paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / WDP Angel 4 / WDP Angel 4 / WDP Angel 4 / WDP Angel 4

WDP Angel 4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount WDP

Buy WDP Angel 4

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


WDP Angel 4
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 77
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
WDP Launches the Angel 4


WDP launched a new Angel, the ‘4’, in Stockholm, Sweden this morning. Details have now been released on this new Angel incarnation, which is billed as the straightest shooting, fastest, cleverest Angel ever. The 4 uses the proven Speed engine, which has already established itself as being capable of out-shooting anything else out there. Back is the LCD display with full menu options, and a host of new performance features are included. The Bolt, 14 way, Ram, and trigger have all been modified to deliver awesome firepower with incredible accuracy. The features are as follows:


Hardware
• New - Angel 4 is the lightest Angel ever made, at –2.29lb (Gun only) making it a full 20% lighter than the Angel IR3.
• New - Angel 4 body length is half an inch shorter, and offers a substantially lower profile than any previous model.
• Angel 4 is easily capable of operating at pressures under 200psi, with the use of the color coordinated 3Sum volumiser kit included with every Angel 4 as standard.
• New - Shorter stainless steel hammer, reducing Ram Overhang by 30%
• New - Smaller, lighter, 4th Generation Electro-Pneumatic Valve offers 20% increase in flow efficiency.

• New - Soft-touch bolt, reducing ball impact and breakage.
• New - Custom Angel back- plate with on/off indicator
• New - Twist-Lock Gated feed.
• New - Ergonomically shaped trigger with integral toe adjustment.
• New - Revolutionary Vernier trigger wheels adjust trigger movement to 0.1mm (thinner than a human hair). The easiest and most precise trigger adjustment in the World.
• New - Low-profile, light weight pressure indicator shows operating pressure of your Angel 4 in easy-read dual- display windows.
• New - Slide-fit top-plate, with single-screw lock, reducing profile and weight.
• Twin serviceable low profile ball detents
• 4.8 volt rechargeable metal hydride battery and Charger
• Sculptured Space frame with Skin Grips.


Software
• New - 12 modes of fire, including Semi Auto (31bps), Full Auto, ramp, bursts and programmable modes. Enhanced modes capped at 13bps.
• Sensi Anti-Chop system with self-test feature.
• Adjustable game timer with 3 vibe alarm profiles and ‘first shot’ activation.
• Infra-red communication capability
• Shot counter and rate of fire indicator.
• Intellifeed driver capability, with adjustable signal output at 0.5 second increments.
• New - ECOS (Electronically Controlled OpticalSwitch) - allows users to enable/disable switch bounce, adjustable from 1-20.
• New - User friendly LCD interface with dual menu facility, providing basic and advanced user operating parameters/settings

The Angel 4 is the most accurate paintball marker of all time…

Power without control is worthless. The Angel 4 is the straightest shooting gun on earth. Its low pressure operation and soft-touch bolt offer minimal kick and a super-flat trajectory. Combine this with the superior firing platform of the patented Space frame and adhesive Skin grip and you get incredible accuracy, combined with incredible rates of fire. You will make shots you never made before. The 4 will change your perception of what is possible, what you are capable of.


The Angel 4 is the fastest paintball marker ever…

The Angel 4 will cycle (that’s feed and fire) 31 balls per second. There is no other paintball marker on earth that can match this. The incredible firepower is delivered with style, refinement and all the features you need. There has never been a more user friendly Paintball Marker. Set your trigger up to your own exacting standards with the twin Vernier wheels, which offer an incredible range of trigger positions to suit any user. 12 modes of fire are available with the Angel 4, including Full-Auto, Semi, Ramp, burst and user programmable options.


The new Angel 4 is the smallest, lightest Angel ever…

The Angel 4 is a full half inch shorter and lower, and 20% lighter than its predecessors. The addition of a twist-lock gated feed and low profile operating pressure gauge have added additional comforts and information to the user. The sleek body-shaping is made possible through WDP’s range of state of the art laser guided CNC machines, which are constantly updated to deliver the latest cutting edge styling.


The Angel 4 is the smartest paintball marker ever…

The Angel 4 has all the muscle, but it also has the brains to back this up. The 4’s insane feed rate is made possible through the Sensi LDS (Load Detection System), which monitors the load capacity of your loader and adjusts the maximum rate of fire to match it, ensuring the maximum bps (balls per second) possible. It is also equipped with an ez- read LCD split-menu interface with access to game timer, vibes alarms, Infra-red options, and a host of other features.


