paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo / Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Kingman Spyder Rodeo Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Kingman

Buy Kingman Spyder Rodeo

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Kingman Spyder Rodeo
[ View Photos (84) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 432
Average Rating: 9.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $170

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Semi-Auto,
12" aluminum barrel,
Regulator with gauge,
expansion chamber,
tournament velocity adjuster,
verticle feed,
sight rail with beavertail,
2-finger double trigger,
bottom line, drop forward,
Works with Co2 or compressed air.
Product Availability 
The Kingman Spyder Rodeo is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
IthurtsSOGOOD Friday, November 10th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmen 98 Custom, Spyder Extra
Marker Setup: -Spyder Rodeo
-20oz co2 tank
-14 barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Elecetronic Feeder
-nitros tank
-bigger barrel
Strengths: -Good use of air
-Accurate
-Good stock
Weaknesses: This gun really doesnt have any weeknesses is for the price you get it for
Review: Ive had this gun for six months now and i bought it used and it has never failed me. And i play with people with some good guns. My friends always fun out of air way before i do. This gun is amazing on air. I at least get 600 hundred shot out of my 20oz tank. And with stock the gun is good i can get that trigger up to 12 bps. And the 12" stock barrel isn't half bad either.
Conclusion: I would recommen this gun if your new to painballing or you need a back up gone because this gun is good for its price, but their are some good guns out their.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Jeff_Meister Thursday, November 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Victor 3 years
98c only tested
Spyder Imagine only tested
various old style pumps
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
Overdive Hopper
12'' stock barrle
GT stock
Remote
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel (not overly necessary...but good for all markers)
Bolt (same as above)
Hopper (depends on how fast you can fire, defenetly can get away with grav fed one)
Strengths: Accuracy
reliability
great stock parts
easy maintenance
gas efficient, works well on CO2
Weaknesses: Little heavy
Slight kick
slightly loud
Difficult to change trigger pull
Review: Accuracy
The gun in its stock form is accurate. The 12'' barrel works great. At 35 feet I put 50 shots in less than a foot diameter without a rest(just free hand, and not trying to be overly accurate, just testing ROF). Compared to other stock guns I've used this is really good. You should have no problems with accuracy at all in my opinion. 14'' J&J ceremic barrel would be my chosen barrel upgrade though.

Reliability
Shot 500 balls, broke none. No gas leaks, no reg problems. Enough said.

Maintenance
Fired 500 shots...took 5 min to take apart, clean, and re-oil because there were no ball breaks, and it was already clean, just standard upkeep was all that was needed. Easy to strip in the field, no tool required. Easy to re-assemble, same as all other mech Spyders. Easy to adjust velocity as well, no tools required. There is a slight knack to it though and it takes about 15 seconds to readjust it on the field, so I doubt there would be much problem with people raising their velocity during games...but then again I cant control the cheaters out there who love to ruin this great sport.

Weight.
This marker is a little heavier than most other ones out there, some players may dislike this, I have a GT stock on mine, so my CO2 is on my back, and I still find it slightly heavier than most.

Rate of Fire
I dont know the exact specs on the ROF for the Spyder, but I can get 8 bps myself with a bad electro hopper, a really dont know what a person who is able to put out high rates of fire can do, I care more about accuracy.

Dependability
Its built tough, it wont break down on you in the field, it has a hard shell and is designed for woodsball and taking a beating. Only delecate thing on it is the beavertail, I personally dont mind it, if its really bothering you just remove it...

Price
Can buy it new for around $70 off ebay, thats a great price for this marker in my opinion.

Problems
Nothing that seriously hinders it. Trigger pull is long, heavy, a bit of kick, and a bit loud. Nothing that has affected my game yet, although this is not a speedball gun, just remember that.

