paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4 / Dye DM4

Dye DM4 Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dye

Buy Dye DM4

Paintball High-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dye DM4
[ View Photos (47) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 187
Average Rating: 9.7 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: N/A

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
The DM4 has been born. Created and developed by a unique team of Paintball�s finest athletes and engineers. Every detail has been carefully formulated and prepared to the exacting standards of DYE. The DM4 not only embodies the very idea of Paintball gun perfection, it also shatters the boundaries of 3-D body sculpting. Under a literal choreography of drill bits, metal and coolant, our CNC machines have carved and shaved the most stylistically innovative Paintball gun available. You want fast? The DM4 houses unprecedented electronic control and is limited only to the speed of your hopper. Utilizing cutting-edge technical achievements coupled with superior elegance in design and function, the DM4 symbolizes the momentum, quality and perfection that is DYE.
Product Availability 
The Dye DM4 is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
BunkerDogz1234 Wednesday, March 30th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Cockers...Timmies...Angels...Imps...lots of low end guns...assualt 80...Mags...matrix/dm4/dm5...Shockers...Ion...a crap load of guns...
Marker Setup: Red Polished DMfizzle
Black Halo B
68/4500 tank w/ Red Dye Rhino
shocktech mini-drop w/ on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
EVOLVE BOLT...
Advantage pb virtue chip or tadao musashi 3
maybe a new trigger...if you're not a fan of the stock...
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Quietness
Consistency
Weight
Look
Feel
No Kick
Compact
A Beast
Weaknesses: Doesnt really like cheap paint
Eficiency,notbadbutnotgood
No instant on...not a biggie though
Review: This gun's basically amazing...when i first got it i was ripping like mad with the stock trigger setting...then i took the spring out and adjusted it to where you cant even see it move and now it rips way faster....you can rake it for insane speeds...great tourney gun to the max... it looks super nice...i dont know why everyone doesnt get one....amazing for off the break....perfect for front mid and back players.....speed is unreal....im never getting another gun....go buy one.
Conclusion: Its a beast.........get one.....you'll own everyone.....
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

speedballer34 Wednesday, March 9th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Intimidators, matrixs, dm5, nerves.
Marker Setup: Dm4
LP 45/45 tank
evo 2 hopper
Recommended
Upgrades:
New board, stock barrel is great so no barrel needed, he bolt
Strengths: This gun is very fast and is accurate also. Looks great.
Weaknesses: I didnt prefer the feel of it over other guns but it wasnt too bothersome.
Review: I got to use this gun for a couple games awaile ago and felt like reviewing it. First off, this is an awesome gun. It is fast, accurate, kinda light, and looks awesome. Alright to the review: I was walking along when my frend at the field asked me if i wanted to trade guns for a few games, and since his gun (the dm4) was always so fast i said sure. Off the break i didnt hit anybody and didnt do to well during the game either. I just didnt like the feel. Anyways I used the gun for a couple more games and started to warm up to it and realized that this is an awesome gun. It was fast, accurate and easy to mow people with. I realized that you do use alot of paint though when shooting above 13 bps. Anyways bottom line is if you have the money to get one one, do it. I loved this gun and it was fun while it lasted.
Conclusion: This is a great gun which most people like, and the only reason not to is the price tag.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

scot_stuf Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dragun T.E.S, Impulse, Proto matrix
Marker Setup: Stock Dragun T.E.S w/ 47ci 3000psi steel Egg
Stock Gloss Blue DM4 Halo w/ Rip 72ci 4500psi Stubby Carbon Fiber
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt, Reg, barrel kit anything that can help save on air
Halo
Strengths: Speed
Accuracy
Weaknesses: Air Hog
Review: Out of my personal exiprience with this gun air is vital. I took it out fully loaded on the egg. set the dip to 2 for the egg. i wasted the entire egg in seconds shot beautifully and very accurate too. simple to rip on too (my mother was able to get a good 10 bps on it).
Again the major downfall, air useage.... just one full egg waisted 2000 psi

-----------------------
Edit
-----------------------
Fully hooked up now. Halo and a bigger air tank. Insane speed and accuracy. When i was testing out the accuracy i did a full hopper as fast as i could. Not one shot left a 6 X 6 in square. One think I am noticing is that the gun leaks at the bolt SOMETIMES and at the macro elbow SOMETIMES. i am told that this is normal for dm4s, but i am buying a repair kit to replace the bolt o rings and we'll see what happens.
Conclusion: Gotta have 68ci 4500psi or better otherwise dont bother with pods.
Gotta have halo why spend any amount of money on a gun made for speed if your loader cant keep up. 9 only because of the air factor and maybe the price.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Monday, March 21st, 2005 at 7:18 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

