paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armson Stealth Barrel / Armson Stealth Barrel / Armson Stealth Barrel

Armson Stealth Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armson

Buy Armson Stealth Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armson Stealth Barrel
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 228
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $70

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The all new Stealth combines the same 6061 T-6 aircraft grade aluminum construction, and Polygon Progressive rifling as our legendary Pro-Series, with the noise reduction of a ported barrel.


Product Availability 
The Armson Stealth Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
PBPARKER Saturday, August 7th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline, Progressor
Marker Setup: Smart Parts ION, 16" Armson Stealth Barrell, Blackheart Board, Lightweight Warrior Aluminum Body Kit, Ninja 4500 48Cu, And Dye Rotor Loader-Black with Liquid Red Parts+red speedfeed.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Black Label paint from Spyder but i love any Evil paint.
Strengths: Quiet, Looks good, Accurate, and long range.
Weaknesses: Once you chopped paint you cannot shoot strait. (Only one though)
Review: I used to use a freak barrell for my ION but the threading was stripped so I couldn't use it anymore so I went out and bought an Armson Stealth 16" barrel and fell in love immediately. I started woodsball and moved to backplayer in speedball because i was so accurate. I like it much more than the freak barrel. Unfortunately when you pop a ball it is hard to shoot straight unless you clean your barrel. The rifling was a breakthrough that really made the barrell a legend, the freak barrell did not use rifling. In the end the Armson stealth Barrell is my favorite barrel above all.
Conclusion: It gets a 9.5/10 the .5 taken off was because of the accuracy after ball pop. other than that they made a breakthrough in the barrel business.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Frisby Saturday, July 10th, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
rap 4 18" fluted barrel
stock barrel
Marker Setup: smartparts ion
clamping feedneck
CP regulator/ASA
CP dropforward
evil pipe barrel

tippmann a5
expansion chamber
stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
any thing with a good bore match
Strengths: Accurate
Distance
Rifled
Weaknesses: Inconsistent

Rifled
Review: This is a good barrel it is a little pricy but it is so much better then the stock barrel.
This barrel is rifled that give you better accuracy and more distance but it does affect the consistency i found that about every fourth shoot will go wild. but to get the best distance and accuracy find a paintball that has a good bore match after that you might want to mess around with the velocity to find the sweet spot. to high and your balls will start dropping after a few feet too low and you won't get the distance you want or the braking power you need.
Conclusion: If you are going to get this barrel i suggest you find a good paint to bore match and dail in your velocity you will be alot happier with the barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dreadpirate Thursday, March 19th, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak system: Better accuracy in a shorter, lighter package, but looks terrible on an A-5, louder.

Lapco Bigshot: similar accuracy, less maintenance, much louder.

Tippmann Flatline: longer range, much much louder, poor accuracy.

Apex barrel: longer range, louder (not as bad as flatline), poor accuracy, but can be adjusted to curve into the wind and shoot straight in a crosswind.

Stock A-5 barrel: actually fairly accurate with a good paint size match.
Marker Setup: Automag RT Pro ULE custom
Magnetic suspension ball detent
Ultra-Light Trigger pull kit
Freak barrel system
Crossfire 68ci 4500# air tank
Reloader B feeder

Tippmann A-5, first year run
Armson Stealth (mid-90s version)
e-trigger w/ APE board
Ranger f/x m4-style foregrip
Spec Ops Commando stock
Lightweight rear bolt
aluminum front bolt & power tube
two-way vented QEPH
Lightening rod
flexible cyclone paddles
upgraded cyclone sprocket
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything with thick, anti-wipe fill and a dry shell, match the size to your individual barrel.
Strengths: Pretty accurate, barrel report is quiet, not silent.
Intimidating 'zip'.
Good ballistic accuracy.
Tough
Weaknesses: The 'zip'.
Heavy
Must have paint to bore match.
Clean after each day of use.
Review: When I first picked up this gun, used for $60, it was so-so, and got worse the longer I used it. Then I learned about how paintball residue builds up in guns, and used some cleaner on it, then followed it up with the same company's teflon polish, and now it shoots -far- better than it ever did when I first got it.

Strengths:
Accurate: up to 20 ft or so, this barrel, with a proper paint match, is spot on. At longer ranges, it fades a bit, but still keeps up with most aftermarket barrels.
'Zip': I recall, when I first began playing paintball, that some of the 'experten' on the field had guns that caused the paint to make a 'zip' noise, like an angry bee, as it travelled downrange. I thought at the time that it was this brand-new 'nitrogen' tank that they were using. Now I realize that it was the seam of the ball as it spun at 12000 rpm exiting the rifled barrel. These days, people have forgotten what it sounds like, and are really intimidated by it. I get all sorts of comments about the sound it makes, and more than a few re-chronos at scenario events by refs who think the sound comes from a hot gun.
Ballistic Accuracy: Or long-balling, the traditional way: this barrel is unnatural in how accurately I can drop balls in behind a bunker from 100 yards away. I've heard theories on how the spin makes the ball less susceptible to slight breezes. I'm not sure, I just know it works. At Global Conquest 2k7, I eliminated 4 or 5 players by sighting in a key spool at the end of the field and dropping balls behind it from range. Most of the balls landed within a 5-ft radius of each other.