Conclusion: I think this is a great gun if your looking for a reliable yet non-expensive marker. Its great for beginner to intermediate players, and will do perfectly in woodsball. The marker has low maintenance, and you wont have to worry about it running out of batteries on the field. Id say if your looking for a marker, get this one. The only other one that really compares is the 98c, and I prefer the Rodeo as its more compact, and lighter.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

CBL Thursday, November 9th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2003 spyder imagine
2006 Tippmann A-5
2005 Smart Parts Ion
Marker Setup: 2006 Spyder Rodeo
ShockTech SuperFly bolt
ShockTech Spring kit
Smart Parts All American 18" barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
Spring Kit
AKA Lighting bolt for going LP
Shocktech superfly for non-LP
Spring Kit
and a new barrel
Strengths: Durable
Strong
Good stock gun
Weaknesses: Heavy
Stock bolt chops badly (might just be a flaw in mine)
Review: I got this for a B-Day present, so this was more then exciting, but when i got it out of the box i was more then surprised at the wieght compaired to the imagine it was a good 2 pounds heavier. me and my friend loaded the hopper up and went into the local corn fields setting up a few targets, we check the accuracy of the stock barrel, it was actually really good. at 130 feet i only missed twice on a target the size of 25" by 25". but after the first 5 shots i started breaking balls like mad. so we went and picked up a new bolt, trying this again. at it worked alot better. BUT, we were using my full Co2 tank, and decide to get the nitro on there. it was shooting like a dream at first, but the spring was doing a good 250FPS at 550PSI, so we got a spring kit the next day, putting it in, we put it to 450PSI and got a good 310FPS, so lowering a bit more. we went at the testing with it... As i am normally blind half the time with my mask on, i was running and tripped, well nice things don't happen to almost blind people all the time, the gun went barrel first into a tree, yes a tree. i was scarred, and went to the car to check it out in better light, there were no scratches and no dings. so i shot a few off and it was still going good... so we went back to test a little more. this time i was using the imagine and he was using the rodeo. well long story short. he smacked it into a few trees running along. only one small scratch in the paint, but nothing to really harm it...

so all i would suggest getting within the first few weeks is a new bolt, and a spring kit.
Conclusion: so long story short, this is one of the nicest guns i have tried in a long time, and i am Proud to own it.
This is a great gun for all players whether there noobs or pros, rec ball or speed ball.
If your on a tight budget or just want a really good gun for cheap(er then the most others) go for the spyder rodeo.

though no gun is perfect, i give this gun a 9.6 ... taking off a few points for the heaviness and the bad bolt
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, November 9th, 2006 at 4:28 am PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

balla_cam Sunday, November 5th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
4 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Rodeo
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
no accessories
Recommended
Upgrades:
long barrel
Strengths: VERY accurate, easy to turn down the volocity, Hardly breaks balls!
Weaknesses: Isn't a fast gun.
Review: When I first got this gun I thought, DAMN! This gun will probibly be horrible. Well I was wrong.
This gun has amazing accuracy and doesnt throw money down the drain with balls.
I murdered my friend with it and he has an angel. I also went to a tourny with it and I came in third in 1on 1.

PROS:

Accurate
Has a PSI gage
most parts can work on it
has a long barrel to start
takes Co2 and compressed
great gun for people with a budget and still want a quality gun

Cons:

Isnt a high end rocking trigger that shoots 1 billion balls per second gun
Conclusion: I Very much recommend this gun for all you budget buyers and this is still a great gun its the only gun I have and I've won tournaments with it!
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

adonis Friday, October 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98
Marker Setup: Kingman Rodeo
14" Progressive barrel
20oz C02 tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel,
and if you want speed, a new trigger frame
Strengths: Reliable
Good on C02
Accurate
Good looking
Regulator
Weaknesses: Beavertail is useless
Review: Well after being busy for about a year (or two) and not being able to test this gun out, I went to my field today.
Before the first round started, I took some test shots, and I was very pleased. Through the whole day I didn't have one paintball chop on me, and I had many long distance kills...
The trigger pull didn't bother me considering I dont like to shoot extremely fast, but if you want to be a crazy sprayer, Id recommend you buy a new trigger frame.

