paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Kingman Spyder Rodeo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Rodeo
[ View Photos (84) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 432
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-Auto,
12" aluminum barrel,
Regulator with gauge,
expansion chamber,
tournament velocity adjuster,
verticle feed,
sight rail with beavertail,
2-finger double trigger,
bottom line, drop forward,
Works with Co2 or compressed air.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Rodeo is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
StarfuryTH Monday, July 7th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99 Avant
Tippmann 68 Carbine (abused field rental)
Tippmann Custom 98
Spyder Compact (field rental)
Spyder Compact Java Editio
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Bandit Valve
Alamo City Paintball delrin bolt (two o-ring)
System-X Barrel
32* E-frame
32* spring kit
Drilled VA
Remote kit
Polished striker
Recommended
Upgrades:
Delrin Bolt
aftermarket barrel
Strengths: Built-in regulator/gauge, drop forward, durability, expandability
Weaknesses: Mechanical frame, non-standard VA
Review: The Rodeo is a great gun for beginners or recreational/woodsball players. If you're into speedball, there are other guns out there that better suit that type of play. I'm more of a woodsballer, and I love to tinker with things, so this gun fits me perfectly. I was originally contemplating a Tippmann, but even a bone stock used 98 Custom at the time was still going for about $80, and one upgraded to the level the Rodeo leaves the factory at would go for twice that.

I picked up this gun very lightly used for $80 with the 32* E-trigger. I'm sure you can find one for cheaper with a stock trigger (I later picked up one missing only a valve retaining screw for $20).. Before I even brought it to a field, I installed an Alamo City bolt and picked up a 32* spring kit. I've seen what aluminum bolts can do to guns, so I thought I'd skip that mess, and the spring kit is just good to have. The delrin bolt made the gun slightly quieter and reduced recoil a hair. The spring kit allowed me to drop input pressure (this is where the factory regulator is nice) and retain good velocity. I think I was running it at ~600psi with no mods other than the bolt.

The gun performed as expected the first time I used it. The stock barrel is pretty accurate for a stock piece, but the System-X 14" barrel added a good 30 feet of usable accuracy (no, not 30ft of distance, 30ft of accurate shot placement). I didn't chop a single ball all day (I'm sure the electronic hopper helped with that). With the remote line I never froze the gun up either. Not to say I was laying down ropes of paint all the time, but I never felt afraid to put down lots of paint.

The next upgrades were the Bandit Bolt (cheap, but hard to find then; just about impossible now), polished striker, and drilled VA. With those mods I have the input pressure set at about 300psi. The stock gauge is kinda iffy, so I'm guessing on the pressure. The gun shoots very quietly, hardly kicks (compared to every other blowback I've used), and still hasn't chopped a single ball on me. And I'm still running CO2;) I'm sure the reg probably isn't up to speedball recharge standards, but I've got plans on picking up an Evil Detonator pretty soon. A Sundragon polished/cut striker is also on the to-do list.

The downsides to the Rodeo are:
1) The stock mechanical frame, which works ok for light play but is sorely lacking when you need to lay down lots of paint
2) The non-standard vertical adaptor. The VA isn't threaded, it's smooth inside, and the regulator is held in by a couple small allen screws. It works fine with the stock regulator, but if you want to upgrade you need to get a standard threaded VA. I recently picked up a Compact Java for super cheap and I'm going to steal that VA when I upgrade to a new regulator.
Conclusion: I'd heartily recommend this gun to anyone starting out or anyone who wants a solid woodsball Spyder platform. It works great in stock form (although a delrin bolt should be considered mandatory), but upgrades are cheap and plentiful, and Spyders are very easy to mod.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, July 28th, 2008 at 12:05 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

thefrooglemojew Monday, June 30th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippy's, about every spyder, sim-4, autococker vert-feed
Marker Setup: Out of box rodeo camo edition for woodsball
--14 in teardrop barrer--
--21 inch sniper barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
BARREL
Strengths: See body
Weaknesses: See body
Review: Strengths
-If you own a spyder you probably know that they are not the best guns in the world. But...they are no where near the worst. The Rodeo is (in my opinion) the best spyder-semi that you can buy....as of 2007 (haven't used the MR-1, 2, 3 a lot). I got min rodeo for 99 bucks and at the time that as high. toss in some extra 40 or so for decent barrels and you're set.

