paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5

Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Chipley Custom Machine

Buy Chipley Custom Machine Series 5

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Chipley Custom Machine Series 5
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 10.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $390

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A professional level cocker at an entry level price. Built with all the same internals and pneumatics as the J2. The difference between the Series 5 and the J2 is mainly aesthetics, and weight. And like everything else from CCM, the S5 is warrantied for life and proudly made in the USA. The S5 comes in polished Black, with polished pneumatics. Each of the components is hand tested and inspected to ensure the highest level of performance and reliability. Now shipping with the CCM 12" Barrel.

- 12" Aluminum One Piece Barrel
- CCM Clamping Feedneck
- Laser Engraved Insignia
- Hand Inspected and Tuned
Product Availability 
The Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
camochevy Sunday, December 9th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
sheridan xts, a5, 98 custom, some junk spiders, ion(junk),shockers,and much more
Marker Setup: chipley series 5 autococker
88/3000psi crossfire carbon wrapped
vlocity jr hopper
pepperstickz barrel kit
Recommended
Upgrades:
if i did replace anything it would be the barrel altho the stock one rocks extremely accurate
Strengths: Accurate,consistant,lifetime warranty,and everything else about it such as its almost dead silent.
Weaknesses: That they quit making them.
Review: This gun is insane its the most accurate dependable gun i have ever used which says alot its the most consistant gun also my gun had a old cup seal that was worn so i sent it in to ccm and rob from the tech support told me he would replace the cup seal check the entire gun replace all o rings and everything including re timing it before he sent it back for free!!!!

Chipley rocks the world of paintball keep doing what ya do.

Bad
They quit making them which ticks me off cause i love it i wish i could buy another new one anyways ccm rocks!!!! thanks again rob.
Conclusion: Here is all im gonna say in the conclusion dont try one if u dont have the money to buy it cause once u try it u wont settle for any other gun its dead sexy
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

psychoscrooge Tuesday, January 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
sheridan xts,select fire,some spyders a5,98custom
Marker Setup: chipley series 5 autococker,revolution 2 hopper,20oz soon to be 72/3000,JT PROTEUS 2
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel can always be upgraded no matter how good the gun is.
and a hpa tank and hopper nothing really to the gun
Strengths: Extremely accurate,extremely awesome tech maintenance
Weaknesses: That they quit making them easily best mech gun ever!!!
Review: This gun rips!!! let me tell you what its the best gun you can own comes with a lifetime warranty and great tech support maintenance my gun had an older cup seal and it was worn so i called ccm and talked to rob and he fixed me up great!!!!!! he's told me to send my gun in and he would replace it with a new better one and check everything about it fix anything wrong put all new o rings in it and re-time it before he sends it back free of charge!!!!!!!!
Conclusion: I recommend this product for anyone from beginner to pro!!!!!! it cheap and worth over 20 times the price i would give this product a 10 but..........it deserves way higher!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!personally i give it a 3,000,000
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

marine man Sunday, December 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
any autococker from wgp's to palmers
Marker Setup: mostly use my series 5. and too many upgrade/ modifications to list
Recommended
Upgrades:
vlave and that's it
Strengths: Quality, warrenty, out of box peformance, looks, price
Weaknesses: The valve could be improved but it isn't nodiced.
Review: this was the first autococker that i owned. since then i have shot everything from wgp, palmers, and most other cockers. this is by far my most favorite. wgp can't produce anything that is close to the quality that ccm can. mabey that is why k2 sued them. the stock barrel is the ccm 2 pice almunium barrel. the stock bore is a little big but it uses the same bore sizers that the carbon fiber kit dose so finding incerts isn't a problem. the feedneck is a little tall but it works like a charm. it will hold anything from a halo to a modified 40 round "ammo box". the stock internals are great. delron bolt that flows better than anything out there that i have used, polished hammer, and a simple but genious IVG. no more unscrewing the cocking rod to ajust the velosity. just pull the trigger and hold or pull the back block back and you can ajust the velosity with a 1/8 allen wrench. the stock regulators are exelent. the LPR peforms just as good as the micro rock and the HPR will keep up with the fastest fingers. all around this is a very good marker. you can upgrade it if you must but fiew upgrades make nodiciable improvments.
Conclusion: Since they aren't produced anymore they can be hard to find. but if you can go for it. ccm warrenties every part on the marker for life no matter how many times it is sold or what happenes. i love my series 5 so much that i am considering buying another one to have so i can have one pump and one semi.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

