paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels

Dye Boomstick Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Boomstick Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Boomstick Barrels
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 438
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $135

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Boomstick is the flagship of the Dye barrel line. This is the most widely desired barrel in the paintball industry. The Boomstick is built from gun drilled surgical grade 303 stainless steel and an aircraft grade 6061 T6 aluminum. All DYE barrels are honed to a 6 micron surface finish, giving you the smoothest and straightest barrel surface on the market. The precision fit of the aluminum front combined with the stainless steel back provides one of the best shooting barrels in the world. The Boomstick is the most common barrel used by professional players worldwide.
Product Availability 
The Dye Boomstick Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  Last
        Next Page
Unregistered User Tuesday, June 19th, 2001
Strengths: Damn. This barrell not only looks cool on my Extra, but it's dead on balls accurate. I shot at a construction sign and if I wasnt hitting it, I was 2 inches to either side of it. For paintball, you cant ask for much more than that with a Sypder Extra and a nice barrell like the Boomstick. I have the 14''. Today we played and I kept up decently with an auto-cocker with a aci barrell.

About 600 rounds, no breaks. I used Great American balls. Nice match.
Weaknesses: It's a little heavy, but then again it's stainless steel. You should expect that. The good thing about the weight is it's not at the end of the barrell. It's at the begging so it doesnt throw you off.

It's also flashy. Most of the barrell is black, but the stainless steel sticks out bad. It doesnt matter in speed ball cause they pretty much know where you are anyways. I've only played spray and pray so far.

For just over 100 bucks, I guess it could be cheaper. Im addicted to paintball, so I just want it done. I dont care what it costs, I just want the gun to be better, or I want to shoot straighter. Whatever it takes. I love being able to actually shoot what Im aiming at.
Conclusion: It's a must for those who have spiders and depend on their spiders to be their primary gun. If your planning on upgrading to an auto-cocker or some other high dollar gun, dont waste your money. But if you like spiders, and want the biggest improvement in your gun, it's simple, upgrade your barrell. With this barrell and the right match of paint, you can pretty much throw away your squeegee.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, June 18th, 2001
Strengths: This has to be the greatest barrel ever. I have an 18 inch boomstick for my Tippmann 98 Custom. It quiets the gun down so much from the stock barrel. It also has to be the most accurate barrel too. I can hit anything that I want. It is great.
Weaknesses: I don't think there is one thing wrong with this barrel.
Conclusion: All in All this is the greatest barrel ever made. It shows the quality craftsmanship that all DYE products show. It is lite weight and very tough. Hard to scratch. The best barrel ever.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 14th, 2001
Strengths: This barrell looks mad ass sweet. at first i didnt buy it for the looks but i grew on to it. It is pretty acurate but i guess i am not satisfied quite yet for the money i paid. not too loud.

Weaknesses: Probaly my paint selection but the barrell is not all that acurate as i thought it would be. I used polar ice and Blaze so far. What would you guys reccomend? i have had some curvage and droppage. It may possibly curve a little more than my stock but still would hit a brick from maybe 60 ft away every 3rd shot. little expensive.
Conclusion: i do not know why this barrell has not performed well for me yet. probaly paint, velocity setting, or regulator setting. caould some one give me some hints how to get beter perfermance out of this 110$ barrell?
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, June 7th, 2001
Strengths: -Nice Stainless finish on back peice of barrel. Very good quality!
-It's made by Dave Youngblood!!!! The DYE name is good quality & craftsmanship
-It is a very Quiet barrel. Just as Quiet as the SmartParts All-American, wich in my opinion is the a very quiet barrel.
Weaknesses: -I was kinda hoping for a bit more accuracy. but it's still as accurate as hell.
-Slightly heavier then your average Aluminum barrel. This is because of the stainless back peice. But it's not so much heavier that it'll hurt performance.
Conclusion: -I have a 16" DYE Boomstick
-I used it on a Autococker
-I used several types of paint with it. I have noticed that this barrel works great with both small & medium bore paint. But best with Small bore. I shoot proball, and the accuracy is pretty good. but could be better.
-It is a very expensive barrel. If you have the money, and want a good looking barrel with performance. then get the Boomstick.
-I can compare this barrel to my SP All-American barrel. They are very similar in performance, but i would have to say that my AA is slightly more accurate. I can get a tighter shot pattern with tha AA, then the Boomy.
-The boomy is a very good barrel though
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Cocker_Cow Wednesday, June 6th, 2001
Strengths: extremely quiet, on my bro's autococker you cant even hear it fire, with zap prefromance it is that absolute best paint/barrel match ever. at 45 yards (not feet) the shot grouping is the size of a mouse pad
Weaknesses: hmm.... nothing except it is somewhat heavy
Conclusion: if you have the choice to buy your own paint (byop) get zap preformance plus and get a boomy, then you will be in accuracy heaven. if you dont have the choice of your own paint (have to use field paint) i would lean towards a freak, but if you could try the barrel out with paint (either the blow test and the roll test; email me for more info about them) then i would get it if it fits well
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 29th, 2005 at 7:26 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, June 6th, 2001
Strengths: Quite as a bunny in a field. And that bunny will never know what's comming, because it's one shot, little sound, and dead accurate. You can get the longer barrels, and it is a little quiter, but the shorter ones (like 12") are already really quiet and just as accurate. I've only shot a few barrels with my cocker, they were all top-end, but this one was noticibly better than the others.

