paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels

Dye Boomstick Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Boomstick Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Boomstick Barrels
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 438
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $135

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Boomstick is the flagship of the Dye barrel line. This is the most widely desired barrel in the paintball industry. The Boomstick is built from gun drilled surgical grade 303 stainless steel and an aircraft grade 6061 T6 aluminum. All DYE barrels are honed to a 6 micron surface finish, giving you the smoothest and straightest barrel surface on the market. The precision fit of the aluminum front combined with the stainless steel back provides one of the best shooting barrels in the world. The Boomstick is the most common barrel used by professional players worldwide.
Product Availability 
The Dye Boomstick Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
chibissj Monday, January 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
14" Teardrop - about the same read below...surpring huh....
Marker Setup: 2k3 Vert Feed Cocker (Blue)
Palmer Stabilizer
KAPP FAT Ram
KAPP Reflex Trigger
Eggy II
*sigh* 16 oz co2.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything will work...if it could shoot my lumpy big balls...it will handle anything.
Strengths: Quiet, Accurate, Shoots Through Breaks Well
Weaknesses: Heavy, Overrated (IMO), read review.
Review: I bought this used, but this by no means, AFFECTS my judgement on this barrel.
All said lets continue.

I tested this against my Teardrop. And while the barrel is very good and accurate. I don't personally understand why everyone holds it such high reguards. The teardrop is nearly half the price. They both compare in almost every reguard. The accuracy radius on the boomy was slightly smaller about 8"

The teardrop was 9"

However 1" isn't that great in my opinion when it comes to money spent.

The next test is quietness. This is one reguard where the boomy actually does prove some of it's worth. Its miles ahead of the teardrop in this reguard. I can't even heard the cocker shooting the balls all I see is them coming out of my barrel.

The last thing which the barrel is very good is at shooting through breaks. I put a ball into my barrel to test this. It shoots incredible through the breaks. Hardly any difference in accuracy.

The weaknesses of this barrel would be that it's heavy which I can deal with.
It's not that much better in the accuracy field than the teardrop, and that's a main focus factor which I look for in a barrel. It's highly overrated in my books.
Conclusion: While this barrel does have it's high points. I still don't think it's worth it's money, because while it does it's fair share of accuracy, it's not much ahead of the teardrop (half the price new). It is however much quieter and does shoot through breaks better. All that said. This barrel definetly wasn't I was expecting. Although I'll still give it a 7. Which it deserves, above a mediocre barrel (5), but not the best especially when you consider it's money it's worth. Performance just isn't there for me.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cowpyro231 Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I used to use a stocked barrel for my BKO and now i put a boomy on it NOW IT SHOOTS THE BEST EVER I LOVE IT.
Marker Setup: 03 BKO
Halo B
Chaos chip
Boomy
Air america 68/4500
Boblong reg
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any they shoot the same
Strengths: Very straight and when my gun chops the barrel is dirty but it stillSstraight
Weaknesses: Nothing but a little hott on the price
Review: When i first got the boom stick i thought i was pretty long and i hoping it would shoot like the pros on videos. Well when i get to go play with it hte first time. IT WAS SO PRECISE IT WASNT EVEN FUNNY. I would recomend this barrel before i mention other barrels. If your thinking about getting this barrel DO IT YOU WILL LOVE IT
Conclusion: JUST GET THIS BARREL you will love it so much
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Jiminikiz Monday, December 29th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lapco Bigshot, Many many different guns, spyders, cockers, you name it
Marker Setup: Pro-Carbine with Lapco Bigshot 14", Sticky Grip, Airtipps Detatchable Carrying Handle
Recommended
Paintballs:
expensive kind
Strengths: Range, Stainless back
Weaknesses: Poor Craftsmanship, Alumininum Front, Weak Glue
Review: I try and try with this barrel. I read all the reviews before i bought it two years ago. I was convinced that the steep price would be made up by the performance. But with all my expiriances with this barrel, there is much to be desired. Upon getting it, the entry was too tight for my Pro-Carbine's bolt to fit through it. So i gave it to my friend to laive it out a bore size or two. MAybe that was a mistake, but none the less it worked now. It definately pushed the balls farther, but the accuracy....i was expecting alot more. I better paint, really that should be the answer. But 2 years of gamin later, rite in the middle of a shoot out, the aluminum part of the barrel came off during a game. i almost cried. But i tried it with the 4-5" stainless part i had left. OMFG it is so accurate at short range. with better paint, i think i like it better with out the front piece, sans range of course. And what's better, the Pro-carbine fore-grip covers the shiny stainless part, so it looks like i have a Pro-Carb mini. I would reccomend getting the totally stainless version of this barrel, or even this barrel for any other marker. For the pro-carb, im sure their are better choices out there. I like the bigshot, but that too leaves much to be desired. Put it this way, IT'S NOT the BARREL that makes the shot. it's the PAINT. Buy a nice barrel, spend the rest of your money buying good paint that works well with your barrel. Trust me.
Conclusion: Buy it if you like how it looks. Carbine users need not to worry about the stainless part glaring in the sun. Try to fire this with your marker before buying, find the closest match of paint that works for you BoomStick, and you'll like it for sure. Or break it apart and you;ll have the best 5" barrel out there =). Maybe if it didn't come apart on its own it would get a higher rating. At least i could always lok-tite it back together....hehe
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dustin8800 Wednesday, December 24th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Blue 2003 Vertical Autococker with a Lapco Barrel Adaptor, 14 in Dye Boomstick, 12 volt Sapphire Blue Revy, 68ci 4500 psi Crossfire Nitrogen Tank.
Recommended
Paintballs:
RPS Marbs, All-Star, or El Tigre
Strengths: 1 - Accurate
2 - Quite
3 - Looks wicked
Weaknesses: Barrel can be hard to take off at times. Price.
Review: I got to tell you, I love this barrel. It looks awesome on my gun and it performes even better. I shot 2000 El Tigres out of my boomstick and not one broke on me. It was fricken wicked. If you need to upgrade your barrel, choose this one. You will not regret it.
Conclusion: This barrel kicks. It will allow to place shots more effectively and precisley. It rarley chops balls. The only thing thats a key weakness is the price. Other than that, its wicked.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

