paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache / Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Ricochet 2K

Buy Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache

Paintball Hoppers / Loaders

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache
[ View Photos (21) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 169
Average Rating: 8.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $129

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A bend sensor in the feedneck, a unique Ricochet feature, signals the loaderís electronics as to when a ball has fed and the agitator must be spun. On the rear of the loader, the Apache features an LCD control panel with a built in game timer. Ricochet development expects the production model Apache to feed at speeds of 17 to 19 balls per second. While factory rated to 190 paintballs, the prototype held 180 without pressure on the paint. In testing, the prototype emptied itself very efficiently in 10.0 seconds of its entire capacity yielding an emptying rate of 18 balls per second. This should not, however be confused with an on gun performance rate where the flow of paintballs has more of a start and stop nature.
Product Availability 
The Ricochet 2K Ricochet Apache is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
DarkEliteSniper Sunday, September 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
VL200, Revvy, Egg2, Reloader II
Marker Setup: BKO with 14" System X Two Piece Barrel
Strengths: Deflection engineering, speed, battery clip, feed sensor
Weaknesses: Awkward lid, motor sound
Review: I've been really happy with my Ricochet Apache. In my own testing I've found that it does live up to what the box advertises, it does feed about 20bps. I'm pretty sure the deflection engineering would work however I've not been hit in the hopper yet while using this hopper. But, the front profile is really small looking and I'm pretty confident that if a ball hit it head on it would deflect in some manner. The battery clip for the hopper is really nice, you just put 2 9v in and pop it in the hopper. It won't come out during play and it's very easy to take out. The way it detects when to feed is very effective too, once you shoot it starts feeding every time, works like a charm, and you'll never have to worry about dirty eyes or what color paint you're using. The only complaints I have is that reloading the hopper can be awkward at first with the vertical lid. At first I was spilling paint left and right but, the trick is to tilt the hopper and pour it really helps. Secondly, the motor when running makes a high pitched whining noise. Doesn't really effect the functioning but is semi-annoying.
Conclusion: I would reccomend this hopper if you're on a budget. It can easily be found for $60 or less, and it feeds as fast as you'd need it to.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

dragonblood2005 Wednesday, September 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock tippmann hopper- just ur standard run of the mill stock hopper
Marker Setup: tippmann 98 custom act with r/t,
Ricochet Apache,
apex barrel or 4 barrel set from empire,
Strengths: Fast,
Reliable,
Cool looking,
Actually bounces balls
Weaknesses: The auto shut down does not work
Review: Well i got this the moment i had upgraded my tippmann and put in a response trigger and it has never let me down since i got it. this thing is awesome it keeps up with my tippmann with no problum i have never dried fired once. and the design actually works it will actually bounce balls sometimes at the end of a game i look at my hopper and there are perfectly circle oil patterns on it where the balls bounced off also this is very light

only problum i have had with it was that the auto shut off doesnt work for me there were times where i would pack up after a day of paintballing and then realize much later that the hopper is still on no big deal and it could just be mine but just a annoyance
Conclusion: I would recommend this product if u have a marker that shoots around 15 or so bps that what i set my r/t to and it hasnt failed me ever
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 20th, 2006 at 11:12 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RoguesPbJ Monday, September 11th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo B


Marker Setup: Diablo Wrath LTD, Ricochet Hopper, 71/4500psi tank
Strengths: -Weight (Light)
-Speed
-Looks
-Fitting
Weaknesses: -Top Loading
-Battery Case
Review: Strengths

-Well the apache hopper is an all around good hopper. It's low profile and sleek look make it very attractive to many beginning and experienced players.
-For its weight it cant be beat, its is so light compared to a Halo B or an Empire Reloader.
-It's feed rate is a constant twenty balls ber second, my buddy and I tryed it on both of our guns (Wrath, Ion) and we could just barly out soot this hopper, maybe it slow one ball out of twenty.
-The fitting i like it because the hopper comes with o-rings and can be fitted to mostly any feedneck very easily, the most you would have to do is get a clamping feed neck and you would be all set.

