paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 169
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A bend sensor in the feedneck, a unique Ricochet feature, signals the loaderís electronics as to when a ball has fed and the agitator must be spun. On the rear of the loader, the Apache features an LCD control panel with a built in game timer. Ricochet development expects the production model Apache to feed at speeds of 17 to 19 balls per second. While factory rated to 190 paintballs, the prototype held 180 without pressure on the paint. In testing, the prototype emptied itself very efficiently in 10.0 seconds of its entire capacity yielding an emptying rate of 18 balls per second. This should not, however be confused with an on gun performance rate where the flow of paintballs has more of a start and stop nature.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
hokiefan1 Sunday, May 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
None
Marker Setup: spyder pilot ACS with Ricochet Apache and warrior feedneck
Strengths: Fast and I like the design
Weaknesses: Can't really think of any
Review: I bought this hopper off of ebay for $50(including shipping) and i got it and tried it and it was FAST! I was surprised out how fast it was for how cheap i paid for it Great hopper espically if you do not want to spend alot of money.
Conclusion: Great hopper would recommend
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Lonestar2222009 Tuesday, April 24th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Eggy 2 and revolution maxxed
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom: Gravity feed body, Stock Class body, standard barrel (14 inch) 45 degree grip frame. And Bottom line setup.
Strengths: Sort of fast.
Weaknesses: Vulnerable "bend sensor", breaks real easy.
Review: Alright i got this hopper and it fed very well but my friend got a hold of it and it broke. but when i brought it over to my best friends house we tried to fix it. when my friend licked his finger to remove the paint from the sensor and touched the metal pieces on the sensors wires the hopper all of asudden spun and it lived once more. we then figured out what to do with it we "TAPED" the sensor to the side of the hopper's shell and now when you play you have to lick your finger and touch the wire to make it work.

This hopper is fine but this little incident really made me think about the way the hopper works. the hopper is STRANGE now but hey it feeds and it has many kills on it now.

This little sensor issue is the ultimate hopper security system (No One besides me and my friend really can use it effectivly) with this in place you look stupid but hey it feeds.
Conclusion: It's a good hopper buy one if you can but be careful what you do with it, if it stops feeding naturally put some water on your finger and touch the sensor wires.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Cookie Monster Monday, April 23rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
gravity
tested eggs
Marker Setup: ion:
ricochet apache led
3000/48

98 custom
9oz
gravity hopper
tippmann double trigger
Strengths: Ummm it is agiatated
it feeds faster than a quantum
deflection system works
Weaknesses: Overpriced
doesn't actually feed 20bps
bad resale value
Review: ok this is going to sound like a different company bashing this hopper. I am a normal non-company paintball player. first off this hopper was way overpriced. 80 bucks for a non-force feed, come on. Next 20bps is a load of it. It will feed an ion but it isn't as good as a halo b(cough up the extra 20 bucks u wont regret it) Bend sensor technology doesn't work. if it jams ur screwed. I've heard the lcd version you can press a button to spin propellors but i've never used it, this is on led version. Sense it is not a force feed junk paint like monster balls jam in the feedneck, its a pain to get working again. All mess ups aside the deflection system works great...it bouces it off the hopper...sometimes into the mask. It is really lght though. This hopper would work good on gunss like espyders and pirannahs. Selling it and getting a halo b. If you wanna buy it pm me.
Conclusion: this hopper is not good for ions and better so i give it a low rating. If you got an e-spyder or the like its an ok to good hopper. i'll still give it an alright rating becuz it does work.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, April 26th, 2007 at 6:57 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

b_schiffer Monday, April 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none,
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Ion
Custom Products Regulator
Black Heart Board
TechT L6 Bolt
Ricochet Apache Loader with custom speed feed
Raptor Rex 68/4500 w/ Empire Cradle
Strengths: Durable, can be gravity fed deflection
Weaknesses: Had to make a speed feed.
Review: I was going to get a Halo or Empire, but came across this for extremely cheap. and since its better than my Reloader. I got it I can honestly say I have not had one problem out of this hopper. Its lighter than the Halo and since I keep my gun at 15bps Ive never outshot it even when I tried to. Another good thing is the design to deflect shots. I didnt think it would work at first but after a couple of snap shooting drills I can say it works. except when it deflects off the hopper straight onto your mask.
Conclusion: Minus some accesories this hopper does it job very well it feeds paintballs faster than I can shoot, Works for me...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmbxvii Friday, March 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Hoppers
Eggy
Marker Setup: Invert Mini
14 inch stiffi
Crossfire 45/4500 HPA
Ricochet Apache e hopper

Apparel and what not:
Empire e-vents
Empire Fastpack
Strengths: -Shape
-Weight
-Spinner is easy on paint
-semi fast
Weaknesses: -Popcorn effect for last couple balls
Review: I've had the apache for a while now, and I'm bored so thought I'd write a review. Above I told you all the key strengths and weaknesses, but here I'll explain them.

