paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Worr Game Products Sniper / Worr Game Products Sniper / Worr Game Products Sniper / Worr Game Products Sniper

Worr Game Products Sniper Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Worr Game Products

Buy Worr Game Products Sniper

Paintball Pump / Stock-Class Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Worr Game Products Sniper
[ View Photos (15) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 16
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $385

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
•Vertical feed design
•Closed bolt pump action
•45 Frame w/ 45 grip
•Autococker® Marker threaded barrel
•New style bolt w/ pull pin
•Stainless steel cocking & pump rod
•Volumizer pump guide
•Velocity adjuster
•Ball detent
Product Availability 
The Worr Game Products Sniper is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Feathers Wednesday, January 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
This was pretty-much my first 'Cocker turned Sniper, but I've used several pumps. Maveric, Trracer, Brass Eagle barf-quality pumps, Tippmann SL68-II, PGP.
Marker Setup: 1998 RH feed Autococker
Benchmark .45 Gripframe
Extreme Rage titanium roller trigger/ sear set
AKA Nickel-plated Lightning Bolt
CCM Pump Kit - Black
Palmer's Fatty Stabilizer Reg.
Palmer's Low Turbulance Valve
LAPCO 18" Snapshot, 12" Bigshot, and J&J 16" One-piece Ceramic for barrels
LAPCO "T" stock
LAPCO offset sight rail
ADCO E-dot sight
Brass Eagle 45-round hopper
20 oz CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
A 'Cocker (or Sniper, as it were) is the tinker's dream. Literally any individual part of this marker is offered in at least a dozen other configurations, ranging from color to functionality. To dispell a common myth - the WGP style body is not at all a hard thing to work on - even when introducing it's auto-cocking components - but we're not here to talk about that. We're here to hash pump play.

Ups in Order of Reccomendation:
Barrel - a must to suit the marker to your style of play.
Regulator - Even on my pre 2k Sniper - the goal and to an extent, the calling of this design is low pressure. Palmers and AKALMP make awesome regulators that will make other-worldly accuracy possible with their incredible consistancy. A must in my book.
Gripframe - I like solid steel when I can get it, and if not, solid aluminum will suffice. Benchmark has some great gripframes for the Sniper that add both comfort and durability.
Trigger Group - If you haven't felt a roller-trigger/ sear set, you are puishing your trigger finger.
Pump Kit - Not quite as necessary, but CCM and WhiteWolf Airsmithing have awesome lightweight, smooth-cycling pump kits that feel great in the hands. My preference lead me toward going down to the local hardware store and buying a spring to make the resistance a little stiffer on my CCM pump kit, as well as hold the bolt/ pump arm forward.
Strengths: Accurate, durable/ superior quality, incredible selection of upgrades, easy to maintain.
Weaknesses: Paint-to-barrel match/ detents.
Review: So, what is there to say that hasn't already been said? Sniper pumps are among the absolute best pumps around. They always have, and they always will. Their craftsmanship is stellar in comparison to other markers, both in durability and quality, which means they are very survivable. My marker is 9 years old and is solid and tight, ready for casual play or rugged scenarios at a moment's notice.

Sniper pumps are incredibly accurate as well. Every game I am pleased to be smoothly slapping paint onto exposed hoppers and goggles at distances well over 100 feet. Now, this is partly due to aftermarket support for this great marker, but therein is another strength - a lot of people support this marker's design, so it's performance can be tuned to any and everyone's tastes. Variety aside, the high-quality build of the Sniper allows for very consistant handling of pressures, which creates night unto (if not the) best accuracy out there.

Aslo, Snipers are easy as heck to maintain. They are very logically built, and while being made with precision, are not at all too delicate or too complicated. Their straightforward and simple design goes a long way in making the markers both tough and maintenance-friendly.

I've played speedball and been the front-runner at the 50, sometimes even the other team's 40 before I get taken out. And, without fail, people gawk and exclaim, "OMG you have a pump!?" You really don't need X bps to rack up eliminations or keep people sweating you when nearly every single shot goes exactly where you aim it. My preference is woodsball, and with my setup, I can usually lock down two or three opponents with some fancy-quick snap-shooting due to the Sniper's accuracy and surprisingly quick rate of fire (for those skilled users out there). At days' end - I never have to say that my marker broke or wouldn't work, and I almost always walk off the field with 2 to 1 or 3 to one eliminations in my favor - sometimes more.

