paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 / Chipley Custom Machine Series 5

Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Chipley Custom Machine

Buy Chipley Custom Machine Series 5

Paintball High-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Chipley Custom Machine Series 5
[ View Photos (4) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 26
Average Rating: 10.0 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $390

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
A professional level cocker at an entry level price. Built with all the same internals and pneumatics as the J2. The difference between the Series 5 and the J2 is mainly aesthetics, and weight. And like everything else from CCM, the S5 is warrantied for life and proudly made in the USA. The S5 comes in polished Black, with polished pneumatics. Each of the components is hand tested and inspected to ensure the highest level of performance and reliability. Now shipping with the CCM 12" Barrel.

- 12" Aluminum One Piece Barrel
- CCM Clamping Feedneck
- Laser Engraved Insignia
- Hand Inspected and Tuned
Product Availability 
The Chipley Custom Machine Series 5 is newer, so it should be commonly available, both new and used.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
bradu Tuesday, September 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
1999 WGP left feed cocker, slide trigger, tricked out palmers, dye, etc... (the slide trigger is better than wgp's hinge)
2003 WGP vert cocker with hinge, tricked tickler, belsales ram/3way, freak, rat valve, oracle bolt, etc... Not even close, the Chipley blew this gun out of the water, no contest.
Marker Setup: Chipley mini drop
Matchstick Barrel 14" .689 back
PE 68ci 3000 hpa
Eggy 2 Y-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel is the ONLY upgrade you will ever need to do
Strengths: Light weight, Awesome Trigger Pull, No chopping at all...
Weaknesses: Only one..., stock barrel. Acceptable but there are better ones out there.
Review: Well,

I got my new cocker and played with it for the first time Sept 19th, one word, awesome... The trigger is amazing, makes a hinge look like crap. Smooth pull with almost no effort, first day out with it and I never short stroked once.

I have owned 2 other cocker's in the past one slider and one hinge, never liked the trigger on either one, sold them both they were so crappy. Not this baby, it won't be going anywhere.

Incredibly light too, the only cocker I've ever had my hands on that may be lighter is a Dye ultralight and it's pretty close...

The gun is quiet as hell, cycles ultra smooth and has a very unique look.
The only drawback (and I mean the ONLY drawback) is the stock barrel is not great, but that is true of almost any gun you buy, a barrel upgrade is the first upgrade most people do. (I'm thinking to go with a Matchstick kit from MacDev)

Couple of other nice features, clamping feedneck stock, delrin/alum bolt stock, stainless cocking rod/pump arm/timing rod stock, pneumatics are among the best out there, no need to upgrade ever. No need to pull bolt to adjust hammer lug, no need to pull cocking rod to adjust velocity, all Chipley's are hand tuned before they leave the factory, and they have a lifetime warranty..., Sweet!!!

Conclusion: Buy one, if you can afford the J2 go for it, if not the Series 5 are pretty much the same gun without the fancy milling, trust me you will be impressed...
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Monday, October 4th, 2004 at 9:45 am PST
I found this review  
9 Comments - Add Comment

bigmac1 Sunday, August 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
04 j2 and some wgp autocockers
Marker Setup: series 5
ccm all delrin bolt
16" evil pipe
egg 2
crossfire 47/3000 steel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
You could upgrade this but its awesome stock
Strengths: Everything on this gun is top of the line.
Weaknesses: Absoulutly nothing is weak with this gun.
Review: This gun is sweet. For being mechanical it rips. It is super tuff to. When I first got it I was stupid and did not have hpa so I ran it with co2 (that was stupid, dont ever run a cocker on co2)This gun ran awesome for the situation. my hands were frozen solid. The gun was fine a little cold though. In my opionion for the money you cant get a better gun.
Conclusion: This gun rocks and the people at ccm are the cooliest. An easy 10 out of 10
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Mder Sunday, July 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E-99 Avant (only thing better is the speed, but only by one bps)
Marker Setup: Primary:
CCM Series 5 (black matte)
System X Drop Forward w/On/Off
Evlution II (smoke)
68 CI 3000 PSI Crossfire Carbon Wrapped Tank

Backup:
Spyder E-99 Avant
Evil Delrin Bolt
32* Clamping Feedneck
Psycho Ballistics Drop Forward w/On-Off
12V Revolution w/X-board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit - the stock isn't bad, but its always nice to have a kit

Accessories:
HPA/N2/Compressed Air - its all the same stuff, just call it what you want
Agitated Hopper
Strengths: Lightweight, fast, short trigger pull, recoiless, price, has some delrin
Weaknesses: Looks, no gauge port, paint job
Review: Pros:

Lightweight:
Without a tank, and a hopper it weighs only 2.5 pounds. Even with everything its very light for a cocker. If you have a light tank, then you're all set with one of the lightest cockers made.

