paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armson Pro-Series Barrel / Armson Pro-Series Barrel / Armson Pro-Series Barrel

Armson Pro-Series Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armson

Buy Armson Pro-Series Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armson Pro-Series Barrel
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
As the originator of internally rifled barrels for paintball guns, Armson has set the industry standard with 6061 T-6 aircraft grade aluminum construction, Polygon Progressive Internal Rifling, and a specially designed Barrel Vent System to properly vent unspent CO2. Pro-Series barrels are available in limited quantities.
Product Availability 
The Armson Pro-Series Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Pump Scout Sunday, December 18th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This barrel is fairly unique. Other barrels I've used include J&J Ceramic, DYE stainless, LAPCO stainless, DYE BoomStick, Lucky 15, JT 2-piece, Infinity, and probably others.
Marker Setup: A marker for every occassion!
Recommended
Paintballs:
ProBall from 1994? Today, Marbs work decently.
Strengths: Consistancy
Weaknesses: Cleaning, accuracy after a barrel break, loud
Review: OK, I picked up a Tippmann SL-68II new in 1992, and immediately ordered up an Armson for it. I had a buddy who did some work for PTP, so I was getting gear through him. Sadly, Armson/PTP, like most barrel makers, no longer make a tube for that particular gun.

On to real-world use: One of the early things we did with this barrel was to run a hone through it. Yeah, that's some old-school barrel tinkering! In removing 20-25% of the rifling, the interior was polished to an absolute mirror finish. I found it shot more accurately after the hone job. These days, I can put paint pretty much right where I want it at almost any reasonable range, but I've had this same setup on my SL for 14 years now. Is it the gun/barrel, or is it my familiarity with it?

The drawbacks to the Armson barrel are as follows: The barrel is difficult to clean after a barrel break. Since it is polygon rifled, a Straight-Shot style squeegee, or any disc based squeegee, won't catch all the paint. You have to follow up with a soft swab. If you do wind up with a barrel break, you MUST clean the barrel. Trying to put shots through a wet Armson is a guaranteed miss. Sure, you get a neat corkscrew shot, but that's not terribly predictable as far as where that ball will wind up. I've also found that follow-up shots after a barrel break tend to also break. The Armson is also quite loud, although that doesn't bother me too much. My SL/Armson has a distinct bark when fired.
Conclusion: If I had to buy a barrel again for my SL, I'd have gone with a straight, solid barrel instead of the Armson. It's really no better than any other well-built barrel... don't get me wrong, the Armson is a quality product, but I think some of the engineering that went into it was misguided. In the world of modern barrels, there are much better choices out there.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

-=Mescalito=- Wednesday, November 23rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
armson 16 inch
Recommended
Paintballs:
it dont matter, wont change a thing with this POS tube
Strengths: You can hit someone on the head with it
Weaknesses: It is not good to actually use in games that u want to win
Review: rifling is for rifles... rifles shoot bullets... bullets kill people... and that not what were going for... I see it like this... The paint in the paintball makes it VERY hard for the paintball to accept the spiral flight that the barrel is trying to impose upon the paintball. if you think im full of ____ try and spin a raw egg and compare to a hard boiled one... The rifling seems to have little to no effect to the accuracy of your paint, no matter how long the barrel, ive shot several armsons from 10 inches to 16. For same price you can get a j&j ceramic that will out perform this line of barrels in ALL aspects. you can scratch paint off armsons just by looking at them funny... But dont take my word for it. of you think rifling is cool and whatnot, by all means buy this barrel and come play me.. this is a technology that is not applicable to the sport of paintball.
Conclusion: Buy it if you wanna waste money and get shot the heck up... =]
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dlitz Friday, March 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Barrel, 12"
-J&J Ceramic Barrel, 14"
Marker Setup: -ACI Maverick
-Armson Pro-Series Barrel, 12"
-PMI Pure Energy Regulator
Recommended
Paintballs:
Big ones. If it doesn't roll through, consider it usable. Other paintballs addressed in review.
Strengths: -Very accurate with the right paint
Weaknesses: -Big
-Loud
Review: I've been using this barrel for a number of years now, and I think I've been rather misguided about it for most of my use. I had stopped using my stock barrel and replaced it with this under the belief that stock barrels were useless, but once I had put on the stock barrel again for using smaller paint, my gun shot way better. This has nothing to do with this barrel, because when I took the gun out with larger paint that wouldn't fit the stock barrel, I found this barrel was more than sufficient and highly accurate for use in my pump marker.

There're a number of things that make a barrel shoot well. First and foremost is the paint-to-barrel match, and this barrel is no different. Using small paintballs, I found I had trouble hitting the broad side of a barn with this barrel; however with larger paintballs that did not roll through the barrel seemed to hit the exact same spot nearly every time. It's a very large bore barrel, at least the one I got. Matching paint to this barrel makes all the difference in terms of accuracy. With the proper paint, it hits the target again and again, like a dream.

Inside of the barrel is a swirly pattern that resembles rifling, and this may or may not help the shot of your paintballs. Compared to my other barrels though, it shoots very very well. I am not sure how much the rifling helps this, but it certainly seems not to hurt it. It's among the more accurate barrels I've ever used, however.