frodos Sunday, March 6th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
dm5, matrix kapp flame limited , others , proto trix
Marker Setup: red dusted dm5, evolution w/z board, dyo 70cu carbonfiber
Recommended
Upgrades:
maby a berrel kit (freak)
Strengths: Fast, fast, nice, fast,quiet
Weaknesses: Trigger, kinda heavy
Review: The dm4 is a great gun, the only things that are not so good are:
- trigger
-weight
- big
The dm4 is very fast but i think dm5 is better. The proto matrix is the same but a little smaller.
If you are a pro player i highly recomend the dm4. It is a very nice and fest gun. It is the fastest gu i ever shot. Some advantages is that it has a very low maintanence. the double bolt system is great and it doen,t chop anything.
Conclusion: The dm4 is great, but if you have more money, get dm5.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

pinkpanther Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
all the trixs, timmys, angels
Marker Setup: Ironman trix, tadao v4.0, aka lpr, palmers stabalizer inline reg, mixed bolt, empire reloader, 68/45 crossfire tank

black to cobalt dm4 with tadao chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
bolt kit
Strengths: -Fast
-Light
-Accurate
-No kick
-Eyes work great
-Inline reg
Weaknesses: Gas efficency
Review: now i had seen 3 dm4s break right in front of me so that stopped me from buying for awhile but i finally gave in and bought one and im so happy i did. right out of the box it was ready to go it was shooting 275 +/- 1 and i was shooting around 16 a second. I thought it was great until i saw the gas efficency. I shot around 500 and had to refill and i was worried cause im a backman and shoot more then 500 a game so I took out the bolt and lpr and lubed it with slick honey cause someone said it would increase the efficency and it did. I had to turn the lpr down though. But i ended up getting around 850 shots still not great but it got me through. This is a great gun but i still like my ironman. I would recomend this gun to anyone who had the money.
Conclusion: Great gun but needs a new bolt. Id say if you have the money this is a great buy. very light and fast.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Worr Pimp Thursday, February 24th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
I owned a nightkast for 2 days...Didn't like it got rid of it...basicly all higher end guns
Marker Setup: Black Dust DM4, 68/4500 PMI LP, Empire Reloader B, 14 in. Dye UL
Recommended
Upgrades:
Bolt upgrade to make it more efficiant
Strengths: Fast, Accurate, Quiet, Inline Reg
Weaknesses: Price...How i have mine set up a big gas hog
Review: I love my DM4 I would recomend everyone to get one even though they stopped making it. If you can buy one used take it. If I had the extra money I would of bought two of these. Just trust me this is an awsome gun. This gun will be able to out shoot and out perform most of any guns. :) It is a little easy to break wires in the gun....but that is my mistake...how i have my set up it is a little gas unfriendly...but it has 0 kick on it..sometimes it is a little inconsistant but nothing too bad.
Conclusion: Buy one today!!!
Rating:
10 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, May 3rd, 2005 at 7:43 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Subby Tuesday, February 22nd, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Longs, Angels, shockers. I'll take the DM4 anyday.
Marker Setup: A-5 egrip, stock, x-chamber, flatline
Model 98 ebolt, LPK, palmer stabilizer, j&j ceramic, LAPCO drop w/ stock
Colbalt DM4 mushashi, CP roller trigger
Recommended
Upgrades:
possibly the CP roller trigger, more barrel backs.
Strengths: Hmm...fast, fast, and fast. Easy to clean.
Weaknesses: Price.
Review: Wow!!! I bought this as my first high-end marker and man have I been impressed! I've shot about 2 cases through it with absolutely know chops. With the trigger sensitivity up you will bounce and hit a very fast ROF. Can turn it down to make it tourny legal though. Easy to take the Fuse bolt apart and lube. Very consistant over the chrono. I've exprerienced no drop off in high ROF. This gun is like a dream. This thing is so easy to walk. I will have this marker for a long time.
Conclusion: If ya got the ca$h then buy this over anything else, you won't be disapointed!
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

atlfl3 Monday, February 7th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
NYX Matrix
DM5
Karnivor
Marker Setup: Black to Cobalt DM4
Halo B w/ rip drive
68 4500 inline maxflow
Dye Ultralight w/ .684, .688, & .692 backs
Tadeo Chip
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadeo Chip
Halo B or Empire Halo
Strengths: It isextremely fast, shoots ropes of paint, very accurate, quiet, and has no kick.
Weaknesses: Cost and wires inside gun can sometimes break.
Review: When I first took the marker out of the box I loved the way it looked. It has great lines and color. I used the gun once without the tadeo chip and it shot very fast, but once I put it in it was by far the fastest gun I have ever shot. You can play any position on the paintball field with this marker because of its light weight, speed, and accuracy. If you want to upgrade to one of the most superior markers in the game definitely buy a DM4.
Conclusion: Definitely buy this marker the DM4 rocks you can play woodsball to tournment paintball with this gun. Also play front man to back man with this gun. If you can buy this gun you will not be disapointed.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