The Angel 4 is the lowest pressure Angel ever.…

The Angel 4 will operate at pressures lower than 200psi. Out of the box your Angel will operate at around 350psi. A 3Sum Volumiser pack is included with the marker, comprising of 3 different volume chambers. The largest of these chambers will drop your operating pressure down to around 175psi (operating pressures may vary depending on barrel and gas source). This incredibly low pressure, together with the 4’s new ‘Soft-touch’ bolt, make this new Angel the most paint friendly marker on earth.

Product Availability 
The WDP Angel 4 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
wardog Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Storm Intimidator- Slighter longer, heavier, not as fast as an Angel.
Naughty Dogs E-Orracle- Not nearly as fast or reliable
Dark IR3 Angel- Heavier, almost as fast
Marker Setup: WDP Blue/Black Fade Angel 4, Angel Infinity Barrel, Blue Diamond Dust Empire Reloader B, Crossfire 68ci 4500psi LPA Tank, Dye Rhyno Cover, Dye Mini-Drop, Dye Airport, Medium Length Angel 4 Volumizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
REALLY FAST HOPPER! I reccommed an Empire Reloader B or Halo B with Victory Board.

Good Air System (Crossfire, Angel Air, Maxflo, etc.)
Strengths: Speed, Fairly Accurate, Customizable, Volumizer Kit, Reliable, The Manual, A Beautiful Gun, Vernier Wheels, Sensi
Weaknesses: None
Review: I bought my Angel from my local store around three months ago. To make this review easier to read, I will categorize the strengths and weaknesses.

STRENGHS

Speed- This gun is insanely fast. I customized my settings according to Ken Crane's reccommeded A4 settings on angel-owners.com. This gun throws ropes of paint. The slayer trigger is really nice and it is easy for me to keep up good rates of fire.

Looks- My A4 is drop dead gorgeous. The milling is smooth, and the fade is great. You can tell WDP put alot of effort into the creation of this gun.

Accuracy- While not as "accurate" as my old cocker, a good paint to bore fit on my Angel still is pretty accurate. I would say it is better than a Timmy.

Vernier Wheels- The vernier wheel trigger adjusters make it a very simple process to adjust the travel of your trigger. Just have the right allen wrench, loosen the screw, then use the wheels to adjust the travel distance. Tighten when done.

Volumizer Kit- WDP includes a volumizer kit with the newer Angels. They can reduce the operating pressure down to 175psi. Three volumizers are included. The smallest reduces the operating pressure the least, the largest the most.

Reliability- I have had no problems with my A4 except caused by myself. (When I first bought it, I used a HPA instead of a LPA tank. Off seated a few o-rings.) Just make sure that if you chop paint, stop shooting and squeegee it out or else the valve will stay open and you will lose all of your air.

Customizable- VERY CUSTOMIZABLE. You can set anything from the dwell to a custom text that appears when you switch it to live. (Factory is ANGEL LIVE.)

The Manual- By far the best manual I have ever seen. Extremely detailed and has lots of pictures and diagrams. Actually made for an A4. (Alot of Timmy manuals are dated from 2002.)

Sensi- Pretty good anti-chop system, I have not had many breaks at all, maybe two out of two thousand. I would get Angel Eyes later.

Maintenance- Barely anything. Use some love juice on the square o-ring on the bolt hatch and on any moving parts visible moving parts other than the bolt when you open the hatch.

WEAKNESSES

ABSOLUTELY NOTHING!!!
Conclusion: This is the best paintball gun I have ever used. I would never sell this gun for any other. Its around $300 cheaper than the fly, and they are very close to being the same gun with milling and board/eye differences. GO BUY ONE TODAY!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rhyno Saturday, September 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 & 04 Cockers, 03 Shocker, low end electros
Marker Setup: WDP Angel A4
WGP Worr Gas 70/4500
Smart Parts Stainless Freak Kit
Halo B w/ Rip
Clamping feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Claming feedneck (if you wanna)
Some kind of new barrel, as with most guns, but the stock is pretty good
Strengths: Speed, SENSi, Display, Weight
Weaknesses: None found so far
Review: This is the first high end gun that I have bought, and I am totally sold on it. My buddy got a shocker, and I like my angel 10 times better. It's so fast, the very first time i shot it, I hit 20 BPS. I know that's not the fastest it can go, and I know that others can get it faster than that, but it being the first time i shot it i was pleased. I recommend a fast loader, cause if you dont have one you wont be getting the top speeds acheivable by this gun. Great buy, and you can find them pretty cheap and usually with some sort of package online. I got mine and the tank, DYE volumizers, clamping feedneck, and an on/off came with it. Hope this was helpful to someone.
Conclusion: Great gun, best I've ever shot. If you do choose to get one, you wont be dissapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 26th, 2004 at 1:32 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

