paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mokal

Buy Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mokal Fokus VX 2k3
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is the newer version of the mokal fokus. It is a semi auto vertical feed paintball gun that comes in blue, green, red, black, pewter, and champagne. Rear Flush Cocking System All aluminum construction 45 grip frame with double trigger Light trigger pull Vertical Feed Low pressure valve internals Thumbscrew velocity adjustment Ball bearing ball detent system Bottom Line with gas through foregrip 14" 2-Piece Ported Barrel No Tools Breakdown Comes with spare o-ring kit and one year warranty
Product Availability 
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
mokol fokol Wednesday, March 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spider Xtra
Tippmann 98
Tippmann A-5
Smart Parts Ion
Spyder Fenix
Marker Setup: mokal fokus 2k3
Dead On Paintball Drop Forward
j&j performance 14"
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel
Drop Forward
Strengths: Light Weight Compared to other cheap Markers
RELIABLE
Good product for price
Weaknesses: Finish Scratches Easy
Review: My Local Paintball Field recommends this marker, but charged my an arm and a leg for it. a was pleased with the qualities of the marker: it was a lot quieter and lighter then the tippmann 98s and A-5s i was playing with, reliable as hell. Now when i go play with my paintball buddies they spend about 20 minutes getting ready to play but me a put on my CO2 and paint and i'm ready. My only problem so far was i wore out one of my springs.
Conclusion: For the money it is a basic marker no bells and whistles and reliable as hell. and not like them electric markers it makes u aim to make your shots count!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

20/20eyeguy Monday, February 19th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Diablo Mongoose Reincarnation 2
Marker Setup: Straight out of the box-14" CMI QB Barrel, CMI Drop forward 20oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None really-
Strengths: Strengths: Cost, Durable, Shoots straight. Relialbe.
easy to clean, easy to chrono.
Weaknesses: None for an entry level marker
Review: I am a 47 y.o. newbie. I thought that paintball would be something my 16 y.o. son could do together. So we wanted a good entry level marker, because we didn't want to get too much invested encase I ididn't enjoy playing. One day of indoor speedball and I am hooked. The Mokal VX 2K3 performed very well. I was amazed at how straight I could shoot even at long distances. I marked a player with a 50-60 foot shot. The marker is light and easy to carry. It also shot very fast. My son could double trigger as fast as some electronic markers.
Update: Wow is this Mokal great. The double trigger is great. After just a few uses I can shoot as fast as many of the electronic markers. I am even more impressed with how it is made. Most of the other entry level markers have plastic trigger frames. These are all aluminum. Wow is this marker easy to break down and clean. I chopped a ball-cheap paint-and I was able to strip it down. clean it and put it back together without missing a round (less than 10 minutes).
When we chrono the markers, I'm amazed at how much easier the Mokals are to adjust than some of the other markers.
09/06/07 update: The Mighty Mokal rocks! Played many times now. This marker is really reliable. With the CMI barrel it shoots straight. I can put paintballs through the ports of most forts or castles at 50 feet.
Conclusion: For the price I think this marker is ever bit as good as a Tippman Custom 98 that is right out of the box (my son has experience with these), but it is 1/3 the price. It's all aluminium and pretty sturdy. Great value for the bucks.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, September 6th, 2007 at 7:45 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

crazy_woodsball Sunday, December 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle (bad, bad, bad)
Syper-extra...rodeo...and electra
Tippmann 98 Custom
...other low end mechanical markers...
Marker Setup: The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3
Stock Hopper and Barrel
All Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
None!
This gun is great all around! You dont need any add-ons.
Strengths: Accuracy-great stock barrel!
Great price.
Looks cool.
Comfortable.
Very Quiet.
Weaknesses: When you unsrew the Co2..more Co2 leaks out compared to other guns.
Review: I think the Mokal Focus VX 2k3 is the best gun you can get for under two-hundred dollars. You dont have to upgrade it at all, as you do with other low-end mechanical guns. It is very accurate.....i have had many long range shots in which i eliminated opponents. You can get upgrades for this gun...such as a faster trigger and different, non-chopping bolt. This gun never chops as it is so i have found no need to buy these upgrades. It is compatible with Spyder parts so it is easily upgraded. The local paintball store has an advanced team and some of their players use this gun. It is all that people say it is!
Conclusion: I think that if you are a begginning player looking for a great starting gun that will last, this is the gun for you. Even if you want to upgrade from a spyder, this is a great choice. I would buy this gun again and again.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SaiyaMan Tuesday, November 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyders
Marker Setup: JT quadra
16 inch progressive barrel
viewloader revolution hopper
20oz co2 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Stock barrel is pretty good but i would get a new one
Strengths: Barrel
Weight
Looks
Feel
Weaknesses: Nothing really
Review: This was was the first gun i got and it was great to me for the year i used it. This gun barely chops balls unless of course you use the horrible brass eagle balls. The mokal is light and it feels great when you hold it. There really isnt anything bad to say about this gun.
Conclusion: I recommend this game to anyone just starting paintball or to anyone who wants a good back up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ninyin Wednesday, August 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98c: Crap barrel, one finger trigger, Fokus is much better
Marker Setup: I do not own a Fokus but this was its setup:

