paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical / Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical / Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical / Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical

Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical
[ View Photos (12) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 68
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Aluminum Swing Trigger
Custom Milled 45 Frame
Wrap Around Grip
Micro-Body Design
Quick Release Bolt
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel
Custom "Fly" Beavertail (sold seperately)
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun Dragunfly Mechanical is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
zzmoney Saturday, April 3rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
98 custom
Spyder e99
Marker Setup: Dragufly Mechanical(stock)
nitro
vl200
Recommended
Upgrades:
nitro is a must (don't use co2) it'll freeze up
barrel
electric hopper
Strengths: Quite
sweet looks
grip
doesn't break balls
quick
Cheap
Weaknesses: HEAVY
HEAVY TRIGGER PULL
Review: I purchased this gun for 200, and its worth every penny. i have not yet used it in a game but i've put about 500-1000 balls through it. when you get the gun the trigger is super heavy ( hard to pull) and its kinda hard to get used to. However, i haven't broke a ball yet, and i even loaded two in the chamber, on accident, and they didn't break. the gun has awesome looks, and is compact. it is really heavy (heavier than my 98 w/ the flatline on it) but i don't mind. The grip on this gun is great I love it, it is soft and goes great w/ my hand. I only have the stock barrel so the accuracy is a bit sketchy but i don't think it is that bad. I can't wait to bust this baby out at my field.
Conclusion: Buy this gun! it's great for beginners or the tourny player. with an electric hopper and new barrel this gun will compete with angels and bushys. I'm giving it a nine because of the weight and the trigger pull.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

forat2 Friday, March 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98, Spyder E-99 (P.O.S), '99 Side feed Autococker , Tippman A-5, Pirana G2
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mechanical Autococker
14" CMI Barrel
Halo LCD
68 CI 4000 PSI Compressed Air
Sticky grips w/ LCD
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel #1
Spring for trigger pull
Strengths: Cheap, looks cool, accurate
Weaknesses: Trigger Pull, 3 way hose came off easily
Review: This gun looks great! it is a mix between an Autococker and Angel body. I would reccomend getting an upgraded barrel, I have a CMI 14" that I got for $16.50 and it works awesome. I played in a tournament and had no problem keeping up with the guys with mags, cockers, and Impulses. Since it is a closed bolt gun it shoots a heck of alot further then a Spyder. My old Spyder only shot about 2/3 as far as this gun does. Just make sure you have a motorized hopper with it, DONT EVEN TRY PLAYING W/ OUT A MOTORIZED HOPPER!!! and make sure you use nitro/compressed air, CO2 will freeze up the internals. The trugger is really heavy but I fixed this very easily, the spring is around 1.4 inches long so what I did was stretch it out a little and then cut it down to 1.4 inches. This lessened the trigger pull ALOT. You still can't walk it but I can still shoot pretty fast with both fingers on the trigger.
Conclusion: Overall this is a nice gun and for the price (I got it for $189.99 brand new) its great, looks cool and can keep up with the cockers. Get some upgrades for it and you should be fine.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

sotight91765 Wednesday, March 24th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 03 VF-not as good and more money.
WGP Outkast-way nice
WGP Black Magic-very nice
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mechanical
ACI Bulldog 3 47 ci 3000 psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Nitro
Clip springs-Very easy to do
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Price
Looks
Low pressure
adjustable regs
Weaknesses: Spring
Barrel bolt and valve are not cocker compatible
Review: First off almost any auto cocker that is even $100 more isn't as good. This gun is very accurate and quiet. The only difference between this and the WGP VF is $100. Some are saying that the gun isn't cocker compatible. all the parts except valve bolt and barrel(although the front block itself isn't the same you don't really need to upgrade that). The ram is compatible as long as you buy a minicocker pump rod with the ram $12. The spring is very hard. All you have to do is take off the grip, lift the spring out cut about 1/4" off and you have a normal pull. This gun is awesome looking especially compared to many other cockers in the $250-350 price range. My shot grouping at about 45 ft. was about a 3-4 in. spread. I shot a boomstick with it and it went to 1 in. spread. I highly suggest it. Oh yeah the bolt can be made into cocker compatible by putting a new back block on or you can just buy one of the few bolts made for it already. The gun also doesn't break balls much because the gun runs at 180 psi! Thats about 1/4 of spyder guns and 1/2 of most cockers even some expensive ones. Also this came timed perfectly when i got it. All I had to do out of the box was turn the inline reg up.
Conclusion: Buy it. especially if you have been looking into a WGP VF. The guns are just as accurate and quiet.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, March 24th, 2004 at 7:43 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