crazyace1003 Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts All American, Custom Products one piece, 32* Nyte Stikk, Taso Winforce, J&J Pro1
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Pro TS G3, 16 inch Dye Boomstick, Empire Reloader, Boss bolt.
Recommended
Paintballs:
All Stars work AWESOME with this barrel
Strengths: Quality construction, accurate, not too loud, looks great on anything
Weaknesses: Pricey
Review: I love this barrel more than any barrel I've ever used. Sure, it's a little expensive but a lot of paintball accessories are so I thought "Why not go all out on one of the most important upgrades there is for a paintball marker." It's no kit, but who needs one for an open bolt blow back marker like mine? I don't regret getting this at all, I first discovered it through my friend who had a 16" on his Shutter, I was instantly sold. I tried another one later that day, it was a 14" on my friends 98 Custom, now I know the guns were different but they were both chronoed the same and shooting the same paint, so after shooting both I was sold on the 16". Usually I'm not a fan of long barrels (my past 3 barrels have been 12 inchers) but this one rocked the house. I love Dye, you can tell just by holding it in your hand that theres quality craftsmanship put into the barrels making.
Conclusion: I recommend this to any level of player, beginner or pro, weekend warrior or tourny player. It's an awesome piece of equipment!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Brandon Drontle Tuesday, December 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
excel 14" barrel
Marker Setup: 2000 BKO with 12" dye boomstick, dye sticky grips, 12 volt revy, drop forward with 68/3000 psi crossfire tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
It depends on what kind of gun you have. If you have a low pressure gun, I recommend evil paint or anything with a thin shell. If you have a high pressure gun, you'll want paint with thick shells (marballizer work great) because you'll be putting more stress on the balls.
Strengths: Great look and accurate! All you need in a barrel.
Weaknesses: The price and the barrel is a little heavy.
Review: This barrel is a must buy for almost any stock gun that you want to upgrade. You will see immediate results with this barrel. Other prominate barrels are jt two piece barrels and smart parts barrels. I recommend the dye ultralite barrel over the boomstick because the boomstick is made out of titanium (pretty heavy) and the ultralite is made out of aluminum (super light!). Because of dye's dominating precision and appearance in all of their barrels, they are a little spendy. Dye has been the leader of paintball barrels, apparel, and masks. However, it's definitely worth the price to pay when it comes to winning more games.
Conclusion: This barrel looks great on any gun and performs exceptional. It's a little heavy, but in 7 min. tournament games you don't have to worry about it. The 20-30 min. woods games is what you have to worry about.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cockercane Monday, December 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 years5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrels or anything that a friend would lend me for a game or two.
Marker Setup: 2k WGP vert autococker
12" DYE boomstick
WGP hinge
ANS front pneumatics kit
ANS GX phase II reg
15* ASA
Shocktech supa fly bolt
Kapp fx beaver tail
Sys X drop & on / off
12v VL w / Xboard
68ci. 4500psi. Centerflag hyperflow 420 hpa.
68ci. 3000psi. Crossfire hpa.
Stock valve, hammer & springs (doing research to replace these)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers
Evils
Nelson hotspots (low cost paint)
Strengths: Simplicity of design.
Weaknesses: Weight
Expense
Review: I put this barrel on both my 'cocker and my piranha for a reason. With the proper bore to paint match (obviously) this barrel is mutch more accurate and consistent than any barrel I've used.

