paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Palmers Pursuit Shop Fatty Stabilizer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Fatty Stabilizer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Fatty Stabilizer / Palmers Pursuit Shop Fatty Stabilizer

Palmers Pursuit Shop Fatty Stabilizer Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Palmers Pursuit Shop

Buy Palmers Pursuit Shop Fatty Stabilizer

Paintball Regulators

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Palmers Pursuit Shop Fatty Stabilizer
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 12
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $89

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
92:1 Ratio. 400 psi max, 600 psi gauge included. Same recharge rate but more consistent at lower pressures.
Product Availability 
The Palmers Pursuit Shop Fatty Stabilizer is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
duckshepherd Wednesday, March 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI Pure Energy Reg, Gen X-2
Marker Setup: PMI Piranha Pro TS G3, Pro-E Frame, Tear Drop Barrel, Revy w/ empire re-load upgrade, ram air chamber w/ modification, Flush cocking system, Rocket Valve, Boss Bolt, Fatty Stabilizer, Dark Horizon Titanium Striker, Chameleon spring kit, CO2 w/ anti-siphon, also use HPA
Strengths: Fast Recharge
HPA and CO2
Very Consistent
Built Ford Tough
Easily Adjustable
Affordable
Guage Included
Weaknesses: Break-in period between adjustments
Guage hard to remove
Review: I've been using the reg on my Low Pressure converted Piranha for the past couple years. I had problems with the recharge rate on my stock Pure Energy Regulator for pressures under 400 psi, so I figured an LP reg like the Palmer Fatty Stabilizer would fix that problem.

It worked wonderfully.

What I like about it:
HPA and CO2 Compatible - This was a huge plus for me, since most LP Regs like the Gen X-2 don't like CO2.

Inexpensive - The quality cannot be beat at a price of $90. That Gen X-2 Reg I used was over $200, also an LP Reg, and the Fatty reg is just as consistent... after the break in period. The Gen X-2 was a bit harder to adjust, but didn't need much of a break in.

Fast Recharge - My frame tops out at 15 BPS, and at 275 psi, I don't experience any shoot down.

Very Consistent - Give or take 2 BPS, not bad for a blowback like the Piranha.

Built Ford Tough - I got mine in chrome (also available in black). It's short in stature, and has a nice mass to it. It's hefty, but not heavy.

Easy to Disassemble - You don't have a mess of springs to worry about when you open this thing up, just one big main spring. I hated opening that Gen X-2 Reg... man. Palmer sticks to the KISS principle with the Fatty.

Easy to Adjust - One allen screw at the bottom, screw in, screw out. Slam bam, thank you ma'am.

Comfortable to Grip - I have this thing screwed vertically into my ASA, and it works good as a grip there. Fits well in my hands


What I DON'T like about it
Break in Period - Initially, the break in period is like 2000 shots. But there's still a bit of a break in period with this thing everytime I adjust it. First 50 shots, +/-10bps, After about 100 shots it starts getting between +/-2bps. Not that I've actually counted the number of shots that it takes to break this thing in, I'm just guestimating. It takes a little while longer than I'm used to with my Pure Energy Reg though.

Guage - I like how they include a guage with this reg, but I wish the guage wasn't pre-installed. I actually removed the guage from the reg and installed it in the port on the side of my ASA block. The guage was threaded with lock-tite, so it wasn't easy to remove, but luckily, I have access to a machine shop.
Conclusion: The Palmer Fatty is a great reg all around. I really love the fact that it works well with both CO2 and HPA. The construction is simple, and its tough. It's well worth the money for the consistency. The break in for this isn't much of a deal if you don't tweak your gun all the time like I do. Once you get this thing broken in, you'll fall in love with it. Shoot down... NOT AN ISSUE. For these reasons, I give the Palmer Fatty an 8.9.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 7th, 2007 at 3:46 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

buzzboy Friday, November 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock BKO reg(sucks)
Marker Setup: ICD BKO
14"Ultralight
Rikochet AK
92/45 Crossfire
Ion Duckbill
Palmer Fatty Stab
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: None so far
Review: I just got this reg not too far back. My old reg sucked. I had only played with it for 1 day and it crapped out on me. That night I went to air up to show my friends my new gun and the guage showed that the full 850 psi was going into my gun. Luckly I had my LPR turned way down so I didn't blow my noid.