Now, onto the *ahem* 'weakness,' it is and it isn't. One really needs to have an assortment of barrels for this closed-bolt marker, because if you don't have the right match, you will get roll-outs, or frequent breaks. However, the ability to fine-tune the Sniper with so many aftermarket barrels is actually one of it's best strengths, and a large contributor to it's legendary accuracy. Consequently, it will cost the serious player more money in barrels, but it will also give him or her a finer edge in the field.
Conclusion: Used many pumps, but when I want the 'cat's meow' of performance, I always come back to my Sniper, hands down.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

an0maly Saturday, January 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Hammer, Many Sniper 2's, Many Phantoms, Carter Buzzard
Marker Setup: 05' Super Stock, CCM adjustable feed neck, CP rail, micro line kit, 14" Freak, Empire B Reloader /// Sniper 2, red-orange-yellow fade, KAPP internals, ANS venturi bolt, 10" DYE Boomstick, 14" FREAK
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Bolt, New Barrel
Strengths: ACCURATE, Balls fly far, not bad on price
Weaknesses: No easy stock class conversion, no auto-fire pumping
Review: When i started playing, it was pump only semi's hadent really taken off yet. I used many pump guns but my favorite of the all is the Sniper 2.
What can i say? This gun rocks. Buy a new bolt and barrel and you have one insanely accurate gun, and thats one of the main things that pumps all about right? Precision!
Playing at the local field i could shoot the string the objects were hanging from in the firing range. On the field i could shoot through thin cracks and small holes, it was great!
Plus, the Sniper 2 is the father of the autococker so you know its quality.

The weaknesses are: If you are going to play stock, it uses up 12 gram CO2 in about 20 shots, and you might have to make you own stock conversion kit with a plumbing pipe. Also, it doesn't have an auto-trigger like the Phantoms do. Auto-trigger is when you hold the trigger, and each time you pump, a ball shoots, allowing more rapid and steady fire.

If you got some extra cash and you want a top of the line Sniper 2, check out the SS25 by Chipley Custom Machine (CCM). It has everything u want including auto-trigger standard for about 500$. Also a stock conversion kit available at an extra $50.
Conclusion: I love my Sniper 2, and everyone that has or has had one loves theirs too. Buy this gun if you want to rule pump.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 14th, 2006 at 10:24 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Aria1 Monday, August 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
uhhh any cocker with a pump kit.
Marker Setup: WGP sniper rightfeed, 14 inch cp, ccm pump kit, dop duckbill, benchmark frame.

A bunch of other crap guns. I am a cheap gun whore.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A new barrel, j&j or cp. Slider frame. A nice reg. Nitrogen.
Strengths: Accuracy. Consistency. Ease of use.
Weaknesses: Limit of fire. Consistency with co2.
Review: I used this gun for quite a while and Love it to death. I have never been let down by this marker. There really isnt a lot to say, this is an awesome gun. I had a ccm kit on the gun, but the stock one is fine. If you have the chance to get one I would because its an awesome gun.
Conclusion: I think if you wanna get into pump class that this is def. the gun for you.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SwampyPond42 Friday, May 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
bottomline phantom
Marker Setup: 99 rf cocker
14" ultralite
stabilizer

Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel to reduce noise- Stock barrel has no porting
If you're using co2, buy a stab and an anti-siphon to keep liquid c02 out of the valve.
Dye stickies- panel grips stink
Strengths:
Undercocking
accurate with stock barrel
meaty gun
easy to clean
Weaknesses: Bit heavy
sounds like small cannon
no stock class
no auto trigger
Review: This gun is also very durable. I got mine a little over a year ago and it's been a real joy to play with.
Snap shooting is a breeze with it. mine is pre- 2k so it a slightly smaller body than newer models and it's surprisingly compact.
Just holding it, it feels really solid.
The lack of auto trigger and stock class are really just minor details.



I started playing pump just for a change and whatnot but I have really fallen in love with it. I blame this marker.

You gotta love it when people tell you pumps suck then you bunker them...hehheh.
Conclusion: I would say that this has a bit of a leg up on the phantom, they have always felt so breakable to me. It also has undercocking which will always be superior to on the barrel pumps. If you're looking for a nice way to enter into pump play, go with a sniper 2. Or if you just want a gun befitting of your studly status. I'd say a 9.7 but one has to round up.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mike31c Sunday, March 27th, 2005
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
3 months4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
All older Sheridan Based Pumps and Stock Class Markers
Marker Setup: Bottom Line
Regulator
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel or Barrel Kit
Strengths: Decent airsmiths should be able to fix any issues that may come up.
Weaknesses: The inital cost of trying to get it to work properly.
Review: Normally, any paintball gun review will actually entail the user to take the gun to the field and use it in a game or two before writing a review.

I will make the Sniper the exception.

I am very disappointed in the performance and cost factors involved with first buying a Sniper out of the box all the way to getting it running decently for rec use.

