paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun Dragunfly LCD / Dragun Dragunfly LCD / Dragun Dragunfly LCD / Dragun Dragunfly LCD

Dragun Dragunfly LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun Dragunfly LCD

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun Dragunfly LCD
[ View Photos (2) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 20
Average Rating: 8.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $600

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
LCD Screen w/Shot Counter, Dwell Adjustment, Timer
15 BPS Preset
20 BPS Capable
Aluminum Double Trigger
SMC 5-Way Valve
Custom Milled 45 Frame
Custom Milled Body
Quick Release Bolt
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel
Custom "Fly" Beavertail (sold separately)
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun Dragunfly LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
fc3_drift Wednesday, April 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP Autococker
Karnivor
E-bladed Orracle
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LCD
72/3000 PE
Egg2 w/ z-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Feedneck
Strengths: Its very cheap
Fast, easily keep up with ebladed orracle
Weaknesses: Heavy
Bad Rep.(because its a Dragun)
Some Sypder parts and some WGP

Review: I got this gun and I was pumped to finally get....Ive always wanted a cocker...and I finally got one.....Dont be fooled..The Dragunfly is an Autococker but at a cheaper price...The only thing I found wrong with it is I cant find parts very easy...Like this gun will take a Autococker bolt...but only take spyder threaded barrels.....This thing shoots like a beast and can keep up with the best of them. I took it my local field and started smoking people...and they asked what it was....and when I told them...they were shocked!!!! This is a great gun for players of all ages and skill level....dont hesitate to buy one if you can still find one..!!!!
Conclusion: I liked it and Im gonna give it a 9...due to the fact that it is so heavy and needs to be tinkered with out of the box
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

GrimReapper20 Tuesday, February 7th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP AutoCoker
Marker Setup: DragunFly LCD
Halo TSA
47/3000
(Switching to an Ion)

Tippman 98 custom w/RT
Spyder Xtra
Strengths: Short trigger pull
Weaknesses: Chops, Jams, Eats Batteries, Gas Hog, Inaccurate, Poor range, Gas leaks.
Review: Me and two friends went and bought Dragun Fly LCD's. The shop owner told us what great markers they were and that they were better then WGP. We thought that sounded great and so we bought them. Not long after that is when the problems started. First it was Gas Leaks. I didn't think to much of this because it going to happen with any marker from time to time. The only problem with the leaks was how frequently they occurred. Then the three way itself started leaking, then it was the Macro line. Also when the marker was not leaking it would eat a 68/4500 in about 500 shots. Also it has poor accuracy and range. I have played in tournaments where I do not even bring the marker with me, I would play with my 98 custom. When I am playing with my team, I am the back player, and I could hit hardly anything with that thing. I couldn't even reach the back of a 5 man field with it, it only went to there 35. On top of that it could not hit anything. When i would point the marker down the lane I wanted to shoot, it would eather arc wide left or right, that was it would shoot paintballs. Any other time I would play it would look like a shotgun style spray affect. The anti-jam bolt made the choping even worse even with my Halo tsa., but the stock bolt would jam around every 5 shots when you started getting up to speed. My two friends that bought theres have sold theres and bought an Ion, and a Wrath. They both love there markers and how well the work compared to the Dragunfly. I have fought with that thing for around a year now and i have had it. No one came seem to fix it eather. Also after I switch markers I wont go through a batteries every few hours as well. I guess I kept my this long hopping it will work for me. But it never has and probably never will. Maybe there are others that have got there to run with the best of them and I am just speaking from experience along with my friends.
Conclusion: Do not buy the marker. If you want a cocker go with WGP
Rating:
2 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