odyssey2891 Monday, August 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
russain legion timmy
dragon timmy
shocker
ir3
karnivore
Marker Setup: Dragun the one with aim 68 red, aim tsunami drop,palmers micro rock, tornado valve,zenitram trigger,2 qevs modded to fit 2,total freak barrel, jam bolt,worrgas 68/4500,halo b w/rip drive and victory boardclamping feedneckcusome made backlite lcd

frenzyed dragon timmy

angel 4 w/ 3 some volumizer
Recommended
Upgrades:
3 some volumiser
Strengths: Fast!!!!!
Accurate
light
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: This thing rips it is at least 31 bps capable and then i shot this sucker the only thing i could compare it to was a dm4 this thing flys i love the feel of the gun its soo light. and when i played with it for the first time i individually took out 50 of there 7 guys the first game!!! i love this angel 4
Conclusion: Get it now!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PBdude007 Wednesday, August 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
none. Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Angel 4 with Hyperflow 201 adjustable 45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
doesnt need ANYTHING
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Value
Weaknesses: Expensive repair parts

full auto and other mods only go to 13 bps.
Review: Pls read this whole thing. This is a very helpful review.

Ok, i got my A4 about 6 months ago, and i have taken a vow to not buy any other competitor. This is the most impressive gun i have ever used (ive fired a DM4- doesnt compete)

I have precicely 28,600 shots on my A4. I have chopped 2 paintballs, both were my mistake (sensi off with and Egg....BIG MISTAKE).

The first thing i noticed when i opened the box was the Milling. Incredible design, It looks streamlined and, well, like it has wings (unlike the fly, which looks robotic). That was just the first thing i was impressed about, in a long line.

I just read some reviews of the DM4. You can tell that they havent ever used an angel b4.

1 guy wrote "my spread was 281,280,281,240, 263, 280, 240" and said it "wasnt bad."

I laughed out loud when i read that. My a4 shoots as such:

275, 287, 287, 286, 288, 287. Incredible consistancy.

Any the next strength (duh) is the speed. With a halo b, i hit 24bps every time i play (im getting a victory board. The hopper is restricting me). I origionaly had a egg, but it would skip every 3 pulls. I sold it and got my Halo.
What i think is kool is you can run on full auto with sensi ON. Thats REALLY kool.

Next, this thing is LIGHT! I have a 45/45 tank, and a halo, and i can hold it up with 1 hand easily. It weighs in at 2.2 pounds with nothing on it (lighter than the standard Colt .45...hows that for a comparison).

Accuracy, incredible. I put it on a stand, and pulled the trigger 10 times. There was about a 5 inch circle (radius) at 30 feet. Looks like i fired 2 paintballs, not 10.
Keep in mind, the barrel matches Evil paint the best.

This gun has almost nothing to break in it. If you happen to be a n00B to angels, you may think that the reason that they are Great is because they have alot of complicated parts. Totally the oppostite.

The more i look at my gun, the more i realize the reason it rules, is because it is so simple. This gun has 2 springs, which have nothing to do with sliding the bolt forward. 1 spring in the Breech knob, and 1 in the pneumatic system ( id say where, but im assuming ur a n00B, so i wont go into detail). The solenoid (electro- magnetic slide) pushes the bolt forward. The Ram (equivenlent to the Striker on a spyder) and the air handles the rest.

Next, is the pressure. I have my tank output at 410psi. My Mini regulator (the guns 1st stage regulator, the total second stage regulator) output is 210. The LPR, the 3rd stage regulator, is only at 54psi. With my 45/45, i can get 500 shots out of a 2000PSI FILL!!!
Unlike *cough* OTHER *cough* guns, this gun can run forever on a small tank.

Strengths over the fly-

1-beauty

2-The fly has 6 modes of fire. The A4 has 12.