simonsaysguy Monday, September 26th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: Series 5
7 piece matchstick kit
ccm on/off and rail
68/3000 cf tank
egg
Recommended
Upgrades:
If you want this marker to rip better than anything:
eblade or raceframe
Macdev Gladiator
a barrel kit
all delrin bolt and backblock if you go electric
Strengths: sexy
smooth
accurate
fast
reliable
comes upgraded with excellent stuff
CCM
sexy
Weaknesses: None that are important.
Review: I have had NO problems with this marker. It has worked perfectly for me through all my games and tournys. Which have been over 15 days worth of playing. The quality and reliability alone make this gun awesome. It shoots extremely accurate...and the trigger pull is almost short enough to walk. When it shoots it is very smooth and quiet. The upgrades on this marker are almost top of the line so you dont need to upgrade at all. This marker looks simple but it is sexy. All my friends see my marker and want to make love to it.
I will always cherish my series 5.
Conclusion: If you are looking for a mech marker buy this one. If you are looking for an electric marker buy this one and put an eblade or raceframe on it. I can guarantee that you will not be disappointed with this marker...
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

nitronduck Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Marker Setup: Stock marker except 3-way (see below)
Recommended
Upgrades:
3way
barrel set
Strengths: High quality machining, design and company
Weaknesses: See body below
Review: Being part of the paintball industry for over 14 years, I've seen almost every marker out there. Everyone makes cockers, but not like Chipley's. Chipley Machine is like the paintball gun manufactures of the old days, meaning that everything is hand made and the people at Chipley know their product. One example is I had a question regarding the LPR assembly, I was told to hold for a second so they could get the person who actually assembles and machines the LPR. Now that is service!! Not only did they pull someone away from the machine, but the person answered the question exactly and even gave me some tips.

Everything about their markers are of the utmost quality. Machining is precise, anodizing is beautiful and the gun setup was perfect. I would recommend their product to anyone from a newby to pro.

The only area that needs improvement is in the 3-way area (like everyone). Their pull is so light and short that it has the tendency to leak. I would recommend a Hollowpoint from Belsales on every autococker.
Conclusion: I have many markers and the Chipley Machine cocker is by far my favorite to shoot because of it's quality and feel. I ordered my Series 5 with their J2 gripframe because I go back and forth between an Angel Fly, I would highly recommend this frame because of the feel.

I want to again emphasize that this company has the best customer service of ANY manufacturer in the paintball industry!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 23rd, 2005 at 10:25 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

utg3825 Thursday, January 13th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nightkast, Prostock, Superstock, E-Orracle, Nexus Cocker, GX-3
Marker Setup: Series 5
J2 frame
X-stream 90/45
FBM Stilleto drop
Apache
Stiffi Switch
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit, or more sizers for the aluminum 2 piece it comes with.
Strengths: Fairly light
Efficient (not a viking, but decent)
Accurate
Great pneumatics/internals
FEEDNECK
Trigger
Weaknesses: No milling (some people, including me, like it this way)
Review: The internals and bolt are all very nice. It comes with a very light spring kit, and pinches balls out of the box (you can't say that about most cockers). It's fairly efficient, and gets decent consistency (I'm sure if my reg needs more breaking in, but OTB I got about +/- 7).

The 3-way is very short considering that it has 2 o-rings. The LPR is pretty nice, and easily adjustable. The ram is also very fast, I'm not sure on exactly how fast it is capable of cycling, but from what I've been told its around 18.

