paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit / Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit / Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit

Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Empire

Buy Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 40
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
-Versatility Combined with Convenience
-Small and Easy to Transport
-Durable Chrome Moly Construction
-Lightweight Design / Superb Accuracy
-Available in Chrome or All Black
Product Availability 
The Empire 4 Piece Barrel Kit is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
sonnemann Tuesday, May 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Boomstick (Heavier...but better all-around)
J&J Full Tilt 2pc (quality is simliar to Boomstick.)
Marker Setup: I use this kit on my ULE RT Mag.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever fits the backs. High grade paint is, as always, highly recommended,
Strengths: -Price
-Weight (or lack thereof)
-Sweet case
Weaknesses: -Not the greatest barrel out there...so what?!
-Only comes in 2 colors
Review: The first thing I noticed when I pulled it out of the box was the excellent case. It's heavy-duty nylon, with large stitched Empire logos on either side. It has a nice handle on top, as well.
The other first impression was-holy crap, it's light! I am used to barrels with stainless back like Boomies, and of course the aluminum Empires are lighter...but still, they are very light for an aluminum kit.
The 4 piece kit is the perfect compromise between a single-bore barrel and a gigantic kit like the Freak. You son't need an insert for EVERY DIAMETER (Freak...pssh.) The 4 pc kit is perfect because it can handle smallish, normal, and largish sizes with no rpoblems. The only disadvantage I can see is that it only comes with one tip (14".) While it is a good size, I always like to have a 10 and a 16 in there for hard-bunker speedball and airball, respectively.
You might compare this kit to the MacDev Matchstik kit; they are both around $100 USD. The Matchstik has an extra front in addition to the three backs, but it only comes with silver backs, not black like the Empire (and it's MacDev's polished silver and not actually chrome, so it's hard to match with stuff.)
The barrel shoots well with the appropriate paint. I noticed that it shot through breaks quite well, returning to the normal flight path after 4-5 clearing shots (of course, squeegeeing is always recommended.)
Of course, there are higher quality barrels out there; for this price you can get 2 backs and a front for a CP 2-pc, or a Freak and an insert or two. But, for those people like me who don't tend to shoot paint that ranges from .680 to .695 (who does?!) a basic kit like this is perfect.
Conclusion: A great kit at a great price; also check out the Matchstik kit if you want to keep your options open. The Empire kit is flawless.

Oh yeah...I noticed the new review category (year made in...) and while I can't quite understand why it's there...at least it looks nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 25th, 2004 at 6:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

benwallace Saturday, May 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman stock barrel, tippman flatline, custom products 14' barrel
Marker Setup: 98 c, 4-piece empire barrel kit, 12 volt revvy, tippman x-chamber, tippman double trigger, smart parts grip, smart parts pre-set on/off valve(spare tank/co2), bottom line macro, pure energy hpa tank w/ reg(standard)
Recommended
Paintballs:
draxxus diablo/midnight/formula 13(love the green fill). evil(both kinds). or anything quality.
Strengths: accurate.quiet.looks.distance.
Weaknesses: doesnt clean itself out after a break(what does besides ceramic?)
Review: accurate.quiet.looks.distance. I would buy this product, although i am looking into the j@j ceramic, and the freak kits which i feel are both good buys. This barrel has always played good for me, there is no real weakness.I would buy this product, although i am looking into the j@j ceramic, and the freak kits which i feel are both good buys. This barrel has always played good for me, there is no real weakness.
Conclusion: I would buy this product, although i am looking into the j@j ceramic, and the freak kits which i feel are both good buys. This barrel has always played good for me, there is no real weakness.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

stevehunt86 Tuesday, May 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak
Marker Setup: 04 Cocker
empire 4 piece barrel kit
flame drop
nexus internals

running off of a 68/45 nitro plasma
12 volt revy w/ x board
Recommended
Paintballs:
any really - preference
Strengths: extremely quiet
very accurate
nice look
not too expensive
Weaknesses: sometimes hard to clean

nothin else really
Review: Any time i went out to shoot some balls it was very accurate and it is one of the quietest barrels ive had, nice kit, barely any weaknesses, buy this barrel kit if you dont have enuff money for freak - much more expensive, if you get this barrel kit its definately worth your money
Conclusion: Get this barrel kit if you may be newbie or turney player good for both, the accuracy and quietness for a turney player and durability for a newbie
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lowrlevelracin Wednesday, May 5th, 2004
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
smart parts all american (for my mag)
stock dragun barrel
Marker Setup: 2004 Dragun "The One" Empire barrel kit, PB bullet drop forward, Bob Long Torpedo Reg, Macroline, Shock Tech Superfly timmy bolt, Dragun ultralite trigger, HPA, pressure is at about 200 psi. Halo B with rip drive.
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything good and round
Strengths: different bores
good looking
Weaknesses: out of the 4 pc, i got 2 flawed backs. bad shoot thru breaks
Review: well...where do i start? the kit looks great and its cheaper than the 11pc and the freak but i wish i woulda gotten a good allaroudn barrel like another all american....i dunno.