I did have a ball break (my fault, I was messing with the timing), but the barrel cleaned out in seconds under the kitchen faucet. No paint was left anywhere. My T-squeege also makes it squeaky clean in just one swipe.
Weaknesses: Well, $140 is steep, but if you have a high end gun, it's worth maxing it out. Other than that, there is nothing to improve upon. (although someone, probably will and I'll have to get a new barrel =P)
Conclusion: Worth it's weight in gold. I don't know how much that is, but $140 seems like a bargain anyway. If you have the money to spend on paintball, use it on this. I am incapable of describing just how well it shoots. Just borrow one for a few minutes, and you will probably have a new toy within 24 hours.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 5th, 2001
Strengths: - Looks very sweet, matches my automag very well.
- More accurate than ALMOST all barrels out there.
- Comes in almost any length you could possibly want.
- Manufactured by one of the leading paintball companies in the industry.
- Undoubtedly the quietest barrel in the paintball industry.
Weaknesses: - Now, this may just be me, but i have encountered poor recovery from ball breakage. Although I am shooting a mag, which are notorious for ball breaks, my velocity is around 280 yet when a ball breaks, there is no other way to keep playing unless i clean it.....i usually shott proball, so its not like im shooting brass eagles or anything either....
-Not quite worth the 120$ I paid for it. Although it is nice, you are mostly paying for hype.
-The whole "two-piece" theory is complete nonsense. I have an autospirit, a armson stealth, and a smart parts big daddy, and they all shoot the same as long as their bore size matches the paint. However, contrary to belief, the boomstick will not shoot large and small bore paint just because it has a stepped bore; it is strictly a small bore gun, and will deliver disappointing results when used with large bore.
Conclusion: My barrel was an 18 inch, and did not curve or anything like, also contrary to belief that longer barrels causes more backspin to be acted upon th ball. Simply not true. In fact, the only benefit I see to longer is two things; 1), they look better (in my opinion) and 2) theyre quieter, and trust me, at 18 inches, this barrel is the quietest money can buy, whcih is one of the features that actually is worth the money. As far as accuracy goes, it gets a 9/10 for accuracy. From about 25 feet away, the shots will have about a 12 inch spread, which is by no means bad, just not 120$ good. however, it is nonetheless an extremely accurate barrel. The problem is, other barrels such as the Lapco Autospirit are just as, if not a tiny bit more, accurate. As far as look go, hands down the boomstick is a winner. Conclusion - if this barrel matches your gun well, or you just like the way it looks, buy this barrel. The looks do make up for the minor imperfections (and yes, i did say MINOR) of this gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, June 5th, 2001
Strengths: All I can say is....WOW. This is an awsome barrel for anyone who wnats to play serious tourney. It has uncanny accuracy and it looks like butta (good thing). The boomstick is perfered by pro's and perfered by me.
Weaknesses: It is hard to shoot through breaks and some people say "oh, the all american performs the same but its cheaper" well obviously they havent used one or they or too cheap to buy one. The all american has crap porting and when you get a break in that then you better sit out that game. It is also a bit on the heavy side for smaller people. I am a medium sized person but someone who is frail, it might effect them.They call it the boomer cause it BOOMS unlike people say it does. It is loud but who cares?
Conclusion: Awsome barrel for someone who is in serious tourney play. What I mean by this is you need good paint. If you pla on buying this barrel its only as accurate as the pain you feed through it. If you go and feed brass eagle balls into then its going to choke and break and your not going to get the accuracy that the barrel brings. I use a 12' boomer on my boomstick and its my favorite upgrade so far. I think its the best barrel on the market. And remember, Marbs and Allstars work awsome through this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CRUCIATUS Tuesday, May 29th, 2001
Strengths: well, where do i start. For one, it looks good, chrome and black. The accuracy is amazing. I was getting people out with one shot, i know thats what your supposed to do, but when there 30 yards away sometimes it takes a few. The grouping was very tight. Its quiet on my cocker. very good!!!!!!
Weaknesses: Nothing so far!!!!!
Conclusion: Well, I have been wanting one of these for a while now. I finally came up on a good deal and got one. I have a 14 inch on a 2001 cocker and it is bad arse!!!! I wasnt going to get one just cause everyone else does, but im glad i have one!!! id recommend this barrel for sure. I used PMI premiums through it. Its a .686 bore so something smaller prob would have worked even better.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, May 29th, 2001
Strengths: one of the two barrels i would ever purchase is boom stick. its acuracy is pretty awesome especially at long distances. most tourney pballs are medium to small bore size, so it works there well. it is a pretty quite barrel.
Weaknesses: the only thing i see bad is the price, it might be one of teh best barrels out, but one of the most expensive
Conclusion: i have a 14 inch bOOm stick on my bush master and im in love with it. i beleve it to be one of the greatest up grades to my gun. accuracy is awesome, even at great distances. i shoot proball most of the time through it and they work well together. i shot 32 degrees at the pacs tourney in forney and it performed very well. even though it is expensive, i think it is worth the cost, it is a great barrel. i would definately recommend this barrel to people.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  36  |  37  |  38  |  39  |  40  |  41  |  42  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media