paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Kingman Spyder Rodeo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Rodeo
[ View Photos (84) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 432
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-Auto,
12" aluminum barrel,
Regulator with gauge,
expansion chamber,
tournament velocity adjuster,
verticle feed,
sight rail with beavertail,
2-finger double trigger,
bottom line, drop forward,
Works with Co2 or compressed air.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Rodeo is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
alliedcommando Tuesday, December 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tipmann A-5 (uses more gas, and its overpriced in my opinion)
Spyder Victor (cheap,loud inconsistent and was my first paintball gun)
Spyder TLR (shot fast, accurate and powerful but the bolt ended up jammed)
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo w/ 14" Whisper barrel
PMI Piranha USP
Recommended
Upgrades:
Whisper barrel (accurate,powerful and silent does not consume alot of gas)
Modify the stock bolt (take the Venturi out and you have unleashed your Spyder,performs better than other expensive Spyder bolts)
Delrin ACS Bolt (to cycle faster,less gas used)
Titanium Hammer (makes your Spyder cycle fast, consumes less gas)
Agitated hopper
Strengths: Gas efficient
Regulator
Rear-Cocking bolt
Upgradeable
Weaknesses: Venturi bolt
Made in China (or from Chinese parts)
Review: I borrowed this gun when my Spyder Victor broke (this past labor day), so my friend (who sold out to airsoft) let me borrow his Spyder Rodeo. Because of its poor state(it had chopped paintballs and dirt in it), I had to clean and gut this gun (though prior to this I shot 1000 rounds and it still did it's job.) This gun is almost like an Autococker (aside from it being an open-bolt design), it will not break down unless you take it apart(in this case the LPR and fore-grip); you will also be able to shoot accurate even with the stock barrel. Clean this gun take care of it, and it will not let you down. With a 20 oz. tank this gun weighs little more than 5 lbs. (my guess, could be less than A5's weight.) You really do not have to upgrade anything on this gun other than the internals(the rubber grips are comfortable.)
New years is almost here (and my friend still does not want this gun back) and I am ready to rack up some more heads on the field, I ordered an Autococker tactical but I will play with the Rodeo if it does not come in by then.
Conclusion: This gun is the "King" of all Spyder mech guns, if you want a low-maintenance gun with excellent performance look no further. I cannot put anymore words into this review on how great this gun is,it is almost as great as the Sheridan VM-68 (except it uses less gas than the VM-68 does!)
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

Ratters Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98.
Spyder MR2
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo.
ESP Rocking Trigger Frame.
Empire Reloader 2 Electric Hopper.
20oz CO2.
Recommended
Upgrades:
ESP Rocking Trigger Frame.
Barrel.
Stock.
Strengths: Very robust and accurate.
Very quiet.
Low and easy to maintain.
Hardly chops.
Weaknesses: Sharp beavertail (But this can be removed).
Slow.
Huge trigger pull.
Review: This is the first marker I have ever had, and for the price I paid for it, it's amazing. The barrel needs upgrading to something longer and more accurate, but it does the job. I have upgraded to the ESP Trigger Frame, which allows me to do more bps. The beavertail is also very sharp, but this can be unscrewed from the marker, all it does it protect you from the bolt. Cleaning the gun is also very easy, but does need re-oiling after use (The same for every marker). This marker hardly ever chops and is very efficient.
Conclusion: An excellent beginner and pro gun. It can be easily upgraded as you become more of a pro (But that takes time). Cleaing and maintaining is easy.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 3rd, 2007 at 5:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paint369 Thursday, December 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
i also own spyder e-99 advant, m98, pro-trilogy, and my main gun A-5
ions, shocker, pms, a lot of others
Marker Setup: spyder rodeo, 16'' progressive, 68/45 crossfire
a5a2, egrip w/ APE board, JCS double trig, 12'' AA, 68/45 crossfire
Recommended
Upgrades:
anyone says barrel, but the stock isn't bad
rocking trigger frame if u want the speed
HPA
reg
Strengths: very QUITE
ACCURATE
constant
durable
low/easy maintenance
never chops
efficient
Weaknesses: SLOW
HUGE trigger pull
Review: Im first gun was a rodeo. i bought it 4.5 years ago. it still works like new if not better. this thing is great for a sniper. its very accurate, quite, and constant. i dont like to snipe so i bought the a5 and decked it out for speed so i can assault. but u can make this gun into a rip pen machine too with a rocking trigger. there r a lot of upgrades for spyder but i don't think this gun needs any other than maybe a barrel and HPA and a reg (if u want the ultimate in constancy)the only thing wrong is that the trigger pull is very long making it very slow which isnt bad if u like to conserve paint. out of about 10000 balls ive put though it, it has never chopped (im using stock bolt not the ACS) even in 15* weather. i dont know y some people have problems w/ chops but i dont.

