paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4

Dye DM4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM4

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM4
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 187
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DM4 has been born. Created and developed by a unique team of Paintball�s finest athletes and engineers. Every detail has been carefully formulated and prepared to the exacting standards of DYE. The DM4 not only embodies the very idea of Paintball gun perfection, it also shatters the boundaries of 3-D body sculpting. Under a literal choreography of drill bits, metal and coolant, our CNC machines have carved and shaved the most stylistically innovative Paintball gun available. You want fast? The DM4 houses unprecedented electronic control and is limited only to the speed of your hopper. Utilizing cutting-edge technical achievements coupled with superior elegance in design and function, the DM4 symbolizes the momentum, quality and perfection that is DYE.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM4 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
seth threat Thursday, January 26th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
angels, egos, shockers, nerves, timmy's, so on
Marker Setup: Nasty Nerve
Freak Kit
Empire Reloader B
68/4500 pure energy tank

Recommended
Upgrades:
board, trigger, bolt, but out of the box its great
Strengths: Speed, weight, accuracy, looks,
Weaknesses: Air efficency
Review: Well i got this gun in a trade not long ago for my timmy and i couldnt be happier. it didnt have a ton of ups on it (musashi m5 chip, and a few others) but it shot awesome. its extremely accurate and very fast. with no ramping i could easily hit 15-17 bps with stock trigger very easily. if i were to adjust the trigger i could get higher. its a very light marker, lighter then most guns on the market. dye has since released the dm5, dmc and dm6, all of which, in my opinion, arent as good a value as the dm4 is right now. i was hitting a 4" circle from about 20 yards very easily. the only downfall i saw was air efficiency, i was using a 50ci 3000 psi tank, completly filled, and after a quarter case i was down to 2000-2100.
Conclusion: This is a great marker, you can find them all over the used market for under 600, and its an amazing value. fast, accurate, reliable. not to mention eye catching
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shockandterror Thursday, January 12th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder Imagine, Spyder ACS pilot 05 dont come even close to this gun.
Marker Setup: Dye Dm4, eVLution 2 hopper, Crossfire 68/45 HP
Freak 16" all american front, Stainless Steel back
Recommended
Upgrades:
new reg possibly, mine leaked...other than that nothing
Strengths: -SPEED.
-Looks.
-Quality.
-Accuracy.
-Eyes.
Weaknesses: -GAS-HOG.
-Reg. stock reg gives some problems on velocity if you dont adjust it
Review: I purchased this gun off Ebay for about $800, and its worth every penny. It looks great, it performs great, what else can i ask for? i kno not everyone has the cash like this but if ur looking for a great gun and have some extra $$ buy this gun.....im currently on a team, and im shure were all prettty happy to say theres a Dm4, 2 impys, and an ion
Conclusion: Buy this gun if you have the money
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

onz` Monday, January 2nd, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
1 year
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators, Angels, Ego, E-cockers,shockers, most other high end markers
Marker Setup: Black/red fade DM4, Empire Reloader B Red, Predator Board, Laser Eyes, Shocktech Feed, Mac Dev Conquest 68cu/4500psi
Recommended
Upgrades:
New Board, new trigger if you want? , If ya don't like the ultralite, a new barrel I guess
THE DYE PARTS KIT, Ultralite frame?, I'm not sure if they are nice
Strengths: FAST, Quiet, NO kick, consistent, Accurate, no chopping
Weaknesses: Requires a some amount of maintenance, not much after that
Review: I have had my DM4, for about a year now and I just absolutely love it. Before my DM4 I had a Alias, I liked it but, my friend had a DM4, and I loved it. I just had to get one.
I purchased mine used, from a friend for about $700, I was extremely happy.
I went out to the chrono, and the velocity was very consistent, about 278 -/+, Also while I was shooting I notice the accuracy of the gun, it is like paint on paint, and it is extremely fast. I clean this gun after every day of play, and change the batteries out.
This gun is very easy to clean which pleases me very much, it is not very hard at all.
Dye recommends that you lube the gun after every 5-7 cases, but I lube it after every single one.
People do say this gun is inefficient, but my DM4 seems fine with efficiency problems, from a 4500psi fill I got about a whole hopper , and 5 pods off, which IMO, is not that bad at all.

