paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4

Dye DM4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM4

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM4
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 187
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DM4 has been born. Created and developed by a unique team of Paintball�s finest athletes and engineers. Every detail has been carefully formulated and prepared to the exacting standards of DYE. The DM4 not only embodies the very idea of Paintball gun perfection, it also shatters the boundaries of 3-D body sculpting. Under a literal choreography of drill bits, metal and coolant, our CNC machines have carved and shaved the most stylistically innovative Paintball gun available. You want fast? The DM4 houses unprecedented electronic control and is limited only to the speed of your hopper. Utilizing cutting-edge technical achievements coupled with superior elegance in design and function, the DM4 symbolizes the momentum, quality and perfection that is DYE.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM4 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
firebirdjimbo Wednesday, December 2nd, 2009
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Pm5, Pm7, Dm3.
Marker Setup: Dye dm4
48/3000 tank
Evil pipe barrel kit
Clampling feedneck
Halo b
Orange bolt
Cp sling trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
None but i have the orange bolt.
Strengths: Very quiet, almost no kick and also very fast. What else do you need?
Weaknesses: Heavy
Review: I bought it about 6 months ago and love it, its not too efficient (about 1000 per 68/45). Is very quiet even with my 14'' linear barrel, not very quiet with my pipe kit but thats just the barrels fault, put a 16'' cp classic with a tighter bore 686-685 and you have yourself a silent gun.
Conclusion: Awesome, i got it for 300 bucks and it came with a pipe kit, orange bolt, extra noid and halo hopper, so a steal. Its very quiet and very accurate also very fast even with stock board, i have a cp sling trigger which feels amazing but stock one is nice too.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pballersgh17 Wednesday, June 18th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
factory freak impulse new designs internals and blackhart board sft shoker standard ion qev cp roller trigger Angel speed with the fly internals and programming epihpany standard
Marker Setup: Dye dm4 shochtech edition clear ano halo b black dye 71/45 cu in tank virtue board freak barrell system ultra light frame
Recommended
Upgrades:
freak and virtue board foe sho
Strengths: Size weight speed price
Weaknesses: Uhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Review: Yea this is by far one of the best guns i have ever owned the only two that even come close but were extremly heavy were the impulse and the angel but by far they looked the best the impulse was black to olive fade and the angel black to red my dm4 is wat dye calls clear its silver
Conclusion: If u find one get it ull be amazed
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

TippmannCCI Saturday, February 9th, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Epiphany
Ion
Marker Setup: CCI Phantom VSC
Gauged Rear Adapter
Gost ring
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel Kit
Ultralite frame if youd like
Fast hopper
Strengths: Quite
Consistent
Fairly light
Fairly effecient
Fast
Ball on ball accuracy
Weaknesses: Large profile
Review: We got this gun as a birthday for my present for my dad for 250$ and i must say, this is an amazing deal. The gun was 1400$ when it first came out and was once considered to be the king of all paintball guns and even today it still is a great gun.
Pros
Looks:
Now this is a personnal decision but i think this is a sweet looking gun. Compared to the guns that were around when this first came out it was way ahead of its time. I think the leap in milling from the dm3 to the dm4 was the biggest one that Dye has ever made.

Weight:
Now im used to playing with a Phantom so every gun fully loaded is heavy in comparison to it. This one is no exception but comared to other guns i think its pretty light. It also feels well balanced with a hopper and tank on it.

Consistency:
When broken in, we were getiing +/- 3 fps, It has the hyper 2 so i was expecting it to be pretty consistant and i was not dissapointed. Consistancy translated into accuracy which is my next point

Accuracy:
Any guns accuracy gun be improved with a barrel kit and I highly reccomend either the freak or j&j edge. But whenever you shoot, you can expect the next ball to land right were the first one did.

Quiet:
Being a spool valve this is one quiet gun. I would like to say one of the quietest markers out there. If you have a sound activated hopper be sure to set the sensitivity up.

Efficiency:
Now being a spool valve the efficiency isnt going to be as great as a poppet valve, but its still pretty efficient for being a spooly. I get 3 hoppers off a 48 cu in tank filled to 3000psi.

Speed:
Like any gun nowadays, it is only limited by the speed of your hopper and how fast your regs can recharge. With the psp limit being 13.33 speed is very quickly becoming an irrevelent thing on high end electronics. Most fields are only allowing semi anyways and i can assure you... you will NEVER , NEVER be able to out shoot this gun, your hopper maybe, but not the gun. This is true with every uncapped electronic gun.

