paintball

  Join pbreview.com  |  Log In  
pbReview.com - Paintball Reviews and Paintball Fields

Search:

  
Home     |      Paintball Articles     |      Paintball Videos     |     Paintball Gear     |     Paintball Fields     |     Paintball Stores     |     Hot Deals     |     Paintball Forums     |     Chat
pbReview.com / Dragun TES / Dragun TES / Dragun TES / Dragun TES

Dragun TES Reviews

  Sponsored Links   

Discount Dragun

Buy Dragun TES

Paintball Low-End Electronic Markers

Paintball Hoppers

Paintball Clothing


Dragun TES
[ View Photos (19) - Add Your Photo ]
Number of Reviews: 229
Average Rating: 8.3 / 10
Manufacturer Website: N/A
Suggested Retail Price: $300

Manufacturer DescriptionSubscribe to Reviews on this Product - Edit this Product Listing
LCD Screen w/Shot Counter, Timer
Dragun Optic Sensor Eye
15 BPS Preset
20 BPS Capable
Aluminum Double Trigger
Custom Drop Forward
Bottomline Configuration
Regulator
Custom 3-D Milled Body
Hi-Flow 90 ASA
Hi-Flow Dragun Valve
M92 Frame
2-Piece Vertical
Dragun Thread Barrel - 12"
Top Cocking Bolt
Low Pressure Operation
Product Availability 
The Dragun TES is older, so while it may be available used and in a few cases new, it is not commonly available anymore.
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links

Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Previous Page
Pages (23):  First  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23
                            
creature55 Thursday, November 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Anything made by M3 or Dragun
Bushmaster
Marker Setup: Grey TES
14" Freak
THOR Regulator
Spyder Gas-Thru
HALO B
Recommended
Upgrades:
New barrel, and maybe a new reg.
Strengths: SUPER FAST. Eye, no chops. Accurate. Low pressure.
Weaknesses: umm...lets see. plastic grip panels, sloppy trigger.
Review: This is a great gun. It is as good or better than any gun up to $600. There is no better gun for the price, and it is better than alot of guns more expensive than it.

When i first got this gun, i bought a drop forward for it, and the hose threads from the ASA and thr regulator were different, so i used my THOR that i had lying around.

This gun shoots like a dream. Alot of people at my field were wondering why they had $500+ guns when all they needed was this low costing TES.
Conclusion: Buy this gun. you wont regret it. It shoots fast, it never chops, its accurate. What more could you ask for? This gun gets a 9 out of 10, becuase there is no perfect gun.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Sunday, December 7th, 2003 at 3:00 am PST
I found this review  
3 Comments - Add Comment

big0jig0 Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month
Paintball
Experience:
6 months
Similar
Products Used:
All types of spyders, and tippmans. Spyders are similar but waste more air, are a little less accurate and cant keep up. Tippmans are IMO only good for scenario pb not speedball which is what I play.
Marker Setup: I have a green to black fade TES completly stock with a J&J Ceramic 14" barrel and a self modded bolt.
Recommended
Upgrades:
I recommend a faster loader although with the anti chop eye, this gun will still perform well with gravity hopper. I also recommend a better barrel and nitro setup. But it is great stock.
Strengths: Accuracy
Speed
Looks
Feel
Anti Chop Eye
Price
Weaknesses: Can't detect black paint which is the issue for all eyes.
Review: The only thing that has bothered me so far is that the instruction book isnt very wordy. It tells you very little on how to opperate the lcd menu and how to disable the antichop eye which i still do not know how to do. But other than that i have been playing with some tournament guys that use angels and autocockers and shockers and i get them out just as often as they get me. Like today i got out 2 guys that had angels that were both covering me and they were telling me nice shot and everything and i hs both of them. I have had a crap load of people ask me about my gun too like "Hey what kind of gun is that" and "I have been wondering if these were good or not" so it makes me feel special. So far I love my new TES. And i plan on using it in tournaments and upgrading it and i don't see any limitations yet. So if you are wanting to go a step up from your spyders and tippmans and other low level markers and dont wanna spend a crapload of money this is the gun for you. I used to have a spyder xtra and i could only get off like 4bps max in game but now i can shoot strings of paint all in one burst. Only thing about this is i owned my friend with about 6 hits twice and he didnt appreciate it. I said i kept shooting till he called out but the gun shoots so fast the other 5 balls were allready in the air.
Conclusion: Get it, out of the box it rips. I love it and am glad I bought it. It might cost a lot less than all the known "good" guns but I think it can keep up just the same. No chops yet and i have a gravity hopper untill i get some money for a viewloader with x board.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

aMagicStick~ Sunday, November 23rd, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bushmaster BKO (Keeps up with easily if not faster)
Vert 03 cocker (Not even close, Acc is a + though)
Alot of other spyder clones (No way, this thing is absolutely the BEST blow-black marker period.)
Marker Setup: Dragun T.E.S
Taso Winforce barrel, J&J Ceramic, Dye ultralite
Recommended
Upgrades:
As soon as it comes out, buy new grip cover (for looks because the clear is so ugly)
Barrel
Maybe new reg
Bolt
DEFINATLY a Halo, or Egg or something fast, this thing blazes.
If you can, go nitro. its INSANE
Strengths: Fastest blowback(20bps),r that matter also faster then some electro-pneumatics.
VisionEyeComparibleTo$700Guns
DecentStockBarrel

