paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels

Dye Boomstick Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Boomstick Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Boomstick Barrels
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 438
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $135

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Boomstick is the flagship of the Dye barrel line. This is the most widely desired barrel in the paintball industry. The Boomstick is built from gun drilled surgical grade 303 stainless steel and an aircraft grade 6061 T6 aluminum. All DYE barrels are honed to a 6 micron surface finish, giving you the smoothest and straightest barrel surface on the market. The precision fit of the aluminum front combined with the stainless steel back provides one of the best shooting barrels in the world. The Boomstick is the most common barrel used by professional players worldwide.
Product Availability 
The Dye Boomstick Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
PaintBaller76 Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom Flatline Barrel
Marker Setup: I have 2 Guns:
Tippmann A-5 with a Flatline Barrel
Tippmann 98 Custom with 12' Boomstick and Sniper stock
Recommended
Paintballs:
I havent really paid attention to that but the one's i used worked good
Strengths: *Distance is pretty good
*Accuracy is very good
*Silent (like a silencer on a gun)
Weaknesses: *Price (its not that expensive i got mine for $78)
Review: I have 2 guns (A-5 and 98C) i decided to get upgrades on my guns and use my 98C for the woods and use my A-5 different stuff so i heard about the Flatline Barrel i read the reviews and got that it works very well goes very far and accuracy is great, but then i still had my 98C to upgrade i heard about the Boomstick and how accurate it was so i read reviews and it sounded great so i saved up and bought the Boomstick and the Sniper stock when reading reviews it seemed like every one was complaining about the price some people said they bought theirs for 140 dollars whoever did that is stupid i got my Boomstick for 78 dollars (new not used) and when i started using it, it was so incredibly accurate i thought the Flatline was accurate, but the Boomstick literally made my jaw drop it was so accurate so my 98C is like a real sniper it is so accurate and it is soo silent
Conclusion: well the Boomstick is a very good barrel i reccomend it u just have to find the best price u can find and in terms of how many inches your looking for i would reccoment the 12' the 18 is huge i thing the 12 works the best
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pntbll_freak Monday, April 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP 14" barrel-doesn't compare
Marker Setup: Bushmaster B2K2 2003
1. shocktech superfly bolt
2. Dye boomstick 12"
3. Dye sticky grip
4. Evo 2 (egg)
5. Nitro duck 68/3000
6. flame drop and asa
Recommended
Paintballs:
I recommend evil paint
Strengths: It is light weight, and accurate
Weaknesses: It is expensive
Review: Well, all I really have to say is that it is very accurate, and leightweight. What else can you say with a product made by dye? Well, I used a CP barrel before and it was only about 1/4 as accurate but it was about half the price. I don't really care about the price myself because I burn money fast after I get money so the cost isn't and issue for me. If you don't have enough money for one of these then get something that other people think is good but cheaper.
Conclusion: It is a very good barrel (lightweight and accurate but expensive) I say BUY IT!!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rotties67 Friday, April 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic 14"
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix
Evo 2 Hopper
14" J&J Ceramic barrel
Dye Sticky 3 E-Grips
ACI Bulldog 3 68/4500 HPA
32* Spring Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Check the paintball size to barrel bore. Everyone is going to have the favorites already
Strengths: Solid, Looks great, Accurate
Weaknesses: Price, doesn't fit newer model Spyders (like my Fenix)
Review: The only reason I initially bought this product is because of the great deal and all the controversy surrounding it (hype vs. results). Besides, I like the Dye product line (nice eye candy). So I picked one up off the trading forum for my Fenix.

After eagerly waiting for it to arrive it finally showed up. I took the J&J off my marker, and started to put the Boomstick on. Only there was a problem. It wouldn't tighten all the way. Actually it would barely thread. So I decided to check it wiht my wifes Imagine, thinking maybe I got sent the wrong barrel by mistake. No such luck. It threaded perfectly. Confused I called the manufacturer (Dye) and asked about it. I was then informed that Kingman had slightly altered their threads from the original lines. Now since this is not Dyes fault, I will not hold it against them. Besides, they said if it was new they would have exchanged it free of charge.