omega 1 Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Smart Parts Impulse,Bushmaster,E-Blade Autococker
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LCD
Smart Parts Progressive Barrel
Shocktech Spyder trigger
Apache Loader
Crossfire N2 Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Trigger
Strengths: Extremely Fast
Gorgeous
Can compete with thousand dollar guns
Weaknesses: Macro hoses for the 3 way and solenoid need to be replaced
Review: Ok i bought this marker because i wanted a autococker but i wanted to be different and that i have achieved.I also own a Impulse and this gun is just as good but faster.Many will contradict me and are usually haters of any cocker copy.But i hate it that the cockernatics cant see that there is another gun that will perform as an eblade will.The milling on the gun is awesome but not as good as the carnivore,and the bolt is crap which i didn't put in upgrade unless your a serious player.You need the jam anti chop bolt i recommend getting it at madcockerdotcom.The marker is extremely fast with a better trigger(spyder e frame trigger) i can easily out shoot a revvy.It is a tournament grade marker and i recommend it oo anyone who wants an e blade auotcocker for half the price.This gun will lay some serious paint.I have shot over 8000 rounds through it in a month and it has pinched a couple of balls but the jam bolt fixed that.IN SHORT THE GUN IS WORTH EVERY PENNY.buy IT AND DOMINATE.
Conclusion: Cant beat the price,will lay serious paint but i give it a 9 because it needs a new bolt .The barrel doesn't count because all guns need a new barrel except for smart parts.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Sean Choate Saturday, February 5th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
E-Orracle
Marker Setup: Dragunfly- Spyder Stock Barrel, Egg ll, Nitro Duck, and a JT tank cover
2001 WGP Autococker- Palmer Pursuit Rock req., Taso Winforce, Orracle 3 way, Shockteck bolt, STO hinge frame, flame drop-forward, Nitro Duck 68 CI 3000 PSI, Egg ll.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel, ASAP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! anything is better than that barrel, the chrome or whatever it is peals off.
And get a new bolt.
Strengths: VERY VERY FAST good for a mid.
Weaknesses: NO EYE if you exceed 10 BPS, it will chop.

Review: It is a very good marker, only needs a new barrel and a new bolt. If Chronic from Zap seems to work very well with the stock bolt. Has an adjustable regulator. I bet if you get a STO ram from WGP it would not chop as much with the ram that the marker came with.
Conclusion: I would get it, because it has a good price and is quick.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 19th, 2005 at 11:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

natdawg22 Friday, January 14th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Imps, Shockers, Nerves, Ions, 'Cockers, Timmys, Tippys, DM5, etc
Marker Setup: Black Ion
PE 72/3000
Egg2
Freak 16"
Recommended
Upgrades:
New trigger
Barrel (freak, boomstick, AA)
Strengths: Quiet, Reliable, Fast
Weaknesses: None really, except 'cockers are expensive
Review: I dont really have much to say about this, its pretty cheap for such a good gun. It looks cool, but it just needs a new barrel. Buy this gun, its basically a 'cocker so if you want the cheaper version of one, get the Dragunfly, LED or LCD. Good for back players, cuz they are quiet and accurate.
Conclusion: Buy it if you are a back player, they wont find you right away, its accurate, and fast
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 24th, 2005 at 11:41 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

QbanB Monday, December 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Dragunfly Mech
Marker Setup: 14" Progressive
Smoke Ricochet Apace
20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Bolt
Drop Forward
T-board
Fast hopper
Strengths: Cheap
Electronic
Accurate
Weaknesses: Not fully cocker compatable
Doesnt save settings when you turn it off
Review: I got this gun for $100. I wanted a electronic cocker, didnt want to break the bank, becuase all I had was a Dragunfly Mech. Well I got this as an upgrade to my Mech. For the most part if you're used to cockers this shouldnt be a problem. Well this is way more delicate when it comes to pressure. If its too high it will go out the exhaust ports.On my mech it really didnt matter too much. But anyways I get it workin great. The thing that really sucks is that when you turn it on you have to adjust the ROF and the dwell. I know now i need a Halo B. Becuase at even 15 bps my apache cant keep up. I must say thing shoots great and fast. Well worth the money.
Conclusion: If you want an electronic cocker, and are comming from a spyder. You cant go wrong. It performs just as well as an authentic cocker. Shoots just as fast, but the T-board will make this thing real nice.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

