paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye Matrix LCD / Dye Matrix LCD / Dye Matrix LCD / Dye Matrix LCD

Dye Matrix LCD Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye Matrix LCD

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye Matrix LCD
[ View Photos (36) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 114
Average Rating: 9.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $950

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Dye has taken the Matrix to a new level of performance. They have added new front and bolt regulators, milled the grip frame, added a new thumb screw for the backplate and improved the stock barrel.

The new DYE Matrix LCD comes straight from the factory with built in anti-chop eyes that keep the gun from breaking paint in the breach when rapid firing.
Product Availability 
The Dye Matrix LCD is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
PaintballNasty1 Sunday, July 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
The Proto, Shocker, DM4, DM5, those are the most similar and i'd say that the dye matrix is quieter than that shocker, keeps up the speed with them, and is as accurate as them all.
Marker Setup: Silver 04 Dye Matrix LCD with Sidewinder Bottom Reg, CP Front Reg, CP Sling Blade Trigger, CP Mid Rise, Dye Ultralight Barrel, Black Back Plate, CP ON/OFF Rail, Function ON/OFF, Odyssey Halo w/ Rip, Tadao 5.0 and Musashi 3 Chip, Nitro Duck Tough skin adjustable output.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo, Barrel, Feed Neck, Tadao Board and Musashi Chip, Front and Bottom Reg. a sweet drop, trigger.
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, Quiet (quieter than shocker!!!), electronic adjustments, upgradable, Consistent, NO CHOPS!, Efficient.
Weaknesses: Heavier than newer matrixes and fat/wide.
Review: Excellent gun.

Strengths: This gun is very sweet. Even without all my reccomended ups this baby shoots great right out of the box. If you've never shot one of these the first thing that you'll notice is the slight recoil. This can be expected in many guns and is not really that big of a deal and is nice once you get used to it. Then theres the speed. The gun shreads without ramping or anything and the blade trigger feels great and the stock trigger feels pretty good. If you're not into shooting fast for some reason ( you think when i buy this i'm gonna conserve paint and shoot with one finger but when you get this you'll want to rip it) then you can adjust the back pulse/ front pulse to be more consistent and shoot slower. If you want to shoot fast then you just asjust it and remember to use the instruction book if you don't know what you're doing. The gun is really quiet as well i've gotten many comments on how quiet the gun is. BALL ON BALL. Very accurate and consistent. I've never chopped paint using the matrix(eyes). lots of shots to every tank fill. Easy to use.

Weaknesses: Apart from weight which isn't that bad compared to old cockers, angel 4 speed and a lot of guns, this gun is great. In comparison to the proto, dm4,dm5,dmc the dm3 is heavy but you'll probably be able to deal with it.
Conclusion: Great gun which you should definutely buy no matter what player you are. Some people say that the gun is a midi/ back person and that the new matrixs are front which is based on weight but you decide.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gdog5 Thursday, July 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dm4, 5, other spoolers
Marker Setup: Angel 05 Speed
LCD Matrix
Ion
other guns....
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are really needed, but a cp roller is good
Strengths: Quiet, Fast, easy to maintain
Weaknesses: Wieght definately
Review: I got this through a trade and i am very satisfied with it. The speed of this gun is insane even for it being older. Most people overlook the matrix because of its age but it is just as good as a dm4 (with a 5pound wieght attached). It makes very very little noise and has no kick. Maintanence is easy as the whole assembly can be taken apart and greased with little effort. Finding the right way to put it back in is all about memory and there are a lot of sites that can help. The lcd screen is nice as settings can be changed easily. Its also nice to know what temperature it is while playing i guess. Mine doesn't have eyes, but with a halo on it i dont need them. Plus i have yet to chop or break a ball in it.
Conclusion: Pick one up, at an average used price of around 450 its a great overall gun. Its only issue is the weight but after a whle of playing with it, you dont even notice it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fattybackman Wednesday, June 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i have used a warmachine asault 80 and the only thing that is the same is the bolt
Marker Setup: i have a 2003 matrix lcd with a cp roller trigger and,feedneck. a dye mini rocket,backplate,sticky grips, and hyper 2 reg. and an empire barrel kit with a cp rail and asa to top it off
Recommended
Upgrades:
roller trigger
cp locking feedneck
mini rocket
empire barrell kit
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Accesability
Weaknesses: Weight
Review: I love this gun the only thing i dont like is the weight but i guess it doesnt matter when ur a backman. The gun stock is so fast and can spray paint like no tomorrow.all in all it is a vary fast and accurate gun. if you have the money to get it than i would reccomend it. like i said the only bad thing is the weight. i would reccomend you try it out or atleast hold one
Conclusion: It is a good reliable gun
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

