paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels

Dye Boomstick Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Boomstick Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Boomstick Barrels
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 438
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $135

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Boomstick is the flagship of the Dye barrel line. This is the most widely desired barrel in the paintball industry. The Boomstick is built from gun drilled surgical grade 303 stainless steel and an aircraft grade 6061 T6 aluminum. All DYE barrels are honed to a 6 micron surface finish, giving you the smoothest and straightest barrel surface on the market. The precision fit of the aluminum front combined with the stainless steel back provides one of the best shooting barrels in the world. The Boomstick is the most common barrel used by professional players worldwide.
Product Availability 
The Dye Boomstick Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, November 13th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP, Thunderpig-sniper
Marker Setup: Spyder Shutter. Dye Boomstick, Twisted Parts low pressure chamber, Bob long's Force III bolt, dye sticky grips.

Also Spyder TL. Twisted Parts low pressure chamber, Bob long's Force III rear cocking bolt.
Recommended
Paintballs:
Diabo/RPS-allstar/zap/pretty much anything BUT Brass Eagle
Strengths: -Great upgrade to factory barrel... or for that matter ANY barrel
-Very accurate with accurate paint
-Reduces noise pretty well
-overall it's everything you want from a barrel
Weaknesses: -The 2 pieces are held together by a silicone type goop. Mine fell apart after a couple of years of regular cleanings after games. But on the bright side they have a great customer support and I've sent it in for repairs.

-Shoots small bore sizes much better than medium and large, but it still shots those well
Conclusion: The best barrel I've ever had on my gun. Enough said!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GOPHER11 Monday, November 12th, 2001
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
jt, freak, otp, j&j, aluminum, stainless.
Marker Setup: gen 5 silver bushy w/ glad, stickys, and dye aluminum
Recommended
Paintballs:
rps advantage (best paint ever!!!)
Strengths: long range
extremely accurate
weight balances gun (angel)
for me it has been accurate with all paints
never broke a ball
Weaknesses: a little pricey but it is worth it!!!!
Conclusion: great barrel, my fav.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Friday, November 2nd, 2001
Strengths: Looks-If you wanna be totally fashionable You have to have this barrel
Quiets most guns well, but most barrels do to a degree
Accurate with correct paint match, but again most barrels
Weaknesses: Having to buy 3 to get a decent paint to barrel match with any paint
Have to special order small and large bore
If paint is even a little too big your gonna have shredfest(good thing they clean themselves well)
A little heavy for some
Conclusion: Ok if you read my above comments you probably think I don't care for the Boomy, and you might be half right. I just believe that they are WAY over hyped. True they do perform very well with the correct paint to barrel match but like I said most barrels do. And don't get me wrong, I love DYE , they make some of the most high quality paintball products around. I just belive for someone wanting to play tourneys or different fields should go for something more versitile like a Smart Parts Freak or something.
\
And if you think about it, I bet alot of the current pro players that make the boomy fashionable would be shooting things like Freaks if they didn't already own the DYE's, just for the versatility. Its just the Freak(or equivilant) was available when they needed to purchase new barrels for thier markers.Thats my theory anyway.

And yes I know this isn't a review for a Freak (which I now own and will formally review later)

