paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4

Dye DM4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM4

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM4
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 187
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DM4 has been born. Created and developed by a unique team of Paintball�s finest athletes and engineers. Every detail has been carefully formulated and prepared to the exacting standards of DYE. The DM4 not only embodies the very idea of Paintball gun perfection, it also shatters the boundaries of 3-D body sculpting. Under a literal choreography of drill bits, metal and coolant, our CNC machines have carved and shaved the most stylistically innovative Paintball gun available. You want fast? The DM4 houses unprecedented electronic control and is limited only to the speed of your hopper. Utilizing cutting-edge technical achievements coupled with superior elegance in design and function, the DM4 symbolizes the momentum, quality and perfection that is DYE.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM4 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19
                            
remus77 Monday, February 23rd, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Lasoya Intimidator, NYX Matrix, Dye Matrix 03, 2k2 Intimidator, Angel Speed, Autocockers, Automag, and others.... NO comparison
Marker Setup: Cobalt-Clear Dm4 - everything stock
MacDev 92ci Conquest
Recommended
Upgrades:
Good air system with a large tank.
Strengths: Fast, Consistent, Low-Maintenance, Accurate, and Light
Weaknesses: Bit of a gas-hog
Review: I have arrived... I have been playing paintball for over 10 years now. I have owned all the guns I listed above, and the Dm4 is absolutely the best gun I have ever shot. I have used the gun only 4 times now and I have yet to break a ball. Out of the box it has been the most consistent and trouble free gun I have ever used. I can't tell you how happy I am with it's overall performance. It is easy to rip off crazy-fast strings of paint with great accuracy(consistency) and volume. The trigger was the only thing that I altered when I received the gun. After that it was... perfect. Best gun I have ever used period. Looks bigger in pictures than when you actually hold it too. I will probably stay in this family of guns till a gun that you can drink pepsi out of the reg through a straw comes out.
Conclusion: Buy it if you can afford it. If you can't, get another job, sell lemonade on your street, mow lawns for Ms. Johnson next door, and walk every dog in your state till you can. It is the ultimate tournament competitive gun.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
6 Comments - Add Comment

blasphemer1 Wednesday, January 21st, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragon Intimidator
Dye Matrix
Marker Setup: Black to blue DM4, halo belt drive and an armageddon 45ci
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: speed and accuracy
Weaknesses: tank fills
Review: The Dm4 is a beautiful sight directly out the box. After adjusting the trigger sensitivity there seems to be no end to the speed of this gun. In that case the halo is a must!! The gas efficiency is not the best I have ever seen but who really cares, I will sacrifice a few more times filling my tank to light up the fields with this beauty. People say they are having troubles with their regs being inconsistent but there has yet to be any problems with mine. It was also very nice of Dye to include a very detailed instruction manual, tools, lube, and extra o-rings. I have this gun mounted in my room over the TV when I am not shooting it, it is definitely the best marker that I have ever seen. Also the Anti Bolt Stick is also a sweet addition to this gun. Dye pulled out all the stops and in my eyes created a marker as close to prefection as you can get.
Conclusion: This marker will be very hard for anybody to top. From the milling to the killings there is no other. I have not had a single ball break and have run plenty of paint through it. I would give this gun an 11 but I can not. Do what you have to but buy this gun!!!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

impulse0000 Tuesday, January 20th, 2004
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Strange Impulse , Timmy
Marker Setup: dm4, freak barrel kit, dynoflow 68/4500 halo
Recommended
Upgrades:
Halo, Freak, adjustable output pressure on tank
Strengths: Speed!!! Speed!!!! and Accuracy! good on saving air also.
Weaknesses: Regulator and stock settings but easily changed
Review: This is by far the best gun out there! Wonderful design and many colors to pick from. Accuracy is unbelievable with stock barrel (ultralight) but 10 times better with a freak. Its amazingly fast so you need a halo to keep up, which makes it kinda heavy, but still A very light gun. The body may look big, but its really not when you compare it to a timmy.
The stock regulator I don't like! i don't find it conistant, others may say its okay. Stock settings are slower then I like but the manual tells you how to set it on Fastest Mode with eyes!
Conclusion: Overall this gun is a perfect 10! I would recommend this gun if you had the cash to ANYONE over any gun!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

Treghc Wednesday, December 31st, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
2k2 Matrix LCD
2k3 Shocker
2k1 Matrix LED
Marker Setup: DM4
Locking Low-Rise
Matching DYE Ultralite
68/4500 LP Max Flo
Halo B and Evo II
Recommended
Upgrades:
There's nothing out there. Maybe a better inline regulator or a barrel kit. But other than that, there's nothing you can really do to it at the moment.
Strengths: Weight
Size
Style
Organization of internals
Internal Eye
NYX's Egi Board
Weaknesses: Ball detents
Breech
Trigger adjustment
Review: Well, I bought a WC DM4 because I didn't want to have to wait the extremely long amount of time to get a brand new DM4 from DYE (DYE is leaking them out very slowly). When it arrived, I was as happy as could be. I opened it up, and there it was. The first thing I really noticed was how well the machning is on these things. The milling is so extensive, but done flawlessly. The ano is quite good, but I've heard people complaining about the WC DM4's anodized in fades. Mine was great though.