cleaning the gun is very easy. pull 1 pin and the bolt comes out. oil it, clean it ,do what u got to do and throw the bolt and pin back in and ur set.
Conclusion: If your a want to be a sniper i would recommend this gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

weezerfreak942 Sunday, December 3rd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
tippman pro custom
Marker Setup: spyder rodeo
20oz PMI co2 Tank
low quality walmart accesories
Recommended
Upgrades:
im not sure, but im looking at this: http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/2507/
Strengths: Strong Gun
Looks Great
Weaknesses: Chops like Crazy
Review: When I looked into purchasing this gun, I researched tons of different sites reviews, and saw a few people warn about chopping, but the majority looked ok, so I purchased it and hoped for the best.

I played in 28 degree weather with about 3 other spyders, and we were all choppin and had to squeege paint out of our barrels every 5 minutes. I think the problem may have been one or more of these reasons though. 1.we had cheap paint 2. stock barrel 3. Co2 doesn't respond very well in below freezing weather.
Conclusion: Theres no way a gun could do as bad as it was, so im gonna give it another chance,(along with a new barrel and bolt http://www.pbreview.com/products/reviews/2507/).

I wouldn't say this is a bad gun, but the conditions need to be right.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

spyder-pb-rodeo Monday, November 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Fenix ACS: Fast and intimidating.
Spyder TL: Froze up and chopped.
Piranha G2: Held up when cornered.
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo Camo with the green 32 Degrees 6 stage chamber. I have a 14" J&J Ceramic Barrel with a upgraded spring kit. I recently got a ACS Delrin Bolt that works great. I also got a spyder fenix acs feedneck so my hopper dosn't turn.
Recommended
Upgrades:
The barrel is pretty accurate but still there are better barrels. For a harder hit get a spring kit. In winter you can put a hand warmer in the grips so your hands don't freeze. A permanent feedneck. A electric tigger is nice to add on with a electric hopper.
Strengths: The barrel is accurate
Hits hard
Isn't loud
Weaknesses: Feedneck turns a lot
Needs electric trigger
Other than that there is nothing else
Review: I really like the Spyder Rodeo and everything that I have put on it. Since I am getting the new Spyder VS3 Red I will be using this awesome Rodeo as a backup gun. The only down side to the Rodeo is not having a electric trigger but other than that the gun is ready to use right out of the box.
Conclusion: This is a great paintball marker and I recommend it to any one. Remember to oil your gun and only the cool people wear a mask.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 28th, 2006 at 4:41 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Tbeggs617 Sunday, November 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tipman 98 custom (Rodeo blows gun away)
Marker Setup: Kingman Spyder Rodeo
All American 12 inch barrel- silver
ESP Frame
Dye Spyder Sticky Paintball Grip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrade the stock barrell, 20 oz. Co2
Strengths: Key accuracy
Co2 strong, lasts forever
Regulator
Easily handled, strong gun
Weaknesses: Stock barrell
Review: This gun is excelent. The second I opnened the box i knew this was the one. This gun is a top rated non electric and comes built strong. I am yet to have a problem with this gun and it works like a rock, never has it broke or stalled, and never breaks balls in the chamber. This gun come with a gague, dropfoward, and pretty decent stock barrell. Also, this gun is unbeliveable when it comes to Co2. I usually go paintballing for about 4-5 hours when I go, and no exageration, I mayb hav to get the tank re-filled once. Thus gun is excellent and I highly recomend it to anyone.
Conclusion: Extremely worth it, not very expensive, overall, gun is very good.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pb4life21 Monday, November 20th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 years3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Compact
Marker Setup: Smart Parts Nerve
Odyssey Halo Hopper w/ Rip Drive and Warrior Shell
Pure Energy 68 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank
Shocker/Nerve Roller Trigger