skr8psko1021 Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP E-class Oracle
WGP Karnivor
JUST AS GOOD FOR 1/4th THE COST!
Marker Setup: Primary: Black-Green Dragun The One
Palmer's Micro Rock LPR
Evil Detonator Regulator
DeadOn Bullet Drop
Zenitram Trigger w/ 50g switch
Stiffi Switch Barrel Kit
APM Tigershark bolt
Unlocked Modes
Odyssey Twister Feed Neck
Empire Reloader B
Dye Throttle 70/4500 peanut w/ Rhino Cover
Secondary: Black and Chrome Dragunfly LCD
18" Dye Boomstick
16" Armson Stealth
JAM Anti-chop bolt
DeadOn Bullet Drop
Viewloader Zeggy
Dye throttle 91/4500 w/ SP bottle armor
Recommended
Upgrades:
Dye Barrel
Dop foward
Feedneck
Strengths: Price ($380)
Looks
Case
Quality
Weaknesses: Part Availibility?
No eye
Review: I bought this product about 6 months ago and love it! It is an awesome gun! It shoots like a dream, especially w/ the boomstick! I am awesome at timing fockers so I have had no problems. The WGP Karnivor is better, of course, but costs $1300! Get this gun if you want an electrococker but don't have $1K to spend!
Conclusion: BUY THIS GUN! You will not be disapointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

VooDooAddict Tuesday, October 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months13 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Closed Bolt:
Shocker 4x4 (Own)
'96-'98 Autococker (Borrowed)

Open Bolt:
Automags (HyperValve, HyperFrame, MicroMag, Classic)
Classic Spyder (Before any parts were available)
Marker Setup: Dragunfly LCD
- Anti-Chop Spring Loaded Bolt
- 70/4500 Centerflag Pre-Set High-Presure Tank
- AGD Warp Feed (Intelifeed link to trigger) with a Classic VL 12V Rev
- custom made 8" Carbon Fiber Small Bore Barrel NO Porting
- Smart Parts 14" All American Large Bore Barrel
- In-Line ASA Extension with Centerflag Gauge for reporting output pressure of the Dragun HPR.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Anti-Chop Bolt if it isn't included with your Dragunfly LCD
Strengths: Cost
Closed Bolt
Electro Trigger prevents "Short Stroke"
Spyder Barrel Threads
Weaknesses: CAN'T use Autococker parts.
Spyder Barrels Don't always fit.
Flips into FullAuto.
Review: Background:
I've recently gotten back into paintball. Thanks to a decent paying job that I don't need to work weekends. A large part of paintball for me is taking out friends and family with me. And having decent equipment for them to use so that they don't need to be frustrated with poor rental equipment. I have an old Shocker 4x4 that was my main marker before I quit a few years ago. And a few Automags that were backups and loaners. The Shocker 4x4 is a great zero frustration marker for people who haven't played much paintball. It has never broken a ball on me in the breach. Never. Nothing seems to frustrate a new player more then a break. It also has no external moving parts. My problem was if I loaned out the Shocker ... then I had to use on of the 'Mags. With the new trend for more brittle paint to get more breaks on your opponent ... the Classic 'Mags have become virtual paint grinders. That made me dread using the 'Mags, and never want to loan them out. While I wanted my guests to have perfect paintball days ... I didn't want the frustration of shooting a paint grinder for them or for myself. When looking into upgrading my old automags to work with the latest generation of brittle paint (Level 10 Kits + ULE Bodies). I came across an add for the Dragunfly LED for a less then my Automag upgrades would have cost. I was shocked at the low cost for a new closed bolt electro marker. I did a little more research on the Dragunfly and decided to satisfy my longtime Autococker curiosity with a Dragunfly LCD.

Expectations and Goals for my new Dragunfly LCD.
- Get a spare marker that I will be happy to use when I loan the Shocker 4x4 to a friend.
- Introduce myself to the world of Autococker maintenance. After loving the light kick and accuracy/consistency of the Shocker 4x4. I've always been interested in owning the classic closed bolt semi. I have also wanted to teach myself how to adjust the timings of an autococker.
- An Autococker with electro trigger should get rid of the short stroke problems I'd had in the past with borrowed mech autocockers.
- I had plenty of after-market Spyder Barrels that were just sitting in a box begging to be put to good use. Dragunfly's were listed in specs as using spyder threading.
- I'm not looking for something to win tourneys with. I prefer the no stress of paintball for recreation. Tourneys were one of the reasons I stopped playing the first time.