So now I am forced to preform the tests with my wifes Imagine. I do have to admit the results were good. Accuracy was on, noise wasn't very loud at all (kind of disappointed me since it is a BOOMstick), and there was not one barrel break. The barrel was everything you would want in one.

But here is the problem, the J&J performed nearly identically. And it is a whole lot cheaper.
Conclusion: Well while I would have loved to have the Boomstick for my Fenix, it apprears I will stick with the J&J and my wife will get the Boomstick for her Imagine. It is a great barrel, and for those of you who love the eye candy as much as I do, it is fantastic. Does it out preform the J&J, no, not really. Would I rather have the Boomstick? You better believe it.
I will give it a 10 because it is everything you would want in a barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SmOkE TiGeR Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder stock barrel, JT Ceramic
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
16" Dye Boomstick Barrel
Custom Made Drop-Forward
Richochet 2k Hopper
Crossfire 47ci 3000 psi Tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've heard recommendations, but haven't found paint that fits it perfectly, yet.
Strengths: Sleek, sturdy, heavy, which means less vibration when fired.
Weaknesses: Overly priced. Thats all.
Review: Overall, this barrel is very sleek, sturdy and precise. They weight of the barrel is not much of a con and helps out in the stability of each shot fired, which means less vibration. I have had great satisfactory with the barrel. My only concern is its price. The barrel is great, don't get me wrong, but could be downed a little bit in price. Luckily, I got mine for $80 brand new. If you are afraid of balls breaking in the barrel and causing the rest of your balls to break, try coating the inside of your barrel with Rain-X, let it dry for about 2-3 min, then squeegee out the running excess. After a couple cases of paint you may need to recoat it. I'm pretty sure this won't affect your bore size, and if it does, a small fraction.
Conclusion: This is my main barrel I use and have had good success using it. If you are willing to go the distance on price, go for it, but if not, there are still other good barrels for half the price.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, April 14th, 2004 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

[.x.X.x] SPanky Wednesday, April 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
14" cp barrel
Spyder Rodeo Stock barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo w/ 14" Cp Barrel
Recommended
Paintballs:
So far I only shot PMI RPS Advantage premium and Brass eagle balls( dont use this ever)
Strengths: Looks very Intimadating and quiet.
Weaknesses: Over Price!!!
Review: I felll into the hype!!!!! I been playing off and on for 10 years.
I tested this barrel on my new Spyder Rodeo at a distance of 75 feet with no wind factor and 2 different paint.
My stock barrel even though it was loud, it actually did better on accuracy than the dye boomstick 16". Was it that the Rodeo stock barrel was awesome or was it just the paint??? So... I also tested it with my Cp 14"barrel. The Cp by far was a better choice. More accurate and alot cheaper.

Conclusion: If you own a spyder, then definately save your money and buy the Cp barrel over the 16" dye boomstick which is totally overrated. I would say this dye is an average barrel.
Maybe it does better with a different marker??
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

yodajammies Friday, April 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
just the stock barrel
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom, Boomstick, Rocket Cock II, Expansion chamber, Hyperstar bolt, Double Trigger
Recommended
Paintballs:
marblizers, PMI, something that wont break as easily due to small bore of barrel polished (shiny) looking paintballs tend to stick to inside and shred to pieces as they fly out
Strengths: Accurate as long as its not damp and if you have good paint
Weaknesses: quiet?! It makes my gun sound like an anti aircraft gun!
Review: Ive shot people from a long distance away with around three shots. Love it for the accuracy. It seems to break balls often and after you break one then more keep breaking. plus its pretty loud like a cannon i wish it were quieter. might trade the barrel for something else....sometimes I wished I wouldve stayed with the stock during some games. Overall, its super cool looking, super accurate, and super loud!
Conclusion: the noise and small choice of paint to be used sucks but like the accuracy its great
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jbarbour Thursday, April 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak. Ultralite. Boomy TI. Stainless.
Marker Setup: 2003 Smart Parts Strange Vision Impulse with strange team board (Uncapped, faster eye response)
With Bob Long Torpedo Reg
HSW V3 I-Frame
CCM No Rise
Custom Rip Delrin Bolt with O-rings(no blowback more shot to shot consistancy)
New Designz Slick shot ram shaft
New Designs Stainless midweight hammer with custom modifications (no kick, faster cycle rate)
New Designz Rip Valve
Dye Micro Drop
Hybrid technologies R-Drive Stage 1 regulator
Dye sticky 3 grips
Halo B with Z-code
Pmi Pure energy 68ci 4500psi tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything. as long as its not small bore.
Strengths: Nice solid barrel. Looks sweet.
Weaknesses: A little heafty. Need a squeegy.
Review: I love this barrel. sure its not the lightest. or the best. but I love it. its super accurate. very solid. The only barrel I would choose over this one is the Freak due to the changeable sliders. I found the Boomy will shoot further though. The only thing that I can complain about is when it comes loose during play. (only because I shoot a cocker and they dont have o-rings to keep the barrel on). Its all good though. nothing a little teflon tape cant fix.
Conclusion: Good barrel. If u can get it for a good price do it. I got mine for 75 canadian.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 11th, 2004 at 11:13 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