07 WGP Outkast Sniper 2
ViewLoader Revolution Hopper
Pure Energy 68 4500 Carbon Fiber Tank

Spyder Compact 2000
ViewLoader 200 Hopper
20 oz. Co2 Tank
16 inch Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
A better barrel
Better Internals (Bolt, Velocity Shim, Spring)
Strengths: See Review
Weaknesses: See Review
Review: This was my second marker and it served me well. (I sold it.) This is a great basic spyder marker. I shoot consistent and I rarely have chops. The Rodeo is a good marker for basic or beginner player. The marker is very easy to clean and all you have to do is pull out the pin and the rest should come out. A quick squeegee through and your done. Very simple. The Rodeo is very durable and can take some damage. The Rodeo is a little heavy with a full hopper and C02. When I first got the marker it was shooting not as far as it should. A new spring and velocity shim and it was running at full speed. The beaver tail gets in the way when you try to re-cock the marker. A quick unscrew of one bolt and your good. Overall this marker is nice.
Conclusion: I would get this marker for a basic or beginner player. Easy maintenance, easy to play with.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, June 16th, 2007 at 3:46 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Tuesday, November 14th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Shutter
Spyder MR1
Spyder Compact
Spyder X-Tra
Tippy 98 Custom Pro
BE Marauder
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo Stock
VL 200
12oz Co2
14" Razzor Barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel
Grips
Strengths: Durable
Accurate stock barrel
Gas efficient
Weaknesses: Weight
Grips
Loud
Review: I bought this gun for an outstanding $126. For the price of that you really cant go wrong. This gun is accurate, durable, and reliable right out of the box. With a few upgrades,(barrel, electronic frame, elec hopper) this thing is tournament ready. I reccomend it for beginners as well as amatuers.
Conclusion: If you can get it cheap get it.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sparky11080 Monday, November 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Aggressor - The agressor is a nice marker, but doesn't include drop-forward, or a forward grip for added stability.

Spyder TL-R - Very similar to Rodeo, but where CO2 line enters the forward grip offsets the hand hold, making for a difficult grip.
Marker Setup: Kingman: Spyder Rodeo
Default Parts
J&J Ceramic 16" Barrel
Spyder O-Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
This is one of the few markers that doesn't require many upgrades from out of the box. An electronic hopper would be nice, and possibly adding a new assault block might improve performance. The stock barrel is a blessing among stock barrels, but a J&J Ceramic would be one of the few changes that could be made to the barrel.
Strengths: - Very Accurate
- Quiet
- Good Stock Parts
- Rarely Chops
Weaknesses: - Beavertail is easily bendable, and suprisingly sharp
Review: I have used a wide range of markers, but this is my first personally owned. I went through Tipmans, Brass Eagle, and Spyders looking for a marker that was good right out of the box. This is one of the few that I found.

I play with a group where we have a wide variety of markers, and i've used all of them at least once, so I do have a basic grasp on what i'm talking about.

The Rodeo is one of the most accurate markers I have used. Even at a low velocity, the marker gains lots of distance, and doesn't cut. At higher velocity, the marker does begin a little cut, but I'm still able to hit targets consistently to around 100 feet, then it started to veer.

The regulation gauge shows how much air is still in the chamber, and this can be a godsend. I have seen friends play dozens of games, and not realize that their tank isn't gonna hold up the entire time.