Mokal Fokus
PMI 47/3000
PMI hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel (Stock barrel is fine, but its the only thing worth upgrading)
New Grips (Sock grips are very hard, you may want to replace them)
Strengths: Fantastic Tigger
Works with Co2 or HPA
Cheap
Great Handle
Terrific beginner gun
Weaknesses: Ocasionaly over shoots and must be re-cocked
Hard grips
Barely any upgrades
Heavy
Review: I tried this gun a few times at Ontario's Area 51 paintball arena. I was really pleased with it. The tigger was great and it shoot well. However, it also came with a few problems.

GOOD

The Mokal Fokus is really cheap so most people begining paintball could afford it. The trigger on the gun is great and the tigger-pull isnt that bad either. It can use HPA and Co2 which is great if you only have one kind. I use HPA and it shoot like a dream. Definitely the gun I would recommend to all beginners.

BAD

Sometimes this gun would shoot really fast for a second then I would have to recock it. Only to have the something happen to me again. To fix this, all I did was dryfire it a bit until it stopped rapidfiring. It worked fine after that. Mind you that this was a rental gun so it takes a lot of abuse. The grips on this gun are very hard. You may want to replace them, but its not recessary. The gun its self is a litle heavy so you would not want to use this for speedball. Lastly, this gun has nearly no upgrades. But this is a beginners gun so its not a problem
Conclusion: If any beginner came up to me and asked what would be the best gun for him, I would recommend the Mokal Fokus.

Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

He Is Legend Wednesday, June 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyders
Marker Setup: Stock TL-X 2006, 20 Oz Co2, J&J 16" Ceramic, on/off, Delrin ACS bolt.

Soon to be Empire re-loader 2 and 32* electric trigger frame.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (no stock is perfect), and hopper, cause this thing shoots FAST!
Strengths: Review
Weaknesses: Review
Review: Ok, I went paintballing at Bellows in Oahu Hawaii, and this is the gun they rented. I usually use about 500 paintballs in one day, but today, I used a whole case. This is because this marker has a nice short, light, trigger pull, and when you fire it, I noticed it seemed to push the trigger back, sort of like an RT on a tippy. Those three things combined, allowed me to shoot (in short bursts) about 12 BPS. So that was the first thing that really stood out to me.

The other thing that stood out was, the first one I got, shot fine, then chopped, and then, it would start burping and being mean to me. every other time I would pull the trigger, it would burp. So I took it to the pro shop, and it just had paint on the bolt. Now, this is really the only thing that dissapointed me, I have had my TL-X for a while now, and have chopped a good bit of paint in it, and never once, has it mis behaved after I chopped (I mean, no more than having no accuracy), so thats the only con in my eyes.

This thing made a real good field rental, it was tough, and looked cool, and had a halfway decent barrel on it. It was pretty hush hush. (not nearly as much as that typical punk with the SP8) Its accuracy was fine (it had HPA) and it shot stinking fast for a all mech marker.

After a good day of 2000 paintballs, I was very pleased with this marker. I was also very pleased with the hopper mine came with. They had purchased a couple new ones, and they came with Archon hoppers, these things have little channels in the front and back of the hopper, so you basically have a 20 paintball stack all the time, waiting to be fired, so when I got that hopper, I hardly ever misfed, and even more rarely chopped.

One more tribute to this markers toughness. My brothers was giving him a little trouble, it was burping also, he finally got fed up with it a took it to the pro shop, the guy shot it, said "you got paint in your bolt" took the bolt out, only to find out there was about four paintballs worth of paint in there, and a considerable amount of SAND, and it was still firing, that was really impressive.


PROS:
Tough
Shoots really really fast
Newer may come with the Archon hopper, wich is really really good, can feed about 10 BPS
Half way decent stock barrel
Tough
Good on air


CONS:
Burps when you chop.
May be considered "heavy"


Conclusion: All in all, the pros outweight the cons, and it is a very nice beginner/intermediate marker, If you wish, it can be up'd and made into an experienced pro's speedball marker, but you can save your money and hassle and just buy a purpose built speedball marker.
It gets nine point for the little bolt burping problem.

IF YOU ARE A BEGINER/INTERMEDIATE REC BALLER/WOODSBALLER, GET THIS MARKER!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bob2213p Wednesday, March 29th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I play woodsball and have always sworn by my old faithful Tippmann Pro/Carbine. I wanted to get a good extra gun for friends to use. Read the reviews and decided this would be a good choice. I have not been disappointed. I now split my time between the two.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro/Carbine w/ 14" Lapco Big Shot
Mokal Fokus VX2k3 w/ Mokal Expansion Chamber
J&J Edge Barrel Kit
Dye Sticky 3 Grips
Ricochet 2KX led
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Grips
Electronic Hopper
Feed Neck (if you can find one to fit)
Strengths: Fast
Light
Affordable
Weaknesses: Doesn't Like CO2 and weather (spoiled by Pro/Carb I guess)
Feed Neck
Review: I bought this gun as a spare and fell in love with it. It is very quick and very accurate right out of the box. The first day I had it out it worked well. I had a run in with some swollen paint and it began breaking balls. I was also using a gravity feeder that didn't help with my new found speed or my poor paint.

