paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Stainless Steel Barrels / Dye Stainless Steel Barrels / Dye Stainless Steel Barrels

Dye Stainless Steel Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Stainless Steel Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Stainless Steel Barrels
[ Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 9.4 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $115

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Comes in 10", 12" and 14" for most guns. They start at $115 and go up to $130 depending on what gun it is for.
Product Availability 
The Dye Stainless Steel Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
IronCorps Tuesday, September 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Almost everything.
Marker Setup: B2k Bushmaster (2002), with eyes installed, 50/3000 (for now), ccm feedneck, shocktech drop, shocktech on/off, dye stainless steel barrel.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Thick shelled ones.
Strengths: Quiet, 90% effective for self-cleaning, and accurate of course.
Weaknesses: Heavy.
Review: I use this barrel on my 2k2 bushmaster and it is deffinately the best of my 3 barrels. Compared to my All American or System x, this barrel is the bomb. I get my paint where i need it, plain and simple.

Lately paintball company's have been using the transition shells (between summer + winter) so i've gotten some barrel busts, but for the most part, it will clean itself out. It depends on how good the paint is. The better the paint, the less balls you'll break, and the better it will clean itself out.

It's just a bit heavy as far as barrels go, but the performance is well worth it.
Conclusion: Best 1-piece i've ever used. Period.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Arc333 Saturday, February 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock spyder barrel
Marker Setup: '05 Spyder Imagine
Super Fly
14' Dye Stainless Steel
'05 Dye Airport with on/off
'05 Dye Mini Drop
ANS feed neck with custom annodizing by FBM Factory
Bob Long Reg
12v Revy Custom Paint Job



Coming Soon:
Bandit High Flow valve
Dye E-Sticky 3
Crossfire 68ci 3000psi Carbon Tank
Dark Horizon Titainium Striker
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbalizer
Strengths: Accuracy
Looks
Can't go wrong with DYE
Weaknesses: Weight is a minor issue if your a pansy and can't hold it
Review: I have owned this barrel for quite a few years and it has worked great since the day I bought it. Only recently I got it macrometered at my proshop. The bore only comes in one size. .675
I had the attendant find me a ball that was close to the bore size. A perfect match. Marbs shoot straight everytime out of this barrel. And that is the key to accuracy is a good paint to barrel match. Can't go wrong with this barrel. Its very accurate. Heck of durable and looks great.
Conclusion: It is a great barrel and i havent had any problems with it at all.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JEDerrick Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evil Driver
Evil Pipe Driver Kit
All American
Karner Barrel System
Marker Setup: Black Karnivor w E2 Grip, Halo B w/Rip Drive, Pure Energy 68/3000 HPA, Evil Pipe Driver
Recommended
Paintballs:
Kick It
Evil
All Star
(Any that fit bore size!)
Strengths: Tough As Nails
Three Different Bores 10", 12", and 14".
Accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy
Dye Logo Fades After Time
Price
Review: There really isn't much that I can say about this barrel. Though I will try and be as detailed as possible.

Accuracy
Accuracy really wasn't an issue once I put this baby on my old Tippmann Prostock back in the day. She shot like a dream. Though you have to understand that I was using a stock Tippmann barrel before this one. So the improvement for me was miles, and miles. One of the first things I noticed was the grouping of the shots. I was able to keep a pretty tight group of say, 6" - 8" when shooting a target within 50 feet. Again, for a Tippmann, and an old stock barrel, this was a dream.

The only real problem was when a break might occur. Then you where going to be in for a rough time. Unless you have a battle swab, you will shoot curved shot each and every time. There just isn't any getting around to it. Just as well put baby oil in you barrel when a break happens. Though after quite a few shots. I would say 10-15, you would eventually shoot the break clean!

Balance
Unless you are playing with an old heavy marker pre dating the year 2000, this barrel will provide almost no balance what so ever for your marker set-up. With the barrel being steel there really isn't any kind of consideration in if it will functioned balanced. The barrel has caused some of the newer light markers out there to become heavy, and difficult to play with. Though don't get me wrong. After time spent playing with the barrel it will, like all other barrels, finally become a part of your game.