It's a lousy review, but trust me, this gun is a great buy!
Conclusion: I say buy this gun! Many upgrades for the gun, accurate, and reliable.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

rgalang Wednesday, October 25th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
ViewLoader Orion
Spyder Imagine
Marker Setup: Spyder Rodeo
14" Smartparts Progressive barrel
9v Empire Reloader
E-marker Electronic Trigger w/ Slasher Trigger
Anti-Chop System Aluminum Bolt
32 Degrees 9pc Spring Kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Bolt
New Barrel
Electric Trigger (optional)
Strengths: Sturdy
Gun shoots fast
With Electric Trigger it shoots faster
Easy Cleaning
Weaknesses: Beaver Tail
Review: When I got the Rodeo, the first thing I bought was the barrel. That made a huge difference with the accuracy and the loudness, compared to the stock barrel. The progressive barrel is excellent for the Rodeo, its very accurate and it is sleek. After that I bought the Empire Reloader because I had chopped a few balls and the loader prevents chopping. The Reloader can load 8+ bps, which is more than enough for a mechanical trigger. The next upgrade was the ACS bolt, this improved the speed of the bolt slightly, it was not as heavy as the stock bolt, it was made of aluminum because people said that the delrin ACS swells up, which automatically made me choose the aluminum. I then came across a $12 9pc spring kit. THIS IS THE BEST PURCHASE THUS FAR. The spring kit comes with 9 springs, 3 different tensions for 3 different springs (3 x 3 = 9). I put the hard spring in the valve and a medium spring in the main spring. This made the gun consistant and it made the trigger pull really light, leading to a higher BPS rate, even for a mechanical. When I pulled the trigger it would bounce right back really quick allowing me to shoot another one really quick. I would advise anyone with a Spyder to buy this kit, it is the best bang for the buck. Recently, I bought a Spyder Imagine and I transfered the E-marker to the Rodeo. This made my gun MEAN. The guns consitancy kept up due to the springs and the electric trigger raised the ROF and BPS dramatically. The trigger pull on the E-marker is kind of heavy and the feel of it is not as comfortable as it should be. The Slasher trigger made it possible to butterfly the trigger and make the BPS higher. Thanks to the Empire Reloader and ACS, it is impossible to chop a ball. My gun is now fully souped up, the only thing I would need now is a Compressed Air tank.
Conclusion: The Rodeo is a great gun stock. The regulator is great and accurate. With the upgrades I listed about it makes this gun CRAZY! If you are a beginner paintballer I would recommend this gun, it is cheap, easy to maintain and it still kills on the field, with or without the upgrades. It took me 3 years to get my gun this way and now it is as mean as it can be.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

(master) Sunday, October 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
triad, Angel
Marker Setup: Spyder rodeo
14''empire twister barrel
12vt revvy
Recommended
Upgrades:
although a good gun, invest in a barrel and hopper
Strengths: Durability
ease of use
features
works with Co2 or air
very accurate
Weaknesses: Beavertail is flimsy
Review: This is my second gun and it rocks!! Right out of the box it is awesome, i like how it comes stock with a gauge and regulator. great price too, i bought it for around 100$ and it was worth every penny. A new barrel should be considered so it is in full potential, a hopper would also be nice.
Conclusion: Overall this is an excellent gun for beginners and intermediates
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

lucasmader Friday, October 13th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
this was my first gun...but from what ive seen i would reccomend this gun over a tippmann 98' custom any day.
Marker Setup: spyder rodeo...16" Proggressive Smart Parts barrel, a VL-200rd hopper...Diablo drop forward and a Smart Parts level.4 expansion chamber
Recommended
Upgrades:
new barrel..stock barrel=not accurate at all
Strengths: Good range, Easy on gas, Lightweight
Weaknesses: Not that great of durability, A few chopped balls
Review: this was my first gun and i think i was better off with this than a 98' custom or a victor II because those markers have alot of weak points in them as the rodeo only has a few and they're not that bad. this marker has very good range...shooting on a 45 degree angle you could probably get 350ft. its also very light weight so there is no need for a remote line. Even with a full hopper and full 20oz. tank its only about 4 pounds. This gun lasted me but i think im going to upgrade to Bt-4 Assault just because i need a more durable gun. But for woodsball the rodeo is perfect, easy to carry around while dodging trees and branches and stuff. I most definetly would NOT recommend this gun for speedball. not something you want to get into tournament play with...more of a recreational marker.
Conclusion: very good starter gun...doesnt lack in very many areas at all. Isn't high performance but still leaves bruises..very lightweight, very good on C02, approx. 850 balls per 20oz. tank. but not something you want to drop out of a tree
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

