paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4

Dye DM4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM4

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM4
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 187
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DM4 has been born. Created and developed by a unique team of Paintball�s finest athletes and engineers. Every detail has been carefully formulated and prepared to the exacting standards of DYE. The DM4 not only embodies the very idea of Paintball gun perfection, it also shatters the boundaries of 3-D body sculpting. Under a literal choreography of drill bits, metal and coolant, our CNC machines have carved and shaved the most stylistically innovative Paintball gun available. You want fast? The DM4 houses unprecedented electronic control and is limited only to the speed of your hopper. Utilizing cutting-edge technical achievements coupled with superior elegance in design and function, the DM4 symbolizes the momentum, quality and perfection that is DYE.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM4 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19
        Next Page
athanaseus Thursday, May 13th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
gz intimidator, angel 4, they all aren't even close
Marker Setup: dM4 - black to blue fade
halo b - black
dye airport & mini drop - black
crossfire 70/4.5k blue peanut
Recommended
Upgrades:
evolve bolt when it comes out
cp roller trigger
xsf advantage chip
flops' diode mod
TECHNA TRIGGER
Strengths: accuracy, NO kick, speed, speed, weight, EGi eyes, and more
Weaknesses: gas efficiency, not bad, but not good
Review: this is a great gun this is why
WEIGHT- it's very thin and balanced, and definitely not that heavy. Weighing in at 2 lbs 3 oz. with ultralite and hyper II regulator it is definitely not a hindrance.
TRIGGER- very adjustable, but it takes a while to adjust it. however, when you find your own sweetspot, it is really easy to do 19bps. personally, i can give a Halo with v35 a run for it's money with the stock trigger. When the Techna carbon fiber trigger comes out of beta testing and into the public - it'll blow EVERYTHING away.
ELECTRONICS- the LED is very easy to use, and the entire setup is actually very user friendly. The only problem is that the EMF will cause your battery to drain very quickly, so you HAVE to invest in a rechargable battery.
ACCURACY- with a stock ultralite, you will be shooting darts out of the box. and NO kick if you set your LPR right.
BOLT- a lot simpler and lighter than the original matrix bolt. a fool could clean & lube it.
COMFORTABLENESS- i know it's not a word, but the comfortableness it out of this world with a stock sticky3, and true .45 frame.
EFFICIENCY&CONSISTENCY- after 2500 break in shots, the hyperII will dish out +/- 2-3. 7 pods and a hopper out of a 68/4500 fill
UPGRADES- not many, but they are pretty good. xsf makes it more adjustable, cp roller adds a lot of walkability, and the evolve will hopefully give it over 2000 shots from a 68/4.5k tank.
EYES- designed by finland's finest, EGi, the eyes give you 35 bps with a very simple setup. if there is paint, it will fire. if there is not paint, it will not fire.
Conclusion: I would definitely recommend this product as long as you have enough cash/sponsorship. If you are not a really serious player, I would recommend a Dye Matrix LCD, they are 750 at select stores.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, May 22nd, 2004 at 8:48 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Alpha138 Wednesday, May 12th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Matrix LED, Angel LCD, Classic Timmy
Marker Setup: Stock marker, Halo B, Checkit bottom line, and Crossfire 68/4500
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Fast, Accurate
Weaknesses: little better efficiency .
Review: Got this marker about a month ago. Have since been through 4-5 practices. From the first second I saw it I loved it. It has not really let me down yet. I have put at least 3-4 cases of paint through it and the only reason I broke was I let the battery run low and it turned the eyes off. This marker is great, easy to use. Not really much you have to do once you set the trigger sensitivity and trigger to your liking. It did take some time to get the bounce out of the trigger. I think I ended up near the highest setting to get the bounce out. Other then that I just turn it on and rip. The speed is absolutely insane. The stock ultralite barrel is great. Do not see much of a reason to swap to a new barrel. If anything can just get the different size backs to match and you are good to go.
Conclusion: Loving this marker. Price is a bit high but for what you are getting I think it is just about worth it. I would recommend this maker to anyone looking for a good tourney marker.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frontman4141 Monday, May 10th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Angel IR3 - The DM4 is faster, more accurate, and has a sexier look
Marker Setup: Dye DM4 red/black fade, 10 inch ultralite, shocktech long drop, Hyper2 inline reg, crossfire low output stubby tank, Egg with Y board.
Recommended
Upgrades:
None - maybe a better reg - the hyper 2 doesn't like the cold which is bad for winter and cold morning.
Strengths: CRAZY SUPER ACCURATE
Weaknesses: hmmmm doesn't make m & m's
Review: I have never shot anything soooooo friggin accurate, quiet, or sexy lookin. I am able to shoot people in 3-5 shots instead of the old 10-30 shots, it tucks so tight i can snap shoot like no body's business. I gotta red to black fade one to go with my colors and it looks tight. One game i played i ran all the way to the 50 off the break and all you hear me scream is "back right gone, back center gone, back left gone" and it was all because the gun is so accurate.
Conclusion: In my oppinion this is the best gun ever made by god to be given the the human race.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