Tough: This barrel will -not- bend. I've abused it quite a bit, and so did the owner before me and though it has chipped, it will not bend or break.

Weaknesses:
The 'Zip': The zipping noise downrange is real good at attracting attention, especially if you're pumping 15 bps downrange. Even with a single shot, most players who aren't diving for cover will be able to figure out where you shot from.

Heavy: Not an issue on a two-handed milsim gun like the A-5 or 98, but I would never want this monster on the front of a tourney gun. Armson made the Pro-series for that.

Accuracy w/ unmatched paint: if your paint is so small that it drops through the barrel with light on all sides, it will tumble randomly in the barrel when shot, and fly off in random directions. Dry, rough-shelled paints designed for use in a flat-line system seem to work best.

Cleaning: Although it shoots clean after barrel breaks fairly well, in order to maintain performance, the barrel needs to be cleaned of paintball residue after every day of play. I use Pro-Team's residue cleaner, and follow it up with their teflon barrel polish, to minimize the deposit of further residue during play. Oily paints cause a faster resiude build up.

I have read Tom McKaye's article on rifling in paintball, and it is sound, assuming you use very watery paint fill. These days, most paintballs are filled with a very thick, anti-wipe fill, which provides more momentum than the 90s paint, which was often still made using fish oil. I wish I had the high-speed photography equipment necessary to reperform his tests with modern paint, to see if the spin continues all the way out to maximum range.
Conclusion: Definitely worth trying, if you frequent a field that uses a paint which matches this barrel, and if you are using a two-handed marker.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

yags Sunday, January 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
14'' J&J ceramic
Marker Setup: spyder MR1
14" jj ceramic/ armson 16"
coiled remote
evolution 2
68cu tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used stingers but recomend hurricane
Strengths: Rifled
Quieter than stock
Accurate
Weaknesses: No color choices
Chop 1 chop many
Review: when i first tested this barrel out i was very impressed. It was acurrate and quieter than my stock barrel. when i choped my first ball i chopped the next 7 until i cleaned it. I blame th paint though it was not a very good match. It was very accurate and I managed to hit a can i had haging on a string 80% of the time from about 50ft.
Conclusion: Very accurate but because of the rifling if you chop you need to clean it out as soon as possible.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

juit Friday, November 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Phat barrel 14
OTP G3 14
Bigshot 12
Marker Setup: Tactica trilogy
Black magic LPR
Lapco Bigshot 12
Tippman drop forward
Revy Fully Upgraded
Centerflag Upraising Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
XBALL
MARBELIZER
Strengths: SUPER ACURATE
QUIET
Light
Weaknesses: Almost long as a Broom LOL
Ritual Cleaning
Review: This barrel is for a Bunker guy or a Sniper guy
If you are a camper this it the barrel for you
is not heavy
If you feed him sh%$#t thats what he is going to throw
if you feed him with a quality ball thas going to be a good quality shot
If you play woodsball and you have some wind it will get a right efect
Conclusion: Simply By the brand you know its quality
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rob AKA GUNN3R Monday, October 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Flatline: louder, but more accurate
Stock: better for CQB but nearly as accurate
Marker Setup: Tippmann A5
A LOT OF STUFF
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any RPS/PMI
NOT Brass Eagle
I usually use hotspot bc its a bit cheaper and just as good
Strengths: Accurate, quiet, and looks freakin awesome
Weaknesses: None that require mentioning
Review: My dad surprised me with the 16 inch barrel a couple years back. I use it when I'm at a field that has small holes in walls/bunkers that the flatline cant go through. I also use this when I want to maintain stealth because it is VERRRRRRY quiet, and perfect for multiple flanking attacks(other team can't find you...its darned fun). The 16 inch also makes your gun look like something out of DOOM. The only draw back is that mine is 16 inches...obviously this is very long and hard to get around in a building with. However, if you want maximum range and accuracy it is a simple fact that you will need a longer barrel. Unless of course you get a flatline which is only like 10 inches long (but its way louder and fatter).
Conclusion: Get this barrel, if you want accuracy get a long one (duh) and if you're a Rambo style maniac...get a shorter one
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rambosephus Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: '05 Spyder Pilot ACS, EvoII Hopper, 16" Armson Stealth Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have used Diablos and some other fairly cheap paint from Dick's. Everything I have used has worked fine.
Strengths: Accuracy, toughness, looks
Weaknesses: Had to file a little so it would fit my gun.
Review: I purchased this barrel from a buddy of mine for my Spyder and it has worked really well. The accuracy is great and a huge performance boost over the stock barrel. I don't think that I would pay $70 for it but getting it at a discount made it worth while. I have only had three ball break in it and I think that two of those were from the first one breaking. Overal the barrel is great and the finish on the insides has stood up nicely and it has fit all of the paint I have put through it nicely. I personally like the way it looks as well. I would definitely recomend this barrel unless you don't like your barrels a little on the heavy side. The finish has also scratched up just a tad but nothing serious. Overall a 9.5/10 because nothing's perfect and I had to do some modding to get it to fit my gun (It did fit fine on my buddies pilot).
Conclusion: Great barrel although maybe a little pricey, but then again I guess it is made out of pretty high grade material. If you can find one cheap then definitely get one...
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