I did a little research and started looking at the fatty. It was either that or the CP long reg. I opted for the nicer of the two and got the Fatty. Today I finally got all my macro/my duckbill and my stab all on my gun. FIrst it looks great. I have a blue BKO with all black parts. Looks awesome. Next came the test. After I had tefloned all the macro fittings and set it up I hooked up my tank and I loved it. I set it at 220 psi and fired about 30 shots really fast. The guage didn't even move. Not even a shutter. Later today I will go out and play with it and edit with more info.


EDIT:Played with it today. Shot just fine. Great consistancy. Near the end of the day we tried it with unsiphoned co2 and it still kept my input at 220 almost exactly. I give it a big thumb up.
Conclusion: A little costly but the best reg I have ever seen. So far I have seen that it provides better shot consistancy not broken in than a newer model maxflow broken in. : )
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 25th, 2005 at 5:48 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedo96024 Wednesday, June 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Factory stabilzer
Marker Setup: Tippmann A-5, flatline barrel, E-grip, 12" teardrop. fatty stabilizer,
Strengths: Great accuracy and consiticy
Weaknesses: Expensive but you get what you pay for
Review: I play woods ball and I wanted something that would help with accuracy so I went to the local paintball dealer and he showed the fatty stabilizer. He set it up on my A-5 and had me shoot some practice shoots out side and it was amazing I would suggest for any one with 90 dollars to spar to get this. It is also very durable since all I do is run through woods and slide down hills and climb up hills. So all around a great upgrade to any one's gun.
Conclusion: Go out and get this you will be amazed with it It is a all around great product.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

cyfider Sunday, April 3rd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: realtree 98 custom flatline, RT, LP kit w/palmer fatty lp regulator, drop forward w/47 3000 nitro, empire reloader
Strengths: Consistency and High Recharge Rate!
Weaknesses: Guage gets in the way when screwing in vertical CA for M98.
Review: I use this reg on my LP set up m98. It is very consistent and has a very High Recharge Rate!!! I fired as fast as I could on my RT and never had a sign of shootdown or "burping" (with blowback guns) whatsoever. With my gun running at about 325psi, it is alot easier on the paintballs and I break close to none during the day when shooting marbs. Though it is still brand new and hasn't been broken in yet (1000-2000 shots), it still performs flawlessly out of the box. This is even backed up by a PPS lifetime warranty!!! For the price, this beats all other LP regs on the market. Since I essentially got this reg for free, I am not complaining about anything(see story below). Overall, great reg for a great price; you can never go wrong with a product from PPS (and their lifetime warranty)!!!!!

I first ordered a black fatty LP reg. They then sent me the wrong one, so I called them up to see if they would send me the right one. Since it was out of stock, they said they would credit it back to my accnt and just charge/ship it to me when it came in. Turns out they sent me the nickel one (which costs more). They never took the $68.88 credit back I payed for the black one I wanted, so essentially I got this great reg for free.
Conclusion: If you have the money to get this (i got mine free), I would recommend it. With this reg (black one) costing $89 on PPS's website, it is a little steep although some places online have the black ones for $68.88. I would give it a 10 but the reg guage gets in the way when screwing it into the CA of my M98 (need to fiddle with it to get it to fit). I give it a solid 9.5! GREAT REG; WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED!!!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, April 18th, 2005 at 6:15 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

ArisugawaSorata Saturday, March 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Only tested stock Electra DX reg
Marker Setup: Spyder E-99 Avant
14" J&J Ceramic, CiP Sweetspot, New Designz Low-rise Clamping Feedneck, Palmer's Male Fatty Stabilizer, Maddman Products Rocket Valve, Dark Horizon Titanium Striker, PMI Piranha Flush-cocking bolt (custom adapted), Dye Sticky 3 ESP Grips
Viewloader eVLution II w/ Y-board
12 oz Pure Energy CO2 (non A/S)
Strengths: See review section
Weaknesses: See review section
Review: Strengths:
Low Pressure Operation + + + + +
Runs 600 psi and lower very consistently.

600 psi Gauge Included + + + + +
Not many companies do this.

Fast Recharge Rate + + + +
Can recharge on CO2 in strings (12 bps+) even as low as 250 psi.

Size + + + +
Shorter than most regulators.
Fits well in hand, isn't any longer than the grip frame.

CO2 or HPA operation + + + +
Designed to run either air system.
Almost no shoot-down, even on non A/Sed CO2.
Would recommend A/S CO2 however.

Pressure adjust screw placement + +
Not particularly special to have the screw in the bottom of the regulator, but I like it and find it easy to adjust on the fly.