talex Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Hadn't been paintballing for years until I picked it up again, and all I remember were stock pump guns, and a couple old spyders...
Marker Setup: -Spyder Rodeo
-14" J&J Ceramic Barrel
-Richochet AK hopper
-Empire Regulator
-Trinity Front Block
-New Designz HP valve
-PMI 72ci 3000psi tank
-Dead On Paintball Pro2 drop forward with on/off
-Evil delrin bolt
-Trinity clamping feedneck
-1/4 macroline hose
-Shocktech spring kit
-Shocktech shim kit

Holding on an eTrigger for now. Don't really need it considering I play woodsball...
Recommended
Upgrades:
All of the things I've put on my marker.

First and foremost though:
-barrel
-eHopper
-regulator
-HP valve (mine had low velocity issues until I installed it)
Strengths: -Price
-Solid body/parts
-rarely chops
-very customizable (it IS a Spyder now..)
Weaknesses: Velocity trouble. Two other Rodeos I saw on the field had no problem.
Review: I was looking to paintball again, after years not doing so. I didn't want to spend too much money on a high-end marker until I could officially get back into the sport more regularly. I always remembered Spyders being pretty reliable guns, so I started there. After checking Kingman's roster, I decided on the Rodeo at $110 dollars.

Had it shipped out to me, and got the J&J barrel, as well as the Richochet hopper at the same time. Got to break it in when I got to the field the first time. It worked perfectly fine, except for the previously mentioned velocity issue. Was only hitting about 240-250 fps. Tried stretching out the main spring and all, but that didn't help much. Had a pretty crappy day at the field, only taking out one dude. I know.

Second time I went back to that field I had the spring kit, and shim kit to see if I could have better success. My velocity went up only about 5 fps, and that day was even worse, with me spending 7 hours without hitting anyone. At that point, I hit rock-bottom...I saw a couple other people with Rodeos who had good velocity and could shoot farther than I with my little rainbow shot attempts at foes. Figured I had to step it up and Big Dog it. I then got my other upgrades, and sacrificed about 2 months at the field to make sure the next time I came out there, they'd remember me...

Showed up that next time and mopped the place up. My velocity was 290-295 consistently this time around. Took out more than 25 people and had most of them coming up to me and remarking how quiet my gun was. They said the hopper made more noise than me actually firing it - which was good because I caught a handful of people slippin' when I was sneaking around in the brush. They didn't even know they were being shot at until one of my rounds made contact.
Conclusion: I really enjoy my gun now that my seemingly isolated velocity issue was resolved. I would recommend this gun to anyone - especially people just getting into paintballing, or someone like myself who hadn't played for a long while and doesn't want to walk in with a totally low low grade gun playing it safe.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, October 6th, 2006 at 11:30 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

mattie5960 Friday, October 6th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Viewloader Triad (Wal-Mart gun)
Marker Setup: KIngman Spyder Rodeo stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Possibly a better barrel
Strengths: Reliable, excellent on CO2, the motte colors are cool.
Weaknesses: The sight rail is a little flimsy, the metal on it is shiny.
Review: I play paintball about 4-8 times a year with friends and I must say that this marker is excellent for recreational play. I bought my marker refurbished from actionvillage.com and the only problem I've had so far is that the sight rail bends a little bit but nothing that will ruin your play (especially because it's removable (just watch your eyes.)) A major upside to this marker is that the regulator makes it a great gun for CO2, I can go for a full day and a half of play with a 9oz. I would suggest getting a better barrel but that is expected with any marker under $300, for what I do the stock barrel is fine.
Conclusion: If you are like me and you want to get rite into the sport of paintball, don't waist time with a Wal-mart gun like I did, go rite for this because you wont be disapointed. i give this marker an 8 out of 10 because of the shiny metal on some of the models and the way teh sight rail is, but neither will affect a sufficient paintballer.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (44):  First  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media