The first thing that I did was I hooked up my 68/4500 LP Max Flow to get my new baby ready to shoot. The first hopper I put on was my friend's 12v Revvy. I ripped on the trigger as fast as I could and no chops. What aperfect eye system. The gun doesn't fire unless a ball is in the breech, so you're gauranteed not to chop. After shooting the 12v Revvy, I hooked up my Halo B and railed on that. Holy crap this thing can shoot FAST. You can listen to my railing on my DM4 here: http://redneckwarriors.8m.com/my%20dm4/dm4.wav jut for a reference. Once again though, no breaks.

Took it to the field the following weekend to go shoot up some fools and show off my new toy. I get there, air the gun up, dry fire it a little to show it off to my friends, then I slapped on my halo with some paint and went to the chrono. Needless to say, I was dissapointed. I go up there, shoot a little and the readings go 281, 281, 280, 254, 267, 283, 281, 240, etc... I would get pretty damned tight grouping for three shots or so, then the velocity would drop for no apparent reason, but go back up after a couple more shots. As it turns out, since I had a WC DM4, the LPR had not been replaced yet and that was the sole reason of the problem. It's at DYE right now being replaced. DYE has been very kind about faulty parts and replaced them for free. So that's a good thing.
Conclusion: Overall, I was very impressed. Not a single break yet, and I have shot about 2 or 3 cases through it, so that's pretty good (especially in this Washington weather). The LPR was crappy, but from what I've heard, the new ones work flawlessly.

The trigger is a little time consuming to adjust. Puting the frame back onto the gun takes some time as you have to move the wirse into the right place, then get the front screw in that little slot and try to screw it in without it falling out. It takes some practice to get it down right.

The eye and board combination is about as good as it gets. With an unlimited ROF with the eye on, it's almost identical to a WAS board.

Overall, an excellent gun. almost worth every penny I spent for it. I would recommend it to anyone.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
14 Comments - Add Comment

GIZMO8Z Thursday, December 25th, 2003
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested85 of 95 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Working at a proshop, I have access to nearly every marker you could think of.
Marker Setup: Custom Built, Limited Edition Dust Blue WGP Orr-accle W/ Chrome E-Blade, Chrome WGP Black Magic Reg, Chrome Grip Feed Neck, Chrome Planet Eclipse NEXUS Upgrade Kit, Red KAPP Cosmetics, Chrome Shocktech Beavertail, 14" DYE Boomy, EGGY 2 & 45/45 Nitro Duck Tuff Skin HPA Tank W/ DYE Rhino Tank Cover.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I'd seriously consider getting a new reg ASAP ... the stock one is nothing to brag about.
Strengths: ~Looks.
~SPEED.
~Fantastic Accuracy.
~NO CHOPPING!
~Light Weight.
Weaknesses: ~PRICE.
~Inconsistant Stock Reg.
~Kick.
Review: We recently received a black matte DYE Precision DM4 at my proshop, and as soon as it arrived, I was gnawing at the bit to air it up and see if it really lived up to all the hype I've heard.

First Impressions:
I opened the box the marker came in and all I can say is "WOW". DM4s come nicely packed in a padded carrying case, complete with an instruction manual, two 9v batteries (one already installed in the marker, the other stored in the box) every hex key needed for the marker, a small parts kit (replacement screws, o-rings, etc.), macro line kit, matching 14" DYE Ultralite barrel, "MATRIX" barrel condom and DYE "slick" oil. In fact, the only thing missing from the package that would be needed to air up the marker immediately is an ASA. After installing a small DYE drop forward and a DYE ASA, I powered up the marker and was delighted to see that the little symbol on the grip frame lights up! When the breech is empty, the light is red, when there is a ball in the breech, the light turns green .... It looks super cool. So far, this marker seems that it's all it's cracked up to be.

