paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Armson Pro-Series Barrel / Armson Pro-Series Barrel / Armson Pro-Series Barrel

Armson Pro-Series Barrel Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Armson

Buy Armson Pro-Series Barrel

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Armson Pro-Series Barrel
[ View Photos (1) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 33
Average Rating: 8.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $50

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
As the originator of internally rifled barrels for paintball guns, Armson has set the industry standard with 6061 T-6 aircraft grade aluminum construction, Polygon Progressive Internal Rifling, and a specially designed Barrel Vent System to properly vent unspent CO2. Pro-Series barrels are available in limited quantities.
Product Availability 
The Armson Pro-Series Barrel is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
MA1775 Tuesday, January 14th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippman carbine barrel- does not have the range of the armson
assorted spyder barrels
tippman 98c stock and teardrop

armson beats all
Marker Setup: tippman carbine- armson barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that is consistent and does not come mis-shaped(cubed, oblong)
Strengths: good range, great accuracy. able to hit targets(opponents) easily at greater ranges and have yet to break paint, but then again I don't spray and pray
Weaknesses: a little hard to clean in mid game- price- $90 in 1998- but it has been worth it. and it is loud- I am always being checked for my ball speed because my gun is loud.
Conclusion: great barrel that will last forever. I understand that now it is cheaper than back in the day- and while it is loud it is intimidating people tell me. best accuracy and range I have found with good paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

aceospadez Saturday, October 26th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
jj ceramic, nite stikk, boom sticks, ssr, and alot more
Marker Setup: Pro Carbine w/ armson pro seris 13in barrel, smart parts ss all american, dye sticky grips, venturi bolt, iisports custom hammer, 12oz w/butt plate, bipod
Pmi Trracer w/ armson pro seris barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
rps ( best stuff made) do not use javas!!!
Strengths: Accurate, cheap, consistant, good with most paint, durable, doesnt break balls, nice looking muzzle break
Weaknesses: loud, if you break a ball it sucks, not good with small bore, plain looking
Review: The Good-
i like the look alot. the rifling is great it makes your shots go further and accurate. pretty durable, good price($50), your shots are very consistant and it has only broken 4 balls in a year. More accurate than my sp.

The Bad-
its loud. It is kind of hard to clean but if you have a swab squggie you'll be fine. probably the worst thing about it is if you break a ball you can't hit a tree 15 feet away unless you clean it with a swab squggie, i got a pro carbine and those are known for never breaking balls.
Conclusion: best barrel for the price. the rifling is great unless you break a ball then it is your worst nightmare. i wouldn't get this barrel for a spyder or a rebel because those break a lot of paint and it would look very plain. if you own a tippmann or cocker these barrels are great and for 50 bucks. these are just as good if not better than boom sticks and only half the price! i have never had any problems with the barrel exept the ball breaking thing. overall it is by far the best barrel for under 100 bucks.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 11th, 2003 at 10:33 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Puddleglum Friday, October 25th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Aluminum
Dye Ultralite
J&J Two Piece
Marker Setup: AKA Viking
Nickel Blade Trigger
27 bps software
HALO B
DYE Aluminum
J&J Two piece
CenterFlag 200 45 4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
I usually use Nelson, Anarchy, or Nelsplats.
Strengths: Well, I don't know what the Dude below was smoking, but this barrel is not that bad. Its not an Ultralite, but a very competent barrel. It is the stock barrel on all PTP markers. I got it with a MicroMag RT, and was quite impressed. It is very accurate, and unique. I think the porting is nice looking, but pointless.
Weaknesses: There are a few drawbacks to the Pro Series.
-Weight: Its is a little on the heavy side. I'm used to Dye Aluminum barrels and this was pretty heavy compared to it.

-Loud: Due to a small amount of porting it is pretty loud.

-Porting: Is really pointless. It does not allow the ball to seal and you will notice a slight decrease in efficiency.

