paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels / Dye Boomstick Barrels

Dye Boomstick Barrels Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Boomstick Barrels

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Boomstick Barrels
[ View Photos (5) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 438
Average Rating: 9.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $135

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The Boomstick is the flagship of the Dye barrel line. This is the most widely desired barrel in the paintball industry. The Boomstick is built from gun drilled surgical grade 303 stainless steel and an aircraft grade 6061 T6 aluminum. All DYE barrels are honed to a 6 micron surface finish, giving you the smoothest and straightest barrel surface on the market. The precision fit of the aluminum front combined with the stainless steel back provides one of the best shooting barrels in the world. The Boomstick is the most common barrel used by professional players worldwide.
Product Availability 
The Dye Boomstick Barrels are older, so while they may be available used and in a few cases new, they are not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
recball Sunday, January 2nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5 with Dye Boomstick, A-5 expansion chamber, 20oz C02, Remote coil, & a Double trigger.
Recommended
Paintballs:
SMALL BORE SIZE
The Dye Boomstick has a .688 - .689 Bore Size. Although that seems like a standard size, if you don't get paintballs a little smaller than .689 you will have trouble (ball breaks).
Warm tempurature (Balls expand): I recommend : RPS ALLSTAR, MARBALIZER, & EVIL ($65 a case), & Empire Fuel.
Cold tempurature (Balls shrink) : Almost anything below .690
BORE SIZE CHART
http://www.ottersccustoms.com/paintc.html



Strengths: Dye Boomstick
- Accurate
- Two-piece
- Stainless Steel
- Narrow for accuracy
- Easy to find
Weaknesses: Dye Boomstick
- Heavy
- Expensive
- Need good paint in warm weather
Review: The Dye Boomstick is a great product. It shoots very consistantly as well as accurately. It needs good paintballs, but if you have the money that is no problem. Also, if you are buying a $122.95 dollar barrel you should have the money. The stainless steel back is a great barrel by itself let alone with another 8 inches. It is very pricy and heavy, but its good anyway. You MUST buy paintballs with a small BORE SIZE or else you will break paint like every 5 shots.
Conclusion: All around a great barrel. Accurate and consistant. If you have the cash go buy it. Keep in mind you will need to spend $60 every time you buy a case of paint.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

wickedlytwisted Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ultralite ,freak, custom products, ect...
Marker Setup: Angel lcd cobra
custom products barrel
dye 05 full drop with asa
q loader
chain trigger frame
jam-bolt int. bolt
custom products small reg
blue tint kit
3000 68 ci crossfire tank
(2) twister voulmeizers
check it products feed neck
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil
Marbalizers
Strengths: Accurate
Looks
Quite
Made by dye
Weaknesses: Heavy feels like a weight is at the end of your gun
Review: This barrle over all is great if you have the right paintballs if not its not good what so ever. i dont know if its worth what they put it up as but if it was only like 70 dollars it would be worth it. I would recomend the ultralite. Same thing but lighter and it comes in better colors.. I dont like to much chrome on a gun.. Try it .. If you dont mind a little chrome and a wee bit of weight then tis good but other than that get the ultrlite.
Conclusion: Test it befor you buy it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Paintballaa Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock barell(dosent compare)
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-R
14" DYE Boomstick
ESP IPI 3.0 Trigger Frame
Rico Ak
Pure Energy 72cu 3000 psi compreesed air
32 degrees remote coil
32 degrees spring kit

Soon to be:
Shocktech Superfly bolt
Recommended
Paintballs:
I use
PMI Premium(amazing)
Marbalizers(little better but more money)
Strengths: Accurate
Pretty quiet
Range
Consistant
Weaknesses: PRICE
Picky with paint
Review: This barrel kiks. I got mine for 125 and it was almost worth every penny. This barrel shoots amazingly straight if you have two things: good paint and no paint in the barrel.
If theirs paint in the barrel this is like living hell. You could shoot at some 5 feet away and it would curv and hit you. I think because i was using cheaper paint that day idk.