samiam14 Friday, May 7th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tested a Eblade Orracle Cocker and a lasoya timmy
Marker Setup: Black/Red Dm4 with black Dye Airport and Black Mini Drop. 68/4500 Crossfire Lp ouput tank.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrel kit
Strengths: Quiet, Fast, Looks, Light, Accurate
Weaknesses: Air hog, Kick with an Hp output tank, Trigger adjusments are a pain
Review: First off, The DM4 RULES!!!!!!

When i got this gun i immediately read the manual. Which i Found helpful but they could have made it a little better by keeping information about a part of the gun in one place. Another thing that i noticed right away is that the gun is really light. When i picked it up it was very light. It comes with a battery installed in the gun and comes standard with a replacement and macroline. But a very big negative. It had no screws for my drop forward. Now if your like me you want to gas it up right away but i couldnt do that. When i finally got my screws for the drop i went and screwed in a 68/4500 Pure Energy HP output tank.
One of the best things about this gun is that it is SOOOOO quiet.But for every good thing there is a bad thing. The kick was bad. I found out later that this was b/c the bolt was hittin the rear cap of the gun too hard. The output pressure was too highso i decided to go far an Lp output tank. while i was waiting for my freind to give me his LP tank to borrow i figured i would adjust the trigger pull. This is a pain. The frame comes off easy but the darn spring has to be placed right on an orange circle where the gun recieves a signal to shoot after about a half an hour i finally figured this out. Any way once i figured that out i was finally able to shoot it with an LP tank. I noticed some dropoff but that was after i had been rippin it for about an hour on the Xball feild. The speed by the way is awsome. However DIP switches on the inside of the gun are very hard to reah if your hopper breaks whereas the eye sensitivity coul be adjusted very easily on an LCD screen.
Conclusion: Overall This is a fabulous gun. If you have the money go and get it!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Dye i just recomend an LCD screen. But still a fabulous gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hate0breeder Friday, April 30th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Matrix
2K3 Shocker
Marker Setup: WGP Karnivor, 71/45 Dye Throttle Tank, VL eVolution
Recommended
Upgrades:
New bolt when it comes out, only to increase efficency, because the stock fuse bolt is amazing
Strengths: -super fast
-super accurate
-beutifully machined
-everything you need is in the box
Weaknesses: -super gas hog
-$$, but worth every penny
Review: I just recently tested my friends brand new DM4 and i was simply amazed. This marker defines what a paintball marker should be. At first look, i was amazed at the beutiful color and machining. It is great because it doesnt seem over done. I also enjoyed the fact that they got rid of the LCD display, and went with a much simpler LED light display. My friends came with the clear dye sticky grips, so it was very comfortable to hold. There are only 2 buttons on the trigger frame. I fell in love with the simplicity of this marker.
However, you shouldn't buy a marker for how it looks or feels, right? You wanna know how it fires. Well, the DM4 outshoots anything ive ever shot. My buddy has his set on about 16 bps, but it can be adjusted to increase rate of fire. Because of its low pressure operation, this gun is rediculously accurate. This also means it has little/no kick, which is great for accuracy also. It is also very consistent when chronographing. My friend shot 6 shots and they listed as follows : 275, 275, 275, 276, 275, 276. I swear this to be true. I was used to seeing our old spyders jump all over the chrono.
The trigger is adjustable from inside of the trigger frame. This is normal on all high end guns. I personally prefer external trigger adjustments, because it is a little easier to work with, but thats just my preference.
Also, Dye has some of the best customer service around. My friend was having a little trouble with the electronics or something to that effect, and the customer service people helped him and the technician at the shop through the whole thing, with out a hitch. This is really good considering the fact that i've had to sit on hold for up to 20 min. with other companies.
One thing that i did notice, which holds true to most low pressure markers, is that you get some really bad air efficency. my buddy could only go to about 3-4 games, and then he would need to refill his 68/45 (which only fills to 4000). Nevertheless, if you have the $1400 to spend on the marker, then the extra $$ you spend on air prob. won't bother you.
Conclusion: I would recommend this product to ANY player who wants the best equipment. There are plenty of markers out there that are almost as good, for less, but i have never experienced a marker like this. If you want top of the line quality, with service that will pretty much back it up for the life of the product, then i recommend nothing else.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

