paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels

Dye Boomstick Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Boomstick Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Boomstick Barrels
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 438
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $135

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Boomstick is the flagship of the Dye barrel line. This is the most widely desired barrel in the paintball industry. The Boomstick is built from gun drilled surgical grade 303 stainless steel and an aircraft grade 6061 T6 aluminum. All DYE barrels are honed to a 6 micron surface finish, giving you the smoothest and straightest barrel surface on the market. The precision fit of the aluminum front combined with the stainless steel back provides one of the best shooting barrels in the world. The Boomstick is the most common barrel used by professional players worldwide.
Product Availability 
The Dye Boomstick Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
travis6baker5 Sunday, February 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock AMG barrel
stock pirahna barrel
smart parts progressive
dye ultra light
other various barrels tested
Marker Setup: Spyder AMG with ricochet hopper and 18 inch boomstick.
Recommended
Paintballs:
only use good quality paintballs
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Strong
Shoots farther than stock barrels
Weaknesses: Doesn't match paint to bore
Cost
Review: This is by far the most accurate barrel on the market if you are not restricted on what paint you buy. It can be found for $100-$120 at most places and maybe even $60 on EBay.

This barrel can lay down lines like crazy. It is fairly quiet. It is also much stronger than the ultra-light.

The only true downfalls of the gun are the restrictions of paint to bore and the cost. if you buy cheap paint from time to time you should buy the freak or freak jr but if your using good paint the boomstick will be more accurate.

I will not lie though, if your using the boomstick to try and shoot walmart paint you might have to burn a hopper or 2 for a 60 foot shot.

also it cost about a case or 2 of paint and it also will run you about 5 or 10 dollars every time you buy paint for yourself if your just playing a pick up game with your Friends but its worth it because you will go through half as many balls.
Conclusion: If you play at fields for tournaments or whatever and/or you buy quality paint you should buy this barrel. If you are cheap from time to time and can't buy at least some pmi premiums then its not worth it <buy a freak junior or a freak>.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

0_Jester_0 Friday, February 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Kapp KXS
UL
Marker Setup: Evil pimp gold/black fade
TBO magnetic trigger
(shut up more is comming)

2004 vertical feed cocker
dye boomstick 14"
aka sidewinder
shocktech super fly bolt
Shocktech rebuilbable ball detents

Egg(vlocity soon)
45/45 Guerrillaair tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Depends what bore you got
Strengths: made by DYE?
very smooth inside
Stainless steel back.
beautiful
Weaknesses: Heavy
Expensive

Review: So, there is a long story behind this barrel. First on my cocker I had a Kapp KXS barrel best barrel made in my opion. I had to get my reg rebuilt and the store wouldnt listen to me so they timed it. Then rebuilt the reg. Make a long sad story short they lost my barrel and gave me a free boomstick.

Now at first I was very hyped(not so much) i had mixed feeling. My Kapp barrel was beautiful shot darts. But this boomstick was not so bad looking and it was supposivly the best, so I put a very good look upon this.

At first it was very heavy. Some how it helped balance my gun when full setup was on. Still too heavy though. Now this was good and bad i knwo what your saying go to the gym. I work out I dont wann hear it. I dont need those super light guns I liked my gun at the weight it was. The boomstick went over though.

Shooting. The Boomstick did not impress the accuaracy of my gun went down severly. I have a perfect paint/bore match and it was a no-wind 60degree weather out. Perfect shootign weather in my opion. I was using a LP tank witch could have been the problem because i had a differnt regulator on it and did not know what output ect. Still though the grouping was alright. Wasn't what I expected i would say 70ft was like 13inchs by 8 inchs. That was not exceptable for me. You might be like HA! thats awsome. befor it was about 6inches by 4 inches.
Conclusion: If you have money to burn then get a barrel kit
evil pipe with a stiffi tip or a ,acdev matchstick maybe even a freak. since the KXS is no longer made :*(
Over all it was an alright barrel that was good 3 years ago. Companies have now surpassed that level. From what I hear Kapp has been bought out by dye to we might see the rise of the KXS once again. or the boomstick may be improved. I dunno why but my friend had a Ultralight and it was way better then this boomstick.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Duave Monday, February 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
14" SP teardrop, stock, 12" broomstick
Marker Setup: I have a Tippmann 98 Custom with a Response trigger, a Psychoballistics starfire bolt, GTA inline 4 chamber expansion kit, 12 inch dye boomstick, DOP drop forward with on/off, and a Halo TSA Backman LCD (very nice hopper, I really like it)
Recommended
Paintballs:
i used draxxus midnight and it shot well, but i can tell the bore/paint match was off a little. Maybe i'll try another brand next time. When I dropped it in, it dropped straight thru. I did not have to blow it out. Edit: Hemmorage by Nelson is a good bore to paint match for this.
Strengths: Accuraccy, and the ability to shoot thru breaks.
Weaknesses: WEIGHT! This barrel is extremely heavy
Review: I bought this as un upgrade to my 98 custom. I know i am still using Co2, so i still get some innaccuracy from that, but this barrel shot great! I noticed a difference in terms of accuracy and distance over the SP teardrop (accurate distance, ). I am not sure why, but this is what i noticed (maybe less resistance). But, the barrel really showed itself when I broke a ball. A friend let me borrow a nitrous tank so I could try nitrous. The third shot broke. I screwed my Co2 on and shot 3 balls. After that, accuracy was pretty much back up to normal. I was amazed. BTW, my friend said my gun has to get "used" to nitrous and will chop the first fewballs. They were bolt chops, but the tank was low ( it ran out after 4 shots) Is this correct? Post a comment to let me know I would appreciate it. Or you can email me- BigDaveO420 at hotmail.

