paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit / MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit

MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount MACDev

Buy MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit

Paintball Barrels

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit
[ View Photos (3) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 22
Average Rating: 9.6 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $99

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Features include:
2 piece design, interchangeable sizes
5 piece kit (3 bores, 2 tips)
Super concentric design ensures that the barrel shoots straight every time
Autococker threading or Spyder threading
Optimum porting for quiet operation and long trajectory
Bonus display/storage case and foam liner
Product Availability 
The MACDev MatchStik 5 Piece Barrel Kit is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
N_toxicated Friday, June 17th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
j & j edge kit 5 piece
stock
boomstick
Marker Setup: b2k4 - cp reg, cp on/off w/ cp perfect rail drop, waiting for vapor valve, delrin pull pin, z-board egg, polish internals, and edge kit

tes - jam anti-chop bolt , maddman rocket valve, psycho drop, polish internals, and matchstik
Recommended
Paintballs:
any, the three bores should fit almost any
Strengths: Quality
its mac dev
accuracy
Weaknesses: Ummm... nothing really, this is a good barrel kit
Review: Well you know you are gonna get a quality product because its mac dev. this barrel system is great. Accuracy is pretty much on top of each other and it cleans through breaks ok, not the best, but good enough. Its worth the Benjamin you have to lay down for it, just as accurate as a dye boomstick, but for a cheaper price.
Conclusion: Thinking about getting a boomy ?.... consider a matchstik
not saying boomstick sucks or anything ... i think they are one of the best out there, but the mac dev matchstik is pretty damn close
buy now now now now
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speakerbox Tuesday, April 19th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
j & j ceramic barrels, progressive
Marker Setup: cyborg- not telling
Recommended
Paintballs:
I would recomend x balls
Strengths: Super accurate. Very quite and its realy cool looking
Weaknesses: I didnt find any problems
Review: Think is a great barrel fo thoughs of you that wont to up grade to a way better barrel set up. you can change the sizes so you wont break paint plus the bore size make you shoot more comsisant. the invest maint is realy worth it. I will give that upper edge from you apponiants. You will have more accuracy and so one
Conclusion: Great barrel get one if you have the $$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

e2frontman Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel
Freak kit
Evil Pipe kit
Marker Setup: 03 Vert Cocker
Eclipseblade E2
Nexus ram w/QEVs
Shocktech Delrin bolt
MacDev Matchstik barrel kit
Crossfire 68/4500 N2
Evo2 loader w/Z-board
Recommended
Paintballs:
Anything round
Strengths: Highly accurate
Extremely quiet
Good value
Weaknesses: Limited bore sizes
Packaging not great
Review: I bought this barrel kit from my boss shortly after I got my stock cocker. The accuracy immediately improved, but the biggest thing I noticed was the noise reduction. You really cannot hear anything from about 15 feet away. As accurate as the Freak kit, and much quiter than the Evil Pipe. Kind of hard to find though, the only place I've seen it is on the MacDev website, www.macdev.net
Conclusion: This kit provides tourneyy caliber performace for a frec-ball price. An all around great kit, from the value to the performance.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

p8ntb2k4pds Monday, August 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Older boomstick and stock barrels but I like the Match Stik kit the best.
Marker Setup: Blue B2K4 w/pds, egg II w/ z board, cp chrome drop forward and on/off switch, macdev 7 piece match stik kit, 68/3000 crossfire tank,
Recommended
Paintballs:
I have only used the barrel once, but I used evil pro paint and it worked very well.
Strengths: The barrel is very accurate and quiet. Cleans itself.
Weaknesses: The outer finish makes it easy for fingerprints to smear but who cares anyway.
Review: A couple weeks ago, I went onto the Mac Dev website wanting to buy the 5 piece kit, but I saw they had a 7 piece as well for $140 so I bought that instead. It arrived in the mail just in time to go paintballing. I took it to the field and tested it on the chrono at first. It worked very well. It was quiet, accurate, and well made. I tested it on the field as well, and I was shooting in very tight groupings. I like this barrel a lot. So far they only have it in black and for cocker threading only, but I'm sure they will soon have it in other colors and threads.
Conclusion: It is a great barrel and I like it a lot. Quiet, accurate and not too expensive, what else could you ask for?
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, August 16th, 2004 at 11:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

RUNandSHOOT Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Dragun The ONE
Recommended
Paintballs:
Marbs, all stars, chronics
Strengths: Accurate.
Light weight.
Cleans well.
Quiet.
Insertless.
Weaknesses: Check for bents in backs.
Case isnt great.
Review: This is a great barrel kit and well worth the money. As stated they are creating a new barrel kit with more backs and also a 10" front. If they sell them separately I am going to buy the new backs and the new front (hopefully they come out with it.) Anyway you can either wait a few months or get this one right now. Both will probably be great. Just make sure you check your backs.