negativesilver Wednesday, April 28th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
03 shocker - angel 04 - timmys - eblades - trixies
Marker Setup: dm4 -empire b - cp drop/feed neck - 68/3k ~ 99 shocktech - 8in ans - warp feed - 12vrev-drop unknown lol
Recommended
Upgrades:
cp clamping feed neck ~ i know its kinda ugly but it feels alot more stable
definately a halo or such
Strengths: sleek and sexy
fast
accurate
it is a deity among paintball markers
Weaknesses: weakness? i said deity!
Review: this gun just kind of fell into my lap, i didnt want to spend the money, but i got a killer deal and just went for it. i just got done ripping off a half case in my backyard and this is what i have to say so far...

the feeling you get when you shoot this marker makes it worth the money alone - like a volkswagen! i couldnt miss what i was shooting at, the groupings were just so tight! i was using old paint that had been sitting open in my garage in the cold for a month, no breaks in over 1000 rds (some curveballs but that is due to dimples and softness) and of course it rips, i have never seen anything shoot this fast I EVEN MADE MY GRANDMOTHER SHOOT IT! SHE HIT AT LEAST 13 BPS! im not joking!
Conclusion: for not even wanting to buy this gun in the first place, i am really glad that i did - it seems to be the perfect gun and will open a new world for anyone that can afford its hefty price tag, but hey, you get what you pay for.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

dyechamp Sunday, April 25th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
angel speed, gx3 w/ eblade, dye matrix 03
Marker Setup: Dye DM4 ANS GX3 w/ EBlade
low pressure Crossfire 68/4500 tank 68/4500 raptor tank
Dye Ultralite 12 nickel auto spirit
Halo B Halo B
Micro Line Micro Line
Crossfire on/off drop Benchmark Drop
Recommended
Upgrades:
nothing, it comes great out of the box. just get a good low pressure tank a dro and a fast hopper and your all set
Strengths: Shoots Far, Fast, and Accurate, and its lite
Weaknesses: gass hog and price
Review: out of the 6 years i've been playing paintball this is the best gun that i have come across, and believe me i've tried them all (one of the perks of working at a paintball store). This gun is amazing, I have never been able to shot as far and accurate with this gun.
Conclusion: overall i love this gun and if you have the money go buy it now.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