Overall the shape is unique and I personally like it. The hopper is extremely light, among the lightest I've ever held, and "tight." You can push up against the side of a bunker good with it, like the vlocity. The spinner is very easy on paint, but it also has a down side. The "popcorn effect" occurs during the last 15 balls or so, causing them to bounce around the inside of the hopper. The shape doesn't help in that case, unfortunately. It's not that big of a deal. The hopper advertises 19-20 bps, but that I believe is an exaggeration. I would say 16 constantly. Good hopper though
Conclusion: Good hopper if you don't want to purchase some of the wallet emptying ones.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, March 9th, 2007 at 8:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lesko5 Monday, March 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
halo b
eggy with z board
Strengths: Stylish look
Weaknesses: Jams easily
Does not stay tight on gun
Low battery life paintballs
Review: I've had this hopper for about 5 months now and every time i've been using this hopper i've had problems. Atleast twice when i'm out to play this hopper jams. Its such a pain when your behind a bunker and your hitting the hopper to un jam it. Ha. Another thing i disliked about this was that it would always come lose when when i would play.
Conclusion: I dont recommend this hopper to buy i found it to be a waste of my money. The disadvantages out weigh the advantages by a lot.
Rating:
3 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dannythemanny Sunday, March 4th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
VL 200
Marker Setup: Spyder Pilot ACS
Ricochet Apache LCD
Check It Products clamping feedneck
Dye Ultralite barrel
20 oz Co2
Strengths: Speed
Low profile
Very lightweight
Good on batteries
Weaknesses: Uhhh......the feedneck is just a little bit high.
Review: Strengths-This is a very fast loader that i would reccomend to almost any player. I own the LCD version and i will say that if you are on a budget then don't get the LCD you won't use it very much unless you are playing in a big, timed, scenario game, but i really dont think it is worth 20-30 bucks more for that. It is a very lightwieght loader which is very good for a front player like myself. I haven't really been hit on the hopper yet so i haven't seen the deflection thing work yet, but it is VERY low profile. Looking at there is only like one place where i could see a ball break on this thing......the feedneck but that will happen with whatever hopper you have. This thing is a very fast loader. A full hopper will empty itself in like 10 seconds which is about 20 bps. This hopper also holds alot of paint. It holds about 200 paintballs, I know it says only 180, but if you shake it down like a pod it will hold 200.

Weeknesses-Not many in this department. Ummm....if you fill it up too much it won't feed (if that is even considered a weekness cause it happens to almost every loader). The feedneck is a kinda high too.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this product to just about anyone. Save your money and don't buy the LCD, it isn't worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

csmith1199 Wednesday, February 7th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
halo b w/rip, vlocity, egg 2 and 3
Marker Setup: Nexus All American Planet Eclipse eblade autococker
Freak kit with All American snub tip
CCM clamping feedneck
WGP torpedo drop on/off
Strengths: Speed
"Deflection Technology"
Weight
Weaknesses: The bend sensor is a love/hate thing
Review: This loader is definately the sleeper loader of the paintball world. It's got a feed rate of 20 bps, and an LCD screen, and it's the lightest loader I know of, yet it's only 75-80 bucks.

Build: This baby is rock solid. The shell is nice and hard, with few imperfections on it. The lid is sort of in an odd position, but you get used to it after a few games. The "deflection technology" is hotly debated, but it does add a nice look to the loader. I've never seen anything to tell me it works, but then again, maybe that means it's doing it's job right? I'll leave that up to you to decide.

Speed: Well, what can I say, this thing is pretty quick. It's not quite as fast as the halo b or the vlocity, but like I said with the egg, how often do you really shoot over 20 bps? Really? So it will get the job done just as good as all the other loaders.

Bend Sensor: This is a love hate thing. I don't really mind it, but sometimes it can get caught on itself for half a second and try to load. Not a big deal, and it doesn't seem to eat up the batteries, but I'd prefer eyes instead. But, the hopper does load fast so it does do it's job well.