Generic Purchase Info (Shop/Seller and exact pricing details left out to respect PBReview's rules):
I bought the Dragunfly LCD off Ebay NEW for under $250 in Mid year of 2004. Marker was shipped direct from DragunEmpire, but I'm unsure as to Model Year.

The Dragunfly LCD arrives:
The Marker arrived in it's own case with a Parts Kit (I paid extra for the parts kit) and an AntiChop Delrin Bolt (included with my Dragunfly LCD). I quickly swapped out the standard aluminum bolt for the Delrin anti-chop. After placing a 9v battery in the grip, I gassed up the marker. After listening for leaks and hearing none I pulled the trigger. To my surprise, holding the trigger down kept the bolt in the rear position just like a mechanical 'cocker. To my dismay, while holding the trigger down, there was a leak. The leak was coming from one of the small lines connected to the Ram. The hole was close to one of the fittings and I was able to just trim hole off the line and reconnect it. 3 minute fix. Now that the marker was working I proceeded to adjust the timings properly. 10 Minutes later I had a working and timed Electro Autococker. (Check the Autococker forums here on PBReview for information on how to time an Autococking marker. I can't post links in a review) Now I wanted to see how it looked with my 10" Custom Made Carbon Fiber Spyder Barrel ... The barrel didn't fit. After some experimentation I found that the barrel threads are based off the original spyder specs. These are slightly different then the spyder threading most people know. It's very frustrating because most Spyder barrels will almost fit ... I managed to force the 8" Custom Carbon Fiber onto the marker. It was risky ... but in the end it worked great.

The First Outing:
Indoor Airball Field.
Finding that the Standard feed-neck was too small for my spare Rev 12V was disappointing. I knew that I could later sand it down. For now the VL200 fit it fine. I adjusted the firing rate to 6bps so as to not drastically out shoot the hopper. Went to the Chrono. Needed a slight adjustment to get it to 270 (that field's limit). 5 Minutes later I was in a game. With my custom made carbon fiber 8" barrel it was shooting wonderfully accurate and consistent. Field paint was Draxxus(sp?) Blaze. I didn't break a ball. The Anti-Chop Bolt did it's job. One problem I ran into however was that after the second game I noticed that my marker had flipped into Full-Auto mode... The LCD buttons can accidentally be pushed with gloved hands holding the marker. Thankfully this didn't cause any problems. Overall I was very pleased with my purchase.

The Second Outing:
Indoor Airball Field.
I decided to get fancy with it. I placed one of my old warp feeds on it. Same field. The combination of the Warp Feed and the Dragunfly LCD = Paint grinder. I switched to the VL200 again and everything was fine. As it turned out I had a miss aligned powerfeed ball-stack in the Warp. After some dremell tool modifications to the Vertical powerfeed adapter... I decided to try it again.

The Third Outing:
Outdoor field. Bring Your Own Paint.
Tuned Warp + Dragunfly LCD + Zap Spank Paint = Many angry opponents. With the properly aligned ball-stack and a BPS set to 12 max. The setup started pissing people off. With no hopper sitting on top of the marker ... they couldn't hit me. I ran into problems latter in the day when I ran out of fresh Zap Spank and had to start using some old paint (I won't mention the brand since the brand is OK ... it's just that it was old). This outing was also the first day my new girlfriend went paintballing. She was able to use my Shocker 4x4 and it gave her Zero problems. She wants to go again!

Did the Dragunfly LCD marker satisfy my goals?
- I now understand Autococker Timings.
- I have a nice marker to use when I loan out my Shocker 4x4
- I have an Autococker that I can't short stroke (this is a good thing). Disappointing the LCD board does not time the bolt forward motion for me. But something I can live with.
- Some of my Spyder barrels fit (with force) ... but not all.