3-The fly has an eye (the eye only detects if a ball is present. Sensi detects how many balls are stacked up in the feed tube and modifies the Cycle Time to fire the max bps without chopping.)

4-value

Keep in mind-The fly fires the same speed as the A4 on semi auto!! The fly just has all that "Oh My God!" and "Shop Show Off" crap.

The A4 has 5 modes you can modify via the IR-link. The fly doesnt.

The A4 has better colors.

Now, do you really think that it is worth it to spend 400-500 bucks extra just for a eye, and to take away 6 modes of fire?

i didnt think so.


thanks for reading, it means alot.
Conclusion: Best value angel. The fly isnt worth spending 500 bucks extra, let alone 800 bucks extra for the Joy Division.

Buy one if you have the money. You wont be upset.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
22 Comments - Add Comment

ScarredKrow Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Strange Vision, WGP Nightkast, WGP Mini Black Magic, WGP 03 Verticle Feed Cocker, ICD 04 Bushmaster BKO
Marker Setup: WDP Angel 4 (polished red) w/ MT trigger, Evil Pipe, Empire Reloader B, 68/4500 Nitroduck plasma tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Slayer or Master Tech Trigger and fly conversion kit. Stock barrel is excellent but now-a-days u need a barrel kit to cope with all the different sized paint.
Strengths: Speed!!!!!!
Acurracy
Consistancy
Looks
Soft Face Bolt
Trigger Wheel Adjustments
Sensi test
Weight
manual
Weaknesses: Trigger is a bit sloppy
Review: Up until now i have always been a cocker guy so of course accuracy is important to me. The accuracy on this gun blew me away. It is just as accurate if not more than any of the cockers i have shot. Also with the lil kick on the angel it is much easier to stay on target.

With a speed of 31 cycles per second this gun just blew me away. This thing just shoots ropes of paint. According to WDP the A4 and the A4 fly are the fastest cycling gun made, though i dont know if that claim is still true the way paintball technology seems to advance by the day.

After about a day of reading the manual and playing around you start to get the feel for the LCD and realize how many amazing features this gun has. The lcd is very user friendly and easy to set up to your personal liking.

My only real complaint on this gun is the trigger. Though the trigger adjustment wheels are really awesome the trigger is very sloppy feeling. Im going to upgrade to the slayer trigger soon and see if that makes a difference.

Conclusion: This is a very fast and accurate marker at a lower price than the other guns in its class. You can get an A4 on line for around $900 now. And it can be upgraded to the fly for $300 which is said to make it operate as the fly. Overall i absolutely love this gun and now that i have gone angel i will never go back.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, August 25th, 2004 at 9:08 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

