paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Ultralite 2-Piece / Dye Ultralite 2-Piece / Dye Ultralite 2-Piece

Dye Ultralite 2-Piece Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Ultralite 2-Piece

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Ultralite 2-Piece
[ View Photos (10) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 112
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $110

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DYE Ultralite barrel is a popular favorite of the top pros today. The Ultralite is chosen for its all aluminum light weight advantage. It is also a very popular custom barrel because its aluminum construction offers the ability to be anodized to match any gun color. It is made with the same precision quality that you can expect from DYE as the leader in barrel manufacturing.
Product Availability 
The Dye Ultralite 2-Piece is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
ifightthefoo Monday, July 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Freak, Cp barrel, Luck 17

Marker Setup: Black Proto Matrix with Red eye covers, red misjunction grips, CP reg, JDS Lpr, Hybrid bolt guide, Dye ultralite barrel with stiffi tip, virtue board, Cp roller trigger, Dye feedneck, Pure Energy 45/4500 tank, and Empire Reloader B.
Recommended
Paintballs:
PMI Premium
Strengths: Light, accurate, and good looking
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is one of the most accurate barrels that I have shot. It is light and every ball is straight and ball on ball. I have a stiffi tip on my ultralite, which I would highly recommend, and it is extremely light now. It also makes my gun a little quiter. It is just as accurate as the freak but much lighter. This barrel is a must for any high end gun.
Conclusion: I would recommend this barrel to anyone who has a high end marker. On a low end marker, like spyders, you will be dissapointed with the results because there is no way a spyder will shoot straight.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SnickerzBoi Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Dye reg
Marker Setup: ION
14"Dye Ultralite Red tip Black back
Dye Hyper 2
Cp Rake trigger
CCM feedneck
Check It On/Off red inside with chrome holder
Cheap grips i took off my Spyder

and soon!
ShockTech Superfly bolt
Element Paintball V2 Frame
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs
Any evil
allstars
Strengths: Looks!
Accuracy
Porting
Quietness
Weaknesses: on my ION it scratches (my Fault)
expensive
Review: Basically it's nice very nice looks sound accuracy and it's 2 piece so i can buy another bore later on down the road and i have the .688 right now and i have only chopped rps premium with it only because the paint was too big though everything else i have used was amazing with it...
Conclusion: Buy it it is way expensive but it's worth it if you have the money
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

cooldrmoney21 Monday, June 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
Freak Kit, 16" front.
Marker Setup: BobLong Empire 06, Empire Reloader B2, Pure Energy 68/4500
Recommended
Paintballs:
Any.
Strengths: Weight,
Accuracy.
Weaknesses: Didn't find any gloss colors.
I have a gloss blue Boblong Empire 06.
Review: I just bought my Empire 06, and it came with a 12" one peice aluminum barrel, but wanted a long range barrel, so I got the powder blue front and back, 16" Ultra Lite .692bore barrel. I was going to go with the 14" but I thought what the hell, I already have a 12" so I might as well get the longer one. I tested my gun accuracy at different distances, and the 16" was an improvement. It wasn't much better, but I tested it at different distances, and it made my shot groups smaller. I usually keep my gun set for Ramp full-auto,
(It doesnt have a true full auto) and still the groups stayed smaller.
Conclusion: The price isnt all that much, and for the small improvement in shot accuracy, I recommend buying this product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SPARKSDONTCARE Saturday, June 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freaks,kaner,boomstick,pipe,poison arrow, empire kit
Marker Setup: Blue Smart Parts Nerve>14 in black Ultralight>dye stickies>cp reg> egg2( need a halo, this isnt nearly fast enough) centerflag 68/3000 tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
anything that fits your bore really
Strengths: Accuracy. Quiet. Amazing accuracy. Light. Did i mention accurate?
Weaknesses: Um the fact you cant use it for as a straw sucks
Review: well ive used pretty much every big name companys barrel and yeah some are very accurate and sleek. but the difference between number of barrel breaks and accuracy is amazing. you can group 20 balls all withing a 2 inch circle from 50 feet easily. Also, the sexy milling on it makes it very asthetically pleasing. Its so quiet that last weekend i was at the 50 and bunkerd the kid on the other side. He had been there most of the game adn had no idea because he couldnt hear my gun firing
Conclusion: Might be a little pricey, but will up your game a lot. Besides chicks dig these barrels and thats a good enough reason right there. So buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impykid13 Wednesday, June 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
freak
progressive
all-american
boomstick
stiffi
Marker Setup: 03 impy w/vision
Blackheart board
Tapeworm
NDZ bolt
NDZ blade magnetic trigger
NDZ lpr
dye ultralight 12'
Recommended
Paintballs:
cant be wal-mart paint
draxxus paint is magical
Strengths: Light
2-piece
looks
very accurate if using good paint
Weaknesses: You need 2 buy good paint but that's with every good barrel

absoutley none
Review: the dye ul is a great barrel in every aspect u can think of. its very accurate when paired up with decent and up paint. its light but i theres lighter out there but will the .2 oz really make a diffrence trying to make the 50 off the break? if ur looking for one of the best barrels for ur gun and if u have the money i would strongly recomend it. good luck and have fun :-D
Conclusion: GET IT you wont be dissapointed
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, June 14th, 2006 at 4:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