EDIT: I've since sold the Dargunfly. I'm running Ions and Shoebox Shockers for mains and loaners these days. Before I sold the Dragonfly I played a few outings with a Warp Feed attached. It was great. Been missing the warped Dragunfly lately ... so I'm going to be setting up a warp drive on an Ion soon.
Conclusion: For me: This marker was exactly what I was looking for at the time, and performs to my expectations. But, due to the problems with Full-Auto, the poor choice of old Spyder thread standard, and incompatibility with autococker parts... I'm going to give it a 7.

Recommendation: I have a hard time recommending this marker, however. It leaves no upgrade path due to it's incompatibility with Autococker parts. The Full-Auto issue could keep out out of tourneys. There are other nicer performing electro's with much more standard parts. The Dragun T.E.S. and Dragun TheOne both have a much larger following and more available upgrade parts then the Dragunfly.

For someone who absolutely must have a Closed Bolt Electro, but doesn't have funds for an E-Bladed Autococker. This is a way to go on the cheep. But please, please get the anti-chop bolt. I can't express how many times I saw the bolt pinch but not break balls. With a standard bolt it would have been slicing those balls.

For everyone else in this price range who's just looking for a good mid-range Electro I'd give serious consideration to:

Dragun T.E.S.
PMI Piranha E-Force EVO 04
Dragun TheOne
(My TheONE review will show up in a month or two. A New TheOne is in transit to my door.)
Indian Creek BKO
Rating:
7 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 8th, 2006 at 11:15 am PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

slasher400 Saturday, August 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann 98 custom
Marker Setup: dragunfly lcd w/ dragun reg and jam bolt
halo TSA
Recommended
Upgrades:
prolly a new barrel and a fast hopper if you don;t have one
Strengths: Very accurate, very fast, pretty much point-n-shoot and be amazed at the accuracy
Weaknesses: I had small problems at first (tank wouldn't fit past drop).
Review: I purchased this marker and played with it the next weekend. I was amazed at how easily i could pick people off from great distances with realitively few shots. the gun was also able to shoot very fast, several times I was able to suppress people behind cover while i moved up. I was easily able to take out most of the people I saw.
this gun is great for intermediate players and maybe for play in some tournaments. The people at my local field are usually curious about this marker and are always amazed by it's rate of fire and accuracy. The marker is also very quiet compared to other markers I have seen. The stock barrel is ok. It should probably be upgraded soon though.
Conclusion: In conclusion, I recommed this marker highly. I had some small problems at first but they were not serious enough to effect the final score at all. with this marker's low price, and excellent performance, it is hard to not recommend it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Chattertooth Thursday, August 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
1st time with a 'cocker,spyders, b2k, timmys, impulse, automag rt pro, all tippmanns
Marker Setup: Gray Dragunfly LCD
Jam bolt
Empire Reloader
14" Aci zero Gravity graffitti series
Kapp DZIII with on/off
aci 47ci 3000psi tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Black magic reg, ram, Freak kit, fast loader, some milling to drop the weight. Use only compressed air with any marker. Even if it says you can use co2.
Strengths: accurate, fast, Just dang sexy
Weaknesses: Heavy as a bear
Review: Needs attention out of the box but i have taken it to the field 2 times and can honestly say that it turns heads because of the rate of fire. It is surprisingly fast and very accurate.
Might want to buy a carrying strap for your setup because this baby is a pig! After playing for 3 hours it feels like it weighs 50 pounds. But i am definetly satisfied so far. The price is almost ridiculous for everthing you get. $235 for everthing which includes the drop, jam bolt, macroline setup, and the plastic carry case. I dont see how you could go wrong with this because it is so cheap to buy. Your talking 700 bucks if you want the same out of the high end worrbladed cockers. Huge difference.

All cockers have there little quirks. Yes even the $1200 Karnivores. So remeber that when you are seeking the right marker. $2000 or $235 everything needs attention when it comes to timing the marker and maintenance. I dont think that any cocker will come timed to your needs straight from the maker. So if you decide to get it and its not ready to let her loose straight out of the box then give it a little time and care before you write it off.
Conclusion: Buy it. Get it timed. Add all the upgrades your little heart desires and you still wont come close to how much you would pay for the "high end" cockers that have the same or less performance mods.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 15th, 2005 at 8:47 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media