paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Evil Detonator Regulator / Evil Detonator Regulator / Evil Detonator Regulator / Evil Detonator Regulator

Evil Detonator Regulator Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Evil

Buy Evil Detonator Regulator

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Evil Detonator Regulator
[ View Photos (6) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 42
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $60

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The detonator is an inline reg capable of handling 100 to 500 psi outgoing pressures.
Product Availability 
The Evil Detonator Regulator is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
jeep_brute Wednesday, June 2nd, 2010
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Black Magic Regulator, ProStock Regulator
Marker Setup: Black Magic w/ Limited Edition Milled SIlver Flames
Black Flame Trigger
Cam Adjuster
Oracle 3-Way Kaner Barrel Kit
Black Delrin Bolt
45/4500psi PMI Tank
Black EvoII Hopper

Red Spyder Shutter
Armstrong 16" Barrel
ESP Trigger

Black Spyder 2000
Strengths: None
Weaknesses: Horrible
Review: I needed to adjust the input pressure on my autococker, so I go to turn up this regulator. When the thing won't turn, so after 3 hours trying to get it to turn because it moves in the same direction as it screws in making it impossible to get undone, I get it undone and it breaks .
AVOID THIS PRODUCT!!!

Would give 0 stars if available.
Conclusion: Do not buy this regulator, if you ever need to adjust it, it will break. Waste of my $25.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

punkrex Saturday, September 8th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long
Palmers
Marker Setup: Minimag with Emag valve - ULT and Level 10
Intelli frame
Revi
Freak Kit with AA front
Strengths: I experienced none
Weaknesses: Poor quailty control.
Bad customer service.
Review: I purchased the reg to build a LP spyder. The first time I took it out to fine tune, the reg bled very badly around the swivel. I attempted to fix it on site but I couldn't get the leak to stop and it only became worse. I called the phone number listed on Evil's website, only to get some parent company who forwarded me to a various voice mails once I explained my situation. I left numerous voice mails to about three different extensions and never received a call back. So, at a last attempt, I mailed the reg back to the company along with my Warranty card and a letter stating my frustration. It’s been over 6 months and no one has ever contacted me... what a load of junk if you ask me. I read some bad reviews but a lot of good ones and figured I would not have the same luck, I was wrong.
Conclusion: Word of advice, get a Palmers Stabilizer, it’s worth the money.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

p-baller100 Sunday, July 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock ion reg
stock spyder pilot reg
Marker Setup: Ion
Virtue on/off
Tech-T L7 bolt
Redz 14" barrel with .689 back
Virtue eyes
Dye membrane pad
Scenario Dreams T- board
CP twist lock feed neck
Evil Detonator regulator
Qev
ndz autococker breach
lucky stage 2
Draxxus Pulse Loader
48/3000 tank with assault regulator and unique tank cover
cup of love every day
Strengths: Consistent
easy adjustment
looks fairly nice
it is fairly consistent during break in period
Weaknesses: Kinda long break in period
Review: Well i am surprised this was put on older. anyway i saw these on ebay for 30 bux which is half of retail and i believe they are still selling them. i am sure you have read that it takes a while to break in. its not a big deal after like 100 rounds or less i got +/- 7 so i thought that would be fine. is still was very consistent so i didnt have a problem with the break in period. after i broke it in i get +/- 3 most of the time +/- 2 only occasionly does it it fluctiate a fps. so thats really good. it took me one day to break in to about +/-3 or 4 which took me about 1500 pballs. it is the same as any other expensive reg but more than half the price. it looks pretty nice and is east to adjust. just turn the handle and screw it in. unfortunatly i unscrewed it to much and it fell in the mud when i was adjusting and i couldnt find it. so now i cant lock it into place so i have to tape it down. which isnt legal in a tourny so im gonna contact evil and see what they can do.
Conclusion: Very nice reg go get one dont let the fact that its older stop you its a great reg. i dont think we are ever going to get to +/-1 or +/- 0 anytime soon GO GET IT. i only give and 8 due to loosing my screw and the long break in period which really isnt a big deal. just my experience so dont unscrew it to much its really my fault but i feel they could do something to keep it from coming out. please rate my review and feel free to ask any questions or leave comments.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