Conclusion: Bottom line, this is definately a sleeper loader. When most people go shopping for a loader, they don't even take this into consideration. Maybe Ricochet needs some more agressive advertising, but I'd say if you are looking for a new loader in the egg price range, definately check this one out before you make a decision. I feel it's a lot better quality than the egg, and you get more for your buck
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pmshooter Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
EVO2
halo b
vl quantum
Marker Setup: promaster
48/3000 worr gas
evo2
dead on drop/forward asa combo w/ on/off
Strengths: Durable.
Good for stealth.
Small.
Weaknesses: Slow, but not to slow.
Review: This particular hopper is good for mostly woods or scenarion players, i say this because it is able to keep up with the rate of fire that most woods or scenario players use. The 2k apache also has quite a few interesting features in the computer such as game clocks, shot counter, etc, plus with the deflection tech from Ricochet this is a harder target thn say a evo 2.
Conclusion: This isn't your average plastic crap hopper it's durable and reliable, though i recomend air ball players to use halos, evos, or vlocitys, this is awesome for woods or scenario!
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dmz boy Saturday, January 6th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B,VL quantum,Gravity fed's egg,egg2,egg3, vlocity, revvy
Marker Setup: TIPPMAN A-5(BLACK)
BT APEX BARREL
R-5 HOPPER
PCS SAW STOCK
DELUXE REMOTE LINE


PILOT ACS 05'(RED TO BLACK FADE)
SMART PARTS 14 INCH PROGRESSIVE BARREL
HALO B WITH VICTORY
TRINITY Q LOCK FEEDNECK
PURE ENERGY 3000PSI TANK(FIBRE WRAPPED) WITH DYE RHINO COVER(RED AND BLACK)
DYE STICKY 3'S(BLACK)
Strengths: Very cheap
Holds 190 more than a Halo
Game timer
"Deflection design"
Weaknesses: Lid
Shell appears brittle
Slow down
Looks weird..(see review)
Review: Well this was my first electric hopper it was a nice hopper but then mine broke the agitator stopped working and when i sent it in they said they did not make parts anymore-____-. There customer service from what i saw didn't impress me very much.

STRENGTHS

PRICE: Well this is a very well priced loader they go for about $70-80 that very fair considering Halo's Pulses and Reloader B go for 120-170. It is definitely the best high end loader out there for the price.

CAPACITY: Well the Apache hols the most out of alot of loaders. The Apache holds 190 while the Halo only holds 160-170 so it definitely pulls off a win in that category.

GAME TIMER: Well this is one of the nicest features about the Apache it has a game timer. No more trying to guess how much time is left or waiting for the ref to yell 5 minutes! The Apache really has something awesome no other loader has except the FASTA.

DEFLECTION DESIGN: Meh it a personal thing some like some don't. The design is supposed to get you bounces however alot of times it either spears the ball on the front of the hopper or you end up taking one to your face. However it does work i have has plenty of bounces off my hopper.

SPEED: Well it doesn't give you 22bps or 32 or anything but 17 is good for most paintballers. It pretty hard to get a marker going over 17 so the Apache has you covered.

WEAKNESS'S

LID: I hate the lid on the apache it is very very annoying to get used to however when you do get used to it,it's not that bad. The lid also seems tipsy and fragile however I haven't has any problems with it.

SHEll: The shell on the Apache seems very thin. However i have taken many close range shots to it and no cracks have occurred. If you however were planning on using this hopper for a long time you may want to watch for any cracks in the shell.

SLOW DOWN: Well remember the Apache is not a true force fed loader it is in a class of it's own. The apache isn't really agitated nor force fed. It is basically an agitated hopper on steroids. However since it is agitated and has no "runway" for excess balls to lay in the Apache slingshots balls when there is only 20-30 left in the hopper. This slow down isn't a large problem because usually by then you will be dumping a pod in.

STRANGE LOOKS: Well lets remember the apache is a high end loader and would be placed on high end guns ie. IONS, Bob longs,Angels Shockers etc. these guns are all designed for speed ball and the Apache has a military look to it-__-. That just seems strange to me. Putting a military style loader on a brightly colored gun that isn't scenario minded. It just looks kind of silly on those kinds of guns.

NEUTRAL FACTS

FEEDNECK: The o rings are ok i guess but i prefer a hopper neck that can be sanded down to custom fit your type of feedneck. ie Halo, Pulse etc... The o rings provide a decent fit so it's neutral.

BUTTONS/ALARM: The buttons on the Apache are small and hard to use with gloves on. However this is good so you don't accidentally push the wrong button. Secondly the alarm that emits when the hopper turns on is very embarrassing. You will have veryone turning to look at you. However it's good to know that your loader is on and ready to go!

FEEDNECK SENSOR: It is very unique and battery oriented since no eyes are required. However sometimes the balls will more up just a small amount in your feedneck. Just enough to trigger the sensor causing it to try to shove balls into your breech. Possibly causing a breech chop.

NOISE: The apache is not quiet nor loud. It is loud if it were on ALL the time.ie vl quantum etc When it is agitating you know it but really it's not enough to give away your position.

CONCLUSION: A great hopper for the price. it will keep up with your gun unless you shoot over 17bps. It has it's share of ups and downs i prefer the Halo only because it has no slow down and seems very sturdy. However it is the best priced high end loader.
Conclusion: Get it if you don't need over 17bps if you do save up for a Halo. i'm going to give it a 7.5 because it does have it's share of problems/concerns however it does have some neat features!
Rating:
7 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media