paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 / Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Mokal

Buy Mokal Fokus VX 2k3

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Mokal Fokus VX 2k3
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 9.1 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $140

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is the newer version of the mokal fokus. It is a semi auto vertical feed paintball gun that comes in blue, green, red, black, pewter, and champagne. Rear Flush Cocking System All aluminum construction 45 grip frame with double trigger Light trigger pull Vertical Feed Low pressure valve internals Thumbscrew velocity adjustment Ball bearing ball detent system Bottom Line with gas through foregrip 14" 2-Piece Ported Barrel No Tools Breakdown Comes with spare o-ring kit and one year warranty
Product Availability 
The Mokal Fokus VX 2k3 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
fokusroock Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
spyder victor and victor2 and fokus is better
Marker Setup: Mokal fokus 2k3 stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel(16")
new sear
Strengths: precision
durable!!!
no plastic
not expensive
Weaknesses: you are unlucky if you have a first bad sear(like me)
Review: its a very good gun!!!!!the screw are easy to unscrew but you just have to check it!!he is not made in plastic so its very durable and fiable.the barrel split in 2 part(very easy to wash).But some sear are bad so you have to change it but its easy to change.just return it to mokal!!mokal are very nice!so its a very good gun for every one who start paintball.easy to wash and durability is his most good thing.
Conclusion: buy this gun now!!!!for is price its a big deal!!durable ,strong and no plastic!! fokuc vx 2k3 roock!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

personguy22 Friday, June 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
a couple pirahnas when i was still renting
my friends spyder xtra
thats about all...
Marker Setup: all stock so far...20 oz co2, crappy viewloader hopper
im gonna get a mokal electric trigger though, maybe a drop forward
yah looks like i have some upgrading to do...
Recommended
Upgrades:
-probably a fokus evx trigger frame if you want to shoot more balls per second and if you want a lighter trigger.
-maybe an electric hopper( only get it if you have the electric trigger)
-a drop forward would make it a lot more compact
Strengths: -great stock barrel
-nice colors
-pretty light trigger
-overall light weight
-pretty cheap
-accurate
Weaknesses: -a big cloud of co2 comes out when you shoot
Review: well, this is a great gun. I have never had a ball break in it so far, and ive probably shot about 5000 shots so far. its very accurate, a reasonably light trigger, easy to take apart. Like i said in weaknesses, you can really only upgrade it with mokal products from www.mokal.com but they are still pretty good. You can get a drop forward, an x chamber, and the electric trigger frame---
Ok well heres the thing about the trigger frame: its electric so you can easily shoot 12 balls per second, it feels good, it looks good, and oh yah...you can adjust it to be as light as you want! you could make it so light that if you shook the gun back and forth, the trigger would get pulled just from that force and it would fire. If you want to turn this into a pretty good gun rather than a beginners gun, you should definetly get this trigger frame. once you have the trigger frame, you might want to also get an electric hopper. thatll make this gun very fast shooting, but only get it if you have the electric trigger frame. otherwise, its a waste of money, because it wont do you any good. I would also suggest getting a drop forward if you want it to be really balanced and compact. you dont really need an x-chamber, ive never had my gun freeze up from the co2. Dont take this review the wrong way though, its still a great gun if it isnt upgraded and stuff, the upgrades just make it even better.
Conclusion: i would recomend this gun to anyone-beginner or expert. Its a great gun, and it would be better than most if you put a lot of upgrades on it and stuff.
BUY IT.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 28th, 2004 at 12:04 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MasterTymon0325 Tuesday, April 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion
E-99
Tipmann Procarbine
Tip. A-5
Tip. 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Mokal-Everything stock (Black color)
Recommended
Upgrades:
none, unless u want a better barrel but the stock barrel is very good for a stock barrel
Strengths: Great barrel
strong
reliable
everything
Weaknesses: Nada
Review: I got this because my pb friends had guns that totally out clased my VL Orion. I also didn't want to get the same gun as them. So i looked around at some of the companies i had never heard of anyone talking about. I came to mokal and there was a sale so i bought the gun. The day it arrived i knew i had come across a gold mine of a gun. It's awsome. I have had no trouble with it and i am having a great time destroying my friends with this gun!!
Conclusion: Best gun ive used so far. I would recommend this gun to intermediates and lower elechelon experts and high elechelon novices. The gun is awsome and it comes in 5 colors so take ur pick. This gun also comes with a 14" 2 piece ported barrel which is extremely good for a stock barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

newbtube Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Mokal fokus 2k3, i have used various brass eagle guns, none even come close to this gun even when its stock. Impulse *better only if the Fokus 2k3 is not upgraded to a electronic trigger frame.
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus CAD(Canadian funds) stock marker cost me $250 bucks . With a electronic trigger (installed) cost me $150 CAD bucks, with a Mokal drop forward and all else stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend that you get a nitrous tank!(FOR ALL THE NEWBIES) Nitrous is good because unlike Co2 its not a liquid, sure you can get 500 shots off co2 but your gun is gonna freeze up(The Mokal Fokus 2k3 is all METAL) it gets cold, especially in the cold weather.
Strengths: Strong, Cheap, Easy to take apart!
Weaknesses: Heavy (I don't notice it!)
Review: I bought this gun for $250, best gun in the world for its price. Mokal is great they answer all your questions, ill keep this short... If you new or even on a pro BUY IT! unless your all about looks then but like a ARMOTECH! and spend 1000 Bucks!
Conclusion: Buy it dude its something your not gonna regret it, its pretty cheap and you got a years warranty from Mokal!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