Conclusion: I think the Pro's out-weigh the Con's. The barrel is good looking and solid. It is a solid performer and they are kinda rare. The porting is neat, but unneccessary. It is accurate. And that's about all I have to say about it. I have a 10" for sale if anyone is interested. E-mail puddleglum@safeaccess.com
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, May 24th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak jr. - great, quiet, extreemely acurate, convienence to clean
freak - amazing, so convienent, ultra light, perfect!
Marker Setup: autococker 2001 f/x sleeper (anoed red), ans gen-x 2 reg(red), benchmark .45 grip frame, dye stickys (red) new freak, stainless back, red freak front, halo loader
Recommended
Paintballs:
HAHAHA BATH BEADS!
Strengths: small
rifled
hmm thats it
Weaknesses: loud-very loud quite the inconvenience for those bush ball fronts, AND backs!

has little accuracy at long range, no matter what u say, the barrel makes the shot

its massive! diablo blaze, a very large ball, rolls right through the barrel, i placed a ball inside and could see a ring of light perhaps, 1-2 millimetres! and that makes the whole difference! think diff all you want, paint-barrel match is everything when it comes to acuracy and distance! balls literally lob uot sometime even only 15 feet!

cleaning, a pain, specially on field, unless u have water the open tip will allow paint to seep back in, even after a good squeegy, and its just a pain.

as far as cosmetics, the milling is cheap and tacky6, mine came with a few nicks and missed edges, meh.
Conclusion: for the ammount ur spending ( i didn't i got it stock with my sleeper, a real let down) its still not worth the buy, cheap, is not always good, if u want quality, i put all my money on the freak system, convinience and performance, i comparedd the 2, we place the my sleeper in a vice grip, with the armson barrel, ired at a target 50 ft. away, 10 shots, 7 hit, in 7 different places radius of 2ft, the other 3 didnt make it, no adjustments to the gun, switched the barrel, to the freak system, and fired 10 shots into the exact same spot, what else can i say, go cheap and play cheap? or go for the best of the best, ur choice
g'day
its not a zero cuz the ball hits goes where u want it (roughly) its not a ten cuz, well, if it makes u stress, why bother? AND it aint no freak
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, May 13th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann stock barrel.
Marker Setup: Tippmann Pro-Lite, 12 oz. tank. No other modifications.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizer; It's definitely worth the extra buck.
Strengths: -Very accurate. The rifling makes all the difference in the world. Think of it this way: shooting an unrifled barrel is like throwing a knuckleball. It's going to dip & slide all over. With the rifling, it's more like throwing a fastball (or, shooting a bullet?)
-Short length lends itself to closer cover / smaller bunkers
-Simple flat black color does help blending in, I believe
-Easy to clean; when you DO break a ball--which, in my experience has been rare with this barrel and usually caused by ball-chop, not the barrel itself--one quick squeege and you're back in business.
-Price; In a market of $90+ bright silver annodized or otherwise bright barrels full of gimmicks this is a bargain-and-a-half!! Got mine for $60 and after using it for 6 years I'd pay double that, easy.
Weaknesses: It may sound lame, but really the only 'bad' thing I can think of about this barrel is that it's now only available in limited quantities / configurations, at least for the Pro-Lite.
Conclusion: Worth it's weight in gold. I believe their claim of Armson being "the most accurate barrel on the market."
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Puddleglum Tuesday, May 7th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Aluminum
J&J Two Piece
Armson Stealth
Armson Pro
Taso Eliminator
CP (all lenghts)
AGD Crown Point(ahahahhhhahaha)
Marker Setup: Black to Silver faDE Mag
Black Benchmark 1x
Black Dye Stickeys
Black Dye Aluminum barrel
Black Ricochet
Black Kapp Drop Zone
CenterFlag 420 68 4500
Black RASE tank cover
Superbolt