Very good product though.
Conclusion: I really do like this barrel. It looks cool and shoots nice but not worth 125$.
I think its 30 bucks for the barrel and 100 bucks for Dyes name on it. If you have the money go and get it.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tabris17 Tuesday, December 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Spyder TL-X, standard package deal. Boomstick 14" spyder thread
Recommended
Paintballs:
Draxxus Dusk, PMI Polar Ice, PMI Marbilizer
Strengths: Quiet, fairly well-balanced, definately durable, smooth boring.
Weaknesses: Weight and kinda pricey.
Review: I had heard about boomsticks and have heard mix results about them. The general consencious was that they were good barrels but it basically came down to a matter of preference. This was the first barrel I bought to replace my stock barrel and I am very happy with my decision. Of course, most would say that anything would be better then a stock barrel and it is. But the thing is incredioubly accurate and quiet. I was hitting shots within about a foot of each other from over fifty feet easily and on a HIGHLY windy day. I had a few wild shots but I chalk that up to the cold and the wind.
I noticed some people mentioned that there were 'excessive' port holes and I have one thing to ask them. What are you talking about? All of the higher end barrels I have seen have had those excessive port holes and they make the marker shoot so much quieter then others I have heard. Definately a little 'pap' compared to the cork popping sound I've heard from other barrels. Quite simply because more port holes means more air escaping before being blown out the end of the barrel. I love how quiet this barrel is and know I won't have to worry about blowing my ears out.
The only problem with the barrel right off is the price. Definately a hit to the wallet but well worth it once you actually get your hands on one. Which leads to another qualm, the weight. It's definatly heavy with the steel part but I can actually see a reason it's on there. The weight is at the BACK of the barrel, throwing it towards the marker itself and not the front of the barrel. In a way it compensates for the weight of the tank on the back side. This is my opinion but I think it adds a nice touch to the barrel since the marker doesn't feel to heavy to the back or front over all; just very well-balanced.
EDIT: I finally got to play with the barrel at an indoor range and it performed to perfection. I had one barrel break all night, mostly because I had a broken ball in the hopper that really mucked things up. It was accurate and kept up with the accuracy of the other markers and barrels I was playing against. I am very happy with my purchase decision and can't wait to use it on a higher-end marker.
Conclusion: I definately recommend getting this barrel, I absolutely love it and I've only really played with it in the backyard to test the range, accuracy, and barrel breaks and it's awesome. I can only imagine how well it would work in more favorable conditions and during a game. The boring on it can only be described as prestine. And trust me on this, I worked in a machine shop for a time. It doesn't get much smoother then that, especially around the port holes. There is not a single edge for the paintball to get caught on and chop. If you're still afraid of a chop though, I found the Polar Ice balls from PMI work very nicely. In the same family as the Arctic Inferno from draxxus since they are cold weather balls and have a thicker shell.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 7th, 2005 at 7:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

burgplayer Monday, December 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ultra light
freak
kanner
Marker Setup: Blue matrix, green halo, green otb (custom), green boom stick (custom), blue no rise, 45/4500 blue cover,blue dye stickies, S rail,
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would mainly use blaze
Strengths: Light accurate dependible
Weaknesses: None
Review: Ive used the boomstick for about a yr and a half and i love it. Ive used the freak kanner and ultra light but none come close to being as awsome. This barrel is very durable-i dropped it down a flight of stairs UNHARMED. and worked perfect later that day. everyone on my team agrees that its the best they've used. I got mine for free from our sponsors. Go and buy one today.
Conclusion: Great barrel better buy
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, December 15th, 2004 at 2:52 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Rio_Bravo Sunday, December 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ultralite
Marker Setup: 99 STO
16'' Boomstick
Recommended
Paintballs:
Inferno,Marbalizers
Strengths: Durability
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price
Barrel Breaks
Review: Its kind of a heavy, but I dont notice it when Im playing. The porting makes it a very quiet barrel, especially on my cocker. Barrel breaks were the devil though, and I had to carry a squeege around. Its a very hard barrel to scratch, thanks to the stainless steel, and overall good craftsmenship of the barrel. The bore is super smooth, and it performs extremely well.
Conclusion: Buy it. If you can afford then buy it. I would rather run this on my cocker than an Ultralite because of the durability and craftsmenship.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

QuickShot08 Tuesday, November 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Marker Setup: GTVe with 14" Boomstick, 16oz Co2, Empire Reloader, 32* 2003 expanshion chamber, 32* chrome flame drop forward
Recommended
Paintballs:
Evil,Marbalizers,inferno
Strengths: Accurate like h***
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: This is a great barrel in my opinion the most accurate one on the market. The freak gives you more bore sizes but not more accuracy. I got my boomstick for $80 bucks at the local paintball store (but im close friends with the family that owns it) for the reviews that gave this barrel a bad review you probaly just used the wrong type of paint. And come on if you are goin to give a review you need to at least have used it.
Conclusion: This is the best barrel out there (my opinion) any player should woodball speedball can use this barrel.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zerocygnal Saturday, November 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP's (all of the kits), SP Freak, Stock, Lapco (all)
Marker Setup: 05 Angel Speed, Dye BoomStick 14", ND Volumizer, Empire Relaoder B, MacDev Conquest
Recommended
Paintballs:
RP All Stars, Nelson Anarchy, Zap Spanks, Diablo Heat
Strengths: Accurate, quality, quiet, indestructible, looks
Weaknesses: Weight, cost
Review: First and foremost, this barrel IS accurate.

You can read all the lower reviews on this barrel and there is at least 2+ parts on the reviewers setups of which can affect accuracy (i.e "I shoot a tipman model 98 and this barrel sucks.", Setups still using CO2, Low quality inline regs, etc. etc.). Sorry buddy but its not the barrel look a little closer.