beuoy1 Sunday, April 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
VL Orion and VL Maxis
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus 2K3 stock out of the box using CO2.
Update: Mokal drop forward, Mokal EVX2 trigger, JJ Performance 14" barrel, PMI 48/3000 N2 and VL Revolution2 loader
Recommended
Upgrades:
Drop Forward, agitating feed loader and e-frame.
Strengths: Good Build, very accurate stock barrel. Nice balance.
Weaknesses: Paint finish, looks dirty in places.
Review: I must say I'm really pleased with the marker, I should've purchased an agitating feeder the maker simply out paces my gravity feeder, more than a few times I haven't had a ball in the chamber. So far I haven't chopped a ball but I only have about 2500 balls thru the marker. I was really surprised by the accuracy of the marker with the stock barrel. It places the balls where I want it to, not really thinking of upgrading the barrel. A drop forward is a diffent upgrade, with 20 oz bottle it's right against my fore-arm! I have only one minor complaint but it doesn't affect the performance, but the paint finish has a dirty look to it! Over-all though I believe I got a great marker.

Update: With the upgrades I've added the marker has gone from a very good, to excellent. I really can't say how pleased I am with the marker. I believe the performance of the marker is on par with anything out there. And I play with a group of people that use some very high end markers!
Conclusion: I don't think you can go wrong with the Fokus, it's a very good marker! I really think you get more than moneys worth!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 23rd, 2004 at 7:48 am PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

fcastle74 Saturday, March 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
various spyder clones
Marker Setup: mokal fokus 2k3 evx
47c crossfire tank
16" in tru-flyte thunder pig barrel
psycho ballistics drop forward
G2k hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
electronic hopper
Strengths: easily cleaned, consistant accuracy, all around good gun
Weaknesses: doesent look too special and can be quite loud
Review: i bought my fokus right after Christmas and I love this gun! It fires incredibly FAST!!! actually it fires to fast for a non-electronic hopper. This gun is a dream to play with. Its about average weight, and easily maintained. Of all the other spyder type guns I've used this is by far the best!!!!
Conclusion: buy it as a start off gun!!! good for newbies. you will spend about as much as other guns on this but you will have less than a third the problems
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 20th, 2004 at 3:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

syrous Thursday, March 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Any spyder and fish (all crap compared to the fokus)
Marker Setup: Green 2k3 fokus, evx electro grip frame, checkit assult block, pmi inline reg, mokal drop, egg 2, 14" SP prograssive barrel, macdev matchstik barrel kit, cocker factory beavertail, shocktech spyder spring kit, pmi 48/3000 tank. (Running at 200 psi/280fps on a stock valve oh yeah, lets see a fish or spyder do that )
Recommended
Upgrades:
-barrel (but most stock ones suck)
-evx frame if want to play speedball
Strengths: -price
-build quality (no crappy plastic bits)
-stock valve (bigger flow then other stock valves)
Weaknesses: -nothing wrong with this gun.
Review: -ok this gun is amazing for the price, has to be the best blow back on the market other the TES (faster firing rates) But working on that (waiting for the kinetic board)
-currently runs at 200psi, has trouble re-cocking at fast rates of fire (not guns fault but the regs, pmi has a poor re-compression rate) looking to get a better reg this summer.
-mokals customer service is the best. (originally my gun was a fokus vx but some ass took a wrench to my receiver during a tourney (sore ass loser) called kal at mokal told him what was up told me to order a new receiver 50 US. Next day by UPS got a new2k3 receiver with internals (free) as they are smaller then original vx (don't make them anymore) saved close to 200 in other parts).
-looks, this gun has sexy lines (looks a lot like an angel or e-blade cocker)
Conclusion: Get this gun if you want dependability and performance for a cheap price. I use this at tourney's where the rest of my team uses semi stock imps, other then the bps my gun is as accurate and gas efficient as imps shooting at the same psi take 50psi at times(but its the reg i think as my friend is shooting 150psi with a bob long and assault block on his mokal with no probs) Giving it a ten because its the best blow back ever designed
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, March 18th, 2004 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