Both barrels are very accurate. I wont go as far to say its ball on ball but the grouping is very very close.

Both barrels are light and from my personal experience it makes the marker well balanced.

I preformed a barrel break test as I found that others have done and after a couple of shots the barrel basically cleaned itself.

Both Barrels helped my marker become very quiet compared to the stock. Very helpful.

Lastly the fact that this kit doesnt have inserts so no more worries about denting or losing inserts. Although it doesnt mean the bore backs cant be dented.
Conclusion: This is one of the best barrel kits for your money. Sure it doesnt have tons of bore backs but the ones you get fit most to all the paintballs you would normally buy. It has done me great for the short time I have had it and it will do great for years to come. I do however must say if you dont have another hundred or so to spend I would personally get a Powerlyte Scepter Kit. Although it has inserts which contradicts my comments here these inserts are very strong and the barrel kit is well worth it.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, November 28th, 2004 at 10:28 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

IraqiFreedomVet Monday, July 19th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Armson, Smart Parts, Custom Products
Marker Setup: '03 Bushie w/ PDS
'04 MacDev Gladiator HPR
'04 MacDev Sonic LPR w/ Ram Gauge
'04 MacDev Sonic RED valve
MacDev micro gauge
MacDev Matchstik barrel set
Zenitram 15 degree ASA
Bonebrake quick disconnect wiring harness
Apache
92/45 Crossfire LP
VForce Morph
Recommended
Paintballs:
Only used a little bit of old Zap Chronic...mainly used Big Ball
Strengths: Extremely lightweight, looks good, extremely accurate
Weaknesses: None that I can think of.
Review: This is definitely a good buy. Instead of spending almost 200 for a freak kit, you get a great deal buying a Matchstik set. I'm not sure how hard they are to find anymore, I just happen to stumble across a brand new set of them for $100. It comes with three different backs and a 12 and 14 inch front. The inside of the fronts and the backs are highly polished with no defects.
I've only played one day with this set, but can already tell a remarkable difference in my accuracy. I was placing my rounds more accurately and more consistently. I also noticed that my range was a little bit farther when using this barrel kit.
Conclusion: Definitely a good buy.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skyjump136 Friday, July 16th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Stock Barrel
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Polished Internals
Poor Man's Lightning Bolt
ESP 3.0 IPI Trigger Frame
Empire Reloader Hopper
MacDev MatchStik Barrel Kit
Recommended
Paintballs:
Pretty much anything...you can match it.
Strengths: Price
Bore / Length Options
Accuracy
Build Quality
Weaknesses: MacDev is "redesigning" the kit to include more pieces.
Review: Overall I have no complaints with this product. The bore quality and milling is excellent. All of the pieces are perfectly aligned and the threading provides a nice tight fit on my marker.

This is a very nice alternative to the Freak. That is especially true since there aren't any inserts to worry about with this kit. It cleans itself of ball breaks much easier than the Freak and you can still match the most popular paint sizes.

Accuracy is everything that you would expect after reading the rest of the reviews here. Since you can match paint this thing makes any paint look decent.

On the downside I have read that MacDev is in the process of redesigning this kit to include more pieces. That would be a shame since the simplicity and low price are what make this kit so great. With more pieces presumably MacDev will also charge more $$$. If you can get your hands on the old 5 piece kit then go for it!