LaNcerZ469 Monday, March 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VF Cocker (better pnuematics, doesnt look as good as the fade)
Marker Setup: Spyder Xtra
Palmers Stabilizer
3A Barrel
Eggy II
ESP Frame
32* Universal Drop
Custom modded venturi bolt Crossfire 68/ 4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW BARREL, Anti-chop bolt (from dragun), custom fixes (check review), revy
Strengths: Price, look, accuracy
Weaknesses: heavy, NEVER USE CO2
Review: Ok, my friend asked me to take this gun and fix the timing and trigger pull for him (he played with it too much) and this is how i started to use this marker.

he messed up the pnuemaitcs so he would short stroke, gun wouldnt re-cock, and his FPS didnt make it past 50 feet. (we were using co2 and everything freezed up even dry fireing sucked)

After i got my nitro i started all the dirty work. First i set his regulator at about 175psi and i has to reset his LPR. After these two regs were set CORRECTLY he wasnt short stroking anymore and cocked everytime after (remeber using nitro now)
At this point his fps wasnt up yet but thats just simple velocity adjustment where the cocking rod is.

Now the trigger pull out of the box s*cked n*ts. It honestly felt the the tigger was rusted and the pull felt like a regular mech spyder. After taking the trigger frame off the marker, i oiled the area where the trigger and the sear made contact and the rusty feeling went away after some trigger pulls (duh oil it!). For the trigger pull i just took the grip off the frame, took out the sear spring (its sitting right there can't miss it) and cut it a LITTLE! This solved my buddies trigger problem.

This gun is great for starter upgrading from a spyder beacuase the quietness and accuracy is great. After some quick fixes and Nitro this gun is a real beauty for the price. On top of the Dragun made the barrel threads spyder threads so if you are upgrading from a spyer or something like that, your "high priced" barrel you just bought will not go to waste! Also its a little on the heavy side, but i like it like that.
Conclusion: All in all, this is a great marker, if i had to choose a marker around $250 this marker has great performance and looks. With my few mods and good care... this cocker is the best if yoru trying to step up your game without a grip of money to be spent

I give it a 8
10 for price,looks and performance
6 for crappy trigger pull and self fixes
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

scottydog Sunday, March 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
vert auto cocker
Marker Setup: dragunfly 21" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel
Strengths: quite
looks great
feels great
shoots great


Weaknesses: very high matinees
heavy
un balanced
Review: actually this gun is great after u use it for a day or two and please read the manual don't matter what u think just read it over and over again ull be glad u did because u dont want to abbuse this gun and clean and oil after games and be care ful about the phenumatics
Conclusion: great gun worth the money
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, March 23rd, 2004 at 8:35 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

PB_Matty Monday, March 8th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Rebel Deluxe, Doesn't compare
Jt 5.0, Doesn't compare
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mech
Delrin Bolt
ACI Zero Gravity 12.5" Graffiti series Snake Barrel
Evo II
114ci nitro duck
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
E-hopper
Nitro
Delrin Bolt
Strengths: PRICE, duh
Performance
Looks
Weaknesses: The tigger is somewhat hard, but serviceable.
Review: I was a little skepticle of this marker, but still though it would probably be a good step up from my JT. I have been nothing but pleases since receiving my Dragunfly. I bought it for $230 including a regulator, macro line kit and drop forward as well as the delrin bolt. It is also the special black to red fade edition. I took it out of the box when I received it and was pleased to discoer that nothing leaked when I screwed in my air tank, and the gun was already timed and shooting perfectly.
The next day after I received it I took it out to play. It was approximately 50-55 degrees out so I expected a few breaks. I did get a few, but they only happened while I was using up some old dimpled practice paint. As soon as I swiched over to my Severe Cyclone the breaks stopped, and I was very impressed with the accuracy. One of the great things about these markers even compared to the Autocockers they are supposed to be worse than is the four piece spring, ball bearing ball detent. These detents are great because they prevent double feeds and breaks, but they also alow you to shoot just about any bore size paint without having to wurry about the balls rolling out of the barrel.
Conclusion: This gun is a steal at any price under $300. The performance and consistency as well as the cool added features like the ball detent make this gun a winner.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 8th, 2004 at 1:03 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dragunuser Friday, March 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Never used any other closed bolt cockers, only open bolt blow backs.
Marker Setup: Blue Dragunfly mech, System X LPR, bottom line to adapter with on/off, 68 ci 4500 psi HPA, new barrel and revy w/the x-board. I shortened the stock trigger spring and thereby lightened the trigger pull substantially. It fires easy and fast now. (Don't take off too much though... or it won't fire at all.)
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel and soften the trigger spring.
Strengths: Great price, super quiet, very accurate, spyder barrel threads makes finding barrels easy.
Weaknesses: Original trigger pull heavy. Upgrades are still a little hard to find (besides barrels).
Review: My friends are envious and I enjoy it a lot. It has been awesome to play with. People are just so amazed at how quiet it is when it fires. It has Good range and very good consistancy/accuracy. Not sure how a delrin bolt will help, but I might try one soon.
Conclusion: If you don't have a cocker yet, and you don't have $500 (or more) to get one, then buy a Dragunfly. I've been killing the guy with the Angel as much and at the same range as he has me.... he paid $800 for it. The Dragunfly is well made and does what the other cockers do. You can't beat the price. So even if you have the extra money to buy the "real" cocker... buy a Dragunfly and use the extra cash on paintballs like I do.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