swfreak Wednesday, February 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor (I like this better)
Spyder Shutter (around the same, Shutter is easier to tell if you have a break.)
98 Custom (a little better, much more expensive, my friend had one and i still took him out one on one, he was experienced and it was my first time)
Not really the same as the Mokal but when versing an A-5 i hit him in the head from around 100 feet away.
Marker Setup: Mokal Fokus2 all stock.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'm fine with it for now, but a new barrel will most likely improve it.
*UPDATE*
I'm purchasing a Palmer Stab and 14" Lapco Bigshot
make sure to have plenty of o rings.
Strengths: Awesome trigger.
Inexpensive.
Fun to shoot.
Awesome looking.
Pretty accurate.
LIGHT!
DURABLE!
Weaknesses: Kinda co2 hog puffs after shot, taking off bottle.
Screws became loose easy to tighten.
Review: The gun is awesome looking, straight out of the box you see how unique it is and how just nice it looks. Almost all metal and very durable feeling. Awesome to shoot and awesome trigger. When playing in the cold it pretty much died on me, almost every ball broke and it just everything went wrong. When not cold it works beautifully though. It's a nice inexpensive gun thats fun to shoot and you can play right out of the box. It could use a new barrel (balls fall after about 150 feet) but i was fine playing with the stock one. Just no sniping. Mokal is a fantastic company, they respond with answers to any question almost immediately. Its cool to have a gun that not everyone has and it's just a really cool gun.
Conclusion: Its a great gun, i love it. I was really annoyed in the cold but i guess i cant ask that much form it. Its annoys me when taking off the co2, it releases a lot. Shoots fairly accurate with stock barrel and pretty powerful. Much more accurate than my friends Piranha VTL. It feels great to shoot and looks great also. Great gun but a few problems. Their fixed rather easily though.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, March 14th, 2004 at 1:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Hugo Tuesday, January 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder aggressors, i like my fokus
Spyder Extras,
Shutters
bone daddys
and lots of others as I run a field
Marker Setup: Fokus 2k3 with standard barrel, 12 volt revolution, and 47cui hpa, fokus electronic trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
an aggitated hopper is a must to keep the balls flowing smoothly, electronic trigger, and they run nice on hpa
Strengths: accurate, quiet, fast, simple, quick stripping, and very sexy looking.
Weaknesses: some two peice barrels are misalinged, check the sear if double feeding
Review: I like my fokus, my first marker was a bone daddy bought from a local department store to find out about paintball as I wanted to set up an indoor, see Final Impact in New Zealand, we got aggressors for our field markers and I got a Fokus 2k3 to evaluate as well, needless to say the Fokus became mine and as I play most days I have got to know it very well, we now have three Fokus 2k3s in our club.

First check the alignment on the two piece barrel and get your supplier to replace if it is misaligned, polish out the marks on both the breech and bolt after you have sent a box of paint down it, polish any sharp edges of the front of the bolt, check that the ball detent is working and tighten in if nessecery. Watch for doublefiring and check for wear on the sear and hammer, get your supplier to sort out this problem, it shouldnt cost you at all.

I run my Fokus on hpa, it runs good like this and I get very few ball breakages with the aggitated hopper, we have a lot of players come to our field with all sorts of markers, and though I find the expensive ones cool, I like my Fokus.

That said, I would like to play with a 2003 shocker, update,
I spent several days evaluating a 2003 shocker, nice but I sent it back, some idiot had used it before I got it and it leaked, I gave up when the only o rings left to replace were the ones under the solenoid, I might look at the Dynasty Edition though, I am still playing with my reliable Fokus! not so many o rings!
Conclusion: This is a great marker for the money, if you are patient with it and spend a bit of time getting used to it the people you play with will soon "FEAR THE FOKUS"
This is not a top level marker but is easily entry level for competitive tournament play
In this price range 9 / 10
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 14th, 2004 at 2:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Mok14 Tuesday, September 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
-Spyders, Piranhas, Tippman, BE, VL
Marker Setup: 2k3 Mokal Fokus. 14' SP Progressive barrel. SP Smart Grips. Mokal drop forward. 12oz PE CO2 w/ anti-siphon and SP on/off valve.
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel if you feel like it
-I didn't like the grips, maybe new grips
Strengths: -Reliable
-Simple to adjust vilocity
-Looks
-Easy to strip/clean
-Barrels not bad
Weaknesses: -Had a bad first sear
Review: I got this gun mainly because I wanted a Spyder or Pirahna, but also wanted something different then everybody else, and I thought it looked really cool. This gun is perty much the same inside as a Spyder/Pirahna, but I found mine a lot simpler to strip then my friends Spyders/Pirahnas. It is easy to change the vilocity, and to lock it in. There is a knob instead a strip pin, to clean the gun, that works really well. I bought a Progressive barrel, which was an improvement, but not a huge one. That is because the stock barrel is perty accurate compaired to the stock barrels on most cheaper blowbacks. I'm still glad I got the Progressive though. I bought my gun for $200 Canadian. My gun came with a wierd sear, that would sometimes do two-round bursts, but I got it replaced by Mokal (quick!) and it's perfect. I am yet to break a ball in my gun since I got my new sear. The gun prety quiet as well. I really like the flush cocking. I have a lot of people giving me complements on the looks of my gun and how it shoots. Most people are suprised when I say it costed $200 (one kid geussed $500). With the Mokal drop forward (5'') the gun becomes really compact. This is a good gun.
Conclusion: Other then the bad sear at first, my Fokus has been really good. Nice gun. 9 because of the sear.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, June 18th, 2004 at 4:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media