A word about the "case" that everyone is upset about...if MacDev included a nice field case with this kit it would likely cost another $20 or so. I'm glad they kept the price lower and provided a better product. Go pick up a small handgun case at your local sporting goods store. I found a decent one with hard plastic shell for less than $6.
Conclusion: I would get this kit if you can still find the old version. You would be hard pressed to find 6 quality barrels (3 backs X 2 tips) for $99! I just hope MacDev isn't making a big mistake by redesigning an already great product...time will tell.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ian1081 Monday, July 5th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Stock barrel, 3A knockout, teardrop, all-american
Marker Setup: Piranha Pro TS G3
boss bolt
boss blade trigger
C5 adjustable drop forward
2K3 e force trigger
high flow valve pin
turbo valve (stock w/ this marker)
12v revvy
MacDev barrel system
Recommended
Paintballs:
Does not matter
Strengths: 12" and 14" tips, 3 backs, Good looks
Weaknesses: Possible alignment problem

Review: I havent tried a ton of barrels, but I will say this....I'm done testing them now. This barrel system had everything you need. 3 backs (for all sizes of paint) .685, .689, .693, plus it has a 12" tip and a 14" tip. What else do you need???? Oh yeah, did i mention that it was quiet, extremely quiet and dead on accurate. I was at an outdoor field, the guy about 10ft to my right asked me to cover him while he moved up to try and get this guy that was holed up. I sent about 15 shots down range, ended up taking the guy out. The guy to my right asked if i was going to cover him and i told him that i already took the guy out, he gave me a puzzled look and was saying, when? how?...huh?. He said he didnt even hear my marker firing. (thats quiet) I did have a problem with the .693 back having a slight alignment problem with the tips, but the MacDev distributor out of CA said not a prob, and quickly took care of it. If you can still find this barrel system, you better get it, they are disappearing quickly....theres nothing better for the money.
Conclusion: $99 For a possible combination of 6 barrels with all of the most popular sizes of paint being used, why are you still reading, go buy one!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mrm72 Tuesday, June 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Progressive barrel and stock.
Marker Setup: 98 custom
dDop forward w/ on/off valve
Macro line
Lapco direct feed
32*starfire front bolt
Double trigger
Dye sticky 3 grip
Mac Dev 2 piece barrel system
Strengths: Easy to use, accuracy.
Weaknesses: My bore wasa little off from the front part of the barrel sytem.
Review: Great barrel system easy to use and to clean shoots unbelievably more accurate than my progressive. Shoots through breaks fairly well unless you have like 3 breaks. Just the back end was extremely accurate. although my boring size was a tad off in the front part. Other than that this was fantastic for sniping and close range but my favorite combo is definately the .689 w/ small front.
Conclusion: Buy it you will be extremely happy and this won't let you down.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

DISCOUNT Saturday, May 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
stock barrels on various guns. Probably some others, im pretty sure ive used the pipe as alot of the people i know have it.
Marker Setup: Piranha BL
Matchstik barrel kit
stabilizer
15*assualt block
Recommended
Paintballs:
pretty much anything, ive used low quality zap and higher quality RPS and Draxxus
Strengths: Accuracy of course
aesthetics
quiet
ability to match your paint
Weaknesses: sometimes hard to get off your gun as it is very smooth
Review: I have had this barrel for a decent amount of time, i got it pretty much as soon as i got my gun. This product has done nothing but positively affect my game.

Accuracy: even though it only has 3 backs you can still get a mighty decent fit with pretty much any paintball. From approximately 20 feet away (my backyard) it is very easy to get ball on ball accuracy with no aid from a rest, just holding the gun and shooting normaly. From this distance the paint splatter is generally within 2-2.5 inches. At the chrony station there is a target about 50 feet away. Without using a rest of any kind i can get all the balls within about a 5-7 inch circle. The grouping would probably be much better if i had a gun with minimal kick but this is with a low end piranha so its pretty friggin good.

Looks: This is a very simple looking barrel, silver back and black front with straight porting and a small amount of milling on the backs. It is nothing extravagant but it is a very appealing barrel. It has a very smart looking Mac Dev jewel on the two fronts.

The only negative things I can think of when it comes to this barrel is that
a) when it is screwed onto your gun it can sometimes be difficult to get a firm hold on especially if you have paint on your hands.
b) If you ever play in a concrete wharehouse be careful as to not bang it as you will most likely dent it. I was playing on an indoor field with just a back so i could play super tight and when i slid on the concrete floor which was very slippery from paint my barrel hit the gorund and got a small dent on the edge. But most people will not do this so ya.
Conclusion: This is a great barrel i doubt u could make one better but it is not *PERFECT* as almost nothing is so it gets a nine.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media