By the next day I had added a barrel kit and electronic hopper. The Mokal was dialed in. I learned the meaning of shooting darts. Maybe three broken balls out of 1000 (I can live with that) and it shot right through them.

I love my old tippmann, but this is a close second and still growing on me. I got the expansion chamber, but have since gone to air. Tried the CO2 just to see and wasn't nearly as impressed. My pro/carb is reliable, but in no way compares to the accuracy of the Mokal.

The biggest drawback is the feedneck. It is very easy to tear up O-rings if you take your hopper in and out very much. I have tried to find a replacement, but no one has been able to tell me what type of threads match up.


Conclusion: Solid gun at a solid price. Looks good and performs even better.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 29th, 2006 at 2:37 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cleverfrog Sunday, March 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: trilogy comp sf
egg2 w. z-board
all american barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel
elec. trigger
drop forward
egg2
Strengths: Stock accuracy not too bad
Weaknesses: Leaks out of the regulator
Review: This gun leaks but is somewhat accurate. Just get some kick @ss upgrades for it and you'll be set. Might as well get a new front block and regulator to make this marker kick a. If you want a cheap starter go for the Mokal fokus it is a crappy gun stock but upgrade it and you'll be fine.
Conclusion: It is a good starter
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Vodispo Saturday, March 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only shot them but..
Spyder Rodeo
Tippman 98 custom
Spyder TL-X
And a few others.
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus 2K3, 14" J&J S2 Ceramic Barrel, CP Flame Drop forward, 20 oz Co2, 32 Degrees 2003 Expansion Chamber, Viewloader Grav Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop forward and maybe anti-syphon or X-pan Chamber to prevent snow, make it more consistant and save alil Co2. Stock barrel works fine but a new barrel would still help.
Strengths: Light.
Durible.
Accurate.
EZ maintenance.
Inexpensive.
Weaknesses: None so far.
Review: Excellent starting gun. I got this gun as a starter and still using it. I've only broke once out of about 4000 and that was with crappy paint and really cold out. I've tried out my friends Tippmans and Spyders and I've only seen about 3 (A Rodeo and 2 Tippmans) that are as accurate and consistent as mine out of like 15. The price is mainly why I bought this, $120 for a Fokus package on Action Village.
Conclusion: The ultimate starter gun that won't disappoint you.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 3rd, 2006 at 10:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Gwapingn8 Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Tippman, Viewloader
Marker Setup: 2005 custom made syndicate autococker
empire reloader
32 degreee drop forward with on/off push button.
delrin bolt
16 smart parts progressive barell
68/4500 Pure Energy N2
Recommended
Upgrades:
first thing to upgrade is to get a longer barrel,
next if you want flexibility, buy a drop forward,
(to have the same color, go to their site otherwise,
just use any drop forward of your choice)
upgrade as much as you want.

Even without any upgrades! This marker is still great as is!
Strengths: Strong, durable, reliable, accurate and has a decent FPS w/ a low price tag!
Weaknesses: A little on the heavy side, but once on the field it won't matter.
Review: My brother in law handed this down to me when he bought an autococker.
It was already built, so no worries about it. But as i start to learn the specs
of this marker, i found it easy to navigate stuff like; velocity adjustment is very
very easy, all you need is your fingers. there is a knot in the back, which can be
twisted clockwise or counter-clockwise, which in effect will increase or decrease
velocity (NO NEED FOR AN ALLEN WRENCH) and disassembling and putting the
marker back together is a breeze.

Now for the performance of the marker, you can't expect this to compete against ANGEL or ANY AUTOCOCKERS, but it is quite better than your usual rental TIPPMAN
or KINGMAN markers. More accurate and flexible than a custom 98 tippman (to my opinion) and for the low price tag! what could go wrong!

I played with this gun many times, and people would always tell me that my gun rocks.
Some even assumed that this marker was like $500. oh boy... i could buy 4 of these for that amount. hahahahha.

All i can say is, i highly recommend this to anyone who is just starting to play paintball.
it's a great performer, and if u decide that paintball is not your thing. you wouldn't feel that you invested too much on this marker only to give up paintball. Thismarker will normally cost you between $80-$150. depends where u buy.
Conclusion: Great gun for starters who would like a low maintenance marker.
Great gun for great price! I'd recommend as a good back-up gun,
unless you can afford to buy expensive ones. THIS GUN IS A GREAT DEAL!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 31st, 2006 at 6:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media