CCM trigger frames are INSANE. I actually was able to out-shoot my apache (which doesn't feed 17-18bps, it does about 14-15 on the marker). I'm sure it was a slow burst for my hopper, but for a mech cocker this marker is very fast without any trigger adjustments.

The barrel is decent. It is compatible with all CCM and Stiffi Switch kit parts, which is a big plus. The only thing I don't like about it is that it has MAD PORTING! It's pretty quiet, but not a terribly efficient barrel.

The inline reg is alright. It's nothing special, but it wouldn't be cost-effective to replace it.

CCM feednecks are some of the best on the market. They will never let go of your hopper. You can actually tighten them to the point where you worry about the hopper's feedneck cracking.

There is no milling at all. The sides of this marker are totally flat. I think it looks fine, but some people hate guns that look really bland.
Conclusion: This marker is worth MUCH more than what it costs. Good warranty too.

I would take this marker over an Orracle any day of the week.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

©® CB Monday, December 27th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP cockers. If it's not a "cocker" you can't compare it... That being said, I've shot just about every common marker out there and those I haven't I've seen in action on the field.
Marker Setup: 03 Series 5
12v Rev
68/3k Nitroduck
12" Progressive, 14" AA, Dye Excel (in case I come accross some fat paint)
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit, barrel kit, barrel kit.
Strengths: Quality, reliability, value.
Weaknesses: None.
Review: Reliability. I bought this marker off ebay. The seller had it serviced by Chipley's before he listed it and I haven't had to monkey with anything. I could shorten the pull, but my fingers are only about as fast as a dead snail anyway, so why bother?

I have NEVER chopped. I'm guessing that on five occasions now I was absolutely sure that I had finally chopped. Nope. Bolt clean everytime. Every single break I've had has been a barrel break. You CAN stick your pinky in the feed, rip the trigger as much as you like, and still not whimper even if you're a momma's boy.

I don't need to say a thing about accuracy. We all know that a cocker stays on target better because of less recoil. I've shot all kinds of barrels and, the more extremely cheap barrels aside, the biggest difference from barrel to barrel is noise. As long as your length is tailored to your operating pressure and playing style, it's a good barrel.

Most people haven't heard of CCM. The people you will get comments from are those who have been around the sport for a while. I'd seen Chipleys here and there, heard of their stellar reputation, but honestly wasn't really motivated to pursue any of their products until I saw this one on ebay. Picked it up with a ton of extras (barrels, HPA, barrel bag, swabs.... whole bunch of stuff. think he was cleaning his closet out) for $300. At that price, I figured it was about time to finally check it out. GLAD I DID! Chipley's products are 0% hype and 100% performance.

As with any other "cocker", a barrel kit is a must if you are going to be playing with paint you don't know. Once the bolt closes, if your paint is smaller than your barrel bore, it will roll right out the barrel. If you aren't going to get a kit, then at least get three different bore barrels so you're covered.

UPDATE: Somewhere, somehow something happened to my cup seal. Marker was fine when I put it away. Took it out and gassed it up and heard the dreaded hiss. Sent CCM an email or two about replacement of the seal and warranty policy regarding doing an LP conversion at home. In the end, it turned out it was cheaper to send it to them for repair than it would be to purchase a new cup seal and have it shipped to my home. What a deal. To top it all off, the flu ran through their workplace so my marker was shipped two days later than suspected. Problem is that I was playing on Saturday and on the phone with them on Wednesday and it hadn't shipped. YIKES!! Oh wait... Nevermind. It's CCM. Shipped it two-day on their dime so I wouldn't have to dig a Spyder out of my closet.
Conclusion: Only purchase CCM products if you are interested in quality. I personally have never seen a CCM banner, poster, jersey, full spread magazine add, or the like. Why advertise when the product speaks for itself?

