paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels

Dye Boomstick Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Boomstick Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Boomstick Barrels
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 438
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $135

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Boomstick is the flagship of the Dye barrel line. This is the most widely desired barrel in the paintball industry. The Boomstick is built from gun drilled surgical grade 303 stainless steel and an aircraft grade 6061 T6 aluminum. All DYE barrels are honed to a 6 micron surface finish, giving you the smoothest and straightest barrel surface on the market. The precision fit of the aluminum front combined with the stainless steel back provides one of the best shooting barrels in the world. The Boomstick is the most common barrel used by professional players worldwide.
Product Availability 
The Dye Boomstick Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
                            
Agnostic_1 Wednesday, January 24th, 2001
Strengths: I've got a shutter and the 16 inch boomstick works great, a little long but my buddy's got the 14 and the accuracy is about the same. Puts every shot right were I need it, unless I break a ball.
Weaknesses: THIS BARREL WILL NOT CLEAR AFTER A BREAK BRING A SQUEEGIE.
It's expensive.
Conclusion: The 16 inch on my shutter works great with proball, although it's expensive it beats the crap outta the JJ Ceramic and I would definetly recommend this barrel, at least once you've got the hang of your marker and don't chop balls any more, because it WILL piss you off if you chop a ball.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Sunday, January 14th, 2001
Strengths: This is the best barrel in the world. It's lightweight, worth the high price, and deadly accurate. If you get a longer boomstick, I HIGHLY reccomend getting a good bolt with it too. Spyder Shutter works well with this.
Weaknesses: It's hard to clean. That's it.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel out there. If you have a pump gun with a good bolt, get an 18" Boomstick. Guys, tricked out pumps are the perfect sniper rifles, trust me. If you have a Semi Auto, like me, (Spyder Shutter) then get the 14" or 16". I have 16".
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Monday, December 18th, 2000
 
3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: Looks really good.
Weaknesses: 1) On an average person's salary you can only afford to buy one, if your lucky. These stinkin barrels cost more than some markers do.
2) I've had 2, 1 i bought brand new, i could squeeze jack diddly down the barrel, on a Spyder TL it broke almost every 10 ball, brand new marbelizer. After you broke the first ball, it was all over, I saw balls doing S-patterns in the air.
The second i got when i bought my cocker used. Like the one of my Spyder i couldn't fit jack down it, I've tried, El Tigre's, marbelizers, All Stars, Infernos, HellFires, and RPS premiums. I took out in the rain once, the solid aluminum tube on my brothers Mag was shootin better.
3) Did I mention that they cost a small fortune.
4) Ah.. price.
Conclusion: If you have the money to blow on a $140 piece that will atleast look really good, than go for it. For the rest of the people, I'd look elsewhere, that speaking from my personal experience. I've since sold both Boomers and gotten a freak set for my Cocker and haven't looked back. In an attempt not to seem biased agianst Dye, my brother has one he shot on his Mag, that barrel shot everything, and anything, he loves the barrels and i hate them, go figure. The fact that many tournament players are using them has to say something. I probably just had bad luck 2x with these barrels, there for I have no intention of every buying overpriced Dye barrels again. It gets a 4 because of my 2 bad experiences and my bro's 1 good, so 1/3 of the points.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Saturday, December 9th, 2000
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.
Strengths: I've read some of the reviews for this barrel and they all say the same thing...that this barrel won't shoot good after a break....I beg to differ. I had a break in my barrel because i was firing a little to fast and chopped a ball. I fired four shots that were a little off and then......bingo bango...back to accurate shots again. quiet barrel....nice looks...well worth the 120$ I spent for it
Weaknesses: Not a darn thing wrong with this barrel.

Some say it cost to much but if you want the best you have to pay for the best...period!!!!
Conclusion: Probably the best barrel I've found to date. Shot blaze and inferno and marb through it and had no problems with it....good range( I'm shooting a 14" one) and accuracte as hell.

at 100 yards was putting 20 balls right on top of one another inside of a pie plate. Don't know if it was me or the gun and barrel combo...but hey I don't care either way:)

Bit pricy but you get what you pay for....since I'm a backer this barrel will fit in nice with my playing style
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Thursday, December 7th, 2000
Strengths: It is incredibly accurate, from about 20 yards you can shoot paint right on top of each other several times in a row. Looks very cool too.
Weaknesses: Like the others said, its @#@$ing expensive. It is a great barrel, but the price can turn people off.
I've only broken a ball in it about twice, but It was from when I was using a reg feed hopper because my 9 volt was... sick.
Conclusion: The barrel I used was 14 inches on a Classic Automag. It worked really well with some PMI paint . If you are willing to pay some 100 bucks for it new, then its the barrel for you, but If you are strapped for cash you might want to look into something else
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Thourne Monday, November 27th, 2000
Strengths: This is one of the most accurate barrels I have ever shot, and I have almost shot them all. The stepped barrel really helps accuracy, range, and noise. It also helps clear breaks extreamly easily. It isn't too heavy nor is it too light. It is a medium bore barrels and it is stepped so it shoots all but the smallest and largest paints. This is a big plus. This barrel is also extremely bueatiful, it may be the best looking on the market!
Weaknesses: The price tag can be too high for most people, but if your lucky you can find a used one for around $70, and for what your getting that isn't bad at all!
Conclusion: This is the best barrel I've ever owned. It is DYE's best work to date (I haven't shot the Ti boomer, but it is ste same on the inside). It has everything I look for in my equipment and suits me perfect. You should at least look into this barrel if your looking to get a new one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Wednesday, November 15th, 2000
Strengths: looks awesome, sounds even better, shoots even better than it sounds!
Weaknesses: Well yeah the price is a bunch of @$#$@ have you seen the titatanium one's that they arw charging $60 buck more for LoL . The sweet logo is on the wrong side of the gun and upside down - that made me a little mad when I first got it on my old TL Plus, Can't shoot through any breaks in teh barrel at all.
Conclusion: I love mine but it make's my TL plus look like it is 4 foot long. and I wouldn't trade it in for anythign otehr than a SP Big Daddy Barrel :)
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Unregistered User Tuesday, November 7th, 2000
Strengths: 1) The looks. It's the prettiest barrel out there!

2) The noise-reduction. It does wonders for most guns.

3) The paint tolerance. I've shot Marbs, Blaze, and old Zaps through it just fine.
Weaknesses: 1) Price. It's ridiculous. I got mine for $45 used. Heh. I can't see spending $120 for it... but you can find them for around $90, which isn't bad.

2) The barrel does -not- clear after a break. You need to either squeegie it or turn the gun upside down, cover the end, and shoot a few shots of air to blow the paint out the ports. It will NOT clear a break. I repeat, will NOT. I had a ball break and shot in excess of 50 balls... it never cleared.

3) I don't know what the hell Dye is on, but the sweet logo points down into the front pneumatics on all of the Cockers that I've seen. Oh well. :P
Conclusion: My barrel I'm using is a 14" on an Autococker 2000, and I'm quite happy with it. It really reduces the noise of the gun. It doesn't look too long at all, and it's an excellent performer. Like some fella said, it's effectively a 6" barrel with the rest acting to silence the shot... but that's not necessarily a bad thing either, because the rest does it's job -damn- well. If you look at high end Cockers, most, if not all, have a Boomstick on them for good reason.

For $120, I wouldn't get this barrel. For $90? Maybe. It's much more quiet than any $50 barrel.

I would only recommend the barrel to those who are sure they're not using absolutely crap paint. Make sure your paint is decent!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  41  |  42  |  43  |  44
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media