Once or twice my membrane burned out on me, but on Pb Nation there is a great tutorial on how to jump start the membrane, and then theres always been some leaks, but they were simply solved, by lubing, or changing out an o-ring.
I would highly, I mean HIGHLY recommend the dye parts kit, It has saved my friends life once or twice before a tournament.

The DM4, does look quite intimidating, at my field, there a lot of intimidators, so some guys like to see a shocker, or DM4, once in a while.

All in all this is a great gun, I believe dye has definitely done a great job with this one.
Conclusion: I would recommend, this to anyone, a great package, Dye no longer makes DM4's, but they are going off on ebay for around $500-650, so try to purchase one there!
Thank You Dye! This gun is the absolute best
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

tippmann.net Thursday, December 29th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Dmc, Proto 05,
Marker Setup: Cocker,pmi tank, revvy,
getting new setup soon
Recommended
Upgrades:
fine right outta the box.
Strengths: Accurate, Fast, No kick, Light
Weaknesses: None this gun is just right
Review: I was playing at my local field with some pods of paint left and this guy came to me and said "you wanna use my gun?" so i tried it out for a couple of games it was very smooth walking the bottom it was very sensitive so i played and never got shot I am pretty small so this gun fit me well, i could tuck in the hopper well and balance out the shooting.
Conclusion: Recommend this gun to more better players if you were small you would like this gun
and all an all a 10 out of 10 is what this gun deserves
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

holman21 Friday, December 16th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
2 years
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm5
dm6
pm5
pm6
dmc
st dm5/st dm4
dm3
nyx

Marker Setup: Dm4
68/45
halo with rip
Tadao M3
Empire... sorta kit i have 2 backs
trinity unimount
Recommended
Upgrades:
on/off of some sort
other than that, none nothing is worth buying except trigger if you feel the need to but i kept stock
Strengths: -Speed
-Reliability
-Accuracy
-8 ods and a halo from a 68/45
Weaknesses: -Doesn't work well in the cold unless you know how to fine tune lpr.
Review: I got this gun in the middle of this season from my friend who is a tech he kept good care of it. I have used other dm4s for a year or two though that were friends and friendly locals at my field. Its an amazing tourney gun, its never let me down when i needed it and its ball on ball accurate, and when your on a full size 5 man or 7 man field you need to be able to post on people, you cant have ur balls everywhere. I recommend this gun, don't go for the newer models or older models, this is the one dye did right. I got mine for 650, and it was pretty much brand new i couldn't tell it was used. These guns go for 550 used with eveery upgrade you can get so don't spend more than that. Buy this gun you wont regret it, I am very happy.
Conclusion: Get it.
It gets a 9 because of the tuning needed for the cold.. but no gun is perfect and this is prolly the closest.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sniper21 Wednesday, December 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Empire A-bomb? (can't remember the name)
It is about the same i like the Empire Timmy a little better
Proto matrix exact same
Marker Setup: A-5 E-grip, 68,3000 PMI Tank, CMI barrel, Jcs Trigger, DOP Gas Thru, Psycho Ballistics Drop.
Dye DM4 same tank, Cp Trigger, J&J Barrel, same drop in Blue
Recommended
Upgrades:
Trigger to a CP trigger
Halo or Empire B loader
Nitro
Strengths: Speed
Accuraccy
Consistancy
Weight
Weaknesses: Outdated
Wiring
Review: I used this gun a few times and then bought it from a ref at my field.
It is a great gun accurate, fast, and easy to use.
it can fit any players style of play and has many upgrades and colors
I've played many different ways with it from snake to back man
Great gun
Conclusion: Get one now while they are cheap
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

THEUNCH Friday, November 25th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
I work at a paintball field, so pretty much everything
Marker Setup: DM4, ultralight, 68/3000, halo b/rip drive, Virtue board
Recommended
Upgrades:
fast hopper, and a big tank
Strengths: Very fast, i couldnt believe how fast this thing is
Weaknesses: a little on the heavy side
Its a gas hog
Review: I bought this gun a while ago, and ive been playing with it for a few months, and i love it. The gun itself is pretty simple, the bolt comes out with ease, the gun overall is very easy to maintain. When i put the tank and the hopper on the gun it balanced out pretty nicely, but it was kinda heavy, it makes up for it though. The gun is very fast and very smooth.
Conclusion: Id recomend you buy it if you cant afford one of the newer models (DM5, DM6) They are very nice guns and the pros defenitly outweigh the cons.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