Weaknesses:
Pressure fluctuation - - -
This is mainly due to my CO2 tank not being A/Sed, more a specific problem for me.
As said above, A/S CO2 if you're going to use it.

Air Input Placement - - -
Gas line comes in the side at the top, opposite the gauge.
Not as easy to hold with the gas line on one side, but can be rotated using the O-ring trick.

Low Pressure Input - -
Must have a gun setup that can run 600 psi or below or you will damage the regulator spring.

Can leak when you get it -
A little teflon tape around the gas line connections and ASA threads will solve this problem.
Conclusion: If you have a fairly low pressure setup (whether a higher pressure gun modded to run low, or a naturally low pressure gun) this is a great regulator. It is consistent in operation and does well with either CO2 or HPA systems. I would recommend anti-syphoning your tank if you're going to use CO2 for better consistency and less shootdown problems. The few weaknesses are easily solved or personal preference. If you can deal with the gas line coming up the side of the regulator to where the regulator input is, this is the reg for you. I find it still works very well for a fore grip. It's compact size fits your hand and your marker well, no worries about it getting in the way. And hey, it comes with a gauge installed! How many regulators do that?
Palmer's Pursuit Shop gets my vote on this one.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 19th, 2005 at 9:29 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

matrixman55 Wednesday, October 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
hyper 2 that came on my trix...the 2k3 stock reg i used to have on my bushy
Marker Setup: black dye trix
black palmer fatty stabalizer
black ccm mid rise clamping feedneck
pure energy 68/45
chrome cp razor drop w. chrome aci on/off
3 pc phat kit..uppin to an edge kit or lucky 15 in a lil bit
black halo b (shattered durin a dive)
black eggy 2 with z board
blue reloader b
Strengths: Comphy...oh yea.. waaay consistent.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Okay..this was one of my few chrismas presents last year, and it has performed beyond belief, havent lubed it yet. This thing nailed the velocity down to +- 4 with my bushy, and +-3 on my trix...with bad paint mind you. Very sturdy, and comes with a guage that hasnt busted on me yet, through many slides, dives, and shots taken.
BUY NOW
AWESOME REG
Conclusion: Great reg, consistent, lighter than a flo, and just as if not more consistent..not to mention cheeper.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

UMP45 Thursday, September 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
CP, Shocktech, Gladiator, Sidewinder
Marker Setup: A5
ICD B2K 2004
Strengths: Its a Palmer
Very Consistent
Weaknesses: See below
Review: The reg works very well but it initially had a leak. The pressure would keep climbing and wouldn't hold the psi.
I took it apart and put teflon sealant (not tape, the one in paste form) on the threads around the brass plug and the problem dissappeared.
It works very very consistent once that issue was solved which didn't take long.

This reg went into an Imagine with LP setup and worked great. The marker burps at 310psi. I set it to 325psi and no matter how fast I shoot it, semi and auto, it wouldn't burp. The reg just wouldn't let the set psi drop even 10-15psi on full auto.

Customer service with Palmer has always been helpful so if your reg ever breaks, a rebuild kit is only $5 or you can send it in and they fix it for free. I doubt that you'll ever have to do that though.

The insides is very simple to take apart. You just wonder how something so simple can work so well.
Conclusion: If you got $80 to spend on a reg, this is the one to get.
What more can I say? A good reg.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrguru Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months28 of 30 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I have used the Palmer stabilizer, the stock wgp reg, a messiah, and a few other types that I have only tested.
Marker Setup: '03 VF Cocker, Worrblade, Nexus Kit, Palmer Fatty & Micro Rock, Stiffi switch kit, 88/5K Pure Energy Tank.

Tippmann A-5, E-Grip, Flatline or 12" J&J ceramic, Solid Stock, Palmer Stabilizer, Tasco RedDot.
Strengths: Comfort
Consistency
Reliability
Ease of use
Warranty
Weaknesses: Price
Gauge is semi-permanent
Possibly looks
Not for all markers
Review: I have used various types of regs. Up to a point, they all perform much the same. If you are shooting under 13 or so BPS, it makes little difference how fast it recharges. Lots of Paintball is all hype. That being said...

This is round and comfortable. It will make the older Stabilizer feel clunky, and make the Max-Flo feel like holding business end of a hammer by comparison. That means the ANS feels like a hedgehog by comparison. This is not uncomfortable to use as a handhold, is not too long (like the Stabilizer) to snag on brush below your hand. The only reg I have used that is close in comfort is the Black Magic reg by WGP.