awills101 Monday, June 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion reg
Marker Setup: ion,roller tigger,feedneck,qev,evil reg, evo 3 egg loader, 3000 psi tank
phantom pump, 12 gram co2, 15 rnd loader
Strengths: Very consistent
Looks
$30-ebay
Weaknesses: Weight?
Review: this reg worked great. when you first put it on it takes about 2 cases of paint to break it in but after that it's perfect. even during break in it was + - 3fps which is still better than the stock reg but after its broken in it's at + - 1. This reg is great!!!
Conclusion: This is a great reg for almost any gun!!!!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tomandjenb Monday, May 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion regulator
Marker Setup: SP ion
Worrior bolt v2
evil detonator regulator
Proto one piece barrel
Thor ASA/Drop forward
SP QEV
CP slingblade trigger
eclipse psi gadge
VL evo 2 loader
Pure Energy 48ci 3000 psi
Virtue easy on/off switch
Strengths: Very easy to put on, good price
Weaknesses: Doesn't come w/ instruction, came with velocity turned up to high!
Review: I haven't used this product long, I do love this upgrade so far, however, it came with the velocity turned WAY up, long story short, it blew my gadge up, and they guy at the paintball store told me if I din't have the qev in, it would have blown the solenoid. Some of you are thinking.......why din't you turn the velocity down before you put air in? And to that I say good question, but, since the detonator doesn't come with instructions, I really didn't know how to turn the velocity down. Later I found it on the Internet. But, I'm glad to say I got a new gadge, and it works great now. would buy this product again, just MAKE SURE YOU TURN THE VELOCITY DOWN!!!!
Conclusion: Would buy product again, good upgrade.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

NASTYBOOST69 Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
there are a number of inline regulators that are very pricey
Marker Setup: spyder TL-R
system-x drop forward
macro line setup
evil detonator inline pressure regulator
32 degrees asa with expansion chamber
maddman rocket valve
32 degrees spring kit
dark horizon striker
stock bolt
AIM barrel kit
Strengths: Very consistant. Easy to adjust.
Very cheap for how well it works. Almost no cleaning
Weaknesses: Long break-in time ( about a case or two)
Review: I was looking for an as inexpensive of a pressure regulator that I could get that would do the job the best since I wanted to do a low pressure setup on my spyder on a budget.
this is the regulator to get if you are trying to do the same. I found this regulator on eBay new for about $40.00 and had it at my door in about four business days.
well worth every penny and then some and I would willing buy this product again
Conclusion: Fantastic
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007 at 8:11 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

caligula2nd Tuesday, May 22nd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Basic stock regs,Palmer Stab (very nice), black magic,vigilante (both are decent)
Marker Setup: Warped Sportz Dark Cocker with E2

AGD custom black Mini Mag

ICD Laysoya Promaster

ICD Bushmaster with PDS and 1 Bushmaster blind

CCI Phantom

Tippmann A-5

Arikon Overlord

BT-4

Autococker SF Tactical

And a few other older guns from Tippmann & Spyder

Strengths: Easy adjust-ability,medium sized,very consistent after breaking in
Weaknesses: Not ported for a gauge if your gun doesn't already have one.
Review: I bought this reg to replace the very inconsistent reg on my blind ICD bushmaster
even after it's break in period it had a wild chrono range and crept alot.

The Evil Detonator put an end to that,no further creeping and very consistent with good recharge after breaking the reg in and it wasn't too bad before breaking in +/- 8-10 fps. I've read that alot of people talking about the long break in period(which all have a decent break-in period) I decided after playing acouple of woodsball games to not play the next one and fill-up with air go into the chrono station and dry fire until I was empty then refilled and repeated the process until I
shot 4 tank fills on a 68/4500. Loaded up my hopper all I could say was NIIICE!!!
+/- 2 fps,broken in with a few minutes of my time and it's been consistent since.