The big bore may be a bit of a problem, but that's nothing that cannot be overcome by finding huge paint. The other problem I have with this barrel is a serious lack of porting on the barrel, which will make it very loud. Stealthyness is hard to entertain with it. Irreguardless, it still isn't exactly a killer problem.
Conclusion: I like it. With the right paint, it's your friend. With the wrong paint, it's your enemy. Take your pick, but I'm giving it an excellent score because if you buy the wrong paint for it its your own fault anyway, and not the barrel's.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 11th, 2005 at 6:18 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ODARKONE Monday, January 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
nothing is like the ARMSON Pro.
Marker Setup: AGD TAC-ONE with the Level 10 bolt and ULT Trigger kit , Intelli frame with blade trigger, Gas though stock, 13" Armson Stealth,10' Armson PRO, ricochete 2KX Hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
right now I'm shooting Blase and drraxxis Silver, both work well
Strengths: Accurate, looks hardcore, handles paint well, shoots as far as most longer barrels.
Weaknesses: None at all.
Review: Love the Pro, its that simple.
This barrel is made by Armson and the quality shows, its as black as night (older Pros were a little bit bluish) and the internal rifling is beautiful.perfect in every way.The thread machining is top notch , fit and finish , both excellent.

I've shot many barrels over the years but, I always noticed , the best (or most knowledgeable players) have always shot Armson barrels.
So now that I'm building my new rig, I decided to go straight to the source(Pro Team Products)and order my new barrels.That was a good move for me.

I test shot it over the weekend, and it was very accurate for such a short barrel(I got a 10 inch for speedball gaming with my Tac-One) and I'll be dammed if it didn't shoot farther and more accurate than my J&J ceramic, that's 14' long!!!!and the Pro matchs my marker perfect with the bead blasted finish.

One thing, I hear that the rifling can be hard on paint....not true..the "test paint" I shot over the weekend was month old Drraxxis silver, and I really hammered it through the marker to see how fast it could shoot..1000 rounds and no breaks (and quite straight as well) so that urban legend can rest now.The pro has a slightly larger ID than the Armson Stealth so that helps it handle all kinds of paint well.

Tracy at Proteam Is awesome...she got my order together for me in a day...and shipped it the next day..really great communication with the company..through email and phone calls, and they let me know that the pro's were on sale at the time..so I saved a couple of bucks on the lot.(more paint money, yeah).A++++customer support and service.

I must mention the "VOICE OF THE PRO", If you haven't heard one of these things shooting at you , you have no idea how intimidating the "crack" is on this barrel.Its not that it's loud, but it has a snappy pop that no other barrel has.Once you hear it, you never forget it, and its so distinct that once you know your gun and barrel combo, you can "tune" the gun just by the sound it makes...too cool.

Really stoked to shoot this barrel in the new season(2005), and will update this review during the upcoming season and let you all know how it goes.
Conclusion: A really good quality barrel , kick arss pricing (49bucks brand new, a total steal), shoots straight and hard, handles paint well, and the staff at proteam are really some of the best in the business.

I uploaded an Image of my Tac with the Pro.......check it out.

Do yourself a favor, call Tracy at pro team and buy one, you won't regret it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

icdgunner Wednesday, October 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
2 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none.
Marker Setup: alley cat 2- black with bottomline and generic expansion chamber

alley cat DX(or LT, depending on where you bought it) black/green splash with double trigger, expanson chamber, 45 grip, bottomline

16 inch armson barrel is shared between them
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything big bore and fairly round. once i ran out of ammo and had to shoot muskedines(a type of wild grape). they were fairly accurate
Strengths: Rifled
tough
long
Weaknesses: need a LONG squeegie to clean it.
balls curve after 120 yards or so
Review: I have the 16 inch varant of the armson pro for the alley cat. the rifled bore really does make a difference. crappy paint is kept on course and egg shaped or cube shaped paint flies in a spiral pattern. range is increased a lot. a ball will easily go over 100 yards at 224 fps if the gun is pointed up 10 degrees. it sails leasurely through the air, spinning. After about 150 yards at 285 fps the paint will tend to abruptly veer off course. if you intend to shoot at targets more than 120 yards away then you should get bullet shaped paintballs anyway.

This barrel coms in 1 color. black. no fancy chrome plate or naked ladies panted on the side of the barrel. it doesnt matter. paint should go through a barrel, not on it.
Conclusion: Go get one in 14 or 16 inch. the 10 inch or shorter variant is barely long enough to make the rifling worth the effort.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Rich4444 Thursday, July 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
None Similar
Marker Setup: Indian Creek BKO w/ Halo-B, CP High Pressure Reg, Mitey Max Volumizer, Stock LPR, Stock Bolt, ICD Drop Forward, PMI Pure Energy 88/5000, Freak Barrel and inserts, Vapor Valve
Recommended
Paintballs:
Haven't matched Bore Size, check a bore size chart!
Strengths: Nothing Stands out, Unique?
Weaknesses: Loud, Heavy
Review: This barrel is rifled. I thought maybe I'd get better trajectory or some advantage, but there was none that I could see. After playing with this barrel for a few open play days, I pretty much decided against using it very often.