Cons
Dont worry this is a short list...
High profile:
This gun is fairly large so it makes a big target. The hopper tends to sit pretty high also, btu you can always buy a no rise feedneck.
Conclusion: I am very impressed with this gun. It is truly amazing what less then 300$ can get you nowadays and you can find them upped for that price on ebay. So just got on there and looked. This will easily out perform any gun in that price range and just as easy in most gun 3x its price.
Stop reading this and go get one now.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, February 16th, 2008 at 8:37 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

NinjaDragon23 Sunday, February 3rd, 2008
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder
Tippmann
Pirahna
Ion
Proto
Wrath
Autococker
Marker Setup: Dust Blue Proto PM5
Dye UL Frame
CP Feed Neck
CP On/Off
Halo B
Dye Throttle 91/45

Black to Red Dye DM4
Dye UL Barrel
Shocktech Trigger
Tadao M3 chip
Hybid Grips
eVLution 3
Dye Throttle 91/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Board
Bolt - for back players
Strengths: Fast
Accurate
Cheap
Looks
Weaknesses: Weight and Size - for some.
Review: Got this gun for christmas and i'm glad i did. For $185 you really can't go wrong. As fast and as accurate as new high ends, maybe just a tad heavier and bigger, but i personally don't mind. Comes stock with a dye Ultralite Barrel which is about $110 and is the most accurate barrel i have ever shot. Very easy to clean and maintain, and like i said before, shoots ropes just as good as or even better than some newer markers. You may want to upgrade the board to have the newer modes or just pop in the Tadao chip for the stock board. If you play back a new bolt is optional for more shots but i use a 91/45 tank so i get enough shots from a fill. Look for it on ebay, you could find them for under $200.
Conclusion: Taking the price into consideration, this gun is a much better investment than any other gun you can get for under $200.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

skinnybestard2 Friday, November 16th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
1 year3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM5 not much difference. kinda like a nerve
Marker Setup: Custom annoed superman DM4
Tadao m5 board
dye low rise feed neck red/ blue
Dye UL barrel or SS freak both 14 inch red/ blue
orange bolt
Dye 07 asa blue
Shocktech mini drop red
C5 jersey and pants. red/blue
proto 4+3 pro pack/ lock lids blue
68/45 fiber wraped pure energy tank
dye rhino cover blue
halo B v-35 hopper with rip drive and speedfeed ST cone bue
JT proteus or Proto axis
Backup
Rat impulse
blade trigger
smartparts frame
angry custom products feed neck
jj edge barrel kit'
cp on off
cp reg
halo b w/ rip red
steel tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
NEW FEED NECK the gun is kinda heavy so you might want a UL frame. maybe a board. it doesnt come with a drop so you need one of those. halo/ empire/ pulse you need to keep up with the gun
Strengths: Super fast, no kick, very quiet, look amazing on ebay for very afordable $200-$400
Weaknesses: Heavy kinda fat can be pricy depends on the seller/store
Review: Overall the DM4 is an amazing gun. I mean this thing rips!!!!!! it is kinda heavy but it looks amazing (especialy when it is custom annoed for superman) If you are looking for a high end marker for a low price (ebay) this is a gun to look for. out of all my friends guns pmr/ pmr/etekego/spyders/ nerve this is my favorite BUY IT!!!
SPECS
The Board- the stock board is pretty good but I would personally get a new one. even a tadao m3 board would be fine The board is easy to install and easy to work. P.S. dont get a predator board. My friend has one in his shocker and hates it.

The body- The body is kind of heavy but it looks amazing and is pretty durable I think if you buy a new body your just wasting your money. but ther is one thing i dont like. where you insert the barrel it comes out about an inch. It makes the gun look weird without the barrel

The barrel- Dont get a new barel. the stock barrel (Dye Ultralite) its amazing I had a Stainless steel freak 14in from my old BKO and it doesnt shoot more accurately and it is like 1.5 times as heavy. unless you want to get a Dye Boomstick, which i personally think is unnessesary stick with the Ultralite

Trigger frame- the trigger frame is decent. I am saving up for an Ultralite frame. thats just a little extra thing that will make it liter and it comes with a better trigger The stock trigger frame is fine though it comes with a dye sitcky grip =]

Feed neck- the feedneck pictured is not verry good i would sereously consider getting a new one. I would seggest a CMM dye or shocktech feed neck ( thats just personal liking) you dont need one but it is only about 30 bucks and it is a major improvement for your marker

The Bolt- the bolt is fine shoots great and is pretty quiet. when i bought my DM4 it came with a HE bolt. I have had it for about 7 months (i go every other week cause i get free paint) and have yet to chop a paintball. it is not a needed upgrade it was just convinent one for me

The regulator- you dont need a new reg. the dye Hyper regulator is a great reg. I have never had a leak once. Dont waste your money on a CP reg or a different one the stock reg is great.

The eyes- the eyes work perfect. like i said earlyer i have yet to chop a paintball in 7 months. they work great as long as you clean them after you play.