Price
For the suggested retail price you can purchase a much cheaper, and better barrel, if not an entire barrel system in some cases. Though I will say that I have seen barrels that ask for more, and do not function as well as this one here. That's a fact!

Looks
Hey, it's Dye and that is their bag. If you are into that chrome, steel look, and are wanting a barrel just for kicks that functions well, and matches any chrome features your marker may have, then you have found your barrel. It has a very simple yet, sleek look at the same time. Not to shabby, not to shabby.

Is It Quite
Pure and simple the answer is no. It's not the loudest I have ever heard, but it isn't the softest neither.

Conclusion: Hey, it's a good barrel that has function to boot. If you can get passed the price range, and perhaps find one cheaper, then you are on a good start. A bit heavy, and unbalanced. Yet it isn't anything that you can't get used to.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005 at 5:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bimbo Friday, April 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak to some exstent
Marker Setup: primary- 2004 prostock with cam adjuster and dye stainless,dye stickies, eggy, compressed air system 47ci 3000 psi
back ups- jt 3.5e spyder grip frame (3.0), progessive barrel, acs bolt
zap 300 series marker-(stock)
Recommended
Paintballs:
ghetto balls
Strengths: Accuate, quite? looks sick wont break, makes my cocker looked even more pimped
Weaknesses: Heavy? not for me i have a steel tank so it balances my gun nicely
Review: I went to my proshop(badlands toronto) and asked if they had any j&j ceramic barrel in the back the guy pulls this out and he says ill give you this pules dye sticjkes for 50 canadian cash! what a steel im so happy i love badlands so much
Conclusion: Great product dont miss your chance to own this beast of a barrel
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

forrest1 Wednesday, January 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
JJ ceramic 14''
SmartParts all american 12''
Marker Setup: SmartParts Impulse
SmartParts Nerve feedneck
Tapeworm
Empire electric hopper w/ rip
Pure Energy 3000 psi compressed air tank
Dye 05 Rino tank cover.
Recommended
Paintballs:
(bore size .689)
Diablo Dusk
TC viper Venoms
All PMI paint
All RPS paint
Strengths: Very strong
Dosen't scratch
Great looks
Perfect bore
Very accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy for a barrel (because of stainless steel)
Review: Just about every one who plays the sport paintball loves Dye. Dye is known for their top of the line barrels and the Dye stainless is one of their best.

I was playing at Orbital in Tampa, and I was far up the field from my team, then out of no where paint started flying at me like crazy. So I sprinted back to a tree behind me, but before I could make it I tripped over this big vine and shoved my Dye stainless barrel half way into the earth. I grabbed my stick squigee and pushed out like a pound of dirt out of my barrel. I thought for sure my barrel would be screwed up but there was no scracth!!

I quickly screwed it back in and shot some paint at a tree, and it shot just as good as it did before.

The accuracy is sweet; you can lay down about 20 balls and they will all land right on top of each other.
Conclusion: Get this barrel, you will not regret it. And don't worry about getting that nice finish scratched off, because you can't.
I'm giving it a 9/10 due to the weight.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005 at 4:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

henryxpark Wednesday, December 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco
Marker Setup: Spyder TL+
Empire Reloader
Palmers Stabalizer Male
New Drop Forward
Dye 12inch Stainless Steal
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diablo
Strengths: Accurate
Dye
Quiet
Shoots through breaks
Durable
Looks nice
Weaknesses: Heavy.. it doesn't really matter
Review: This barrel is accurate, durable, looks nice, made by dye, quiet, reliable, shoots through breaks, etc... This barrel is really good.. if you have the money I recommend this one, or the CP 12 inch 1 piece or 2 piece. Overall this barrel is really good. If you want a really accurate, durable, reliable barrel.. I recommend this one. ITS MADE BY DYE!!
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to you if you have the money. I recommend this or the CP 12inch 1 or 2 piece. This barrel is really good for almost any gun haha.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