First is the cost of the Sniper itself: $279 (MSRP)
Then, as I learned too late, you need a regulator installed: ~ $79 and up
Don’t forget the stainless steel hose: $15
You “need” to use HPA: Crossfire 47ci tank, $65 (don’t forget the tank cover and nipple cap. Add another $20)
Add the cost of an ASA adapter: $25
(optional and not added to the cost below: Cost of a drop forward, another $25)
And if this is your first Autococker, as you will need to replace the stock barrel, add the cost of a decent barrel or barrel kit. I had chosen the Evil Pipe Kit: $189
Don’t forget to use an electro hopper! Cheap plastic hoppers (such as PMI’s) are fine for the short term but gets annoying to pump players in need to have paint feed in the tube and not air.

Since I already have a 12-volt Revy, I did not add it to the cost below. I also own a 68ci HPA tank but I find it really uncomfortable to use on pump guns, such as my Sheridan Long Barrel. But a smaller tank is fine for such pumps, at least it is for me. So that is the only reason why I purchased the Crossfire tank.

Cost so far: $672

So now I have to adjust the regulator and maybe I need a spring kit. This is the second day of me not playing but making adjustments. Frankly, for this price you are better off buying something else, such as a Palmer’s Houndstooth or even classic Sheridans.

However, if you already have a barrel kit for Autocockers, a spare regulator in your parts box, an electro hopper, and time and patience this should be a pretty decent pump gun.

Pros:
* The pump action decent.
* After market parts are readily available.
* Any decent air-smith can (or at least should be able to) work on your Sniper in the event of real issues.
* Multiple choices in barrels from various companies.
* It weighs less then some classic brass pumps.

Cons:
* Cost factors, in my opinion, are on the high side.
* Getting it to run the first time decently is going to take some time.
* The stupid questions you do get from the noobs are just “out there”.

I give the WGP Sniper, 4 out of 10.
Conclusion:
In conclusion, unless you already have Autococker barrels and other spare parts readily on hand, I do recommend anyone buying their first pump gun to buy something else. This gun is not very newbie friendly and unless you are willing to take the time and money, you will be stuck with a fancy paperweight.
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

pimpers Friday, February 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tested a vert feed
alias intimidator
Marker Setup: 2004 black wgp sniper 2
16" smart parts freak kit
cp on/off asa
torpedo regulator
3000/47 air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
1) Barrel - the stock barrel is good but a new barrel defintally makes alot of difference
2) Regulator - keeps the pressure the same for better concictency.
Strengths: Accuracy!
Reliability
Milling
Sturdy feeling
Weaknesses: ......Shots slow.....
Review: alright, if you love going into the middle of a battle rushing the front bunker or 50 this gun is NOT for you. if you love sitting to the side and picking off the people stated above, this gun is perfect. it is a beauty when you shoot it. it shoots straight and conistent and blows your mind away. with my setup my sniper 2 will put a ball in a straight line for at least 60 feet and it groups them perfectly. the only bad side to this gun is that it shoots slow, which is of course due to the fact that it is a pump.
Conclusion: Great gun if you are willing to put a couple hundred into it in the aftermarket. Nearly a perfect gun for any paintball sniper and I highly reccommend it to anyone out there interested in pumps. If I could i would give it a 12
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

S/C Splinter Wednesday, December 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
CCI VSC45
PGP2
Marker Setup: 02 RH feed pump-cocker
50rd / 15rd custom stick feed w/ballgate*
3.5/4oz.
sp A.A. / jj 14" cer.
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Barrel that fits the paint you shoot well
- 50rd hopper or stickfeed*
- 4oz co2
- Something to remove the S. E. Grin from your face
Strengths: - Simple & reliable
- Shoots long and straight
- Easy to find everything you need / want for it.
Weaknesses: - Value (better to buy a autococker and a pump-kit)
- no ball detent. (duhh)
Review: well mine is a '02 RH feed autococker with a pump kit. this was my first pump and changed the way i play for the better. like running faster when a dog is chasing you, the fact that you need to pump forces you to play harder and smarter. this marker is perfect for someone who wants to try pump play because it feels like a semi, looks like a semi and you can just stick your normal tank and hopper on it for now.

If you start with the autococker & pump kit you can switch from pump to semi if you don't like it. or sell it to buy a Phantom if you love it. it is my personal favorite pump for speedball.

* Stick Feed: if you have a right hand feed cocker/sniper you can get close to a stock class feed system.
the most common type is a 3/4" cpvc 90* elbow hose clamped over the ball feed. insert a piece of cpvc and a "ball gate" (phantom part#45).

But, since the tube is pointed right at my eye I prefer this method:
a 3/4" cpvc "tee" hose clamped over the ball feed. on the tee (pointing at me) i put a small "nipple" of 3/4 brass tube about 2" long and capped it with part#45 ball gate. on the other side of the tee i screwed in (phantom part#44) a 15round threaded ball tube(under $12) with a 3/4" cpvc cap on the end. this way the stick feed points down the barrel but you fill it from the back.