First off, the barrel is LOUD. I cannot beleive how load this thing is. If you want to scare your opponent, this is the marker. Just sit quiet for about 2 mintues, and open up with this and everyone will be thinking "WHAT IS THAT!?" It could be a plus for scenarios if you're intentionally looking for a loud barrel, but generally it is not something you want in day to day play or tourneys.

For accuracy, I didn't see any advantage or disadvantage. I'm sure I didn't have any particular barrel / paint bore match, but I noticed it shot about as consistant as nicer barrels at a distance. I don't think that accuracy is any particular issue for this barrel. I haven't done proper testing, but it is loud and and doesnt self clean like my J&J Ceramic that is similar price, so I'd stick with that anyday over this barrel.

Cleaning, ...well cleaning isn't all that bad. When you use a nice squeegee, it gets all the paint out just like any other barrel. The rifling doesnt matter much for cleaning. So, that isnt an issue.

Heavy! This barrel seems heavy to me. When you hold it, you think "GOD, WHAT IS THIS MADE OF!" I'm sure it's not going to scratch easily or get dented or bent. It would be very durable over long years of play, but I personally like light equipment.

Ball Breaks: For some reason, I could get away with less ball breaks it seemed, but I wasn't watching the bore size, and it could have been paint or marker related so I really don't know. I've wondered though if the rifling couldnt either improve or make worse the chance of ball breakage some how, but I'm not going to test that theory out :o
Conclusion: I would recommend you keep looking for a barrel and skip Armson. While I've seen them make other equipement I liked and they seem like a very good company, I think the rifling on these barrels just is not worth the price, and the noise and weight for the cost. You can find a better barrel.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ilikecows Saturday, August 2nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
armson stealth, AA teardrop front, CP 2 piece, Teardrop, progressive, Zero Gravity, flatline
Marker Setup: WGP 2k3 Autococker (blue)
WGP Orracle Delrin Bolt (white delrin black alluminum)
WGP Black Magic Regulator (chrome)
WGP Black Magic Trigger (blue)
Armson Stealth 16" (black)
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS/PMI Marbelizers
Strengths: incredible short and mid range accuracy
Weaknesses: Chops at fast rates of fire
Review: This barrel is great for a front player where the 10 " length gives a huge advantage and constant shooting is not required however for a back player or a sniper its horrible it will shred paint consistantly after the first break (as long as you fire under 4bps youre fine) and the thing is a frickin cannon so if you miss the shot they'll know right where you are all in all good for the front player
Conclusion: if you play front buy it if not dont
i like corn dogs
i like corn dogs
i like corn dogs
i like corn dogs
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tman8000 Wednesday, March 26th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, All American, BoomStick, Flatline
Marker Setup: 2002 vert feed shocker, hyper frame, etc....
Recommended
Paintballs:
BIG paintballs
Strengths: looks cool
pretty accurate
Weaknesses: Loud
No range
needs big paintballs
Review: Good: This is an accurate barrel and if into the whole military looking thing....it looks military with muzzle break.
Bad: Very oud, but loud has never bothered me. It has no range waht so ever. The reason? well with the rifling there are spaces in low parts of the rifling...there for u loose alot of velocity...this sux..really bad. also...with the spaces, it means u must have larger paintballs.
Conclusion: over all i didnt like it at all....the whole range thing made me mad. But note, when i used this barrel i was using a pirrahna. But over all...i wouldnt recomend it. I took the barrel back and got a J and J ceramic.....love it. Smart parts and dye barrels are better
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Marius423 Saturday, March 8th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
thunderpig rifled barrels.
Marker Setup: Powerfed Automag, 114cu 3000psi, Empire reloader, armson 9" barrel, psycho ballistics drop forward with gauge, 20 oz co2 as backup.
Recommended
Paintballs:
medium to small bore paintballs
Strengths: Very small grouping even at long ranges.
Loud but quieter then stock barrels,
Smooth as anything inside (definatly better then thunderpig)
Looks cool
easy to clean
Weaknesses: Nothing that i can see is wrong with this barrel
Conclusion: If you want a rifled barrel then go for this one. Its 10x better then thunderpig and made extremely well. U cant go wrong
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fukthathurt Friday, March 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
All American, CP, Stainless, Progressive.
Marker Setup: MiniMag all stock w/Stainless AA Barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used Marballizers. Even though they were small for this barrel it still shot them well. Don't go smaller than Marbs though, if anything go bigger.
Strengths: Very accurate
Flat Black-Good camo and you don't worry so much about scratching it.
Cheap
Very loud-Good and bad. Scares the hell out of someone if they're not expecting it.
Weaknesses: Very loud but that's not necessarily bad, depends on the players preferance.
Spiral porting is hard to clean but if you don't chop you don't have to worry about it. Like to see a chrome one or some other colors also.
Conclusion: I don't know if the spiral porting actually helps or not I just know it looks simple and works great. You'd think with no porting you could shoot out the broken paint but I always rinsed it out, didn't really test that theory. If you can get one for $25 then it's worth it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media