Weakness

-The top lading feture is not really bad but isnt good with practice any player can avoid exposing himself to relaoad.
-The battery case it looks cool sucks its hard to get out and when it gets ground down falls out but a strip of duck tape fixes this, and a new case is like a buck so its just a small drawback.
Conclusion: I like this hopper and would recomend it to anyone who was starting out, i mean its no halo but you have good reason to keep it for a while.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

asianshooter Friday, August 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
the quantum sucks just sins the whole time
revy 9volt
Marker Setup: 32 degrees 14 whisper barrel ricochet apache hopper nwpp 15 degree spyder block new designz high preformance valve crossfire 70ci 4500psi tank and dye sticky grips 3

hybrid cocker
psycho balistics drop forward with on/off
14 inch stiffi
macroline kit
sto ram with qevs(makes it alot faster)
rat valve

talon with red dot
12inch psyder barrel
co2 hopper holster
polished internals
Strengths: Fast
Cooler looking than other hoppers in my opinion
The ball deflection
Orings
Weaknesses: O rings
Kinda sits high on my auto cocker
Loading is hard

Review: Definatly recomend this, it is so much better than the eggy.looks better and also stays in the feed neck alot better than other hoppers. The o rings are awesome but after awhile the o rings broke and i ad to get new ones, none of the shops around me had any so i had to special order them.
Conclusion: Any ways a great hopper graet price and just completely awesome.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

The King Tuesday, August 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
EggyII, Halo B, Reloader B, Revvy, etc.
Marker Setup: VSC Phantom
2k5 Intimidator
SP Ion
SP Impulse
PMI E-Force GTI
98 Custom

Strengths: Light
LCD (some models)
(relatively) Cheap
Battery life
Weaknesses: Slow feeding when there are only a few paintballs left
Review: This hopper is so light, especially when compared to a halo. I would take this over an EggII any day because of the superior balance. I own both. While the Egg does feed a bit faster, the Apache has way less problems and seems to be built with higher quality materials. It is also nice and quiet, barely noticeable when shooting. The only downside is that when there are only a few shots left, it tends to slow down...not a problem because usually people reload when there are only a few shots left.
Conclusion: Definately buy it. Great buy for the money.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Curly Fry Tuesday, August 8th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
none just gravity
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 custom
20inch tactical barrel
20oz c02
stantard hopper
and-
alias intimadator
stock
with the apache loader of course
Strengths: Cheap
Light
Ricochet
Faster than it claims
Weaknesses: None
Review: This is no doubt one of the best loaders out there. i got my alias intimadator 2 weeks ago and so i ordered this because it claimed 20 bps so it looked good enough even though i modded my gun to shoot 26 bps. so i went to a field to chrono it in and i did that but while i was doing that i noticed they had a bps station thingy and one guy was gettin 21 bps with his angel so i chanlengged him to a shootout type thing anyway long story short my apache fed 24bps! and he got to 22bps and i won 500 rounds! i own it all to my alias intimadator with alot of help from my apache loader.

Update: this loader blew itself out while i wass playin wich was catarousfic so i called up ricochet and they said i had the 04 model and that they would send me a new 05 apache for free because of the inconvience! i was so surprsed that i was going to get a new apache loader but it took 4-6 weeks delivery so i had to buy a eggy with x board so i could play the 4 games we had to play in that time frame. DO NOT BUY EGGYS! MY EGGY LOADER GOT SHOT AND ALL THE PLASTIC DID WAS CAVE IN! THEY ARE HORRIBLE!
My new apache bounces the balls off and feeds 18-20 bps check out the apache on http://www.warpig.com/paintball/technical/loaders/apache_rev
iew/index.shtml
Conclusion: Buy it its incredibly fast and ive never had a problem with it except for it blowing up but ricochet sent me a new 05 apache loader for free!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 2nd, 2006 at 5:11 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