Speed:
For a mech cocker this thing rips. My friend got it up to 13 bps consistantly. I can outshoot my 12V Revolution (it only feeds like 11 bps for real) with it if I try. Everyone I shot all thought I was using an electro, since they saw a huge barrage of balls coming at them.

Delrin:
The bolt is half delrin half aluminum. The part that is aluminum is the part that doesn't touch the marker so It won't scatch. The pull pin is also delrin. All you need is a delrin back block if you are going to go all delrin.

Trigger:
This thing is set very short. I could pay $20 to have someone else do it, and get the same results. Its not the shortest pull, but its good enough.

Barrel:
It is almost a real self cleaning barrel. After a break or chop, I shoot like twice and its fine. Even with paint in the barrel it's still pretty accurate.

Recoil:
Since its a closed bolt marker it has very little recoil. The result of this is better that you can hold your gun straight for longer. It isn't true that closed bolt markers are more accurate, its just that they have less recoil resulting in you staying on target.

Price:
It has an amazing price of $390. When I bought it it was $500. For what you get its a great deal.

Cons:

Looks:
It looks like a matrix without milling and much skinnier. Personally I don't mind, but for all you who want a cocker with sexy milling like the orracle or outkast this gun isn't for you. I don't mind since people always underestimate the gun, then I shoot them and they think otherwise.

No GaugePort:
I wish I could put a gauge on both the regs, but there isn't a port for one. I know that the LPR runs from 0-70 PSI and I've got it set near the middle, but I don't know what the inline reg is set to.

Paint Job:
For 2004 CCM released two different paint jobs for the black Series 5. One is a matte and the other is a gloss. The matte scatches very easily, for me this is bad since I can't stand scratches, but I'll get over it. If you get it in another color (very rare) you might not have the choice between matte and gloss.
Conclusion: Great marker. I wouldn't recomend it before a tournament, unless you already have a cocker that's not as good. It makes a great second gun, and first cocker. If you want to be different and have a lesser known cocker get this gun it's great.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, September 1st, 2004 at 6:49 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

enjoy_yo_self Tuesday, July 6th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
I suppose other cockers although the series 5 is nothing like your average budd.
Marker Setup: series 5 chipley, 12v revy, crossfire 88/45, 14" cp classic
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing at all, only reason i swapped barrels is because i prefer a 14" tube. "stock" 12" piece shoots great.
Strengths: Fast, i doubt i'll blade it, accurate as hell, gas stingy, and consistant.
Weaknesses: My sources say nothing...yup, nothin' at all.
Review: This gun has got to be #1 on the best buys in paintball list. 6 years ago this thing would have cost twice if not three times as much but thanks to e-everything, mechs have gotten way cheaper. Enter chipley custom machine. These mugs have the midas touch believe you me. Everything they make is top freekin' shelf and the modest series 5 is nothing short of testament to that fact. They're (ccm) also in no danger of becoming the latest addition to the paintball nazi's list so you don't have to make excuses to buy there stuff. I like the looks of the thing but i've always chosen function over fashion. I love my series 5, but don't buy one, i'd hate to chance playing someone with a gun as good as mine!
Conclusion: Pet it...Stroke it...Name it George. This thing rips.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

LinuxalFL Sunday, May 9th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed, A5 w/FlatLine,Spyder
Marker Setup: Red Dust Angel Speed
Mid-Sized Volumizer
16" Dye Ultralite
A-4 Bolt
Halo-B
Recommended
Upgrades:
Probably the Barrel, I tested it with a Dye BoomStick so I'm not sure how well the stock barrel performes. The Boom is my favorite barrel anyway.
Strengths: ACCURATE AS HELL!!
Aboslutly ZERO KICK
Weaknesses: Not nearly as fast as my Speed but at least I could hit the target :-)
Review: I used this marker for a short time and instantly loved it. Its insane accuracy and phenomenal consistency immediately changed my game for the better. I was able to lay down paint exactly where I wanted it to go from shot to shot even during long strings. This marker has accuracy rivaling or perhaps even better than my A5 FlatLine! Because of this, the CCM may replace my Angel Speed. While it did shoot as fast as I could pull the trigger, Iím still a little concerned about going back to a mechanical marker. I would like to try the CCM 04 J2 electro too.
Conclusion: I would recommend this marker to just about anyone. After playing PB for awhile, Iíve learned a couple of things very well.