System X04 Monday, December 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nyte Stick...did nothing for my gun stock
Marker Setup: 04 LCD Dragunfire
Halo Frontman
N2
Dye stainless 10 inch
Recommended
Paintballs:
i like ZAP or maybe SPANK (local shop)
Strengths: Accurate as hell(even after break)
Pretty good distance
Weaknesses: Heavy
Loud
Review: Ok i traded this for my nyte stick with my friend i was a bit noobish then i saw dye im like ok and me and my brother have had various target shooting crap he has a 03 VF with an all american and this thing was almost as accurate it still hit the same spot each time and i was shooting 8bps(empire reloader my "friend" broke my halo :( ) and i was shooting away same spot i broke one ball cause the hopper and shot right through it this barrel is awesome
Conclusion: If u can find it get one if u want i love this barrel i wouldnt have bought it because its $100 but i traded it, i wouldnt get a 10 inch either if u want a quieter barrel but if u have the money get this barrel!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

auz Friday, October 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
4 years0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
12" Smart Parts All American
another 14" ?????
Marker Setup: spyders, with asorted stuff done to em
Recommended
Paintballs:
all
Strengths: awesom looking
extremely accurate
Quiet
Balances my gun perfectly )
Weaknesses: It is shiny and if you are a little girl it is kind of heavy
Review: I have tried many barrels and this is the most accurate i have used. I bought it when dye just started making em and it has never let me down. The stainless steel wheight Balances my gun perfectly to my liking (actually will stand upright on the regs or exp chambers with a remote)

IMPROVEMENT: they muffel the gasses very well, but they give off a distinctive "ping" when you fire (try dry-firing your gun WITHOUT gas and you will hear it, try it again with your hand on the barrel and you will hear the difference). I have access to a mahinery dampening material that is sticky on one side, i put it all over the barrel, cut out 1/4" holes around the porting holes, and is bar far the QUIETEST barrel i have ever heard of, it also gets rid of that pesky shine. You might go to a car audio store and ask for some Dyna-mat left overs and try that. Looks like crap, but it will make it worth it on the field if you dont have an itchy trigger finger to give up your position.
Conclusion: buy it, modify it as stated above and you will have an extremely accurate barrel that is the quietest on the field (assuming you have gone LP).
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BiG rENo Sunday, August 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Smart Parts All American(tested)
CP 2-Piece
Marker Setup: 2004 OUTKAST, Orracle 3-way, Eclipse D.A.R.T Bolt, CP 2-Piece Barrel, CCM Clamping Low-Rise, Dye Sticky 3's

-45/4500 Crossy w/ 05 Rhino Cover
-Evolution 2
-C4 Pants
-Profiler
Recommended
Paintballs:
Blaze
Strengths: Accurate, and a good balance on a very heavy tank
Weaknesses: VERY heavy
Review: Basically, this barrel is very accurate and has a great bore size,(.688). Dye calls this barrel the stainless but it should be called the DYE LEAD. In my opinion, this barrel is not a good buy. Its too heavy and the accuracy is nothing special but if you have a heavy tank this barrel is a great counter-balance. Also if you dont mind weight then the barrel is a good bargin.
Conclusion: Doubles as a good door stop.
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 9th, 2005 at 9:35 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sonnemann Sunday, August 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ultralite-same performance, lighter
Boomstick..." "
Freak-feels cheap, flimsy construstion
Empire barrels-decent, but not as high-quality
Marker Setup: Phantom
Timmy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Ermmm...depends on the bore size you've got; I have a .690 and so Marbs worked fairly well.
Strengths: -Quality
-Old-school appeal
Weaknesses: -Weight!
Review: This is a great barrel...despite its weight, it can hold its own against lighter, more modern barrels. DYE's legendary workmanship and attention to detail and quality are evident in every product they make, and the SS is no exception.

The only problem is weight; obviously a barrel made of solid steel is going to be heavier than one made of aluminum...get over it. The barrel has neat old-school looks, and does well cosmetically on older Cockers /Snipers, or the like.
Conclusion: A great barrel if you don't mind the weight, they can be found for pretty cheap on the internet.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media