50's pride Tuesday, July 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Gravity fed loaders
Viewloaders
Cyclone feed system
Marker Setup: spyder pilot acs with richotte hopper, sticky grips, pure energy psi tank, regulator and evil"the pipe" barrel system
Strengths: Fast
Looks cool
very hard to get hit on hopper
alot of colours
Light
Weaknesses: It has a loud beep when it comes on( a little embarrassing)
BAD constomer service
Review: Ok i've rewritten this review to compare the apache with an egg 2 since these hoppers are usually compared i want to straighten out any questions people have about both hoppers and i have experienced both so i know what i'm talking about.

1.Speed
Apache:19 balls per second
Egg:17-19 balls per second can be modified to 22 or 23 but extra costs apply

2: Looks
Apache: looks really military style but looks extremely cool on some speed ball guns
Egg: looks like a big blob or an egg

3: Sensor
Apache: bend sensor in feed neck which makes the agitator spin
Egg: rotates constantly after each shot

4: Lid
Apache: top loading lid can be a bit flimsy but is not a problem
Egg: folding lid that seems to fall off easy

5: Game Timer
Apache: 60 minute timer with low battery indicator
Egg: no timer but has low battery signal

6: Feed Neck
Apache: two o rings on a standard feedneck that keep it fairly secure
Egg: a slightly tipping feedneck which appears to be fragile and isn't super secure

7: Batteries
Apache: 2 9 volts
Egg: 2 9 volts

8: Deflection Technology
Apache: I've only had 2 breaks using this hopper in 6 months
Egg: Several breaks but you get some deflection

9: Cleaning
Apache: harder to clean but you wont have alot of breaks to clean
Egg: easy to clean but you will have more breaks

10: Over All Value
Apache: I payed 120$ Canadian for this although you can probably get it for 100$
Egg: People tell me they payed about 80$ - 90$ Canadian but you can probably get it for 75$

11: MOST IMPORTANT reliability
Apache: I've never had this break down on me yet or even jam(Very reliable)
Egg: For some reason with many egg's i've noticed even with new batteries it turns off for no apparent reason while cycling.(Average)

By the way I am NOT hating on the Egg and i'm NOT being bi-ass to the Apache i like both loaders but i think the apache stands out alot more

EDIT EDIT EDIT(please read): alot of reviews are written and sometimes are not eddited well i have edited this to adress how horrible ricotetes constumer service is for gods sakes i sent my broken hopper away and it took 1 month of using a g fed and guess whut oopsy we cant fix it we dont fiz these. Like WTF so im sellling this hopper and a bought a halo b which accually has a 1 year warranty this hopper has none if your looking for a good hopper that reaks and there is bad contumer service buy this.
Conclusion: Apache: A awesome loader if you want to easily reach 15 bps or more works good on higher end spyders autocockers or a gun that shoots 19 bps or more.
Egg: A good hopper if your gun shoot 12 to 15 bps but not so good for more then that because of reliability issues.
Rating:
5 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, September 23rd, 2006 at 1:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Drewbacca Sunday, July 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Evolution II, Empire/Halo B
Marker Setup: PM6
Musashi 5 board
CP two-piece barrel
Crossfire 68/4500 HP
Empire Reloader B

At time of review:
Smart Parts Ion
Smoke Ricochet Apache LED
Warrior clamping feedneck
ANS Roller trigger
14" CP Classic one-piece barrel
Crossfire 68/3000 HP
Strengths: Price
Weight
Speed (for it's class)
Consistency
Durability
Weaknesses: Nothing major.
Lid is on the top, takes some getting used to.
Review: Note: I have heard many people complaining about inconsistent firing in the Apache when the hopper is nearly empty. I have not experienced this so far. My Apache is the model 2005/2006, which Ricochet claims is rated for 18-20 BPS instead of the 2004 model's 17-19 bps. I can only assume the slowdown problem was on 2004 Apaches and has been fixed. Also note that this review is for the LED version, which does not have the LCD display.

