paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z / 32 Degrees Icon Z

32 Degrees Icon Z Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount 32 Degrees

Buy 32 Degrees Icon Z

Paintball Low-End Mechanical Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


32 Degrees Icon Z
[ View Photos (14) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 137
Average Rating: 8.2 / 10
Manufacturer Website: Click here
Suggested Retail Price: $90

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
Here it is, FINALLY. A practically flawless mechanical gun. The sister gun of the popular ICON-E, the Z series gun has all the goodies and great features, minus the electronics. Add to all of this a 2 year factory warranty and you will see why this is one of the best deals in paintball.
Product Availability 
The 32 Degrees Icon Z is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
frosty29 Monday, February 12th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Marker Setup: Icon Z with stock barrel and gravity feed hopper, with the dovetail on the back removed
Recommended
Upgrades:
-Barrel
-Force feed hopper (high rate of fire)
-Metal trigger
Strengths: -Cheap
-Tough
-Accurate
-Many upgrade parts available
Weaknesses: -Trigger feels cheap
-Chops balls on high velocity with cheap paint
Review: The icon Z is very dependable. When shooting with good paint you will not have any ball chops even with a gravity feed hopper. If the velocity is adjusted above tournament limit you will start getting more ball chops. The marker shoots accurately with the stock barrel but when you get ball breaks you have to clean the barrel out thoroughly, one pull through of the squeegee isn't going to help, you can expect to shoot inaccurately with a ball break in the barrel. The Icon Z is also very tough, and knocking it around will not effect the ability of the marker.
Conclusion: The Icon Z is a good marker to begin with. It shoots very well as is, and to upgrade it is not going to cost much. For a beginner it is perfect.
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Monday, February 12th, 2007 at 6:59 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Zezon Vice Friday, January 5th, 2007
Period of
Product Use:
3 months
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Marker Setup: 16" terminator barrel and an adjustable stock
Recommended
Upgrades:
20 ounce CO2 tank
Strengths: Accurate
Light
Awesome paint job
Weaknesses: bad on CO2
Review: Only played with the gun a few times and i play woods ball not speed ball. The gun is accurate and can be fast. I played against two ppl with speed ball guns and took them out from about 125" every time and in four rounds only used 25 balls. Its choped twice out of about 2000 rounds.
Conclusion: If your a woods ball player and like to snipe this gun isnt half bad even with the stock barrel.
Rating:
8 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

32nick Friday, December 15th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
6 months
Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Tippman 98 custom
Marker Setup: 32 degrees icon z, 6-stage expansion chamber, elbow, and whisper barrel.
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel and probably a 20oz CO2 tank
Strengths: Shoots fairly hard, Distance is good.
Weaknesses: Sometimes chops paint, but all kind of do that.
Review: This gun is awesome. It shoots far and hard. If you are looking for a cheap paintball gun for around $70 this is your gun. My gun fires very straight and only chops paintball sometimes. I would definately reccomond this gun mostly for begginers, so if you are one buy this gun.
Conclusion: Buy this gun, its great.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

HxC Battlecat Wednesday, October 4th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
Sypder:
Sonix Pro
Shutter
MR1
Xtra

Tac 5 Recon
Marker Setup: 32 Degrees Icon Z
16" spyder snyper quiet barrell
Recommended
Upgrades:
Barrell
maybe grips
Strengths: See review
Weaknesses: See review
Review: I went out to play with this marker a few days ago and it prefermed incredibly. i play conservative so im not a paint waster but a couple times i found myself shooting awfly fast on this machanical with NO chops. someone wrote"if you put an electro grip on this, itl be sweet" i thought that was retarded because you might as well buy an electro for twenty bucks more. besides, the way it is now is great. a few people complained about chops but ive experienced none. This gun is light, comfortable, speedy, powerful, and affordable. On top of great performance, theres great managability. its easy field strip and fits most marker accessories. Ive never played with the stock barrell, i use a CMI 16 incher and that takes a lot of the loudness away, some people complained about accuracy but SERIOUSLY, all my shots were about 3 to 1 inch apart from each other when i really tried. the air it uses is about average, doesnt kill air fast but its not a dream either, so you might want a 20 ounce for more play but i prefer a 12 ounce for the weight and comfort. on of my favorite things about its air usage is all the shots are consistent on accurracy and distance (and this is with cheap monster balls). Some people might look for more in a gun especially in speedball (which sucks) but its better than anything ive ever handled under 100 bucks. if your a begginer or an intermediate player looking for something long term and durable, buy this.
P.S. sorry if speedball sucks but i dont get what i need from it, wheres the hiding, the surprise, the sneaking, flanking, and dodging. maybe its just me but i hate it when the enemy knows your there and its a lame sluggfest of who shoots the most bps. wheres the tactical advantage?)
Conclusion: Buy it, read review, its short, and everythings there.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow Angel Tuesday, July 18th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Mr1
Spyder sonix
However nothing this bad
Marker Setup: Ion
Stiffi
Blue Dye Back
Blue Hybrid grips
Blue NDZ roller compiste trigger
Pink Ion body kit
Blue Halo w/ rip drive
Virtue Board membrane
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing will make this gun good
Strengths: In review (nothing)
Weaknesses: Everything
(in review)
Review: This gun is terible.