* After 6 months: Still no problems with the pump-cocker, It has been switched between semi & pump 5 times and everything is good. Since I started playing with the "sniper" I have saved over $250 in paint and 9volts's in 6months. Enough to pay for my Phantom, and allow me to use the sniper as a loaner.*

[EDIT 12/3/07]
Over the 2007 season I found a few games to pull out the old Sniper. Over the years I have aquired a Freak barrel, adj reg & a nice winchester hopper. I only use the Sniper in open games (non-pump) and cold weather. In pump games it almost feel cheety to use the Sniper, its ROF and pinpoint accuracy is high. Though it does not fit my play style (I prefer 12g's & sidetubes) it is my "almost-semi" gun used in situations where I need a little more capacity...and no mechanical headaches.
Conclusion: I suggest to go the used cocker and pump kit route.


i give it an 7 (sniperII) i give it a 9 (pump cocker)
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, December 3rd, 2007 at 1:59 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

warpedblackbelt Saturday, December 4th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippy. 98 custom with armison stealth and flat line
Spyder imagine
Marker Setup: WGP sniper with 16" empire twister
Recommended
Upgrades:
twister
Strengths: Accurate beyond all belief. shotgun capabilities
Weaknesses: No tail on the 2003
Review: This gun was my third, and by far my most accurate. If you have any question of whether or not to buy it, don't. With the stoc barrel alone, you can wreck havok in speedball. Rack the bolt 3 times and fire it like a shotgun. Its by all means worth the price. Better on the feild than either of my semi, or full auto guns.
Conclusion: Buy it!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

PaintballerSn Tuesday, October 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Brass Eagle Stingray
Tippman 98
Spyder TL
ACI Griffin
SideKick Pump Pistol
Marker Setup: 2001 Sniper 2
Freak Barrel (14 inches)
Venturi Bolt
Smart Parts Regulator
Stock Hopper (10 round semi vertical feed, home made neck)
CO2 air source (7 oz)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Regulator
Barrel (stock barrel is ok but loud and not as accurate as a freak)
Strengths: INCREDIBLY accurate (size paint to bore!!!!)
Pumps fast in a pinch

Weaknesses: If you don't have a regulator it shoots inconsistent sometimes.
Review: I have been playing paintball for a little over six years. I own various semi autos a pistol and ofcoarse my Sniper 2. It is my favorite out of all my guns. True, its a pump which means i'm not shooting 300 plus rounds a game but hey, how many times do you have to shoot someone to eliminate them? A good freind asked me once "how can you kill something twice." So whats the point of shooting all that paint anyway. Its expensive too. The Sniper 2 is very accurate. Probably one of the most accurate guns on the market. If your trying to decide whether to get a Phantom or a Sniper 2, I would say that they are very close in accuracy and rate of fire but if you do choose to fire fast you will be more precise with the Sniper. I can tell you how many people I have shot with my Sniper. Last weekend I shot a guys at 20 yards through a 2 foot by half foot window of a castle. Needless to say is was awstruck. I highly recommend buying a regulator and a Freak Barrel or a Pipe kit for it. Sizing paint is crucial for accuracy and precision. Don't buy the gun for range.

P.S. Believe it or not 70 precent of my kills are on the speedball field.
Conclusion: I highly recommend this gun for anyone that wants to play pump and to all new players to the game because playing pump teaches you tactics and strategy, not just how to hold a gun and pull a trigger.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

pimpinseacow Wednesday, August 11th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
phantom, SL68,
Marker Setup: phantom wiht frantom II barrel and gas thru stock with 45 trigger frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
the autococker product line provides practically limitless upgrade paths in the event that you wish to customise this marker, pick whatever suits you best.
Strengths: Accurate
Durable
Can be converted to semi
Easy to clean as all autocockers are
Weaknesses: Heavy
Stiff pump arm
Inability to convert to stock
Almost necessary to use air
Review: Though this product rates high in terms of precision, it lacks what all pump guns need most, versatility. It is a definite downfall for it to not be able to convert to stock class. All autocockers can be converted to pump if you buy a kit, so it really isn't very special in that catagory. I would suggest that someone purchase a higher end autococker and then a pump kit, instead of trying to send this one down the upgrade path, it makes more sense and when you move away from pump to semi, it will be easier for you. On the flip side, if your more like me, then you'll want to get a more easily modified marker like a phantom (my praise for that marker is unending) and keep playing pump.
Conclusion: This gun definetely delivers in terms of accuracy, but it is a little pricy and definetly not as versitle as it should be for the price (conversion to semi was an advantage). I would suggest getting a different marker.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media