I received my Ricochet Apache two weeks ago new in box from an Ebay store. The price was excellent at 55 dollars, and I am glad that my tight wallet has not limited my marker's performance. This is a very attractive hopper, was easy to power up, and fit perfectly into my Ion's stock feedneck. First impressions matter, right? I have installed a clamping feedneck out of preference, but know that if you have an Ion and are looking at an Apache, it is not absolutely necessary to spend money on that upgrade.

Firing it was even better. 500 rounds at rapid fire with no chopping, and my Ion never outshot it once (I was ramping at 17 bps). I turned the eyes off just to see what would happen and loaded another hopper. No chops. This loader has performed flawlessly in testing and on the field. I have yet to experience the "ricochet", but I haven't been hit square in the hopper yet (maybe that's why?), so I will add more information on that in the future.
Edit: The ricochet does work, just don't constantly rely on it. It's more of a helpful gimmick than a true lifesaver, but if it keeps you in a few games then I'll gladly take it.

One thing I Truly love about this loader is its weight. This thing is LIGHT, much lighter than a Halo or Egg. This sleek little piece of equipment makes for good snap shooting. It is also VERY durable. It can get pretty rough in the woods sometimes, and this thing takes a beating.

Edit 5/21/07
I eventually switched to a Halo B for my Ion, as the Apache stopped keeping up with it for some reason. My guess is the motor doesn't have much longevity, but it still fed consistently and didn't really slow down all that much. I am still happy with the purchase, especially with the original price. I am changing the score to an 8 due to the motor problem, but I would still recommend this over an Egg any day. Note that I don't particularly like Halos, but it was the cheapest alternative at the time.
Conclusion: I would recommend this loader to anybody who does not like the price, mass, and unreliability of other products in this class. It seems many high-end hoppers are only on some setups to look good. If you don't need to fire over 20 bps, you cannot get much better than this. You can find these for dirt cheap in some places. Ebay stores are a good place to look if you're wanting to save money. If you have a high-performance marker you would be better off buying something faster, but this is a great choice for those of us who are fed up with Halos or just plain don't need them. I am giving it a 9 because it isn't the fastest hopper out there, but it performs better than any other.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, May 21st, 2007 at 1:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

smartprtspntbal Friday, June 30th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Halo b with rip drive and borrowed freinds eggy.
Marker Setup: Smart parts dynasty shocker/ planet eclipse sl66 XSV edition ego with dye throttle 45/45 and halo b with rip drive
Strengths: Very fast loading and never any loading problems!
Weaknesses: Balls tend to glance off side of gun and hit your face!
Review: This was the 1st electric loader i ever had and a very reliable on at that. I played with this loader for 2 years and never had a misloading of balls. It was very fast loader at about 20 bps if not close to. I sold this gun away to get a halo b with rip drive because like i mentioned earlier the balls tended to glance off the loader and hit you in your mask. Besides that this was a great loader.
Conclusion: Buy this to have for now but save for halo!!!
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

jeff91 Friday, June 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
?????
Marker Setup: piranha ext 2k4
smart parts twist lock
pmi 72/3000 hpa tank
fbm trigger
ricochet apache
T-Board
Strengths: Fast enough for a piranha
Fast enough for a Ion
As fast as an egg
Weaknesses: LOUD!!!
Tends to blen weak shelled paint
Review: Not much to say other than it is a great hopper for any gun under 15 bps.
Although it tends to get loud when it is on continually, (caused by fast shooting)
I've heard that you can put an evo 2 impeller in it to make it faster, I'll update if I get a chance to put one in...

Aight guys, it's true... the evo 2 impeller fits on an apache I havn't gotten a chance to test it yet (no paint) but it already seems like it would feed faster... update when I test.
Conclusion: It's a good hopper for a low-end gun
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 24th, 2006 at 1:00 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (17):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media