i get the kit in, lightly screw the .691 barrel back on, and Wait a minute, it just jammed! it jammed so tight i had to get it sent out to get the barrel back off! no lie! and im not dummy, it wasnt crossthreading, and the threads were clean. (im a mechanic)so since that barrel back doesnt work i use the next one down .689 i think. well guess what...? after having about 1/2case of paint break through my barrel, i finally saw the next day that the barrel bore had TWO flat spots in it! ugh! so the barrel backs are used now, how can i return them? im saving up and getting a pipe or freak, maybe freak jr. i know that i just got a flawed system, but everyone else is saying the same thing, doesnt shoot through breaks as well as it should, and comes with a 14 inch tip out of the box......sorry, if i wanted to sword fight, i'd bring a sword, not make my gun as lengthly!
Conclusion: from my experience, i'd like to melt them down for scrap, but it seems to be a 50/50 rep around here......sounds to me like somebody needs to fire the quality control guy down at empire.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

pbHoowah Tuesday, March 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J ceramic, Freak with Teardrop front.
Marker Setup: EM1
Tuctite
Rico AK
Empire 4pc.
Crossfire 68/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've only used PMI premiums but any should work.
Strengths: good barrel to bore matchability and extremely accurate.
Weaknesses: Only 3 backs but it's good for the price.
Review: I just got this barrel the other day and I put on the .689 back for PMI Premiums that I used a freak .689 insert for in the tourney and the Empire was tons more accurate. I shot 140 and didn't have a single break. It's more accurate than the freak for Premiums and has a good price. $85 for mine.
Conclusion: This barrel is good for anybody who wants to get started with kits and I don't think I'll buy another kit for a very long time. I'd recomend it to anyone who wants more verstility and better paint to bore matchup.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lilmafia3613 Saturday, February 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
boomstick, teardrop, freak, all american, xcel, etc.
Marker Setup: Tippy 98 custom wit psycho ballistics double trigga, empire 4 piece barrel kit, custom paint job. Also Smart Parts Impulse with blade trigger, evo2, tapeworm, etc.
Recommended
Paintballs:
blue streak, really about nething with the diffrent backs.
Strengths: diff. backs, accurate, range, kinda quiet
Weaknesses: sux shooting through breaks
Review: This barrel is overall pretty good. For the money there are better barrels out there. This barrel does not shoot well through breaks though. If u break one then expect to break about 10-20 more and then following up that are 10-20 more and then following the 10-20 more. But it rarely breaks. This barrel has alot of strengths though. The accuracy is great!So is the range. The diffrent backs are great for diffrent paint. Also Its kinda quiet.
Conclusion: i would buy this product over most just because of the quietness, diff.backs and the accuracy. Warning: This barrel will not shoot through breaks.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

sgt carman Monday, February 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
SP progressive, Dye Aluminum many stock barrels, SP AA's, Boomsticks etc...
Marker Setup: 2k2 cocker, empire kit, HPA, 12v revvy
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Blaze
Strengths: Accurate, light, multiple bores
Weaknesses: doesnt shoot through breaks well, just get a sureshot squeegie : ) .
Review: This barrel is awesome, some initial manufacturing problems ment that the first batch wasnt nearly as good as the ones being produced now as you can tell by the reviews. the bores are accurate as the .687 of a freak and the empire are the same bore (works perfect with blaze)
Conclusion: Definatly a good buy, best bang for the buck. I would recomment this barrel to any player. So far you cant buy extra bores or lengths but hopefully that will come soon.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

BetterthanU Sunday, January 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
carbon fiber, freak, boomstick, teardrop,
Marker Setup: Piranha Eforce EXT PRO 2K3
Empire 4 Peice
Empire Reloader
Crossfire Nitro tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi paintballs work good, anykind of pro level paint like midnights and up
Strengths: accurate, quite, very light, what more can you want?
Weaknesses: once you bust its crap but all barrels are so oh well
Review: This barrel is good, you should buy this gun, the only reason i have problems with it is my bolt chops paintballs pretty bad and im too fast for my hopper, oh and the bore sizes come on the backs so there is no mix up of the size. this barrel is fairly easy to clean other than the holes but you can just blow the paint out of them and them squeege it out.
Conclusion: a good barrel, light accurate quite, bob long team plays with them so pros like it too
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbjunkie1220 Sunday, October 5th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Full Freak kit
Smart Parts Progressive
Dye Boomstick
Marker Setup: Black Impulse
------------------
Blue tape worm
45/4500 crossfire HPA tank
14" full freak kit (AAfront stainless back and 8 insterts)
EvoII loader
twister feed neck
Strengths: pretty accurate
able to change bore sizes
Weaknesses: still not as accurate as the freak
and seperate backs instead of inserts stink.
Review: ive used this barrel and i found the full freak to be alot better. the accuracy of this barrel is good and its pretty quiet but it still doens't beat the freak kit. to me the inserts of the freak are easier then having five stainless steel backs plus when you you get a new gun you have to get a whole new kit with the freak you need to get just one new back and you can keep you whole kit.
Conclusion: this barrel is accurate and quiet but still not as good as the freak. the idea with the stainless steel backs is good but i guess when they designed this barrel they didn't think that when you get a new gun you also need to get a whole new kit which can cost lots of money.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, October 9th, 2003 at 12:04 pm PST
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

mechaniczac Monday, September 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Well lets see I've used a freak barrel kit way better but more expensive, i have a jand j ceramic and a jt 2piece which is not a good and my baby boomy
Marker Setup: Tippmann custom 98 vertical bottle, double trigger, response trigger, 12v revy, nitro , and of course empire barrel kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Hard to say i just experimented a little and found that cheap walmart paint broke but anything better than a diablo will do i would recommend marbs but not every one can afford a case so i would recommend diablo or pmi premium but definitely not blue streak or speed swirl
Strengths: multi-barrels
quick change
common bore sizes
Weaknesses: breaks walmart paint
can forget which bores are each barrel
Review: This barrel kit is worth its money i bought mine for 100 bucks which is pretty good for a multi barrel kit my freak set alone cost 200 but i did get the all american barrel
its no boomy though but if you want get a ceramic it will do you some good i have never ever had a ball break in my ceramic
Conclusion: This is a great barrel kit for 100 but i would recommend buying a all american barrel 2 piece kit and buying a insert every now and then it will cost about the same at first but will be better in the long run
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Monday, September 15th, 2003 at 7:18 pm PST
I found this review  
11 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (4):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media