robindahood Wednesday, April 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippy barrel.... yeah
Marker Setup: Model 98 Custom, 14" boomer, Dead On Double Trigger, Tasco Red Dot Sight, 16oz. fatty CO2 tank, Phat x-chamber, couple custom mods (trigger pull is ~1 pound)
Recommended
Paintballs:
32 Degrees team colors works real well, also Draxxus Dusk and other small bore paint, Brass Eagle... no... just no.. >_<
Strengths: Accuracy, lot quieter than stock, really nicely finished inside
Weaknesses: price, weight
Review: This barrel looks kick, fires kick, and is kick, there's a reason why its called a 'flagship barrel'.

Pros:
Accuracy+nice finish: its micro-honed which gives great accuracy; about a 6"x6" grouping at 90 ft.
Quieter: yeah but who really cares, they're still gonna hear you, its not like ur stealthy or something

Cons:
Price: yeah... it costs a lot, almost as much as my stock gun
Weight: it weighs a nice amount, but if this honestly affects you, do a couple push-ups each day for about a month
Conclusion: This is great, a pinnacle of barrel perfection. Seriously get it, its all that, a bag of chips, and every guy and his grandma want it. The cons aren't bad, the weight shouldn't be all that much of an issue, and the cost, well u get what u pay for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

serbian Friday, April 2nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock WGP Barrel, Mako 14", Teardrop
Marker Setup: 2002 WGP Autococker
Dye Boomstick
ANS Mini Ram
ANS Jackhammer 2 Regulator
ANS 3-way
VL Egg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Allstar is the best I've used.
Strengths: So quiet; you can talk over it, within 3 feet of target at 250 feet
Weaknesses: You have to run a squeegee through it 3 times if you break a ball.
Review: I used the boomstick one time and I decided to keep it. I can hit targets at 250 feet now with accuracy. It's cheap, affordable, and looks great. The only complaint for some people would be the weight. Fortunately, my gun is very heavy at the back end with a tank, so the barrel actually helps balance the gun.
Conclusion: You should buy this barrel if you want the highest quality product available, and enjoy shooting darts.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragonboarder94 Wednesday, March 31st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock, Evil Driver
Marker Setup: Spyder Fenix, 14" Evil Driver, Evo II
Recommended
Paintballs:
Core, Blaze, inferno
Strengths: Range, accuracy, intimidating
Weaknesses: -Expensive
-Fell apart on me!
Review: I have this barrel on my fenix on auto and it rarely brings a ball off target, (and i use core too), on semi, you can snipe out multiple targets before they know you're there. The only problem is the chrome gives off your position. Anther problem is cleaning it in action, since mine is 18", i have to take the thing apart to clean it, that leaves me pretty vulnerable, and that is what led it to fall apart. I took it apart so often that the alumanum threads on the front stripped from contact with the steel back.....my poor boomer......that's why I got a 1 piece driver.
Conclusion: Great barrel......just be careful
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, January 20th, 2005 at 4:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media