$uper$tar Thursday, April 22nd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
angles, e blades, timmies high end electros....
Marker Setup: cocker soon to be A4 Fly or DM3
Recommended
Upgrades:
barrel kit(pipe kit is my person preference)
Strengths: nice milling, straight shots, very accurate, no kick
Weaknesses: price, pull(see below)
Review: i tried it this weekend and over all i was impressed i palyed 2 games with it and found that it was a really fast gun, i was very impressed however there was one thing i didn't like, the pull was kinda long for such an expensive gun, this was a stock dm4 so i dont know about adjustments to the trigger but i would like to see a stronger return and a slightly shorter pull. other then that it was an amazing but for the price and value i cant help but feel that a DM3 is a better buy for value. oh another thing i was dissapointed in was the eyes, i chopped about three balls not in the barrel with the eye turned on
Conclusion: i think its a sick gun but i think a dm3 is a better buy
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

HTPBPLAYER Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month30 of 32 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
tippmann a-5, autococker 2k3, Nasty impulse
Marker Setup: Dye DM4 (Cobalt Dust) with CP on/off, CP lightning drop forward, Halo B, 45/4500 Nitro Duck x-stream
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt Kit (but not out yet)
Strengths: VERY< VERY> VERY QUIET
ACCURATE
NO KICK
3D MILLING
FAST
Weaknesses: Air efficency (can be fixed by adjusting dwell)
Paint (uses alot of paint)
Review: Well when i got this gun, i was like WOW! This gun is extremly sexy and has really awesome milling. I have heard things about people buying this gun and it having problems with leaks, efficency, and other things. My gun is perfect. Came with no problems except efficency, so i FOLLOWED THE MANUAL, and reset the LP to proper settings( i had a VERY LITTLE kick, so i turned the LP about a 16th of a turn more, and Walla, the kick was GONE!). I later went and shot the DM4 at a construction area and made a few observations. I aired it up and it would not shoot. i was like "Oh No" but i took a minute to look at the situation, the gun was on (LCD was green) and the thing i for got to do was turn the on/off on, on the front of the gun. i shot it once and it fired, so i decided that i was going to max this puppy out. i had not adjusted the trigger yet, so i am firing the gun with stock settings and stock trigger pull. i hooked up my friends EGG with Y-board and i was outshooting it after 2-seconds of stroking on the fine A$$ trigger. The accuracy was sweeeet. It had very little kick.(although went away when i upped LP by a 16th of a turn). I placed a yard marking stick (a wood 2 by 2 with the top of it painted orange) about 30 yds away, and i started ripping at it and paintballs were nailing all around the stick and hitting it like crazy. the spread was about 6 inches. (REALLY TIGHT GROUPS and the paint that i was using was about as dimmpled as golf balls). I had no breaks using the Vision with the dimpled balls. the only part that sucked was when i was done shooting it, my 45/4500 (dropped to 45/4000 after it was filled) only got me a crappy 450 shots. That really pissed me off to no end. So i went and set my LP to 5.2 turns out (stopped all kicking Completely!) I also went through the configuration and set the dwell to 16 and set the trigger sensitivity to 3 and got my gun chrono'd to 285. i adjusted my trigger and cut my trigger spring off 2.5 coils (BIG MISTAKE). I went to shoot it again after filling my tank to 45/3000psi and i got about 720 shots out of it (very good compared to last time). But i went to rip on my new custom trigger pull with a lighter spring and thats when sh!t happend. I was shooting about 7BPS SLOWER than i had shot the day before with the STOCK SETUP. The Efficency was awesome and the kick, well there was NO kick at all. I went home and tryed to figure out why the heck i was shooting so dam slow, and realized that it might be due to the trigger spring be cut down to make a lighter pull. i switched back the stock spring ( you get an extra one in your parts kit) and i adjust my trigger pull from a hair pull to fire back to about 2.5 mm until fire activation. (a little sooner than the stock pull.) I could not feel a difference in the weight of the trigger pull with the regular length spring in from when i had it shortend. also when it use to be shortened, it totally slowed down your rate of fire and the pull was not any lighter. i actually lost around 7bps from doing that. So after putting the full length spring back in, adjusting LP to 5.2 turns out, chronoing it at 285, setting dwell to 16 and trigger sensitivity to 3, it was the best gun at my field. I got 920 shots from 45/4000 and i got no dropp off at 20+bps. there was no kick and i never chopped once using vision/haloB and a little over 4000 paintballs. the gun worked as smooth as a baby's A$$, and drained my hopper, pod after pod with near perfect accuracy and not one break so far. The gun is awesome and you will not regret buying one. It may need a little tuning out of the box, but it is definatley worth it.
Conclusion: THE GOOD:
VERY< VERY> VERY QUIET(i shot this outside my house at 2 AM, and nobodys lights turned on, and no Phone calls made to me the next day)
ACCURATE (not the best, but when ripping 20bps, it is DAM good)
NO KICK (if you got kick, it is because your LP is to LOW, and you need to turn it up)
FAST FAST FAST (with the stock trigger setting, i could get around 17bps, and when i adjusted it to my setting, i could get around 22bps) A word of advice, DON"T shorten the trigger spring, the pull is VERY light as it is, and you will LOWER your BPS because the spring CANNOT return the trigger as fast as it normally would. TRUST ME!
MILLING (3D milling is awesome)