The trigger- the trigger is decent. it is a two finger trigger. verry walkable but i am getting a CP sling trigger for my b-day

The ASA - The dm4 doesnt come with one so you will have to get one. myne came with the old ion one so i got a new one. At the pig roast (Bad Boyz Toyz sale in lansing IL i bought a Dye 06 on off ASA and a shocktech mini drop. they are great and one of my favorite upgrades for the price (great sale $15 total)
Conclusion: The DM4 is an amazing gun and i would seriously consider getting one!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, November 27th, 2007 at 6:19 pm PST
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

maniac_baller_2 Sunday, June 3rd, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 years
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm3, eblade, angels, timmys, the works if it is out there i have shot it.
Marker Setup: stock dm4
Recommended
Upgrades:
maybe a board, and loader that keeps up
Strengths: Accuracy, looks, easy to work on, and speed.
Weaknesses: None in my mind
Review: Have had a dm4 for awhile now and just was to busy to write review, but here goes. First the dm4 is one of my favorite markers to play with, it shoots ropes of paint, and has ball on ball accuracy. Some say marker has efficiency problems, but i find it to be with in reason for a front or mid player, if playing back you may want a new bolt to get more shots.
Strengths, I really like the guns looks, and also how easy it is to break down and clean. I also like how easy it is to rip the gun. The eyes on the gun are also flawless, i can honestly say i have never chopped a ball inside of my Dm4. The gun is extremely soft on paint. Dye customer service is among the best, and they really take care of you.
Weaknesses, weight, little heavy compaired to most of the markers out their now. Also the dm4 uses a membrane to turn on and sometimes goes bad, can hot wire with allen keys.
Conclusion: I would say get on if you are looking for a gun that is close to price in a topped out ion, dont pay more that 375, with all the goodies, never had problems with marker and feel is great gun for all
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeamElement Tuesday, May 29th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long 2k2 Intimidator
Dye Matrix (DM3)
Angel Fly
Shocker 03
Shocker 06
Impulse
Marker Setup: DM4
Tadao Board
Recommended
Upgrades:
Not Much, maybe new grips, Tadao Boards are nice, but really no reason to change much of anything.
Strengths: Easy to rip on
Light
Pretty, cant forget how the marker looks
Comfortable
Weaknesses: Eh, could come with a better barrel, but its still good.
Review: This marker is by far the best marker i have ever had, or used. I use to own a Suped up 2k2 timmy, but this blows it out of the water. Ive been paintballing like crazy since i bought it, and i love using it. I own people with this marker, but thats mostly cause i rock.
Conclusion: Buy it now, and ROCK
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

i3en Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
More than 5 years1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Electra, 03 vision shocker, 04 angel speed, 05 angel speed, smart parts ion, Dye Dmc
Marker Setup: Dmc with Halo B and 72/4500 pure energy tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
A ultra light trigger frame
Strengths: Accuracy
Air efficient
Consistent velocity
High rate of fire
Well balanced
Looks
Weaknesses: Its a little heavy but good for its age
Review: This is one of the nicest guns iv ever used its as accurate as any other gun out there and you can get them really cheap used they are under $300. it is as fast as you would ever need a gun to be. iv goten it up to 21 bps walking it 30 with ramping.
Conclusion: I would give this gun a 9 if it was a newer gun but cuz of its age i think it deserves a 10
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, September 16th, 2007 at 8:09 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zheme Tuesday, May 15th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Marker Setup: DM4 (Cobalt)
- Millenium chip
- Lighter bolt
- New ASA
Halo B
68/4500 air
Recommended
Upgrades:
New ASA
Virtue- or Millechip
Strengths: + Light
+ FAST
+ Accuracy
+ Looks awesome
+ No chopping
Weaknesses: - Nothing
Review: I got this marker in a bag, so I don't know what kind that original box is.
But anyway. I had my DM4 with millenium chip, cp:s ASA and lighter bolt installed, and I paid it only 300 €.
Everything works perfectly, I've never shoot faster marker (well, I have had only some Viewloaders crap marker and Proto Matrix Rail). This gun has ever chopped, and I've shot about 4000 balls with it. It's just awesome gun!
Looks very dangerous, especially my Cobalt- colour DM4.
Conclusion: At today, this thing is SO cheap, that I would recommen this for everybody.
Everey offical tournament has bps-limit 15, so it won't make any difference if you buy, for example, DM6 or DM4.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

TeAmStRaIgHtPrI Friday, April 13th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
DM6
more dm4s
dm5s
m6
m5
Alien interceptors
Marker Setup: Gloss Blue Dm4
Tadao m6
Hybrid bolt guide
Vlocity Hopper
PE 68/45
Recommended
Upgrades:
Either Lucky bolt o-rings or Hybrid bolt guide for better effieciency. either than that, everything else is presonal preference
Strengths: -Fast
-Great service
-easy to fix
Weaknesses: -Efficiency(but you can tune it to be more efficient)
-Weight maybe?
Review: In conclusion, the DYE DM4 is a great gun for a beginner or a tournament player, I play XPSL and plan on using it for a while. Great gun, great customer service, anything wrong with it, send it in to them and they will repair it most of the time for free, unless your a idiot and do something retarded to the gun. Shoots great, fast and very well made. A+++++
Conclusion: Im giving it an eight just because it get looks down on by all the newer guns that have come out, but it still shoots ropes and can keep up with the 07s of today.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
                            
Pages (19):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media