UPDATE: Do not purchase CCM products if you are allergic to extra-mile, endless, perfect customer service.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, January 26th, 2005 at 1:21 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

canhsusername Tuesday, November 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I have tested many WGP Autocockers for the length of several games.
Marker Setup: CCM: Series 5 - Stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel could always be upgraded..
Strengths: Good looking. Fine machining. Customer Support
Weaknesses: None.
Review: I received my Series 5 by Chipley Custom Machine and first thing I noticed was it's external quality. It looked great sitting in it's box with the foam all cut out for it, I was eager to shoot it. As soon as I pulled it out of the box, I noticed the size of the gun was a lot smaller then I thought it would be, very thin, very light. A closer look showed some scratches at the top of the feed neck and some light scratches on the front pneumatics. Again, no biggy, I don't usually care for cosmetics too much, but for a new gun I'd expect better.

Okay, now for the testing. I hooked up my drop forward/asa and air and bam.. the thing started leaking by the three way and something internal was leaking too. So I'm thinking damn I gotta send this thing back. I received it on a Saturday afternoon and shipped it back Priority mail on Monday. I had sent an e-mail about the issue and received a prompt reply: "Send it back and we'll find out what's going on. A brand new double checked gun will be in the mail expressed to you as soon as we receive the gun. Sorry about this but we will make it right." Okay cool I'm gonna get a new gun.

I called Friday to see if they received it and from what the guy said, nothing yet. Called the following Monday and spoke with the gentleman who runs the whole deal(and who wrote the e-mail) said they were going to fix my gun and send it back to me and I should receive it by Friday.

EDIT:

John at Chipley Custom Machine took care of me.. he received my gun and repaired everything that I had mentioned and then offered something for my troubles. Overall.. man I couldn't believe how satisfied I am with the customer service. For any gun customer service is almost as important as the gun. Thanks John!
Conclusion: Buy it now!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, December 2nd, 2004 at 4:50 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

tolley Friday, October 29th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
2000 GenX cocker
Marker Setup: Stock S5 with Revy 9v, 68/3000 bulldog II and kapp teardrop forward.
Recommended
Upgrades:
A barrel system with interchangeable bore is always a plus, but the stock barrel is nicer than most.
Strengths: VERY Light. Price is strong point too. $390 including shipping from CCM.
Weaknesses: None
Review: Works flawlessly . Never broke on me, I suppose a short stroke would break, most cocker type markers will. Crazy light weight , very nice machine work and annodizing. Comes with the upgrades anyone would want to put on a cocker , adjustable LPR, adjustable HPR, clamping feedneck, and soft grips. CCM was a delight to work with, I was shipped same day and arrive two days later, and that is from coast to coast. Pretty quiet too. Faster trigger than my GenX and thats pretty good.













Conclusion: If you want a mechanical cocker, this is by far the best deal going. At only about $50 more than a base cocker, you get about $300 or so in upgrades. I loved it.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

jeffg Thursday, September 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP vert. Tippmann, PMI Sheridan
Marker Setup: Egg, 4500 68 tank, CCM drop, CCM on/off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Weight, quality , looks, MADE IN THE USA!
Weaknesses: Choice of colors. No owners manual.
Review: This is one beutifully machined gun( even if he uses HAAS's)! I'm in the machining industry, so I know machining. I've been playing for nearly 20 years and this thing is the most quite and lightest gun I've ever used ( except for a plastic gun that used pistol primers instead of gas). ALL of the competetors guns in the $400.00 range that i found were much more sloppy ( most were machined in China and assembled here)! If you really want the "3d" milling ( for looks only) check out the CCM J2, not sure looks are worth the extra price tag though.
Conclusion: If you want a Cocker, BUY THE CCM. The people are easy to talk to ( yes you can call them and even talk to the owner). The gun is finely crafted and reliable. ALL THE PARTS EXCEPT THE FEEDNECK ARE COCKER COMPATIBLE! So don't worry about getting parts!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media