This is VERY consistent in its output at high rates of fire (15-18 bps) making ropes of paint easy to shoot. Unlike the WGP regs, which I have seen lots of issues with consistency, these are spot on. They are easy to adjust with an allen wrench when you need to, but don't "get bumped" while on the field. And if you don't have your marker "get bumped" during a day of paintball, I dare say that you are not playing.

I have yet to have a reliability issue regarding the Fatty reg. It is a very consistent part of my marker, and if functions the same every time I use it. No shoot-down if I launch into a 18-20 bps, hopper emptying run (and of course my marker is bouncing like crazy. I won't lie and say I can do that without some help from the marker). There is no FSDO (first shot drop off) if I let it set any amount of time. The reg holds it air, and the same amount every shot.

The Fatty is easy to use, and easy to figure out how to adjust. Ever used a stock WGP reg? You have to take the air fittings off to adjust it. It takes fine-tuning a marker most of an hour to do. This reg? 2-3 min tops.

Warranty? I have not had to send anything in I have ever gotten from Palmer. That being said, they stand behind their products, and fix it if there is a problem. That is important to me. I can't afford to buy new parts very often, so my money needs to go towards quality upgrades the company will stand behind. Paint is too expensive to have to pay for repairs as well.

Now before you start digging for the credit card, notice I brought up things like "quality" and "afford". What does that usually mean? It means you pay for what you get. If you don't have a high quality marker, it is my guess that you will not need to invest in this. Why? Because the quality of your reg is the least of your worries. Having a highly consistent reg will not make much difference if the rest of your marker is totally inconsistent. There are cheaper routes to go that will handle your needs. However, if you have to have some of the best equipment that you can find, this is it.

I am not a big fan of the gauge used on the Fatty. The guess itself is alright, but I would like to run my gauge elsewhere in the system. I will not bother with trying however, because the gauge is very well secured by heavy-duty loctite. It is not going to be replaced easy.

I will also be honest that this is not the first choice for a flashy marker. Palmer will eventually come out with annoed and chromed versions, but still will look less impressive than the black magic. Myself, i don't have a problem with this. "Flashy" and "woodsball" have little in common. I went with function over fashion. I would rather look a little less cool when I am out playing, than having the best looking marker that is in 12 pieces in the deadbox, while I try to make it work.

This also is very important to most users. This a basically a LP reg. It will not work on most (or all) stock Spyders, Piranhas, and Tippmans. It will work with an LP Kitted A5 or m98, but not on a stock. The pressure cap is around 600psi max. It is an awesome upgrade for a cocker however. I have yet to see a better stock reg on a cocker.
Conclusion: If comfort and consistency are your bag, this is a good reg. It will cost you, but the cost is typically worth the price. I personally have not used anything better, but have definitely used worse.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 29th, 2004 at 12:35 am PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

vgoal97 Thursday, April 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Torpedo Regulator
AIM68 Regulator
Marker Setup: Nemesis Intimidator

aim18+ black cocker body
aim trigger frame
aim 15 degrees asa, front/back block
bolts and o-ring from aim
wgp valve set from yck Distributing in ebay
dye clear Grips
dye pnuematics
AIM68 Regulator
System X Carbon Fiber Nitro Tank
STO 03 Ram
KAPP Ball Detent
Adrenalin Barrel .689
Strengths: Consistent on both HPA and CO2
good Low Pressure operating
fast recharge rate
Weaknesses: price $85, otherwise this reg is perfect
Review: I bought this reg for my timmy. It's extremely consistent. Then i do not see a lot of differences between using HPA and CO2. i'd highly recommend to timmy and cocker players, especially timmy. Easy to install with 90 degree elbow too. Greatest reg i ever use. this reg rocks!!
Conclusion: i'd give it a 10 if this is not that expensive
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

nixxed Wednesday, January 14th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock wgp reg - egro reg.
Marker Setup: 2k3 worrblade with lots of goodies.
Strengths: VERT consistent. Never gets shootdown. PPS warrenty
Weaknesses: doubt you will find one, i cant
Review: I wanted a new reg becuase my stock one wasent as easily adjustble for sweetspotting and so on. I had used my brothers egro reg numerous times but wanted something different. I read up about the fatty and decided to give it a try, seeing as my micro rock has never given me any problems i trust palmers products. I simply love this reg, its very consistent over the chrono +/- 2 and has never given me shootdown.
Conclusion: I recommend this to anyone looking for a reg that can handle extreme low pressures and is consistent with no shootdown, backed by a PPS warrenty
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 14th, 2004 at 6:14 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (2):  1  |  2
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media