-Strengths-
Nothing
This gun again I say is terible and I would not recomend it to anyone who wants to be a paintballer who has a good gun.

-Weaknesses-
Everything
ball choping- Bad this gun chops
Trigger pull- Terible: this trigger pull is terrible it is like 1inch
color- my fried=nds is silver and it looks ugly as heck.
Conclusion: I give it a 1 because there is no 0
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
1 Comment - Add Comment

Big Evil Monday, July 17th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder, Tippmann, Autococker, ICD, Shocker...
Marker Setup: Icon Z - just bought it, only used once

Update: I have made several changes since this review, read review below. This is the list of upgrades I've already done.

Freak barrel kit, Halo loader, ND low rise, Modified stock bolt (polished, venturi delete, smoothed bolt face), Polished factory striker, Inside of marker body polished, 32* Spring kit, 32* Turbo Valve, Palmer Stabilizer, Electra ACS rocking trigger frame

Marker is now set up to run LP (low pressure). I'm working on a break-beam eye installation to eliminate chops.
Recommended
Upgrades:
Any Spyder upgrade should fit, so pick your flavor and rock out.
Definitely upgrade the trigger, bolt, and barrel.
An agitated hopper is a must if you use an electronic trigger frame

Strengths: Price
looks
easy to upgrade
Weaknesses: Stock trigger
Gun needs tweaking out of the box
Review: I got a nice deal on a package that I couldn't pass up. For the Icon Z, 16oz tank, JT Axiom thermal goggles, squeegee, barrel condom, hopper, Extreme Rage tank cover, Redz 2-pod carrier, and a 200rd load of paint was $170. I'm just getting back into the sport and I couldn't afford another Autococker, but it seemed like a decent deal for what it is.

Anyway, the first time out here's what I've noticed.

First, the safety would not engage properly. No big deal, I just put a thin - roughly 1mm thick - washer between the trigger and the frame, problem solved. This will also take some of the play out of the trigger that some had complained about.

Second issue was velocity. In the chrono booth I couldn't stay below 285 (field speed limit) to save my life and even with the adjuster backed all the way out I could still trip the chrono at 360-380 for some reason. It took some tweaking and I ended up having to cut the spring - not a good idea.

Third issue was ball breaks. Lots of them. Again, I did some tweaking, but it's still not right and I need to do some research and figure this one out.

On the upside, the gun is a great platform for someone who likes tweaking things. As this gun is mechanically identical to a Spyder Xtra, there is no shortage of parts to make this one evil little marker. The first upgrades I'd recommend are a good hopper to keep the paint feeding properly, a good barrel, and a decent trigger upgrade. A feed neck is a necessity if you want the hopper to sit low to the marker.

Update:

In the past couple weeks I've pretty much torn this gun completely to it's bare parts and gone on an all out endeavor to make this gun operate more to my liking. The upgrades I added in this review are what I would recommend for anyone who wants a Spyder (or Spyder clone as the case may be) that can hang with the big dogs. I've gotten this gun to run LP, fire enough cycles/second that I can't walk the trigger fast enough to choke the feed, increased shots per tank, it's just a better gun.