elite28 Sunday, November 20th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ripper
E2'd Reflex cocker
Marker Setup: DYE DM4
CP roller trigger
tadao board
Recommended
Upgrades:
roller bearing trigger
board
Strengths: Weight
Consistancy
Accuarcy
Speed
Everything
Weaknesses: Kinda complex for new users
Review: This is a great gun. if you get the right ups it is easy pass the new DMs out there. This thing is by far the best looking DM. It shoots unbelieveably straight, and fast as heck. But i warn u if u dont know to much about Dms then dont go messing around with the stuff cause u'll probably break it.
Conclusion: Get this get its amazing
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

paintballfreeek Friday, November 11th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Ego, DM5, G7, 05 Speeds, Protos, you know all of those
Marker Setup: 04 Vision Shocker
Virtue board
NDz wave trigger
Reloader B
Crossfire 68/4500 HP tank
-and-
Blue to Black DM4
Tadao Chip, the original, only semi
16 in. CP 2 peice barrel
Recommended
Upgrades:
UL is good so you really dont need a barrel, M5 chip
Strengths: Efficiency
Consistency
Speed
Accuracy
Weaknesses: None really, not a front mans gun since its a tad heavy.
Review: Nice gun, when i first saw it, it was very slick design, the dye milling is awsome, so the question is, will it perform as good as it looks? YAA

Efficiency- Very good, well for me at least because i set up everything the right way, i got lucky and im now running my LPR at 25 psi. With that i shoot about 275 fps over the chrono and i get about 7-8 pods and a hopper off a 68/4500 fill, some of my friends ask me to set up there guns

Consistency- Great, when i got this gun from the orginal owner, i tweaked it a little and im now shootin +/-2 over the chrono during the summer, though during the winter and fall, it starts to get a bigger gap, im now at +/-6 in november.

Speed- With the tadao chip, its super fast. Almost too fast. I'll hit like 16 - 17 over the chrono,

Accuarcy- Well all DM's have increadable accuarcy, and i dont really need to touch base on that now do I?

Weight- im a Mid and i dont mind gun weights, though if your a front, you may think its a tad heavy, Personal preference when it comes to this point.
Conclusion: Awsome gun, price tag may send some people running for the hills, though i think it was well worth it. In the past 6 months with this gun, i havent had one problem.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

ToxicPaintballz Monday, November 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
03 Shocker, Ripper2 Timmy, A4 Fly, Ebladed cocker, Vision Imp
Marker Setup: Dm4, Cp stick trigger.
Recommended
Upgrades:
an On/off, possibly a trigger if the stock doesnt agree with you, and a CHIP! If you play other than semi-only.
Strengths: Quiet
Accurate
Fast
Balanced
Good Looking
Recoil
Weaknesses: Efficiency
Very tempermental
Review: Ok to start with, I got my DM4 used, it came with a tadao non-mushashi chip and a CP stick trigger. I absolutely love this thing for these reasons! My settings were dwell 20, trigger sensitivity 1, and LPR at 75 psi(5 turns out) shooting 285.

Noise: This thing is quiet! I knew trixies were quieter thant timmy's etc, I didnt realise how much. These things hum! It was so quiet that I actually thought that my gun wasn't cycling, until I put paint through it and saw it was shooting 340......big smile right there.

Accurate: Unlike many guns the DM4 comes with the amazing Ultralite barrel. I was shooting very soggy Zap Cryptic paint out, I had a couple breaks in the barrel but the barrel cleaned out in 2-3 shots! Not to mention it was a very tight grouping, I could hit packs barely sticking out easily.

Fast: This is obvious in most high-end guns, but this gun does have the speed needed to compete!

Balanced: I find the DM4 extremely easy to handle with an 88/45 that I use, just find it extremely comfy to shoulder mount it.

Looks: This thing is very nicely cut, I have a red gloss and have blue accents, so I like it alot.

Recoil: These thing just buzz, they dont kick up at all.

There are a couple negatives, like any other high-end gun:

Efficiency: These things are pretty bad on gas. My training field only gets around 1500-2000 fills, and with an 88 I can get about 2 pods and a hopper before I get shootdown. Not bad, I have to see about tourneys.

Tempermental: I play in sand, after one game I had to up the dwell from 20 to 25 or it wouldnt cycle. Sand is nasty though, so its not a big issue.
Conclusion: Buy this gun, they are amazing! I don't want to ever have anything else!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media