paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Matrix LCD / Dye Matrix LCD / Dye Matrix LCD / Dye Matrix LCD

Dye Matrix LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Matrix LCD

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Matrix LCD
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Dye has taken the Matrix to a new level of performance. They have added new front and bolt regulators, milled the grip frame, added a new thumb screw for the backplate and improved the stock barrel.

The new DYE Matrix LCD comes straight from the factory with built in anti-chop eyes that keep the gun from breaking paint in the breach when rapid firing.
Product Availability 
The Dye Matrix LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
caseycotes Wednesday, April 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Timmys , angel lcd , autococker triology compet , Ion smart parts , impulse , shocker , uhhhh many other markers !!!
Marker Setup: Check it Unimount
Ccm FeedNeck
Hyper2 in-line reg
Cp trigger
Tadao Board
Dye sticky grip 05
Recommended
Upgrades:
Unimount ... FEED NECK !! and the trigger !
Strengths: you can have it use for 400 dollars !! Accurate , fast , quiet , can be nice !!
Weaknesses: Umm no weakness !
Review: Personnaly i dont care the weigth of a marker !! 1 or 2 gram more than an other one ... lol !!! Those one that they dont like that marker its because you never try it !! or becose you are not lucky and you have a bad matrix ! ... but that's the same for all the guns !!
The dye matrix lcd is my best marker i never have ... The stock barrel is a bit long but very accurate !! the stock feed neck is worse ... buy a lower feed neck !
Conclusion: Buy it Rigth now !! DYE OWN !!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ionballa6969 Monday, April 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Ion- Dm3 was faster and had a better stock barrel
Marker Setup: IOn
q lock feedneck
dye stikkies
Recommended
Upgrades:
A drop and a cp roller are all that I can think of
Strengths: Speed
It says pow on the lcd when you shoot :)
accuraccy
DYE!!!
Weaknesses: Weight (you cant really feel it on the field)
Review: The dm3 was one step up from My IOn and I would definently buy it. It was super fast and Imo the spring trigger that it has is way better than the magnetic trigger of the ION
YOu can find them used on the Nation for like 300 bucks and that is a great deal
Conclusion: Get a dm3 I wish I would have save the extra 50 bucks and got one over my IOn
Dye makes great stuff and you know you are carrying a top quality marker at a very low price
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Baller T Monday, March 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
I had 2 Eblade cockers with full Nexus kits on both.They were accurate and fast but very hard to maintain. 05' Olive DM5 which was a great marker. With the DM5 or Matrix your problems consist of orings, that's it. Get's no easier than that.
Marker Setup: 04' Cobalt Matrix with black CP trigger, black DYE Snatch Grip plate, black Chipley no rise feed neck, black 14" Ultralite, black CP on/off drop, Orange Bolt, black New Designs breech and Hater Malicious Intent Code board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A feed neck because mine came stock tall with no adjustment. Also invest in extra orings.
Strengths: Speed, Accuracy(Sets the standards next to autocockers) and easy to fix marker.
Weaknesses: Weight but when your painting faces who cares. Air consumption(paintballfields have free refills).
Review: I used to think cockers were the it marker because of the accuracy and endless upgrade capabilities. The Matrix beats it out easily. This marker is so simple to use I was shock at how quiet it is. The marker has no kick what so ever. Trigger pull is smooth and on point. The DM's are nice but they were originated from this marker with alot of it's original idea's still used. Even when my marker was stock it was shooting darts pin point and dead on accurate. I snap shoot better than alot of tourney players with their timmies and shockers. I can do ropes but ropes don't win games. This marker does all with ease. There are alot of upgrade options for this marker. I wasn't surprise to find there is a huge following of loyalist to this marker. Anyway, anyone out there looking at the Matrix whether used or new you will not be disappointed, believe that.
Conclusion: Buy this marker. Worth every cent and then some. This is a Competition and Recreation marker. Ask team TRAUMA they won with them, but try for yourself.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 13th, 2006 at 11:42 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

icdowner Wednesday, March 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing
BKO-doesnt compare
spyder imagine select-nope not even close
Marker Setup: dye matrix lcd
cp clamping feed neck
proto one piece barrel
evil detonator reg
dye rail w/ evil ASA
cp roller bearing triger
aardy blue bolt kit w/ freeflow bolt
trinity LPR
egg2