But back to the barrel. The advantages outweigh the bad. I got mine for $70 new (yes that is correct) from my local shop. But he told me not go around telling everyone the price (i think he just hooked me up cuz I always am in there buying stuff) but for that price it was worth every penny.

Advantages
I never have to fear a ball break (well everyone does, but not as much). I can also unscrew the tip and put a new one in, for adjustable lengths. I can also shoot very accurately and get some good shots out. I haven't measured the distance, which is why I put accurate distance. I don't know if it shoots any farther, but I do know I can hit targets at longer ranges. Maybe it just gives me a much tighter grouping at range. I don't know. If anyone is interested, let me know and I will test for you.

Disadvantages
First and foremost of it's disadvantages are it's weight. This mother is heavy. I feel like if I ran out of paint I could club someone. And with all the stuff on my gun it is not light. Had I known, I would have gotten the ultralight. I might actually look for another barrel because of the weight.


Edit:
I have now signifigantly field tested this. Accuracy is awsome. It is also very quiet, and I definately got some looks when we were practicing and people saw my shot groupings. I used Hemmorage and the results were awsome. It was a good match to the barrel, as it was slightly bigger than the midnight I was using.
Conclusion: I give it a 9 because nothing is perfect. That being said I really do like it. It shoots nicely and self cleans. I found that the porting not that bad to clean.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 17th, 2006 at 9:36 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

vtrosie Wednesday, January 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson Stealth
32 Nite Stikk
Marker Setup: 2002 VF Autococker
WGP Swing Trigger
WGP Black Magic Venturi Bolt
Empire2 Loader
Freak Barrel System w/ 12 Freak front
JT Spectra Mask/VForce Armour Mask
Recommended
Paintballs:
didn't really matter
Strengths: Accurate and quiet
Weaknesses: Heavy
Expensive
Review: I used my friends Boomstick on my autococker while I waited for my freak system. I was pleasantly surprised by the performance of the barrel, and I guess that is what one would hope for if you spend the money to get this barrel. It was somewhat heavy, but provided nice accuracy and was decently quiet. I had no breaks in shooting about 2000 rounds through it and I used several types of paint.
Conclusion: If you have money burning a whole in your pocket, but don't have quite enough to get a system, heh, buy it have fun with it. Now-a-days with the systems and such, I would just recommend getting a Freak or J&J system.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thomas Catlin Monday, January 23rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
J&J Ceramic - not as accurate
Marker Setup: Automag w/ Level 10 X-Valve and BSA 30mm red dot sight
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marballizers fit perfectly
Strengths: Very Accurate
Quiet
Weaknesses: Expensive and Overrated
Heavy
Review: The legendary Boomstick is supurbly accurate, achieving 4" groupings at 60 ft in perfect conditions with its incredibly smooth mirrored inner finish and a good paint to bore match.

A significant weakness of the Boomstick is that it weighs in at a hefty 338 grams.

The Boomstick also has too much porting. A minimum of 8" of port-free barrel is ideal for air efficiency. The Boomstick has only 6.5". What the hell! How come every barrel on the market right now is completely full of holes? All you need is about 3" inches of porting... anything more is just wasting air with every shot. Plus, in the event of a ball breakage, all those portholes fill with paint that the squeegy can't reach.

The Boomstick is widely considered a most beautiful looking barrel and comes in a variety of different colors as well as black.

A cool feature of the Boomstick is that it has an exchangable front piece for different size paint, which is a testament to its versatility and upkeeps its supreme accuracy. But this means spending even more money to buy an expensive set of extra front pieces for an already overpriced barrel. It's cheaper and easier to just match the paint to the barrel rather than vise versa.