The clean out rate of this barrel is ok, no real miracles here. 5-9 shots and most of your accuracy is back, but not as good as a clean barrel.

The use of stainless steel for the bore is the right way to go because it's a hard metal therefore giving the bore an extremely smooth surface. Soft metals such as aluminum or brass don't polish or "micro hone" as well in the manufacturing process. Soft metals also don't retain a good surface, they scratch easily. Titanium is is also a good metal to look into.

Stainless steel comes at a price.....it's heavy. This barrel definetly ads weight to your marker.

Conclusion: Obviously the barrel of your marker is what most directly sends the paintball to its intended target which makes it an extremely important upgrade. DO RESEARCH! I won't deny that there may be better barrels out there (many new barrel designs are worth looking into) but you'll be hard pressed to find one. Keep in mind that a paintball only needs 7-8" of barrel length to reach 300 +/- fps (freak sleeves are way too short. Also look at the stock barrel on the ANS GX-4. Not a great barrel; from what I hear, but it does its job using only 7.5" +/- ). Anything longer needs more gas to push the paintball out. (more gas usage = less accuracy, look it up). porting is only needed to vent excess gas before the paintball reaches the end of the barrel, which makes it more quiet. Look for simple barrel designs (like a boomstick) without rifling or upward bends and all that garbage.

This barrel is expensive (like all other pb products) but if you have the money I definitely recommend it.
I give 8/10 because of high cost and my lack of experience with other barrels.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 24th, 2003 at 10:04 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

JustPaintball Wednesday, December 17th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
14" J & J Ceramic
Marker Setup: Spyder Imagine
14" dye boomstick
12v Revolution Hopper
12oz Co2 (can't afford compressed air yet)
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything beside Brass Eagle
smaller bore is better
Strengths: -very accurate
-nice looks
-2 piece barrel
Weaknesses: -expensive
Review: This gun is very accurate and looks really great on any gun. It is just a little expensive for my blood. I had to save up for a while. I give it a 9/10 just because of price. Besides that, it is a great barrel. If it is too much, i would recommend a teardrop barrel.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel. I would recommend it to anyone. It is extremely accurate and it isn't as loud as many people say. If you have the money, buy.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tapecocker Saturday, November 22nd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ultralite- Nice, but considerably louder than the boomstick
JT Two Piece Barrel- Looks nice, but not at all worth the 90 bukx
Marker Setup: System X Base Cocker
-14 in. dye boomstick
-ANS Jackhammer Reg.
-Delrin Orracle Bolt (the best)
-45/4500 System X Nitro
-Shocktech Trigger Frame
-Physco Ballistics Drop Foward
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Midnight (cheap and work extremely well, get em)
Diablo Blaze
Marbalizers (only for those of u who are roling in dough)
Strengths: Quiet, Shoots straight, matches up well with lots of paint, looks nice, easy to clean
Weaknesses: If you can get it in one piece, the 2 piece unscrew 2 much.
Review: This barrel kicks a$$, and the cool thing is, no matter what type of gun you have, most likely there's a dye boomstick to match that kind of gun. it is also compatible with tons of types of paint, so no matter wut ur budget, you will be able to find a bore and kind of paint that suits you and your barrel.
Conclusion: Overall i love this barrel and reccomend it to anyone looking for the best. it may be a bit pricy, but you can't go wrong with a dye.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

1969396camaro Sunday, November 9th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrel
Marker Setup: spyder e-99, ricochet ak hopper, rail sight and adco scope, 20oz Co2 18" dye boomstick
Recommended
Paintballs:
pmi and evil
Strengths: extremely quiet, very accurate, stabilizer(weight)
Weaknesses: expensive, Shiny chrome barrel is give away but you shoot them 1st anyway
Review: The spyder e-99 is the perfect gun for this barrel. Naturally, the spyder is back heavy because of it's design which helps even out the weight of the heavy Co2 and the heavy barrel. My shots were now in a single area instead of just missing or in a cluster. I hit everything i wanted to. I am a sniper an I have an 18" barrel. Sometimes it is difficult to manuver but I got over that because of the performance. You'll enjoy it too!!!
Conclusion: The barrel is worth the money so buy it!!!! There is no excuse not to win. Buy the barrel and be happy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  12  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media