PaTRiCk Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
timmys, their not as pretty though :)
Marker Setup: Angel 4, Macdev 04 conquest 68/4500, black evo 2 lpr:50 dwell 14 semi 1
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing, even the stock barrel is good
Strengths: Verneir wheels, guage, beauty, breech, valve speed, light! efficiency, 2000 plus shots
Weaknesses: nothing really
Poor anno, but it varies with different angels.
Review: Me and my bros had saved for half a year for our polished blue a4s, NO paintball whatsoever during the fall. When we finally received them, I grabbed the box in the middle, and began opening. first the lid came off, then I saw the instruction manual, tossed that, and lifted the cover to see this tiny little gun, I was surprised by its size and weight, especially after having owned works cocker, I never thought an electro could be just as light. Like that other dude who put a review on his graphite a4, I noticed a nasty scratch, several actually, bout half an inch long, to where you could see the silver of the aluminum. having had experience with the process of anodizing, I took a close look at the gun and saw how thin the coat was, Luckily my brothers' angels had a thicker coat than mine. still dazzled by my new toy, I noticed my finger print marks on the gun and tried to wipe it off with my shirt, to my surprise, i had scratched off some of the coat and now had several nasty scratches and blemishes. i covered them up with stickers and tried to forget. This gun performs well on the field, no, not even Timmy's can compare, not even the alias. this gun is maintenance free, one drop of oil after 10000 shots and some grease after 20000. Unlike what another person said, this gun isn't complicated, I even taught myself to be an angel tech. People complain about the Sensi, you don't have to worry about calibrating it every time you turn it on. What I do before the game starts, is flick the switch, push red button, and run to my bunker, and it will calibrate while you're shooting off the break. don't worry about having eyes, the sensi is a simple anti chop system that is just as effective. As for being capped at 25 bps, that is only when sensi is off, ive hit 28 when it was on, so don't listen to that guy who gave the angel a 5 of 10. I believe the guage on the angel is awesome. It's not sticking out, and honestly it isn't hard to see, at least you don't have to turn your gun to the side just to see the pressure. Some people complain that the angel isn't as light as the alias. Take a look at it this way, angels have this really strong battery, that help the gun last 80,000 shots, as well as the electronics, which make it easier to fine tune your gun. I love the thermometer :). People complain about the volumnizers. Why different sizes? well it's up to you and what pressure you want your gun to operate. It only houses one, the second is optional, so don't worry, two wont make a difference. The infinity barrel is nice! I can get as much range as the dm4, and maybe even more if I had a boomy. Space frame is very comfortable! I love my angel, I will always stay faithful to wdp and their honest English technicians, they are all great. get this gun
Conclusion: A4s are 950 now, so if you want a fast gun with all the ups but cant afford a Timmy, which to me performs just the same, get the angel 4. Wdp has big plans, and their markers are good quality. good luck! 9 out of then because of the poor anodizing
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Nitehawk009 Tuesday, July 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Shocker, Timmies, Matrix's
Marker Setup: Red Angel 4, 68/45 Conquest, Halo B or Revvy (depends on position), Boomstick or Freak
Recommended
Upgrades:
Eye Q (wish I could get it), Master Tech Trigger
Strengths: Reliability, efficiency, easy maintanance, speed
Weaknesses: Accuracy, ball breaks
Review: I've been thrilled to have been pulling this beautiful marker out of my bag for the past year. It's just an awesome looking gun to start. I also know that it's going to work every time I use it. These times are only stepped on when I haven't charged the battery like I should've (like this past Sunday). It can shoot incredibly fast, however the technology has been getting away from it. My teams guns have been exceeding this one in "ease of speed". It seems to be a little trickier to get this gun up to those high rates of fire (personally, I want a microswitch again). I put accuracy down as a weakness... well... I know everyone's gonna say check your barrel match and paint blah blah blah. I've done that... I do that regularly with my freak and boomy... it's still not as accurate as I would like. I came from a classic shocker to the "4" and it's hard to be impressed in the accuracy department. Overall, this is a great marker. It's a little heavier than some, it will break some paint with just the sensi in it (I suggest getting EyeQ installed by a Master Tech), and it's not as accurate as I like. It is, however VERY reliable, shoots fairly fast, and is beautiful.
Conclusion: I would recommend this gun and then recommend that the EyeQ be installed on it. Make it a FLY and you're golden!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Angel_4_Shooter Sunday, July 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed "like the 4 except allot heavier and honestly not as fast or accurate/ Dm4 " Angel 4 holds its own easily against these/ 03 shocker "Angel 4 not as small but 20x's more efficient and faster too.
Marker Setup: Pink Polished Angel 4 w/slayer trigger and longest volumizer
Custom Products black rail and on-off
Crossfire 70/4500psi low pressure tank
Pink Halo B "Heres the secret, buy clear shells and boil them in pink food coloring"
Recommended
Upgrades:
slayer trigger and thats it! "Oh, and a high paintball IQ, the trick to angels is having the regulators set perfect"
Strengths: Extremely fast!
No chops
dead on accurate
ultra quiet
sexy
supreme craftsmanship
Weaknesses: Absolutely nothing, buy one or be dominated its that simple.
Review: I'll make it short and sweet.

The angel 4 shoots a true 31 balls per second with dead-on accuracy/ no noise/ and no kick period.

This beast operates a 175psi and I receive 1350 shots out of a 70/4500psi tank shooting 285, 283, 285, 284fps!

Perfect gun for tape runner, "only 2.3lbs" through back man.......perfect for any position.

Super flat trajectory and no kick.

The sensi does a superb job of making sure I don't chop even after 8763 shots.

The value of this gun surpasses all others and it dominates the field.


(set the regs up perfect 177psi on high pressure reg/ and 65psi on low pressure reg/ your tank input should be 400psi.) This is what mine shoots at and im the pimp so do this and you 4 will never fail.

Quality is in it's name.
Conclusion: I love it and thats that.