girtuskaun Tuesday, June 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion barrel,Evil driver,JandJ ceramic
Marker Setup: Naughty dogs freestyle7-Halo B-72ci 4500psi pmi tank-
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything that fits(even monster balls werent too bad)
Strengths: Looks
ACCURATE
Ez cleaning
Weaknesses: Unscrews when you shoot for too long so screw in tight:)
Review: I recieved this barrel for christmas and once i opened the box, I knew this was god among men.It was so sweet looking and i personnaly will never use another barrel. Later in the day, my little brother and i,in the snow, made a sweet speedball course out of plywood. I then began shooting some very old monsterball that i purchased maybe a month before. My brother and I began to play one on one and this barrel was the advantage. I did not bring pods because i did not want to waste all of my paint, and i had only 4 balls left. He popped his head out a little too far and i nailed him in the face from at least 40 feet away.
Conclusion: This shoots ball on ball on ball. Definitally a good buy if u can afford.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Free Agent Thursday, May 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Used a freak
been shot at with a stiffi, and a hammerhead
Marker Setup: Black ION
60/45 Crossfire LP
12" and 14" black ultralite .688
black unimount
black hybrid reg
red halo b with rip
ndz feedneck
> Soon to order BLACK ALIAS <
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs (big)
Strengths: Weight
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Price (maybe)
durabuility
Review: The whole reason I started using ultralites is because I bought a 10" ultralite for $40, a 12" ironman boomstick for $12 and a 14" Titanium boomstick for $30. These were soo chead becasue they were automag threaded. Afterwards, I bought an impulse threaded back, and I had an ultralite with 2 extra fronts for $130 instead of$200+. I have found these barrels to be very acurate and reliable, and recomend them to everyone. The only problem that I have had is that after a year of good use (6 tournies and 10+ practices) I have a few sizable nick, dings, and creases. This dosen't hurt the performance of the barrel, just the looks.
Conclusion: This is one of the best barrels out there. The only reason that I will be swithing to stiffis is because they look nicer
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hoodlum Tuesday, May 16th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP-Progressive
Smart Parts- 21" sniper barrel
Smart Parts-Freak
Marker Setup: Smart Parts- ION
Smart Parts-Blackheart Board
Smart Parts -QEV
CP-Regulator
Recommended
Paintballs:
I used GAP, Scorch and Marbalizer
Strengths: The name - DYE
Light
Easy to clean
Easy to take apart
Very straight in grouping
Weaknesses: Price, but after all what paintball part isnt expensive.
Review: I am a big Dye fan, not to say I havnt seen a Dye product I havnt liked, but. I was very excited about getting this, but i wanted to get the best barrel I could, and was undecided between it and the Freak. EVERYONE has a Freak, and i like to be somewhat different, but not at any cost of losing performance. I tried a freak out on my ION, and i will admit, I was impressed. The guy at Warped Sportz (really great place) was trying to get me to buy an All-American, based on the price. I was really wanting a Dye product though, so I found someone that had an Impy, and away i went. I have to be honest, I found really no difference. I shot a ton and only had a few break. I was using a mixture of good paint, and crappy left over. Out of about 3500 balls, i believe I had 4 break. Shooting out a break was very effective, I was able to hit a very effective target from 40-50 ft.
Conclusion: I am very happy with my purchase. In all that I could compare, there was very little difference between a freak and an ultralite. If you are a Dye person I would have to say this is a must, and if your undecided, i would personally have to say Dye also.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TimberGhost0417 Tuesday, May 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
CP 1-Piece (self cleans and performs the same)
Marker Setup: Ion
Eggy
72/3000
Recommended
Paintballs:
Whatever matches the bore size.
Strengths: Self Cleans
5.9 ounces
Accuracy after breaks
Range of Colors and availability
Weaknesses: Price
Changing markers means alot of money spent on new backs.
Review: The two piece is a great barrel. However a CP barrel works just as good.


Good:
Extremely Light
Accuracy
Ability to shoot through breaks and retain good accuracy without squeegee.
Wide range of colors to match you're marker set-up
High quality product that does everything you expect at the price you pay.

Bad: without thinking about the price
Bought a new black ultralite and it was all black.
Bought a used ultralite tip and it was black indoors, but purple when under direct sunlight.
After my 2-piece ultralite got stolen, I bought a new older model 1 piece ultralite.
The tip is black in the sunlight, but the back is purple >:(
Other than that, which really annoyed me to the point of not using it, it's all good.

Now about the price:
I wouldn't buy another one because at that price, you can get a full barrel kit, which is what I did. Also, after using my friend's cp barrel for a day, they perform the same. What I mean is, most decent barrels shoot accurately when the paint is matched to the barrel but what makes a barrel good is the fact that it can shoot through breaks. The CP kept the groupings tight after breaks, same as the ultralite, and the cp barrel costs alot less.
Conclusion: If money isn't a thing to you and you really want a dye barrel, go for it.
However, you can get a barrel kit for the price of a single dye ultralite and which means the ultralite is overpriced to me. I got an evil pipe kit instead because the kit, BRAND NEW, costs less then a single ultralite.

I'm giving it a 9 because the rating is based solely on performance and nothing else. I can't say it's the best because I haven't shot every high end barrel and barrel kit. It is a great barrel and if I based on my rating on price and value that would be inaccurate. The rating is given for quality and performance and in this respect the ultralite is a 9.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbtrilogy Monday, May 1st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Razor Barell
Marker Setup: WGP Black Prostock 2005
16 inch Dye Ultralite
WGP 3000 psi 50 ci compressed air tank
Recommended
Paintballs:
Good ball to barrel match
Strengths: ACCURATE!
LIGHT!
Looks cool
Weaknesses: Scratches easily
price
Review: WOW, this is a awesome barrel. Its really accurate. I also think it may had added some range to the ball. It makes your gun quieter also.
This barrel has porting all the way down the barrel just about. It rarely breaks balls also.
You get what you pay for. It is a good investment.
Conclusion: Bye it. You wont be dissapointed.

Great investment
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media