The Dye Boomstick is way overpriced and extremely expensive. They retail for about $130, but I managed to pick one up off of ebay for $90 used.
Conclusion: The Boomstick is a high quality product with an even higher price, but it will confidently go toe to toe with any other barrel out there. It's unsurpassed accuracy and performance score a perfect 10, but its steep price tag brings it down to a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 18th, 2006 at 3:06 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jkstiller Saturday, January 21st, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
all american(ok not as good)
Freak(not as good)
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
18inch boomstick
cyclone feed
double trigger
stainless steel bolt kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
i use scorches (yes from walmart)
all stars did good
Strengths: Accurate
Quiet
intimadating
Weaknesses: Expensive
Review: I love this barrel i got mine for 50 bucks!!!!!! this guy had no idea what he was doin and he sold it to me for 50 bucks!!!!! It was picky to many paintballs but they were expinsive so it wasn't that bad, i went to walmart and go some scorches and shot 1000 rounds and didn't break one(i guess it was the small bore size) It is intimadating to noobs and some experienced players cause it is so accurate! i shot 10 balls and had a 4 inch spread from 40yard
Conclusion: I would really recomend this barrel, quiet, accurate, and awsome as heck!! i give it a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

HavokHank Wednesday, January 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, Stiffi, J&J Ceramic
Marker Setup: 04 WGP ProStock (Black)
PMI 68/3000
Evo II w/ Y-Board
14'' AA Back / Freak Front
Strengths: -Looks good
-Quality
-Made by Dye
-Not really heavy
Weaknesses: -Overpriced
-Other barrels out there are just as accurate but cheaper
Review: My friend got a shipment from Dye with his boomstick in it. He's running a Black Magic Cocker with E-Blade and I'm running a '04 ProStock Cocker. We took several barrels out to a range to test alongside the Boomstick, for comparison (was shopping for barrels at the time). We tested a 14'' J&J Ceramic, 14'' Freak and 12'' Stiffi. We fired about 50 round a piece with each of the barrels to get a feel.

The Boomstick was pretty accurate compared to other barrels, but the other barrels we tested were probably just about as accurate, and most were less than the $125 Boomstick.

The Boomstick looks very nice, if you get the color scheme to match your gun, the barrel itself is not really heavy, and the quality is very good, as is Dye's customer support.

Don't get the wrong impression, the Boomstick is a good barrel, but there are many other barrels out there that are just as good for half the price, such as the Freak or J&J. Despote this being a quality product, I really wouldn't reccomend it to anyone, except for those who have a lot of money to burn, while there are just as good and cheaper barrels out on the market. The Boomstick, in my opinion, isn't the greatest Dye product (I <3 Dye, got pants, jersey and mask from them) but it's definately not bad either.
Conclusion: Would have been an awesome barrel, but it is way too overpriced, so I'm giving the Dye Boomstick an 8/10.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 4th, 2006 at 12:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

reb5038 Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Only stock barrells...
Marker Setup: -Spyder Rodeo
-ESP 3.0 e trigger
-Superfly bolt
-Dye boomstick
-Empire reloader
-Shocktech reg.
-check it 15* assault block
Recommended
Paintballs:
I've used all cheap paint with it and it works fine.
Strengths: Accurate
Quite...more or less

Weaknesses: heavy
overpriced...I got mine cheap though...used
Review: I got mine two years ago, I bought it used from a kid quitting paintball in prime condition...The thing is very good, and durable. It has some mean accuracy, I love it. i would defiantley have bought it even if I couldn't have got it used, it's definatley worth the money.
Conclusion: I recomend it to anyone who can afford it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bullet sheild Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP classic, xcel, freak, stock barrels
Marker Setup: 04 prostock, CP micro drop (crap), contract killer ASA w/ on/off, boomstick, sidewinder, 47/30 JT hpa tank,
micro rock coming soon, and a new bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
Mine is 689 and Zap works great, most RPS paint works good cept big ball, I haven't shot any other paints because I havent had it for long
Strengths: Accurate, sturdy, shoots most paint well
Weaknesses: Heavy, very expensive
Review: I love it. It shoots straight. It is the best barrel I have ever used. Its better than any SP barrel Ive ever seen. My friend has a freak and he had trouble sizing the paint with the inserts. The 698 was bigger than the 691. The freak shoots straight if you can size it but it cost more than the boomstick. and I think the boomstick shoots straighter. I wouln't pay the money for this barrel though. I got mine used for $40 so I'm happy with it for the price. but if you just play rec I wouldn't get it. Also if you're going for a light setup I wouldn't get it either. The weight is fine for my cocker though it still leans back cause of my tank.
I shot 200 rounds through it to test it and my gun I was about 50ft away and I could hit the target (a tire) every time and I was shooting as fast as I could. Unfortunatly it doesn't shoot wel lafter chops.
Conclusion: Jump on it if you can get a deal, other than that I wouldn't get it unless I had plenty of money or was a serious player.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

Zapot8 Saturday, December 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: A-5 w/ r/t, 16" bomstick, DOP drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything Draxxus
Strengths: Very very very accurate, stylish
Weaknesses: Rather expensive, kind of heavy
Review: I have a friend whom has paintballed much longer than me and my boomstick is the only thing he is afraid of, i usually gog him from across the field at least once every time we play. I absolutely love this barrel, i wouldn't buy anything else. I have yet to find any problems with it, except the weight, but since i own an a-5, i really dont notice it too much.
Conclusion: Very good accurate barrel and it looks good, im not sure on how quiet it is since my a-5 is really loud by itself, i would recommend this barrel to anyone who is looking for accuracy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media