brendan f Wednesday, June 15th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
spyder rodeo- with e-frame doesn't compare
proto matrix- lighter and a little better looking better stock more gas efficient
lots of other mid to high end guns
Marker Setup: black 05 dye matrix LCD with enhanced board
cp roller bearing trigger
cp low rise feedneck
68/4500 crossfire hp tank
halo B
cp on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
new feedneck
new barrel- stock one is good though
new trigger wave/cp
virtue chip
new bolt for better efficiency
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Few upgrades needed
Cheap for what you get
No kick
Quiet
Weaknesses: Heavy
Ugly
Bad gas efficiency
Review: Okay well i got my matrix lcd in January. The gun rips i can walk it up to 17 bps and i have slow fingers. the marker is heavy. heavier than a impulse. if you are a average to advanced tourney player this is the marker for you. I can get about 900-1000 shots off my 68/4500. this gun is great for a back to mid player. consistent accurate fast and reliable. The bolt is a little difficult to take out and re lube but besides that the gun is pretty easy to maintain. im giving it an 8 out of 10 because of the weight the looks and the gas efficiency. but if things like that don't bother you than go buy it. They are only 749 dollars. This is my favorite gun i have owned so far.
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you are a intermediate to advanced player you wont be disappointed.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

SHIBBYSHABANG Monday, June 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Similar products I have used are the proto and dm4. They are smaller, lighter, faster but offer the same accuracy in my opinion.
Marker Setup: Dye matrix lcd with the 04 lpr, aarvark bolt, ccm lowrise, and a check it uni-mount
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recomend a halo, new barrel (stiffi, ultrlite or any kind of kit), adjustable feedneck, aarvark slam or evolve bolt, and obviously a unimount.
Strengths: The accuracy, speed, and quietness are the key strengths.
Weaknesses: The key weaknesses are the weight and size.
Review: I bought this marker knowing the strengths and weaknesses. I knew the weight was more than other guns and the size was bigger than other markers I have shot. I put a halo onto it and loaded my hopper, turned on the uni-mount and pulled the trigger. I noticed some kick from the bolt. After I messed with the regs, forward, and back pulse I got it were there was very minor kick and i was able to shoot faster. According to the lcd i was achieving 14 balls per second. I was very pleased with my matrix. As far as the gas consumption goes, it gets 1200 shots off a 68/45 with the stock image bolt. To get better gas efficiency, I bought a new bolt. The evolve, which was my first choice, wasn't being made anymore. The evolve gets 1700 shots off a 68/45. My second choice was the aardvark slam bolt. I bought that for around $140. That gets 1600 shots off a 68/45. I was very pleased with that. I adjusted the forward pulse and back pulse again and started ripping. The matrix seemed more quiet with the aardvark bolt. My matrix was one of the most accurate and fast guns I have shot.
Conclusion: I recomend the matrix to anyone who is looking for accuracy and speed. I give it an 8. Its an all around good marker if the weights not a very big concern. If you want to spend a little more cash, I would recomend a proto, dm4, or dm5.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, June 21st, 2005 at 11:12 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

chris154321 Tuesday, May 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
alias timmy
dragon timmy
Marker Setup: Black matrix
dye ultralight
tadao 5.0
FBM wave trigger
check it feedneck
Recommended
Upgrades:
FBM wave trigger!!
new barrel and feedneck
Strengths: Very fast and acurate. Very air efficient
Weaknesses: Heavy. Not a light gun!
Review: Over all this gun frekin rips. Its only problem is the weight but when your in a game you kinda forget all about it. The insane speed makes up for it. if you like bounce and ramping get Tadao 5.0 board its worth it. Stock LCD screen is helpful to you!
Conclusion: I reccomend getting this gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Ropesofpaintxxx Thursday, May 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Well... My Old Speed I Had And I Say A Viking.....
Marker Setup: Well A Custom Paint Job On My DM3... Fuction Low Rise.. CP Roller Trigger.. Halo B
Recommended
Upgrades:
A Low Rise and A New Barrel.....
Strengths: This Gun Is Super Quite, Fast, Looks, Shoots Darts.....
Weaknesses: Heavy.... This Gun Is Almost I think 3 Pounds.... And Its Really Bad On Air.
Review: Well let me start...