xEmpireBallax Tuesday, February 1st, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
1 year2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Dye Ultralight Autococker, Naughty Dogs Timmie,Gz Timmie, dm5 and Matrix
Marker Setup: 2004 Clear Cobalt Polished DM4
70/4500 Crossfire Stubby
Smart Parts Shocker Drop Forward
CP ASA w/on/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Musashi chi[p or Tadao chip
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed (Fassssssssssssst)
Accuracy
Speed
No paint breaks-ever
Weaknesses: None besides air effiency not a major problem when you got a 70 4500
Review: This is by far the best gun I've ever used. And I've used a bunch. I've gone through entry level guns, a Dye cocker, 2 Timmies, a Toxic Matrix, etc, etc, etc. Nothing comes close to the overall beauty, speed and accuracy of this one, all in all. Timmies are fast. My Toxic Matrix is fast. But they just don't feel like this gun. It makes me so much more confident. There are certain things you can buy that make you feel like you've finally experienced the very best. The DM4 is one of those things. It is quiet. It is solid. It is the ultimate bling bling in paintball. I swear I think my other guns are like toys compared to this thing. I'm not as fast on my feet as I used to be so I need an edge. This is the edge.

Conclusion: Duh? Buy one. I would not want to play against an experienced paintball player if he had a DM4 and I didn't. Guys I used to worry about are now worrying about me. Or at least that's how I feel. A+. THIS IS THE BEST GUN EVER YOU WILL FIND PERSIONALLY BOW DOWN AND RESPECT THIS GUN FOR WHAT IT HAS AND CAN DO I PREFER IT BETTER THAN ANY HIGH END TIMMIE
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

XavierX Thursday, January 27th, 2005
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Every intimidator imagineable
Vikings & Excals
Impulses
Shockers
High end cockers
pretty much everything
Marker Setup: WAS Chip
68/3000 HP PMI (crappy tank, will talk about issues later)
Rip Drive Halo B
CP Rail and On/off
Recommended
Upgrades:
Tadao/Mushashi Chip
.692 UL back
a low pressure tank
Strengths: - Accuracy
- Balance
- Speed
- Feel
- Out of the box performance
Weaknesses: - Efficiency
- Lots of O-Rings
Review: I have a love/hate relationship with my DM4, so ill start with the good

Accuracy - this marker shoots darts, Trixes are notorious for being quiet and accurate. this is no lie, and even though accuracy is certainly related to paint/barrel match, its not all inclusive. Some markers, like the matrix, have an inherently better design. With a good paint to barrel match, its ball on ball. I could shoot halfway across the field through an inch sized slot in the snake to hit players.

Efficiency - Not the best, but livable. Not even close to the gas eating ability of a stock LCD matrix, the DM4 can get more than enough shots off for one game.

Balance - the best part of the DM4. With a halo, a rail and an on off, there is no better balanced gun on the market. It just feels perfectly centered, and the relatively long stock barrel is great for sup air. I use a 68 ci tank (im 6'2-6'3) and the gun a perfect length from me.

Feel - the DM4 feels solid, not something to be thrown around like a viking but not as plasticky and fragile as some intimidators can be. Its not heavy, but its no shocker. The weight shouldnt be a problem for anyone playing paintball thats over 12 years old.

Theres a reason that aftermarket triggers for the DM4 series of guns arent popular; they cant top the stock one. Its light, its smooth, its got a great design and its very adjustable. I have mine setup with the spring with a longer pull than some players would like but it helps me keep constant streams going. (I play back)

Only upgrades that you can possibly do to this marker is an aftermarket chip. No need to replace whole boards here! You can simply spend 50 or 60 dollars on a chip and drop it in. I recommend the Tadao/Musashi series of chips because they are legendary for performance in the matrix world. Another ultralite back, perhaps .692 would be a wise investment as well.

The Bad:

Price - Damn thing cost me 1500 out the door after tax but its well worth it to get it from a local shop that will service it for free/cheap because of the following reason....

O RINGS! theres 13 on the bolt alone and if you dont feel comfortable taking apart your gun and lubing it/dissembling it then this isnt the gun for you. Buy it from a shop and have them fix all the leaks for you. And if you have a HP tank, forget it. It will eat the O-rings ALIVE. I had to have the gun rebuilt after almost every case because the ones from the factory spare parts kit sucked (they have since fixed that), and the HP tank was wearing them out fast. X-rings might be a worthwhile investment

Damn thing is always leaking because of said O-rings, but its minor and still very playable. Built in On/off on the gun is a HUGE plus. Oh and you can shoot zap seconds for all I care, your not going to break a ball inside the gun. Perhaps a barrel break or two, but the UL shoots clean in a couple shots.


Conclusion: Im giving this gun a 10 because it is a prime example of how company takeovers should be done. Dye bought up the matrix brand, and instead of tampering with the design, perfected it. The DM4 is a perfect marker in every way imagineable, and in future generations the only improvements I can forsee are less O-rings.

If you have any doubts about this gun, erase them now and buy it. The second you let your first string of paint fly on the field, you will realize the money was well spent. Currently I dont think theres a better way to spend $800 picking up one of these things used.

Ive owned mine for 6 months and wouldnt trade it for anything else.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (19):  First  |  5  |  6  |  7  |  8  |  9  |  10  |  11  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media