Conclusion: I'd say buy it if you like to tinker with things and plan on upgrading. I am in no way disappointed with my purchase. Out of the box there are issues to address but nothing major and the issues at hand only give reason to do the upgrades most will do anyway. I'm giving it a 6 out of the box because it's not perfect - but it could be. With the right parts this thing could easily hang with the big dogs of the industry.

Updated score: 9, and that's only because it's not perfect just yet.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, July 25th, 2006 at 6:58 pm PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

Shadow_Lang Wednesday, June 28th, 2006
The accuracy of this review is disputed. Please see discussion on the comments page.
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Nothing as bad as this.
Marker Setup: Ion
Stiffi
Blue Body Kit
Blue Halo B w/ rip
Blue CP reg
Blue Q Lock
Blue Line/hose
Virtue + Membrane
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nothing will make this better.
Strengths: Nothing.
Weaknesses: Everything.
Review: This gun is awefull. I barely got 2 shots out of this gun and I heard a blub blub blub Crash and burn. This is terible I can't stand it it's really that bad I couldn't stand it before I wanted to through it out the window.
Conclusion: I give it a 1 cauz there is no 0.
Rating:
1 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment

Mr.T.Baggins Tuesday, June 27th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
2 years
Similar
Products Used:
Tippmann 98(much better)
Tippmann a-5(alot better)
Autococker trilogy(also alot better)
Various spyders(all of them better)
Marker Setup: Tippmann a-5
Tacamo wood ak-47 barrel kit
Tacamo wood ak stock
Tacamo sight rail
Opsgear ak-47 hideaway mag
E-grip W.A.S
Penspring and my own trigger modding
Stock hopper or 30 round tac cap
Remote
48/3000 pmi air tank

Side arm:
Tiberius 8
Recommended
Upgrades:
Better barrel(if you must keep the gun)
New expansion chamber(The one that comes stock doesnt do anything)
Strengths: Lots a features
Looks cool
Light trigger pull
Weaknesses: All the crap you get it is crap
Stock barrel blows
Picky about weather
Review: Well my friend bought this gun online and we all had to try it out. I played a bit with it and it seemed alright at first. But when we started to play a bit we noticed the thing is terribly inaccurate and the expansion chamber does like nothing. The drop is really crappy too. The things stock barrel is terrible but even when my friend replaced it the gun still sucked. It had poor range and curved like mad. The thing has nice and shiny options but don't them fool you. I would never buy anything from 32 degrees after seeing this peice.
Conclusion: It was a peice my friend wont even play paintball anymore till he gets a new gun. Thanks 32 degrees your scaring newbs away from the sport. I'll give it a 3 cuz it did shoto and did have many features
Rating:
3 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, March 31st, 2007 at 2:56 am PST
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

pbYttri Saturday, June 24th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
Less than a month
Similar
Products Used:
first gun
Marker Setup: icon z
shake'n'bake 200 round hopper
9 oz. CO2
Recommended
Upgrades:
none
Strengths: Accurate
Fast for low-end gun
Looks,i love the looks
Weaknesses: I haven't found any
Review: I've used this gun about 10 times and it shoots beautifully,i haven't had a problem yet.i bought the gun at actionvillage.com for 80 bones.This gun in my opinion is the best for the price even though i havent shot much else.I've shot my friend's guns which were a victor II and a 98 custom.My gun never ever chopped yet,it has great speed and i think you cant beat the looks.
Conclusion: If your looking for a cheap beginner gun that is reliable,this is the gun
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

gt5012lover Monday, June 19th, 2006
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
1 year
Similar
Products Used:
Spyeder imagine,victor 2 and a a5
Recommended
Upgrades:
a longer barrle,better hopper
Strengths: Looks somewhat kool
Feels good
Weaknesses: Accuracy
So much air comes out front
Review: Well i was using this gun at the local Field when my imagine was broken and i rented it cuz it was cheap to rent. Well i get on Field start playing and im shooting it and so much smoke or air comes out the barrel it makes it hard to see and aim at lots of points. Also i was firing really fast and it broke about out of 10 balls so i needed to slow down my firing speed. Another bad thing is i was firing fast and balls go up and don no accuracy really.
Conclusion: Its okay if u dont care and just want to shoot like 3 shoots a second
Rating:
4 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (14):  1  |  2  |  3  |  4  |  5  |  Last
        Next Page
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media