Strenghts

This gun is crazy.... Its a nice gun to have..
Lcd is really easy to read.... Its super fast and quite..... This thing shoots darts were ever you point it.. The LCd also has a built in game timer... A beeber to tell you when that game is over... A bps count and how many shots you have done scines you got it...

Weakness..
its really heavy to all the new guns out there... The bolt is a beasty to clean.. There 8 parts on the bolt and you have to clean them all and lube them... It also only gets around 800-900 shots off a 68-4500
Conclusion: This Gun Is Still One Of The Best Guns To Have Out There... There Are Tons Of Up Grades You Can Get For it and Can Ba Used In Any Tourny Out There..
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

carnagekid12 Saturday, April 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 trix
dm4
dm5
shocker
alias timmy
Marker Setup: Blue Halo
Toxic Spikes
CCM No Rise
3-A Knock-Out Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Side Winder
CCM No-Rise
Barrel
and definitally a halo
dye stickies
evolve bolt kit
Musashi 3 board
Strengths: This gun is great. Its cheap, shoots INSANELY fast, and is very accurate
Weaknesses: The weight is just about the only bad thing
Review: hey guys I LOVE THIS F'IN GUN. This gun rips like no other trix ive seen. This gun is soooooooooooo fast and is amazingly accurate i got it and went to the local park and i was one ballin people left and right. I LOVE IT and for the price its AWSOME
Conclusion: If your thinkin about gettin a dm4 or a dm5 id suggest this bcuz really the only thing they did to the dm4 is the milling and then the dm5 just has the milling and 1/2 in. cut off thats basically it. Not to mention the price w/this gun u will defenitally be able to keep up and/or outshoot all the angels & timmies
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

madman1545 Tuesday, April 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
impulse- the matrix owns it
Marker Setup: dye matrix w/ ndz low rise clamping bolt kit and new chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
if u want trigger board feed neck barrel
Strengths: Quiet acruet
Weaknesses: A little heavey but light comapred to my imp
Review: Well i bought this off of a ref at lvp and it's great
the eyes r awesome and it never chops i was useing a revy all day and i didnt chop once the lcd can be conusing but thats nothing u dont get used to....it's just a great gun
Conclusion: Buy it
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

MatrixBaller04 Tuesday, April 12th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
BKO. Doesn't compare at all!
Marker Setup: 2004 Dye LCD Matrix, CCM Clamping Feedneck, Dye backplate, Evil on/off w/rail, Dye Ultralite, PBC LPR, C4 Backplug, DM4 Grips, LP PE 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao M3, Evolve Bolt Kit, Barrel (For looks)
Strengths: Accurate, Quiet, Decent Efficiency, NO Kick, Consistancy, Basically everything about it. LOL
Weaknesses: None
Review: I first got the gun and took it to the field and aired it up. I had a small leak out of the back plug but that was because I had been messing around with the bolt the day before. So I took out the bolt, cleaned it, and lubd it up with some Slick Honey. Worked perfectly after this. The regs on the gun were very easy to adjust. And this gun is very consistant. I was getting +-2 over the chrono. The trigger is also very easy to walk. I was hitting 14, but I have slow fingers. And the trigger is also easy to rake. I can rake at around 18-20BPS. The gun also has awesome looks. A lot of people say that the body is too plain, but I dont think so. The gun is also very very quiet compared to most other guns. I shot it beside a timmy and was suprised that it was quieter. And there is BARELY any kick at all. When you pull the trigger, your like "Did it shoot???"
Conclusion: All in all, I would say that if you are looking for a cheap high end tournment gun that will never let you down, is easy to maintain, and has awesome looks, to go with the Matrix. Best gun I have ever owned.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (12):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media