or electrical problems. I think I got the new year model because my E-99 has a black grip (not see-through smoke) and has a metal feed neck. The accuracy of the barrel is the same of any Spyder-Good up to about 50 feet and farther than that you have to get an aftermarket barrel. If you are considering to buy the Avant-get it. You will not regret it. Just remember to oil the bolt occasionally and you will have an excellent paintball gun.
Conclusion: This is my first and probably last paintball gun. It is that good. Don't even think about Tippman.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 29th, 2004 at 11:55 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TOXONOMIC Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 avant
Strengths: Good color(camoflaugue)
shoots well
all around a nice gun
Weaknesses: the L.E.D's are a little bright but dont worry
Review: The E-99 Avant is a good gun for a cheap price. I found a complete package with a 12oz. Co2 tank for only 189.99 which isnt that bad for how good the gun is. Another thing that is good about the gun isthat the L.E.D's are brighter then the Imagine and you can set it to low auto or high auto along with high semi-auto and low-semi auto. This gun gives you a lot of different functions and alls i can say is that if u buy a hopper it should be electric becuase you will want it once you shoot this gun.
Conclusion: This Product is good and i think everyone should buy it if u dont have alot of money to spend
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Saraneth Tuesday, July 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Image
Spyder E-99
Tippmann 98 Custom w/ flatline
Tippmann A-5
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant
Smart Parts All American Barrel 14"
Shocktech SuperFly bolt
Aci 4 stage Exp Chamber
Evolution 2 Hopper
Jcs Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Bolt
Auto hopper
Strengths: Price
Full auto, Semi auto, and great 3 round burst.
Weaknesses: Bolt Scratches
Stock barrel only gets about 25 yards.
Review: Of all the guns I have played with, this is my favorite. I really like. The only complaint, is the bolt. Sadley enough it scratches. but that can be fixed beautifully with the help of our friends at Shocktech. They make a great bolt for spyders. Now, the barrel is a wee be lame too, but with our friends at Smart Parts that can be fixed. I can snipe at 100 yards with litlle arc and hit my target beautiful. The gun with a few mods out performs the A-5 easy. It really does. I know it may be hard for you to take, but the A-5 isnt that great, so spend less money, buy a E-99 avant and mod it to kick tippmanns wee asses.


The only benefit to getting the Avant rather than the regular E-99 is the fact that changing firing modes is easy. It is a button you push at will, the E-99 still uses DIM switches. And for those of you who dont know what that is, A DIM switch is old old computer technology that is a pain to work with.
One other think is the paint isn't cromed so the sun doesnt reflect off it like it does the E-99. Dont get me wrong, the E-99 is a sexy gun, but the avant has more tactical stealth and looks good while doin it. So go buy the damn thing and show tippmann what panzies they really are.


Conclusion: The gun is worth every penny and make for a great begginner to mid-range player.
it love for long long time.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MillenBird22 Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant
Ricochet AK Hopper
14'' J&J Ceramic Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, Electronic Loader, Possibly a new trigger
Strengths: Design
Accuracy (with new barrel)
Fast Shooting
Price
Weaknesses: Sloppy Trigger-That's about it
Review: Well I first owned a Tippmann A-5 and quickly decided to sell it after I saw my friend's hybrid blow back Spyders. There's just something about the electronic Spyder that drew me to it. Maybe it was its sleek design. Or maybe it was because of its incredible accuracy (after a good barrel was used however). Or maybe it was the fact that it shot a ton of balls a second. Or maybe it was just the bright lights in the handle... Anyways, this marker is a steal for it's price... I bought mine for $180.00 from my local paintball shop and I haven't looked back since!
Conclusion: I recommend this marker for anyone out there---and I mean anyone, whether you think you're too good for it or even if you are just starting out. I promise you will not regret it. Hardly any gun deserves a 10, so I'm gonna give it a 9 due to its sloppy trigger pull, which can easily be fixed with a new trigger.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, July 23rd, 2004 at 3:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Bernin Friday, July 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Cheap rentals
Tippman Pro Carbine
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant
Smart Parts 14' Teardrop Barrel
Empire REloader Hopper
Shocktech Supafly Bolt
Bob Long Torpedo
20oz CO2 with on/off
Strengths: What everyone said (fast cheap and reliable)
Weaknesses: Read Below
Review: My brother and I both got E-99s and i can say that we're pretty happy with what we got. It is pretty fast and was only $160 for us. It was definitely the best bang for the buck deal we could find. The only problems with it are primarily cosmetic or minor since the gun is definitely really shootable out of the box but you eventually want to exploit its full potential I'm only writing the cons and improvements since there are pages of good reviews before and after this one. I'm trying to write about structural and inherent problems, be wary of people writing about a bad-apple as if it was an inherent problem..