This barrel has come to define tournament level accuracy. I am not saying that there aren't barrels of the same caliber of performance out there (Freak, Pipe, CP Pro's etc) I am just saying that until the Dye Boomstick, the barrel market lacked legitimacy. Used by many of the top teams (before sponsorship money ruled all) it still ranks amongst the top barrels used today. WHY? WHY?

Because you can read all the reviews out there but nothing describes the truth than actually using one. I was one of the few people on my team to take the plunge and get a boomstick a few years back. I let others on my team use it and practice with it. Within a month 80% of the team had switched to boomsticks and the remaining did not because of the costly financial aspect of getting multiple boomsticks to fit various paints. Furthermore, to vindicate the success of the design, now one of the very best selling barrels is the Dye Ultralight. Nothing has been changed between the Boomstick and the Ultralight except the materials. Materials having a direct impact on production costs has shown that one of the direct criticisms toward the barrel is the cost not performance. THESE BARRELS ARE ACCURATE! VERY ACCURATE!

Some of the best features of this barrel is the good medium between accuracy and self cleaning. In the game today, the pace is so fast that a player doesn't have the time to squeegee the barrel in case of a break. After a few shots (10 balls in like one second) the barrel reverts to nearly 85% of its original accuracy. This cannot be said of the freak. Its porting design spells inaccuracy after paint from a break fills those holes. Even squeegees have little hope of remedying the inaccuracy during a game. I would say the freak retains about 65% of its accuracy for the rest of the game after a break and after squeegee (Although running water through it afterward returns its full accuracy (and that barrel is wickedly accurate, I have it, it shoots darts). Also, the barrel back is made of surgical steel. This material is one of the strongest, smoothest and most durable materials in paintball. This contributes the the enormous weight of the barrel (I cannot lie, compared to other barrels its hefty). But aside form this drawback, I have never felt a more sturdy barrel. This barrel radiates quality. You can use this barrel as a hammer its so strong. Hold the fragile freak in your hand, with its aluminum inserts suspended by orings in its aluminum back, and you understand why boomstick owners can play so hard. Its because you can plow the barrel into a bunker, or the ground and never hesitate about damaging it. That cannot be said of any other barrel with the exception of other stainless barrels (LAPCO, DYE). Hold one at the field and you will understand.

As far a quiet, its not silent, but its not a LAPCO bigshot or stock barrel. It did quiet down my angel, but not nearly as quiet as a freak. Freaks nearly whisper.

Finally looks. It is a sweet design. Now style is an entirely personal thing. I cannot rate that for anyone but myself. What I can say is that the DYE barrel has come to be known as the symbol of a person who wants to shoot the very best. It is the a mark of an individual who will spend a little more on a product that will not fail them when tournament money is on the line; a person that wants every ball to count, when they need it, on demand. Like a Mercedes Benz logo, Dye is a premiere brand and commands some respect. It has taken DYE years to become known as such a brand; years of use and abuse. Dye is simply the best.
Conclusion: Its expensive to create a kit. But worth every cent. If money is an issue, the ultralights are the way to go. With a 2 piece interchangeable design, DYE really has brought the price range down into the reach of many players. I have been using DYE for 3 years now and have not seen a barrel yet worth switching to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

MC Brad Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder stock barrels, other Autococker barrels.
Marker Setup: 2003 WGP Vertical Feed Autococker
13 inch (custom) Dye Boomstick
Pure Energy 48/3000 N2
Revolution hopper
Recommended
Paintballs:
RP Scherer
Most others will work just fine
Strengths: Great accuracy
Insane range
A beautiful barrel
Easy to clean and maintain
Makes guns quiet
Weaknesses: Over-priced
Slightly heavy
Review: I really love this barrel. It shoots extremely well, and gives my gun great range and accuracy. As loud as my Autococker was, I couldn't believe how quiet it got after I put the barrel on. I do think this barrel is over-priced, and luckily I got a good deal on mine. The only other problem I have is that it is a tad heavy. Other than that, this barrel is nearly flawless.
Conclusion: I recommend this barrel to all of the boomstick fans everywhere. It looks great, and shoots even better. If you're on a budget, however, Smart Parts makes some great barrels for slightly cheaper. The only reason I can't give this a 10 is because of the weight.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scp baller 081 Saturday, September 18th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
EVIL PIPE, CP KIT
Recommended
Paintballs:
GAP
Strengths: Fairly accurate
Weaknesses: To heavy, price, hard to seperate the two peices.
Review: The dye boomstick was ok, but way to heavy and not worth the price. The back piece is were all the weight is. the weight part gets annoying, after a long day it gets old. Also separating the front from the back is a pain, mine gets stuck very easy and ive heard others have had the same problem.
Conclusion: If your rich, and want the name buy the boomstick. But if your more interested in performance there's better barrels out there.
Rating:
5 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  12  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media