1. A marker with a high ROF wonít do much for you if itís not accurate.
2. Try it before you buy it! Find someone with the marker you want to by and ask to shoot it a few times.
3. Marketing is just that, marketing. Donít get suckered by a company that spends more time on hype than they do on building good equipment. Everyone claims to have the best but until you try it, donít believe a word of it.
It is these 3 axioms that I base my recommendation upon.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

guitarocker15 Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Empire Icon Z, my gun
PMI Piranha
This gun makes the $300 Piranha I played with seem like a dollar store pickup.
Marker Setup: i dont remember its not mine, i think it was all stock stuff though
Recommended
Upgrades:
it doesnt need any upgrades, but if you can find anything wrong with it i congradulate you
Strengths: shoots hard, very quiet, extremely light and accurate.
Weaknesses: none..maybe the price..
Review: This gun is flawless! I went paintballing with a guy who had this gun. It was scary. It shoots like a frickin sniper rifle and is as quiet as BB gun. It also leaves hecka fat welts. It's really light, easy to carry around, and once you've got someone in your sights, theyre gone. Its about as loud as when i shoot my gun without and CO2 in it. I can't say enough about the series 5. There's no reason not to buy this gun..if you find it at a price you want buy the heck out of it
Conclusion: It kicks butt
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Brutus Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
2001 WGP Vert. feed Autococker (Friend let me use a couple of times.)
Marker Setup: CCM Series 5, Ricochet AK, St!ffi Switch barrel kit (with CCM control bores), SystemX 68/3000, CP Dovetail and On/Off.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kits are a good idea for most Autocockers (or so I'm told). In the right hands it's probably fast enough to warrant an electronic hopper (I use a Ricochet AK, but I doubt I'm that fast yet). Other than air (CO2 is a BAD idea) and an air source adapter it's pretty nice right out of the box.
Strengths: Fast for a mechanical marker.
Delrin Bolt.
Nice warranty.
Great bang for the buck.
Weaknesses: Grips and frame could be more comfortable.
A factory air source adapter would be nice.
Review: I had to wait WAY too long to get my grubby little fingers on one of these. It's really just a well put together Autococker with some nice accesories. The one I bought is a 2004 which means it has an adjustable front reg and CCM barrel instead of the smart-parts one (remember kids... smart parts pattented EVERYTHING, so now we all must quake before their mighty army of lawyers... sorry, the AKA thing really burned me so I take snipes at SP when I can.) With a barrel kit on it the shot grouping is far superior to my previous marker (a spyder imagine with a Dye Boomstick, what a waste of a good barrel). You get alot for what you spend, but you still spend nearly $500 for the 2004, that's alot of money for someone used to $150 spyders, but the performance is worth it if you're gonna play often. My only complaint is the grip, which can downright uncomfortable for wusses with soft little girl hands such as myself.
Conclusion: Odds are if you're considering one you don't need a review to tell you which way to go. Most of the folks I know who are buying these know exactly what they're getting into. That having been said, I love mine and would buy it again given half a chance. Who needs those fancy ultra fast electros anyway... Given that I see it as the best marker in its price range it gets a ten, that by no means makes it as good as markers costing more.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

~EBLADE OWNAGE~ Wednesday, February 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel Speed
Class E Oracle
Marker Setup: E-Blade (Of course)
BoomStick Barrel
Pneumatics Cover
HALO hopper
Crossfire 68 CI
Recommended
Upgrades:
You need an EBlade to really get this gun to shoot and act like a true autococker. It will get you up to 21 bps and will make you a god. Once you've got that be sure to purchase a HALO, unless your fingers are untrained for speed then buy an eVLoution. AND also be sure to get a pneumatics cover cuz if your pneumatics gets hit, the repairs to fix it will cost more than your gun.
Strengths: It's excellent w/ an Eblade, It's accurate like a phantom, and quiet...
Weaknesses: ~Heavy Trigger, hard to shoot above 18bps
Review: It's a sleek design thats not too fancy nor complicated. It surpirses me at how fast it can shoot w/o and electric trigger. It's stock barrel, most of the time performs to a well standard. For a cocker you will be very pleased at how well this S.O.B. can perform. It's accuracy is what you will cherish about it. It shoots very quiet as well even w/ the Eblade. That is another major factor that I love about mine. I will always love my Chipley... Always
Conclusion: People... take it from me this gun is as accurate as hell and for a good price (Only $500 MAN!!) and if you really want to go pro... Get the Eblade to go w/ it. When you get that w/ your Chipley you will play like a sure fire pro. ~E-BLADE OWNS YOU~
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, February 25th, 2004 at 5:12 pm PST
I found this review  
16 Comments - Add Comment