Now to the strengths
-Cost
-bests the other spyders and (for the love of god) the Wall-to-Wall Mart guns
-Air gauge nice looking but doesn't do much for you
-Not too heavy
-shoots well and can go fairly fast (after time my trigger loosened up and can shoot plenty fast for a semi (around 9 bps)
-It doesnt chop (make sure the barrel is not the proble ((my 21 incher chops for almost every other spyder but not for the rodeo)) i chop maybe about 1 out of every 1000, not bad considering the gun)


Weaknesses
-The STOCK BARREL KINDA SUCKS (not god awful but i would recommend replacing it)
-Beaver tail is just dumb. the end of it can hurt like hell if you hit it right (simple fix, just take it off, spin it 180 degrees and the problem is solved, or leave it off all together)
-Screw on the fore grip that adjusts pressure sticks out, you have to get it in as much as possible (Note that it can only go in so far before it makes your gun lean or function improperly)
-You need an elbow to hold on the hopper (most cases)
-Kinda back heavy when you put on C02
-The "Spyder Flaw" on leaving a half finger slot on the grip (wear gloves its no problem) otherwise it is mildly annoying at best
Conclusion: If you want a good gun this is fine. It is for sure no autococker or anything like that but it is very cost efficient. It runs well on the crappy 2000 shot for 30$ paint. You can get everything that you need for under 150 if you really want.

It may seem that i like this gun because it is cheap but that is not all. It is accurate as well. I can put shots from 150 feet away in a grouping no wider than 14 inches. 200 feet not so much (about 19 inches with 1 or so out of every 4 missing entirely) (((shooting at a 3'x2' board)))

All in all the gun is worth every penny. If you think "oh but its 100 bucks, they sell them for 40$ at Wall-Martish places" then STOP. Save yourself the 40 bucks and spend it towards a better gun. Those are plastic junk. This is a well made ENTRY level gun that is a good way to get into paintball. I said entry level, yes i would recommend replacing it once you realize that paintball is not a cheap sport. Most people who come in and buy a 500$+ gun only realize that it is too expensive and quit. Buy a lower price gun, see if you like it, and then decide whether or not you want to get better than a Rodeo
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, June 30th, 2008 at 2:44 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Patejl Friday, June 27th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
T98, Spyder Victor I-2008, A-5, Spyder Mr-1
Marker Setup: Tipmann A-5, Hammerhead Dominator barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
No
Strengths: Accuracy
Look
Light
Reliable
Weaknesses: Cant really find any
Review: This was my first marker and I played with it more than 1 year (=6.000+ paintballs fired) with no problem at all. I dissasembled it only twice, only for reason or check and periodical maintence, bothe time insides were as new. Only reason why I sold it was I am lousy shooter and needed marker with sights. I can say, most of ppl in our team who started with Rodeo still use it after some 3 years (we play woodsball), no one had any problem with it. With my A-5 anh hammerhead barrel I beat them in accuracy, but hey, thatú a completely different level. And each time I wonder, how lucky we were, choosing to buy this as our first one.
Barrel accuracy is comparable to low end market barrels, so you do not really need new barrel.
A note - my Rodeo came in different color than the one displayed, the last edition had awesome green (and blue too I think) metallic color with darker "camouflage thin stripes. Real beautiful piece of craftmanship.
Conclusion: The best marker for the price ever. It is probably not on market any more, but if you consider buy marker from auction or friend, then definetely look for this one!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pcrawford06 Thursday, May 8th, 2008
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98 Custom
Marker Setup: Tippmann 98 Custom
Electric Hopper
24 oz tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Electric hopper
20 oz Tank
Strengths: Accurate
Light Weight
Reliable
Double trigger
fast
large frame
Weaknesses: Don't make them anymore :(
Review: Okay, I was real lucky when I found this gun. I was at K-Mart (the last place I usually go to find paintball stuff) and found this gun on a clearence rack brand new for $36 (no joke). Of course I bought this gun (for my wife) and imediately fell in love with this gun.

This gun has a large frame that makes it easy to handle, easy read PSI gauge, and a stock 12 inch barrel. I shot this badboy once and I impressed. The gun is incredibly accurate and can shoot quick. I fired this gun as fas as my 2 fingers could move and chopped no balls. The hopper on this gun was your basic gravity fed hopper.