Buy one or be dominated.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Kloije Saturday, June 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye DM4, Intimidator Dragon
Marker Setup: Red to Black Intimidator Dragon
14in Dye Boomstick
Dye red Sticky grips
2.1 Was board
Sick trigger job
JT Air
Black egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
A fast hopper, other than that i dunno.
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Looks
Consistancy
Weight
Weaknesses: Price
Review: I tested this gun once at a paintball field here in Mexico, a friend of mine had just buyed it. I shot only about 300 paintballs and i noticed that this gun didn't make any noise, and had no kick compared to my old Spyder Imagine. He shot from his angel and i from my Spyder to the same place, the only thing was that his shots were completely flat, more accurate and went further. That gun is awesome, it is very fast and because of the customizable trigger, u can reach an outstanding rof. I'd reccommend this gun to anyone looking for a tournament-out-of-the-box gun.
Conclusion: As i said before this gun is perfect for serious players. If you have the money either get that or a timmy.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 19th, 2004 at 3:56 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ballsinyourface Tuesday, June 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Ice Impulse Vision, WGP NightKast, Shocktech Bushmaster
Marker Setup: Z-Board Egg
Empire Reloader B
Crossfire 72ci 4500 / 68ci 3000
Powerlyte Scepter Barrel System
SP Freak Barrel System
Recommended
Upgrades:
Slayer or MT Trigger
If you have a high pressure tank - either a different reg or a low pressure / adjustable tank.
Strengths: Fairly Fast
Quiet
Weaknesses: Its a lobber
Complicated
High Maintenance
Not as fast as alot of other guns
Overrated!
Review: Ok .... where to begin? First let me say that I will tell you only my honest *OPINION* on this gun based upon my own Angel 4 that I have played with at least 3 to 4 times a week for the past 3 1/2 months.

First, if you don't have a low pressure or adjustable output pressure tank, you are basically screwed. The Angel *can* run with a HP output tank, but you will have major problems getting the velocity down below 300fps without playing with shims. You really need an adjustable tank, or at the very least a low pressure preset.

Speed - The Angel is admittedly fast. I hit 25bps with no problem. The only major gripe I have with it, is that it claims 31bps in all the advertising .... yet the max rate of fire is capped at 25bps. *scratches his head in bemusement* In all of the modes other than the 4 Semi modes, the bps is capped at 13bps INCLUDING the user programmable modes.....supposedly this is due to ASTM safety standards. It makes the user programmable modes basically worthless, because who wants to be capped at 13bps? An electronic Spyder can shoot faster than that! And why would I want to spend the money for the hardware/software and the time programming my own firing mode, then have it's top speed be capped? Blah! A Bushmaster may be the poor man's Angel, but at least it's rate of fire doesn't have a cap on it.... my Nightkast and my Bushy can both outshoot this gun, no problem and the BI Impulse can easily match it.

Accuracy - Another area where I was extremely disappointed. After reading all of the reviews on this gun I expected a dime grouper....Instead I got a dollar grouper. It IS very accurate, unfortunately it is also a "lobber", meaning it doesn't shoot a flat trajectory - you have to aim quite high to hit what you are aiming at. Although not quite as much as a cocker. The stock barrel also sucks, mine had a large ding with a sharp metal burr poking up in the back lip of the barrel.

Milling & Anodizing - ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL!!!! The gun is flawless in both milling and anodizing. Both were superb .... I noticed absolutely no milling marks anywhere, the anodizing was extremely even, and a nice solid, rich color. Too bad it doesn't perform as well as it looks..... :)

Ease of use - In a nutshell, this thing is extremely complicated. I want to be able to turn on a gun and go rip people up, not turn it on, then push another button to make it go "Live", then have to shoot 10 balls to calibrate the Sensi (Which works sometimes at best) THEN finally be able to go play, while capped at 25bps in a gun that supposedly shoots 31 ......
Conclusion: Oh did I mention that if you want to charge your Angel 4, you have to do it in your car? WDP only includes a car charger, you have to purchase a wall charger seperately for another $40 or so..... So when you get your new Angel, you have to go let it sit in the car for four hours while you drink a beer and read the manual WHICH by the way is EXCELLENT. By far the best manual I have ever seen with a marker.

The intimidation factor of owning an almighty ANGEL is great .... unfortunately the price tag isn't worth the only slightly above average performance and the prestige of owning one of the most overrated guns of all time. :) "It's an Angel! It's the best gun out there because it costs roughly $1000!!" .... BS. It's got a lot of great strong points and is definately a step up from your Spyder or Tippmann .... but is it worth the price tag? Personally I don't think it is.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
13 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (8):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media