THE BAD: (BUT CAN BE FIXED BY MINOR ADJUSTMENTS
AIR EFFICENCY KINDA (Well, i got my gun and i put my 45/4500 on it and i got about 450 shots of it. Then i adjusted the LP to 5.2 and set the REG to 285 fps and turned my DWELL from 18 down to 16, and i got around 920 shots before drop off. so in my opinion, if your efficency is junk, get your gun chrono'd and set your Lp out 5 turns it will DRASTICALLY increase your air efficency
PAINT (YOU WILL USE ALOT OF PAINT) 500 paintballs in under 2 minutes when your not trying

IN CONCLUSION :

DON"T cut trigger spring, make sure LP is out 5 turns, and turn dwell down from 18 to 17 or 16, and chrono at 285fps to get best air effiency. Lube your bolt after everytime you play (takes less than 2 minutes, Seriously). make sure you turn your on/off to the on postion, or you may be stuck trying to figure out why your not shooting, and make sure you are rich (you will pay alot for this gun and alot for paint). This gun is perfect, a little steep for price, but it has never let me down, so it been a perfect 10 for me after a little love.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
12 Comments - Add Comment

ultapaintballa1 Tuesday, April 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
trix lcd
species and lasoya timmy
eblade cockers
angels, lots and lots of angels
Marker Setup: halo b
88/5k
dye long drop (black) with dye air port (black)
dm4 black to red
and
black strange vison
shocktech long black drop w/ black on/off
freak barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
there really hasnt been many upgrades made available yet. The only thing is a better reg
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Style
Weaknesses: Gas comsumption
Review: The Dye DM4 is the biggest thing to hit the paintball scene since the first angels came out. It has redefined the meaning of fast and is only limited to the speed of your hopper. The accuracy is also amazing and the best barrel on the market ( ultralite) comes standard anodized to match the gun. Adjustable feed neck is stock. But the dye hyper 2 inline reg is better used as a paper weight. Since I have a 5k tank i could really care less. I can get about 7-8 pods on a full fill which isnt that bad. There is no kick on mine, but I here that on some there is alot. I love the style on the gun and there is nothing like it on the market.
Conclusion: This is the best gun on the market, just ask the 5 nxl teams that use them. Im looking forward to see the upgrades that top companies are developing for this supergun.
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Wednesday, October 20th, 2004 at 5:17 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  13  |  14  |  15  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media