When I played my first game I knew this was an awesome gun. It was VERY accurate. I shot a player when only his head was showing. I was probably 75 feet back.
Conclusion: If you can still find this gun I would buy it. I play with a 98 Custom and in many ways prefer this gun to that. GREAT GUN!!! WISHED THEY STILL MADE IT!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Friday, May 23rd, 2008 at 10:28 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Masta-of-Diasta Wednesday, April 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: 16" J&J ceramic barrel
20oz C02 tank
View loader 200 count Hopper
Camo Spyder Rodeo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Grips
Strengths: Accurate
Cheap
Dosn't chop often
Air usage
Regulator gauge
Weaknesses: Beaver tail
Review: This was the first gun I owned and its great for beginners or as a backup.
Take off the beaver tail and throw it away its pointless.
I found that the stock barrel curved alot so I decided to get a 16" J&J which really helps alot If i were you don't get a 16 get a 14 because a 14 is good for woods and speedball 16 is to big for speedball
Conclusion: Great Beginners gun, Its worth the price
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Morninwood Monday, March 24th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
PMI standard marker
Marker Setup: - Spyder Rodeo
- Expansion chamber (does not have drop forward, comes straight from the expansion chamber)
- Small backpack (to carry my Co2 and 1 extra tube.
- J&J 16" Ceramic barrel
- 12oz Pure energy Co2 tank
- Clamping neck feed
- custom made velocity spring
- Stock trigger (don't like to waste paintballs)
- Normal hopper
- Stock beavertail
Recommended
Upgrades:
- Barrel
- Clamping neck feed
Strengths: Accurate
Very easy to upgrade and customize
Doesn't eat Co2
Stock items are good
Weaknesses: Beaver tail gets annoying to bend back over and over.
Review: This gun is my favorite I have seen yet. Upgrading it is very easy.

Forest ball - I mainly paintball in forests and this gun performs nicely. The stock barrel was also accurate when i first bought it. I added a clamping neck feed for easy transportation. The remote also was easy to put on. At the bottom of the expansion chamber there is a cap for the hose you can unscrew. This makes a perfect entree for the remote. Instead of putting the remote on the duckbill where i felt that made my guns weight very uneven. The reason i didn't add an electric hopper is because some are noisy which i wouldn't want in a forest. but thats only from my experience with other electric hoppers.

Speed ball - If I were speed ball with this gun i would change to an electric hopper and electric trigger. Also a shorter barrel.
Conclusion: This gun is great, only thing i would upgrade is the barrel if you aren't a fan of using remotes. But if you like using remotes, you should try putting the remote under the expansion chamber like how i described above.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Qtips2173 Tuesday, March 11th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
None- this was the first and only gun I've used (except for rental markers but who's counting them?)
Marker Setup: Green Spyder Rodeo
12 ounce CO2
Gravity Hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
None are really needed
Strengths: Durability
Accuracy
Good stock parts
Weaknesses: see Review
Review: Alright, I got this marker about 3 years ago after only a few times paintballing. I had very little knowledge on markers and whatnot. After taking it out of the box I had to say, I was impressed. It was laid out nicely with all the pieces well protected. Not only that, but at the time is was a cheap marker too ($200). When I started shooting it I was glad to say that it was extremely good. I experienced very little kick and nothing was wrong with it either. When I first got it i wanted to add lots of upgrades but after having used it for as long as i have, I'm glad i never spent the money. to this day i use the stock parts that came with it: the barrel, trigger frame etc. They have lasted and performed up to scratch every time I have gone out and played. It has worked for me in every type of paintballing i have done (Speedball, Woodsball, and a scenario match). Thanks to the stock parts, i have spent little money on this gun and i have had a long time of use out of it. So it is a very durable gun and can resist a lot that gets thrown at it. Another thing i like about it is it's accuracy. I recently was paintballing with my friends and we started shooting at a bottle after the round. of the five times i shot at it, three of them hit the bottle square on, not only that but i have had very good success with shots to the head when that was all i could see poking out of a bunker. I think this is incredible considering i have only ever used stock parts on it. It also seems to keep up really well against other better markers. when i go paintballing with my friends it is normally speedball and i do pretty decently. my friends always ask me how i manage to keep up and i always compliment this marker.
Ok, time for weaknesses. The weaknesses that I have experienced i would consider minor. About 1 1/2 years after making the purchase, i had to cut the spring because the velocity became cranked and was shooting over 300 fps every shot (i'm sure it wasn't the CO2 that was making it do so). After cutting the spring it was fine and has been so ever since. The only other problem which i have had with my gun is that the CO2 leaks out of the low pressure chamber if it isn't tight enough. but all i have to do to fix that is just tighten it with my hand and then it operates fine. So those are some problems that one might run in to but are simply fixed. (14/06/08) An update, i recently took the low pressure chamber off to see what made it leak because it started to leak no matter how tight i made it, it turned out that it was missing the o-ring. i'm not sure if it came off sometime during use or if it just never had one on which i doubt, so i put an o-ring on and now it's fine.
Conclusion: So my final recommendation is that if you are a beginner and want a good marker get this one.I find it keeps up with other markers well and will last the user for a long time.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 14th, 2008 at 4:55 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