04 icd bko
egg2
Recommended
Upgrades:
i dont really know. i bought it with all the ups for $150. it rocked when i got it!
Strengths: Throws ropes like no other! hella fast!
quiet
Weaknesses: Its heavy but you get used to it really fast.
Review: this gun kicks butt! yes its heavy, but honestly, just work out or something. Buy the gun. it is super fast straiaght up. i dont know how easy the stock trigger is to walk, but the thirty dollar cp roller trigger is a great up. the gun is really easy to clean. unscrew the pin on the back plate and the breech slides right out. It makes cleaning the eyes childs play.
Conclusion: buy it. you can find it for about the *price of an impulse but the speed and durability of DYE.


*http://www.firstcallpaintball.com/pages-productinfo/product
-249/dye-dye-matrix-lcd-gun.html
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, June 22nd, 2006 at 12:34 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

es916 Monday, March 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM4/5/C - Similar in how they felt shooting but the LCD is a lot heavier
Marker Setup: 2005 Dark Blue and Black Ego
- All Stock
- Empire B (gold color) & Halo B with (vic board)
- Crossfire 68/4500 LP

Stock CCI Phantom Pump
- Back Bottle
- m16 grips
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evolve Bolt Kit <--- This is a must if you want to get a decent amount of play per tank fill.
Barrel Kit- Empire, Redz, Freak... Any of these are great choices.
AKA Sidewinder and Soda Can <-- Makes this beast extremely consistant.
Strengths: Extremely Accurate!
Very Fast
No Kick
Quiet
Weaknesses: Air Efficency
Weight
Requires a lot of lubing
Review: Where to start?

I have had a lot of guns in my time of playing but the Trix LCD is one that I will always miss. For a gun that is as old as it is, it will still shoot as good as any high end electro out there, period.

Lets start out with the great things:

Accuracy:
The Trix is very, very, very accurate. It will put ball on ball on any target every time you need it. The Trix and my Ego are about the same in accuracy and you can't find anything that will out do you on the field.

Speed:
The stock board is a fine board if you are not able to go right out and get a new one. In fact, you will find that it's not a real necessity to get another. If you have messed with other high ends, the stock board is no different. The nice thing about the Trix is that there is a wide amount of boards to choose from. Tadao is a great way to go if you are looking for a new board.

Efficiency and Consistency:
The only real problem with any Trix is the poor efficiency that you get. If you were like me, I had the stock bolt in and was getting like 800 rounds or so. I was able to get the red bolt kit and got more. If air is easy to get and you don't mind the trips to fill up, then this is not a problem. If you don't like the idea of running to the fill station after every game, you NEED the evolve kit.

As for consisency, I never had a problem with shoot down or drop off. I can tell you that I was always, and I mean always in the 277-286 range all year long while I had it. The key is to get really good regs. The only choice to go with is the AKA line because of the incredible success that I had with them.

Other features:
This gun is super low pressure. Mine was an absolute dream because you couldn't chop with or without the eyes because of the low pressure I used.
Conclusion: That is all that needs to be said. If you have a chance at getting one of these things, don't hesitate. They are going for less than $350 these days and that is a steal. Trixes have a weight issue but if a trix is killing you that much, you should consider a different sport. Trix LCD = 10/10 easily. One of the best guns that I have owned ever!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