I'm just saying some new tourny players should consider it as a more versatile and ultimately more cost effective route. Also DYE I would LOVE to see you release something similar to the Freak sometime in the near future.
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NitroBill Tuesday, October 23rd, 2001
Strengths: to start with, when i had this barrel it was on a 98. I could blaze paint with this barrel like there was no tomorrow. Now I'm useing a All American barrel on my new gun. Both have great shots. The only reason why i went with the AA is because it can blow any paint with a great shot. The Boomy is a Superb shot with any paint, but the best with small bore sized paint such as marbs, pmi perfect, and other small bore paints.
Weaknesses: For starters, people say that it is expensive. Well, paintball is not a cheap sport. Like anything else, your not going to get good stuff for cheap. You get what you pas for. I paid $110.00 new and i got what it was worth. Nothing in the world is cheap, and this is no exception.
Conclusion: To conclude this. The dye company is known for great products. I always try to get upgrades with the dye name. It is a great barrel and works amazing with small bore sized paints. It is not a cheap night stick or terminator barrel. It is a supurb barrel. If it wasn't team lockout wouldnt use it. I used it and loved it. if your not a cheapy go buy it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, October 22nd, 2001
Strengths: This barrel is freakin' awesome!!! The accuracy is unmatched. I've used it about 4 times in wooded areas and have had no problems with it. There has been about 2000 rounds shot through it with 0 breaks. I can't believe the accuracy.
Weaknesses: Its a little expensive. But if u have the money, definatly a good investment. I got mine for $119 and would not trade it for the world. A lot of people say it is heavy but it only weighs like 2 pounds. It actually evened out my gun weight and is so much more balanced now. Other then the price, though, there is absolutly nothing wrong with this barrel.
Conclusion: This barrel is the best barrel i've ever shot with. I have a 16in on a Tippmann Pro/Carbine and the accuracy is amazing. I found that it works best with a lot of air pressure behind it. the first time i used it, my tank was only like 1/4 left and my accuracy dropped but when i played yesterday on a full tank, it was unmatched. This barrel is the shizit and would be an awesome upgrade to any gun on the market.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, October 13th, 2001
Strengths: The Dye boomstick is Accurate as hell and it shoots well when it breaks paint(not that often) Its quiet to this barrel rocks it kicks the dye alluminums ASS by far(I own both) the dye allum when it breaks painttakes 20-30 shots to recover accuricy whil the dye boomstick take 3-5 5-10 max.
Weaknesses: It takes high end paint (Marbalizer Inferno Balze) nothing but expensive paint. If you use bad paint youl have to sqeegy it(Dye boomstick) and youl get murdered. IT COSTS ALOT TO $140!
Conclusion: I use 14 inch barrels period. any smaller too loud any longer to big and accurcy is just the same. Guns Used on autococker model 98 Pironha limited edition angel ect... this barrel rocks on any gun even thou its a little heavy 1 pound max ( I didnt wegh it but I figured) use gator black paint for EXTREME ACCURICY regular Marbalizer works good to or Inferno Blaze but Marbalizer Gator black is the best I've never broken paint using Gator black . It is definatly worth the cost by far the best barrel I ever used. Simalare barrels like Dye alluminum it is far better than and it definatly tops all other barrels. I RECAMEND THIS BARREL, WETHER YOUR COMP OR REC IT IS THE BEST. This Barrel is awsome. Its younger sister DYE Titanium boomstick is the same but lighter and its youngest sister DYE Ultralite boomstick is just like boomstick but a hell of a lot lighter and it takes cheap paint but OVER ALL THE DYE BOOMSTICK IS THE BEST NO QUESTIONS!!!!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, October 11th, 2001
Strengths: The DYE boomstick is a very good looking barrel that will shoot with a high degree of accuricy and is very quiet. The preformance when wet (broken paint) is acceptable and it is not as heavy as people say. It is also excilent with small bore paint. It is also avaliable in every length from 10 to 18 in.
Weaknesses: Very expensive and requires small bore high quality paint. The aluminium front has been known to seperate from the stainless steel back end and when this happens you are out 120 bones unless you can find somebody with the know how to fix it. When shooting big bore paint many ball breaks are common, so you need to own several barrels with different bore sizes.
Conclusion: I use boomsticks in a myrid of lengths fron 10 to 14 inches on guns ranging from angels to mags to cockers to sniper II. They always preform extreamly well with the right paint but if the match is no perfect then your in for a bad day. It is worth the cost but shouldn't be the only barrel you own. The boomstick is the standard by wich all other 2 pice barrels are measured so I would reccomend it to anyone who can afford it and several other barrels.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, October 6th, 2001
Strengths: The smaller 4 in. in the beginning provides a speed increase while the wider end part provides accuracy. at 100' away i was hittingwithin 8in of my target.
Weaknesses: The priced! Dear God $104.88 but I am glad i spent that much. Another bad thing is that if you break a ball (which doesn't happen to often pending on your gun) the accuracy decreases due to paint at the drop in the barrel which you have to actually wash with water.
Conclusion: My barrel was 14in which is not different between the 18 and 16in. barrels exept with the longer barrels you use more Co2 or nitro. I used it on a suped up Kingman Spyder 2000. Small bore is recommended. If you use medium they willl break more often. The price in my opinion could be decreased for the materials and production cost that Dye uses. Other barrels are not quite as good but they are less expensive. The only other barrel that I'd ratther have on my gun is the Tippman Flatliner. If your looking for a gun my the tippman 98. Very customisable.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 6:49 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 2nd, 2001
Strengths: Fairly accurate in the mid range, excellent look to the gun,
Has the DYE name on the side
Weaknesses: Well the price is the most obvious one. Paying this much for a barrel is WAYYYYYYYY too much. Its just not worth it. I have a DYE Xcel barrel and a J&J 2 piece and i must say that both of them perform just as well. The J&J even has a tighter pattern when shot at a target 50-55 yards away (field by my house). The two piece design of this gun does not allow for the barrel to be taken apart. meaning that the stainless part does not detach from the tip, making cleaning of this gun a Bizatch, also it does not shoot through paint that well.
The noise of this barrel makes u realize why exactly it is called a BOOMstick. it BOOOOOMMMS. easily on of the loudest aftermarket barrels i have heard.
Conclusion: The barrel itself gives u all that u pay for it. But why would u bother? There are better barrels for cheaper (personally i think im going to buy a JT 2 piece).
Easily NOT worth the price, easily NOT the best aftermarket barrel, and all round not the best choice.. For lack of performance in relivance to money, as well as noise and quality, i give this barrel a 6
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, October 2nd, 2001
Strengths: looks cool as crap on my spyder compact 2000
very accurate
makes others envyous of your barrel
bust very little paint

Weaknesses: its hard as crap to clean if you dont have the right squegee
if a ball bust its its hard as crap to hit anything cause it will curve bad
the stainless steel part sticks out in the woods really bad making it easy for others to spot you
very expensive
Conclusion: How long is the barrel you used?16
What gun did you use it on?spyder compact 2000
What paint works well in it?most anything but be and viewloader
Is it worth how much it costs?not really
How does it compare to similar barrels?pretty good
Would you reccommend it to someone?of course its a boomstick


good barrel all around


Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  32  |  33  |  34  |  35  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media