B1gT3x Friday, January 25th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo - The only thing I have changed on the gun was the barrel.
Strengths: Everything about it is great.
Weaknesses: None
Review: This gun is just amazing for the price. I have used this gun at pro fields and amatauer fields and it stands up to everything I have gone up against. The main thing I have noticed is that I have had 1 ball bust in the barrel, out of oh lets say 9,000 shots! The gun is just amazing straight outta the box with nothing special added to it. I was thinking of upgrading it but why upgrade something that works flawlessly? If your just starting and dont want to spend alot of money this guy is perfect, great rate of fire, light, durable, and just perfect.
Conclusion: Just starting? Get the rodeo and a longer barrel if you want but still, 9,000+ shots and 1 busted ball? That speaks for its self.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rednecker Tuesday, January 22nd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
2 years2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippman A-5
Spyder Pilot ACS
tippman 98 coustom
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
J&J 14'' ceramic
Dye sticky grip
crossfire 48 3000 air tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt. I didn't buy an aftermarket bolt and now the bolt is scratched from 2 years of hard play.
Grip is a little bit slippery after an hour or so of play.
Barrel is nice but not nessecary.
Strengths: DEAD ACCURATE
Regulator
fast shooting
Weaknesses: Bolt
Bearvertail broke on mine
Review: All in all it is an awesome gun i have had mine for almost 2 years and it is dying now but two years of diving into holes and bunkering people!!! I am going to buy it or another spyder again. I got a factory recondition Spyder Pilot ACS from a friend and it doesn't even compare. THIS GUN ROCKS. It has it's weaknesses but it is worth it. I need to get a new bolt for it. Compared to a out of the box tippman a-5 this marker is more accurate out of the box. Great beginner and more advanced gun. I got this back when i was a scared out of my wits newb and now i regularly get 2-3 kills against good players to one of my deaths. This marker took me the whole way. Also I got it for $110 because i shopped around.
Conclusion: I would buy it again. I LOVE it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zack890 Sunday, December 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
6 months2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
I tried a friends TL-X and an Imagine, Imagine is way better and TL-X is the same marker without the gauge
Marker Setup: Evil Omen
Evil Driver 14"
DXS 48/3k
Evo3
Recommended
Upgrades:
ESP Frame ( You really need this because you can't replace the stock trigger on its frame)
Feedneck
Barrel
delrin bolt
Strengths: Shoots paint
Fairly reliable
Gauge
Weaknesses: Rate of Fire, Trigger Pull, Recoil, Feedneck, Consistency
Review: This gun is way overhyped. Everyone gives it a 10 because they think their marker is the best. There are a lot of issues with it. First of all, spyder cannot just make a normal feedneck. They give you a wrong size feedneck, and a plastic adaptor so it works with a hopper.
The recoil on this marker is huge. even with a full hopper and tank on it still manages to move everything attached to the gun a full half inch. That doesn't seem like much, but when you shooting 15 yards away it makes you off by about 6 inches. Spyder also gives you a sharpened beavertail. They take it off the machine that made it and hand it to an asian person to screw it on.
The grip frame on this gun is terrible. The trigger pull is far enough so that your fingers move a full inch in a round trip for one shot. The trigger is embedded inside the frame so you cant take it out and get a decent one. There is no way to adjust the pull either.
The grips aren't terrible, but they don't fit mine perfectly.
I'm not proud to own this gun.

Conclusion: You can get an electronic spyder for a little more. If you dont like electronic get a tippmann.
This is basically the same as the guns they have been making for a decade or so. the only real benefit is its simplicity.
Rating:
6 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media