bs576 Friday, February 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2004 ICD Gen2 Freestyle
2005 Dye DM4
2006 ICD Freestyle 7
Marker Setup: Freestyle 7
Halo w/Angry Board
Centerflag 68/4500
Dye Ultralight
CP roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
Evolve X-93 Bolt Kit or Evolve V1 Bolt Kit
Barrel
Strengths: Reliable
Smooth
Fast
Accurate
Weaknesses: Heavy
Inefficient with stock bolt
Review: This is a great gun and you can get one of these pretty cheap these days. It is pretty much going to shoot just like a DM4/5, but it is a little heavier. These are very reliable and if something is wrong it is an easy fix (99.9% of the time it is just an o-ring or low battery). They are easy on paint, accurate, smooth and very fast. If you put an evolve kit in these guns they will deliver phenominal efficiency. Great gun for anyone looking to get in the tourney scene and wants a great gun to hose from the back with.
Conclusion: Get this gun, you will not be dissapointed. A marker that is a 10 would be weightless, put every ball on top of each other out to infinity and would stay perfectly still while shooting. This one gets a 8. Because it is a little heavier than the competition these days.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dacanadian Tuesday, January 31st, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dye/proto, angels, other high ends
Marker Setup: DM3 Owned by Rob S. of Trauma
Evolve bolt kit
C4 mod
Halo w/ v35or victory
Ultra lite
45/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao M5 5.0 board, evolve bot, couple of other internals, and c4 mod
Strengths: Light, fast, good gas milage, and nice millage
Weaknesses: Depending on internals, gas and the board sucks
Review: Very good marker, light fast durable, and not to mention sexy lookin. I love matrixes, i can take them apart with ease and they last forever. My matrix was used in a tourney scene by a pro for about 2 years nonstop and works as well as the first day. Love the milage on the trixs, some are gas hogs but i have evolve and c4 so i get another couple houndred to the tank.
Conclusion: Very good if you can get a deal off the nation or locally.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

K1M6O Friday, January 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I dont know any similar products to his gun
Marker Setup: Dye Matrix 03 cobalt
Dye lcd sticky
68 3000 nitro duck tank
Empire reloader B
Black Ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
trigger(maybe)

Strengths: Quiet
Smooth
Fast
Sensitive trigger
Weaknesses: A lil heavy
Box like
Review: This gun is the best gun i've shot...... Amazingly smooth and quiet and extrememly fast.... I love this gun and its just amazing..... I have nothing to say..... This gun is an overall the an amazing gun and just shoots nice and smooth..... Just one thing that i dont really "like" is how its box shaped and a lil bit heavy but besides tat its an amazing gun.
Conclusion: If you bought this gun..... Your one good person
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Psycotron-Alex Saturday, January 7th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
an m4 it was SO much lighter
Marker Setup: lcd Matrix 2003, stiffy, crossfire 68-45, halo b, cp asa.
Recommended
Upgrades:
nice barral a new gun
Strengths: Fast, quiet, sometimes it fires
Weaknesses: Breaks alot, rough on paint, very very very heavy, air haug
Review: I got this gun after geting an Ion. I got it because i needed a good turnament marker that was reliable. I got the wrong gun. This gun is soo heavy, even with a stiffy barrel on it. It is fast when it works. I sugest getting a different gun!!!!!!!!!!! This gun sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: get a different gun like a dm5 or higher, intimidator, angel, or a ego. I have had so muck trouble with this gun. the only reason i didn't burn it was because someone bought it off of me.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

Rotoman1 Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm4,shockers they are similar in function to old school trixie
Marker Setup: i currently shoot a cobalt to black dm4 with predator chip (pure sweetness)
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a barrel, a good lpr, a snatch grip, the gun is great out of the box
Strengths: VERY fast, VERY quiet, VERY accurate, VERY reliable.
Weaknesses: Spool valve systems use lots of gas. its not very efficient.
a little heavy.
Review: The matrix design is very simple and reliable, IF, you maintain the bolt o-rings. they have to be lubed with a light non-petroleum grease. ie NO VASELINE. Matrix muck works really well. The worst problems ive seen with the matrix involve lack of maintenance, and user error.
You really have to keep a religious maintenance schedule to keep the gun rollin.
you cant wait till you have a problem to fix it. You want to prevent problems not fix them.

the matrix is crazy fast and accurate with few chops because of the excellent eye system.
The solenoid is also a strength, because ive never seen one go bad. ive seen people over pressurize these things and with just a little reg adjustment they are back on
the field.
the use of a halo is a must to insure the highest level of performance.
these guns are being sold dirt cheap these days (about the same as an ion) and for what you get you really can't beat the bang for the buck.
Conclusion: my over all opinion of the matrix is its an excellent design. If you want a high end gun minus high end price the matrix is for you. if you buy one used make the owner take the bolt out. examine it for scratches and proper lube. bolt should be greased and have a wet look to it all over. especially on the top hat area. if its all scratched up the gun has not been maintained properly.

buy it you regret it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media