And Red Splash Micromag
RT Valve
Black Blade Intelliframe
Superbolt
Riky 2K
CenterFlag 68 4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use Nelsplats and RPS balls. Havn't had a problem with either.
Strengths: Pretty good little barrel, I like the porting.
I like short barrels, and this one is a nice 10"
Its not very gaudy, just a chew 'em up spit 'em out barrel.
Shoots through breaks well
Doesn't break very much paint
Weaknesses: Its a little loud
Kinda plain
I don't know it it as much as they say it is, but $80 is a rip
I really don't know what the rifling is all about, I don't think it really does anything.
Conclusion: Its a good barrel to keep as a backup or something. I have a 10" Cocker threaded one for sale. E-mail me at puddleglum@safeaccess.com I need to get rid of this pretty soon.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sunolplayerss Sunday, May 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
16" boomstick, stock shutter and compact barrels...
Marker Setup: Spyder shutter with Co2
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've had good luck with PMI premiums. When I used some other balls(super swirl, zap), some broke.
Strengths: It's dead on. I shoot so I like using my modified weaver stance and its usually one-shot one...errr...elimination. Compared to the boomstick, I say this is more accurate, but louder.
Weaknesses: When a ball breaks(only when you use the wrong paint) It's hard to clean out the front end, which gets big, too big for a regular squegee to clean. I usually bring along my jerk squegee and swab. I go through with the jerk then insert the battle swab like 2 inches in th front then twist it around. It's also loud. My friend says he doens't llike that but I do...no problem for me there, but just to let you know.
Conclusion: Although balbreaks are annoying, believe me you will have no problem with the right paint. With premiums I had 0 ball breaks. Get it. It's definetly worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BOBO Sunday, May 5th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
these were tried on different markers in the past. several types of smart parts barrels ( all american venturi ) J&J brass taso SS . Most of these were on my old mag . Got a armson and never looked back. played with it for two seasons.
Marker Setup: Phantom pump with armson barrel , taso expansion chamber,& bottom line, Getting JT 5.0 this week.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Proball is good , also been trying power ball and it seem s to drive tacks also.
Strengths: What every Pb player is looking for range and accuracy. Not quite understanding the whole quiet thing.
Weaknesses: Nothing really It definatly barks , some people dont like noisy guns. I personally like it.
Conclusion: Thus far I have yet to find a barrel that is as good. I personally don't mind the noise it makes it can be very intimidating . Indoor with one is a blast. TEn is the best that they allow but in my book it rates higher than that. I recomend this barrel to everyone. I will be getting one for the JT as soon as i can.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Legionnaired Sunday, April 21st, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann Stock Barrel-Doesn't even compare.
Marker Setup: T98C, with a 20 oz CO2 Tank, trigger job, armson proseries barrel, painted rear sight, drop forword in the near future.
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premiums Fit Perfectly.
Strengths: Accurate as heck, I can hit the same spot at 50 feet away.
Very cheap. I pulled mine out of the bargain bin at my local paintball store, for get this, $20 bucks! I would have paid 4x it though.

No Porting, so it's easy to squeegee out.

Only broke 1 ball out of 900 rounds

Short, Short, Short. This is great for speedball, I'm able to turn my tippy into a sub-gun with it, since it cuts down on length.
Weaknesses: When you break a ball, the accuracy goes straight to heck. Cant hit the same spot as 5 feet.

Pretty Loud

Doesn't Exactly look intimidating, but that's ok. Makes em underestimate you.
Conclusion: Great Barrel, Ranks up there with my friend's all american.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, April 14th, 2002
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Stock barrel
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha BL, PMI Perfect Cradle, Turbo Valve, Flush-cocking System, Venturi Bolt, PMI Perfect Engery Regulator, Mako Storm LCD Trigger, VL Revvy, 4500 PSI 114 CU HPA
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo blaze, Marballiizer, Big Shot
Strengths: The barrel is very accurate and has great range. Its easy to clean and the flat black is great for blending in. Its also relatively cheap compared to the "high end" barrels.
Weaknesses: Just like everyone else, I've found that it is as loud as it gets and if you break a ball you MUST clean squegee your barrel.
Conclusion: I've often thought about getting another barrel, but I simply don't break paint with my setup - even at full auto. I've shot against higher end markers with Teardrops, Two-piece barrles, and the Aradus and found the distance and accuracy of my marker with the Armson PRO is as good as more expensive setups. I've also found that even though its a loud barrel - SO WHAT! If you are communicating with your squad everyone should know where you are anyways. Its a great barrel and at 14" its versatile enough to be my only barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media