Testing:
Using a Nitro Duck preset, 68ci 4500psi high pressure air system filled up to 3,000psi, I aired up the marker, fitted it with a 12V VL Rev, and grabbed a fresh bag of Diablo Hell Fire paint. I then went outside and started ripping away. As soon as I fully hooked the marker up, I realized how truely light weight this thing is, I could handle it with out any problems what so ever. Out on the shooting range, it shot super quick, outshooting the REV without even trying. I noticed good distance and okay accuracy (it was windy and raining out ... so I figure that effected it.), and I didn't have any breaks inside the marker (thanks eyes!) but I did have one break in the barrel (1 out of 500 isn't bad in my book, especially in the terrible weather I was shooting in.). In addition, although I don't have exact figures, the marker seems to have good efficiency (After shooting 500 bals through the marker, and countless dry fires, I had 2,000psi left out of a 3,000psi fill.). Again, I can't get over how fast this thing really is. I easily shot the 500 rnds. in less than 2 mins ... it took me more time to reload the hopper than it did to shoot the paint.

...However, I did notice some things I didn't like. The DYE Hyper II regulator included with the marker I shot seemed to be very inconsistent ... I experienced some nasty shoot down. I'm hoping it just needs to be worn in. Also, while ripping on the marker, I noticed I had to keep on adjusting my aim, the marker had some crazy kick/recoil, and the more I ripped on it, the more it wanted to raise up on me.

Recap:

PROS:
~Rare. As of right now, these markers are very hard to come across. If you can get your hands on one, you'll no doubt be the top dog at your field.
~Looks. Just look at this thing, it looks hot! It's aggressive styling makes it look like its at motion while its sitting still. Simply amazing.
~SPEED. I have never shot a faster marker in my 5 year paintball history.
~Fantastic Accuracy.
~NO CHOPPING! - Awesome anti-chop eyes.
~Light Weight. I've heard rumors that this marker is made up of some type of ballistic ceramic ... I believe it, this marker is light!
~Takes 'Cocker threaded barrels.

Cons:
~PRICE. Although this marker is very nice, $1,450 is just too expensive.
~Inconsistent Stock Reg.
~Kick.
Conclusion: Over all, I really liked this marker, a lot. However, for the $1,500 DYE wants you to spend on it, I would have expected a more consistant reg and a little less kick. (For that price, it better make you the fastest shooting player on the field AND make you dinner.)

Although I believe no marker is worth a $1,500 price tag, I do believe that the DYE Precision DM4 comes closest to deserving it. If you can afford one, trsut me, go out and get one ASAP.

Although I like this marker a whole lot, I'm giving it an 9 because of the outrageous price tag and the blah reg.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Friday, January 16th, 2004 at 9:26 am PST
I found this review  
60 Comments - Add Comment

Digital6 Sunday, December 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Angel-4, Angel Speed, Strange Impulse, 03 Shocker
Marker Setup: Stock Marker, Dye Air Force & Drop, Throttle 88ci Tank
Recommended
Upgrades:
None needed
Strengths: Speed, Anti-chop Eye System, Weight (Very Light)
Weaknesses: None, unles you count buying more paint!
Review: I purchased this marker on Friday afternoon, out the door and ready for action. Saturday I headed to the fields to test this baby out and fell in love with it the first time I used it at the airball field. This marker was so fast you could bearly see a pause in the amount of balls flying out of the barell, more like a beam of paint. I never once chopped a ball, never had any problem with first shot drop off. I was a little fat with air usage but then again I was ripping it up, going through 4 pods in a game.

Do yourself a favor and get a DM4, yea it's pricy but well worth the money. Talking to a few pro players who are swithing to the DM4 for 2004, this marker rocks!
Conclusion: If you have the money, buy this marker. It's well worth the money, best value for your dollar.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
7 Comments - Add Comment

friday_juice Tuesday, November 18th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested7 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
my matrix <3
Marker Setup: 2k3 LED matrix
PBC LPR
check-it no-rise
14" and 16" .691 WGP kaner (da shizizle)
70/4500 WGP worrgas adjustable tank
hybrid blunt rail
empire reloader
Recommended
Upgrades:
none out yet...well maybe a no-rise
Strengths: speed, no-chopping, accuracy, gas-efficiency, .....
Weaknesses: umm....
Review: This gun rocks.

It is fast but the way it is set-up, the board is as fast as your loader...no messing w/ dip-switches.

Eyes are good to make sure of no mis-feeds and chopping as a result of that

LPR is good, makes the gun not chop

The milling is great

The bolt design is AWESOME...the whole thing comes out in one threaded-together piece. Even an idiot could put it back together..

Gass efficient too
Conclusion: i reccomend buying it...i am as soon as i get the $$$
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  16  |  17  |  18  |  19
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media