savage hound Thursday, May 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive...... barrels.......
Marker Setup: Trilogy autococker, new cradle, st bolt, stelth barrel, halo, air, dye stickys.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any really, cheap ones....
Strengths: Accurate
looks cool
Weaknesses: Some say its ulgy
bit strange looking
Review: I got it second hand cheap and it straped on my cocker well and shoots really good!

it may spin odd shaped balls a bit off due to the rifleing but it is verry nice and good. nice porting and it looks odd. its good if you can get it cheap, works as good as a freek in my oppinion. yeah
Conclusion: If you like th look of it and want a good barrel go for it i love it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ace-o-Spades Wednesday, October 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
14" Whisper- the Whisper sucks compared to this
16" Entity- both about the same
12" Smart Parts Linear- Stealth is waaay better
Marker Setup: 98 custom
13" Armson Stealth
BT Closed Bolt System
CO2
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've only used scorch, but they seem to work perfectly
Strengths: Accurate
Very quiet
Consistent
Shoots very well thru breaks
Durable
Weaknesses: Kinda ugly, but whatever
Review: So 2 months after I ordered this barrel from Extreme Paintball, they said that the 11" Stealth wasn't coming. I ordered the 13" instead, and when it came, I immediately got my stuff to try it out. However, I had no CO2. So the next day I got the tank filled up and put it on. It was raining and cold, plus my velocity was cranked because I didn't adjust it from when I put the BT Sealed Bolt System on. It was a fairly extensive test:

At 25 feet at a 1 foot target I shot 10 out of 10 in a 3" spread.
At 50 feet I shot 10 out of 10 in an 8" spread.
At 100 feet I shot 9 out of 10 in a 12" spread, with one outlier (it still hit the target, though).

10 shots rapid fire:
25 ft. 10/10 in a 3"circle.
50 ft. 10/10, 7" circle.
100 ft. 9/10, 10" circle, 1 outlier (didn't hit the target.

Shooting through a break***:
25 ft. 10/10 in a 5" spread.
50 ft. 9/10 in a 9" spread, one outlier (still hit target).
100 ft. 8/10 in a 12" spread, 2 outliers (one hit target, one didn't)

The consistency shot for shot was excellent. It is super quiet, even when my gun ran out of paintballs it was still quieter than most barrels. I experienced no breaks thoughout the test. Against a 14" Whisper, the Stealth blew it out of the water. Although this barrel is very accurate, I think it is a little ugly. Eh, no biggie, I dont really care.
***: I broke a ball in the barrel on purpose, literally splashing the paint in it. I experienced no breaks thoughout the test, as well as just shooting around.
After I finished shooting, I looked in the barrel. I was amazed to find that it was completely clean! I thought about it, and came up with the idea that with a perfect ball-to-bore match, the air escaping thru the rifling will clean the paint out. I have no other explanation for it.
Now when it came, I noticed part of the screw had fallen off. It has made no difference in accuracy, but I just wanted to point it out. Boo to the shipping service, the package was all ripped up when I got it... Oh well, the barrel doesn't have any scratches on it.
Conclusion: The Stealth barrel's accuracy seemed to have gotten much better after about a hopper full. I think that the rifling hasn't been broken in or something, but it will soon. I am going to do more tests once the weather clears up, but so far, so good.
10/10, excellent barrel!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 9th, 2007 at 4:33 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jake the snake Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralite 14"
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 armson stealth barrel 14"
Recommended
Paintballs:
anarchy
Strengths: accuracy, distance, LOOKS COOL!
Weaknesses: Found none yet
Review: I bought this barrel because i didn't have much money at the time. WOW, WAS I IN FOR A SURPRIZE. I have used other barrels way over the cost of this one and it fitted right in. You can take on a lot of the high budjet cost ones with one of these. The thing i like most is the accuracy. I am a woodsballer! so this barrel is a more built for woodsball. This review is not pertaining tourneyball! There is a good amount of difference in the two. LET ME GET BACK TO THE SUBJECT! i first tried it out with some cheep wallmart Superswirl balls. Although i was shooting crap out of my barrel, It still held a lot of its accuracy and distance. ONE THING BEFORE I END. if you are a woodballer i suggest you to buy a barrel cover >not sleeve< for your barrel. It helps keep the junk coming into your barrel holes on the sides. ADOS!
Conclusion: I HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT! Especially for woodballers. A++++++++++++++
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (23):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media