jzito Sunday, February 15th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP guns, free flows, questnumatix, etc....
Marker Setup: CCM series 5, dye ultra light, check-it uni-mount, crossfire 45/45, halo tsa front man
Recommended
Upgrades:
all I can say is a barrel, the stock barrel is pretty good but I like dye barrels
Strengths: it's lite, small, easy to shoot fast, dosen't chop, tough gun
Weaknesses: can't think of anything, except the barrel, not as accurate as it could be
Review: Alright, the series 5 cocker is by far one of the best guns I've played with and shot, and I've used just about everything out there so far except timmy's but ohwell. This gun is accurate as a phantom and will shoot as fast as you can pull the trigger. Which is just extremely smooth and crisp, no problem ripping off steady streams if need be. It points well and the rounds go where you want them inless your stupid or something. I can hit hoppers and feet no problem. The gun is also just plain lite, there's a few guns out there that are lighter, but they have the ba-jeeezus milled out of them and the series 5 is just old plain jane, but little jane still looks pretty. The whole gun just fits together, all the parts look like they should be on the gun. The grips that come on gun are comfortable, I'm not getting rid of them. This gun is also pretty tough, I was trying to do a run through and the gun got caught on a bunker I slid past and got ripped out of my hands, flew a few feet into the air and tumbled across the ground. Every ball in my hopper was broke, but the series 5 didn't even notice.
Conclusion: this gun rocks, it's everything you could want in a custom cocker for about a hundred bucks more then a WGP stock cocker. I give the series 5 a ten because all the little punks with angels can't touch me and my series 5.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballhead5 Thursday, February 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
6 months15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
WGP 2K2 Vert Cocker
WGP 2K2 Vert Cocker Tricked out
Tricked WGP 2K3 Vert Cocker
System X Base Cocker
WGP Worrlock Autococker with race frame
Marker Setup: My Equipment:
Black B2K3
WGP Kaner Barrel Kit
Aim Drop Forward
Halo B w/Z code
ACI Bulldog III 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
Maybe a new barrel...maybe
Drop Forward
Strengths: Light
Fast
High Quality
Comes Upgraded
No upgrades needed
Reliable
Pinches Paint
Life Time Warranty
Weaknesses: Ummm.... i cant think of any!
Review: Iv have owned 5 cockers and have been playing with electro cockers for a while and this gun brought me back to the mechanical side. IMO this is the best mech cocker u can buy. Most guns have fancy milling, this gun is shaved, so shave that the milling has been shaved off. It is so freakn light, its the lightest cocker i have ever held. The internals are awesome, my gun is set to pinch, i can put my finger in the breech and fire, it dosnt even hurt. That means never break another ball ever again. The front pneumatics are awesome, the 3way is very short and it isnt very touchy, the lpr and ram seem to work awesome. The gun has a super light delrin bolt with a small back block and a delrin pull-pin. The front block is half the size of a normal front block, it so freakn small. To top it off this gun has the CCM hinge, it is the best feeling hinge i have ever shot. The gun also has a clamping feed tube, its angel threaded feed tube, it has a strait pump arm, and a wire ball detent (IMO there the best because they never wear down or break). This gun isnt the best looking, but its performance makes up for that. The only thing on this gun that isnt excellent is the stock barrel, its a Smart Parts Progressive. Oh the gun also has a life time warranty.

I believe that this gun is as good if not better then any high end cocker you can buy!
Conclusion: Chipley makes the best cockers in my opinion. This is the best cocker i have ever used. If you want a cocker buy this, you will not be disappointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Thursday, February 12th, 2004 at 4:15 pm PST
I found this review  
10 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (3):  1  |  2  |  3
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media