It is very simple to adjust ,untighten the screw the grip turns left/right to in increase or decrease
your pressure as someone mentioned before in another review it doesn't take much turning to change your fps so go slow and don't forget to retighten the screw or you will have good chance to inadvertently change the pressure.
Conclusion: You can find these at a inexpensive price at most sites,usually around $25-$30
cannot go wrong with a price like that for a very good quality reg!! The only other reg that I have used with such good consistency is the Palmer Stabalizer but I have heard the same good things about AKA's Sidewinder and 2 Liter regs.

I'm going buy a couple more of these to replace the stock regs on my other 2 guns which are mediocre at best. I believe this product will be more than helpful for people who have leaky or inconsistent regs (or both)
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

J-R0D Sunday, April 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
-Stock Ion Reg
-Stock Pilot Reg
Marker Setup: SP Ion
NDZ Composite Trigger
NDZ Feedneck
68/3000 tank
Vlocity Hopper
Evil Detonator Regulator
Strengths: -Easy To Change Velocity
-CHEAP
-Great Product
Weaknesses: For Manual:
www.Evil-Paintball.com
-click info
-click evil detonator
-download
Review: this reg is the best ever! i use it on my sp ion, and let me tell you. straight out of the box i slapped it on n shot a few times. i chronoed @ 274,278,276 which is DAMN good for out of the box! this reg is so easy to use:

To Install:
-Just screw in the elbow piece after tefloning.
-screw into marker, hook up macro n go!

~WARNING~
-Right = Lower
-Left= Higher veolcity

MAKE SURE U TURN IT DOWN BEFORE YOU PUT AIR THROUGH IT, YOU MAY BLOW INTERNALS.



Conclusion: This product is deff worth the 30 bucks (shipped)

actionvillage.com baby!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bballer828 Wednesday, February 14th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
stock ion reg, this thing blews it out of the water
Marker Setup: smart parts ion pro, virtue board, odyssey halo B, and i always shoot draxxus
Strengths: easy to put on, reliable, it looks pretty :D
Weaknesses: You cant put ion bodykit over it but not really an issue
Review: I slapped it on my gun and chronoed right up at 290 and then 291, 290,290,290,290. it's so consistent and not very expensive. yet again evil has made a great product. normally i'm a shocktech man but this reg. was outstanding. It's easy to set your speed.
Conclusion: I love it
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

C4ndyM4n Sunday, January 28th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Ion Reg - Not the worst consistancy, but certainly not that great
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion-

New Designs Bolt, Q-lock
New Designs Roller Trigger
Virtue Board
Smart Parts ASA on/off
Smart Parts S rail
Evil Detonator Reg
Smart Parts QEV
Blue HaloB w/ Rip Drive
Strengths: Ring adjustments, consistant as hell, sleek looking
Weaknesses: Only two colors
Review: This regulator is a really good buy. I picked mine up for 50 dollars at my local pro shop and I really like this reg a lot. The claims of the 2-3 case break in period is true, I just picked up few cases of Buzz Balls and burned through it at some pick up games, and this thing holds my velocity rock solid. When I first installed it, it was shooting like 275,280,277 which is still really good for a regulator straight out of the box. After having gone through the break in period my velocity sits solid at 275. The only thing that may bother some people is that after you make adjustments in the velocity with adjustment valve, make sure to retighten the screw. My first day playing with it I forgot to retighten the screw and I was shooting poorly and couldn't figure out why. I think the only problem people might have with this product is that it dosen't come in every color of the rainbow, but I am not going to hold that against this regulator, it is deffinetly one of the best ones on the market, and at a price only a little bit more than a Torpedo or Empire reg, so drop the extra 10-20 dollars and pick this up, you won't be dissapointed.
Conclusion: If your looking to upgrade your regulator, look no further than this one.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (5):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media