Sound: I can say that it is definitely a very loud gun so snipers and people with sensitive hearing should be cautioned. This can be fixed with a regulator, though. Which should allow you to operate the gun at lower pressures with less recoil and lower noise.

Ergonomics: This gun comes with a small drop forward which is a lot more than other guns have but with a 20 oz. tank, it is a little unwieldy for front players who favor tight and compact setups. A lot of guns don't even have drop-forwards to move the tank forward so make sure you go to a paintball store and have them gas it up for you. Another thing is the hand grip which is made of plastic with a roughened surface also like many other markers but i never found it to be a pleasure to hold though it has never bothered me, I only see potential to improve which is why the market for rubber grips exists. Keep in mind that these are ergonomics and therefore what feels uncomfortable to me may not be so for you. FInd a store and have them gas it up for you.

Chopping: A regulator will also help in the ball chopping area. The problem is that when you have a hopper that is approaching low-empty, the gas going through the gun pushes the paintballs back up into the feedneck from the hopper and the gun is so fast that it can fire the bolt before that paintball has time to fall back down, resulting in your bolt chopping the ball. Operating at lower pressures will reduce the amount of gas that pushes the paintball back up. This problem doesn't really happen much when the hopper is full since the full weight of another 140+ paintballs are pressing down on it. A replacement delrin bolt such as the supafly by shocktech will help as well since it is not as heavy and therefore will jam the paintball instead of chopping it and getting paint all in your barrel (there are other benefits but i won't mention them). A Hopper is obviously a worthy upgrade which every paintball should get.
The only sure-fire way to prevent ball chopping, however, is to get a eye system which won't let the gun fire unless there is a ball in the gun and this is a complicated and costly modifcation for this gun, guns manufactured with the eyes are even more expensive such as the Angel Fly.

Coating: The body of the gun has non-shiny coating which i found to be very cool and low-profile but when you're buying upgrades for the gun, most of what you're going to see is shiny chrome and other glossy coatings which might clash with you're gun. Personally i think it looks fine and it isn't going to stop me from supporting the gun or buying upgrades.

Range: Unless you plan on upgrading the barrel, don't expect to be picking guys off on the other end of the hyper-ball arena, even 1/2 is a stretch factoring in the spread of your barrel. I played against a guy with a bob long intimidator that could fire balls at a flat trajectory across the whole field and have the paintball still burst on me. You'll get by with the stock barrel and it'll teach you how to be sneaky but a better barrel will be necessary eventually.

***Update****
I finally plunked down some cash and got a Bob Long Torpedo regulator and got my gun running low pressure at around 350psi and i can say that it was very good investment. The sound dropped as predicted but no where near as quiet as a closed bolt system like autocockers. I didn't suffer any chops but i did get a jam. Coupled with a good paint to bore match, my gun it pretty much at perfect with the exceptionr nitro and maybe some ergonomic upgrades such as a longer drop forward and a rubber grip.
Conclusion: This gun is still pretty good, don't be put off by the negatives i mentioned. Other markers are even worse, especially in this price range. You'll get about 80% of the bang of high-end markers for 20% of the cost. You can't argue with that. I'm sure that the missing ingredient is a regulator. I'd highly recommend getting both a regulator and a barrel since they'll both increase your accuracy and range with some other benifits. The only thing after that is an electronic hopper which will make sure you're getting a good feed of paint to your hungry gun. It is definitely a good gun and i have yet to have it break on me. There is no way i can fire as fast as the 14 BPS it is capable of so i don't feel limited there and the price is right. The key thing is that with some smart upgrade shopping, you can get this gun good enough to compete with those $1000 guns. Obviously this gun will be able to keep up with you in terms of skill and wallet size.

Note: Make sure you are buying E-markers for the right reasons. Most of the fields i go to don't allow players to shoot at mode besides semi. Consider carefully between what you need and what you are willing to pay to have some extra features and presteige. Oh, and if i haven't said it a billion times, have them gas up the gun for you at a paintball store to get a good idea of what you read about it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 9th, 2004 at 1:51 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (32):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media