kmorris1 Thursday, February 26th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 WGP Autococker
Marker Setup: Dragunfly Mechanical
Empire Reload Hopper
Derlin Bolt
48cu/3000 psi nitro tank
Rest of gun is Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Barrel - stock is pretty nice, but I recommend a new one if you have the money (freak, freak jr., dye boomstick, etc.)
Trigger work - If you don't like the stiff trigger, get some spring work done, or buy some new springs, or just buy a new frame.
Strengths: Accuracy
Milling
Price - got mine for 195 on www.ontoppaintballcom
Takes Spyder threads
Quiet
Weaknesses: Doesn't take CO2
no other weaknesses
Review: I just bought this gun about a week ago. When I took it out of the box, the first thing I noticed was the milling. This gun looks amazing. After I disassembled the gun, I oiled everything and then reassembled. I shot about 500 rounds testing the gun out and everything worked fine. The accuracy of this gun is great. It is also very quiet. When you shoot the gun, all you hear is a sound as the ball leaves the barrel. It is almost scary
Overall, the Dragunfly Mechanical is awesome. It is a great buy at the price and anyone who like autocockers should get it.
DO NOT SHOOT THIS GUN WITH CO2. If you do, your parts will freeze up. Go with nitrogen or compressed air.

EDIT/UPDATE-------------- I have now shot around 2000 paintballs and only had one break with my empire reloader hopper. Pretty awesome gun
Conclusion: Get this gun. It is a great gun for Intermediate players as well as advanced players with a lower budget. With the low pricetag, this gun is a must have, even if you only buy it for a backup gun. You can't go wrong buying this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, July 15th, 2004 at 6:55 pm PST
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

anthonydata Friday, February 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
a black maxx (really good for very cheap)
and a jt excellerator 6.0(never buy one they suck so much cock u dont even know)
Marker Setup: Mechanical Dragunfly
D-Reg
Ricocher 2k hopper(really nice)
3a 68/3000 fiber wrapped tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
hopper, tank, spring definitley(or new trigger frame because stock 1 is really homosexual)
Strengths: very acurate!
very reliable
very air conservant (only 200 psi!)
Weaknesses: the only weakness of this gun is the spring in the trigger frame
Review: this gun is the best cocker i have ever used for under 500$ (and its only $200!) it only has 1 problem: the spring in the trigger frame just go to home depot or lowes or any hardware store just buy a lighter spring its so awesome when i first shot it though. all my friends were like, "that gun sucks the fat 1." now there sayin that its better than an 03 cocker. thats how nice it is

o ya dont forget to lube it with some kind of oil, i use household oil stuff, it makes the trigger pull so much lighter! u have to do that!
Conclusion: very good recomended to any one who wants a nice cocker for cheap just buy a spring for 50 cents

Peace Out!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Dragunfly888 Tuesday, February 17th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 cocker
Marker Setup: Dragun mech
10" carbon fiber barrel w/SS back
lots of stock barrels
12V Revi (old skool)
Dragun reg
Aci bulldog 3 68/3000
Dye rhino cover
Sping kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel
HPA
New springs!!!!!!!!!!
Jam bolt
Strengths: Low pressure operation!
Autococking marker
Closed bolt
Weaknesses: Chopping
trigger (heavy as a brick)
Kind of a fokker.
some parts not cocker compatible.
Review: This gun is nice.
It really needs new springs for the hinge frame. Its accurate and cheap for an autococking type of marker I payed 240 on ebay shipped!
kind of fast if your used to the pull.
Beaver tail blows.Ive been cut from it a number of times its sharp!
looks sweet. Has adjustable reg/lpr/3-way.
Conclusion: Get this gun if you dont want to spend 1000+ on an ebladed cocker lkie my friend.
Itis kick in the butt good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (7):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media