I have dropped my Rodeo about 5 feet down onto a pile of rocks, and then picked it up and it worked like nothing had happened. The reliability of this marker is one of the best I have ever seen. My marker has been slammed by the butt end of another players marker (out of anger), and in defending myself, I was able to just turn and unload a few shots on him. The player did put a reasonable amount of power behind his hit, which would normally have jammed up or even broken the marker.
Conclusion: The Rodeo is definetely worth getting if you are an advid player, and would be great for any level of player.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

fcatman Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98C
Tippman Pro-Carbine
JT Protium
ACI Griffin
Spyder rental markers
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
J & J Edge barrel kit
CO2
Revolution w/ X-board
32 Degrees spring kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit - unless you have a reliable source of a good fitting paint you like. (Gameface Visible Impact actually a good fit in the stock barrel).
Trigger upgrade or trigger job
Spring kit
Strengths: Regulator
Drop forward
Comfortable grips
Compact size & weight
Clear feedneck
Weaknesses: Stock trigger has looong pull
None other than that
Review: THE SETUP:
32 Degrees springs: black main (light). gold valve (heavy). This was based on trial and error to try to lower my operating pressure. Right now I'm at 550 psi for 280 FPS. You have to get a spring kit. The stock springs in the Rodeo worked for 280 FPS at 700 psi, but they were both "weird" in hardness. The main spring was pretty light and the valve spring was even heavier than the 32 Degrees heaviest. I like this use of lighter springs and less pressure. It seems to really reduce kick. I suspect I am using more CO2 now, but can't really tell a big difference.

THE GOOD:

Comfortable.
Clear feedneck elbow (at least mine came with one) lets you see if you have a stack of balls lined up or if you've jammed. You can also use some aiming techniques with it.

Regulator seems decent.

Has not chopped yet (but then again, I'm not sure I can pull that stock trigger fast enough to chop). Probably 5,000 rounds through it as of 2-20-07.

really quiet, especially with the J & J barrel. All I can hear behind the marker is "ki-think"

Kick is not too bad.

Easy to strip and clean (see bad also though).

The black version I got looks sharp. I personally didn't like the green ones.

You can get them rebuilt by Kingman for like $70 online.

THE BAD:

Really long trigger pull - but that's a stock mechanical Spyder for ya!

Make sure you don't loose that cotter pin on the quick strip! Don't rip open your finger on it either.

Feedneck is kinda tall. A clamping one would probably help a lot.

MY IMPRESSIONS:

I thought I would buy this as a backup marker to my JT Protium, but I actually prefer it now. It is a bit slower and has more kick than the Protium, but I would rather be on the field playing with a marker I have confidence in than back at the break area trying to change batteries, or cleaning the insides of the ACS bolt in the Protium. That really says it all.

UPDATE 12-27-2006:
Wow. Played at Ricky's in El Paso this week. I used the agitated hopper all day without changing batteries, so I liked that. It was decent on C02. Shot darts all day without a break. I loved the Gameface Visible Impact balls, but even the oily and death star shaped monsterballs shot okay and did not break in the marker. This marker was way quieter than the other Spyders and Tippmanns with stock barrels. I think the velocity adjuster is kinda lame, but I had plenty of opportunity at the chrono to tweak it (I like Ricky's).

UPDATE 2-5-2007:
This thing still will not let me down. I tried an Alamo City PB "Low Blow Delrin" bolt, but was not too impressed. 45 degrees outside and still good performance.

UPDATE 2-20-2007:
Cold weather here. Went and shot 750 rounds out in the hills. 35 degrees outside. Not a ball break. No snow coming out the end of the barrel. Consistent ball shots. And I hit my soda can target at 75 feet on the first shot. I love this marker. Did a trigger job shortened the front play with a dab of JB weld and shortened the back play with a rod in the trigger spring. Found a lighter spring for the trigger at Lowe's.
Conclusion: I never have had the opportunity to fire a marker that deserves a 10 (see my list above).
If your budget is small or you want a solid marker with some good ups, buy it. If you dig mechanical markers, this is the ticket right here.
If you want a sick fast marker with electronic everything, either look elsewhere or plan on spending a lot of $ and time to upgrade.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, February 20th, 2007 at 3:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media