Weaknesses: SOMETIMES eye doesnt work with some Clear-Shelled paint.
ugly looking grip frame.
Review: This marker is absolutley without a doubt the BEST blow-back. It outfires some elec-pneu markers(20bps). Decent stock barrel, Decent regulator, pretty much runs LP stock. The nicest trigger on a blow-back ive ever seen, nicely adjustable and sharp looking. Great milling, top cocking is nice, and nice colors to choose from. Works great on Co2, even better on nitro, definately a plus to be able to use co2(anti-siphon is best of course). Head-Turner, not many people have seen or heard of this gun. Most people will think, wow what kind of electro-pneu is that if they see you fire but not see the gun. Angel-owners always ask to fire it because they cant bealive how well a blowblack works. The are shocked when they find out it had an eye, and they ask wow.. how much did you pay for this? 500$? I just laught and say $220.00.
Conclusion: One of the best purchases youll make.
Go on eBay and buy one for $225.00
BEST blow-back, no spyders or spyder clones even compare.
FASTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

sleeperide Friday, November 21st, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
32 degrees impulse, 4x4 shocker, shocker turbo, spyder TL, spyder one, piranha ext, automag with centerflag e-grip, spyder em1
Marker Setup: Psycho Ballistics lighting autococker black, empire barrel kit, black ice regulator, Psycho Ballistics drop forward, 88ci 4500psi cross fire stubby, 12v empire hopper.
Recommended
Upgrades:
new regulator and drop, plastic bolt, empire barrel kit, halo b hopper, and a nitro tank
Strengths: volume of paint P.S, the eye, light wight, price, anodize paint job, lcd grip,
Weaknesses: the regulator uses weird threading so doesn't the drop
Review: i have used many high end electro guns and this can one keep up with any of them. i never would thought that a blow back bolt can keep up with a angel or a impulse. this thing is so fast that the 12volt revy can't even keep with it. so i had to get a halo b hopper. one problem i had with the gun is the reg. it can spike once or twice per pod. so i try-ed to replace the reg, but the reg and drop uses a smaller threading then a stand spyder. so to replace the reg you must replace the drop. then another problem came up. the grip uses spyder screw. the screw is too small to use on a different drop so i had to go buy a set of screws. not a big thing but time consuming. but after that the gun will rip and take out any body that has a angel. just make sure you get a barrel kit because stock barrels are never the way to go if you are trying to get points for fashion.

The Good and the Bad

GOOD

- 15ps on semi
- lcd grip frame with shot counter, game timer
- fade paint job
- price
- looks

BAD

- regulator threading
- drop threading
- grip frame threading
- can turn off eye
Conclusion: my conclusion the gun is great for the price. but i would only use it as a back up gun. this gun is a head turner for rec ball but tournaments are cocker or intimater deal. i say if you play rec ball more then tournaments then this is the gun for you. i give this gun a 8 out of 10
Rating:
8 out of 10Last edited on Friday, November 21st, 2003 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
4 Comments - Add Comment

mstrmellow Wednesday, November 19th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
3 months2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
More than 5 years
Similar
Products Used:
Bob Long Intimidator, Orracle Autococker. Do either give you $1000 more performance than the TES? For me, no. For a pro, maybe.
Marker Setup: 2003 dragun tes, palmer stabilizer, remote coil, 20 oz. CO2, maddman rocket valve, Spudnuk'l nylatron LP bolt, j&j ceramic 14", halo b, zenitram dragun tooth trigger straight
Recommended
Upgrades:
Palmer stabilizer if you use CO2. Zenitram trigger. Halo B to keep up.
Strengths: For $229 new on Ebay, great deal. 20 bps and electronic eye.
Weaknesses: Stock trigger slop. Plastic grips suck.
Review: For the money, I don't know of a better "bang for the buck" marker. This thing rips right out of the box. I use it with CO2 via a remote line and Palmer Stabilizer.

UPDATE: I have installed a Maddman Rocket Valve and Spudnuk'l LP nylatron bolt. My TES now runs at 210 psi/285 fps. I get 1400 shots per 20 oz CO2 fill, which lasts the whole day for me. The marker is much quieter now that it's running LP, accuracy is better due to increased consistency. The stock vertical ASA is manufactured for LP operation already, so I basically just added the new valve and bolt to make my TES LP, no other modifications needed.

This marker will outshoot a Revvy, I needed to sell mine and buy a Halo B in order to keep up with the rate of fire. The stock barrel is ok, I went with a J&J ceramic 14" to get it really, really quiet. Match your paint to the barrel, and accuracy is great.

The electronic eye works well, as long as you don't use dark-colored paint. You can achieve slightly higher rates of fire by turning the eye off, but you risk outpacing your loader and chopping a ball.

The Bad:
- The stock see-through plastic grips SUCK, waiting for aftermarket grips.
- The stock trigger is sloppy, buy a Zenitram or plan on spending a few hours tricking the stock one out.


Other than those few minuses, I think this is one of the best paintball purchases you can make for the money.
Conclusion: Is this thing "better" than a tricked-out cocker or Timmy? NO. But it shoots just as fast. This is a heckuva lot of marker for very little cash. Great job Dragun! (Just upgrade the grips for Pete's sake)
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Saturday, January 24th, 2004 at 6:39 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

jjennings Sunday, November 16th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 months
Similar
Products Used:
none
Marker Setup: T.E.S. with revolution X hopper and Dye Ti Boomstick 16"
Recommended
Upgrades:
Nitro and a good hopper. Stock barrel is good but with a upgrade the TES is deadly
Strengths: Optic eye, electro trigger
Weaknesses: regulator is weird size.cover screw for the eye is a torx bit. Instructions???
Review: For you guys that do not know how to turn the eye off. Hold the trigger for about 8 seconds they cycle the marker. They need a upgrade on the grips ABS plastic is ok. but I want something better. ALL in all for the TES's price the gun is loads better then anything on the market. (Just my opinion)
Conclusion: Good gun for the price You can't go wrong. Just if you get this gun. Make sure you talk to people about it. Because the Instructions don't tell you JACK
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
0 Comments - Add Comment

hereiskyle Saturday, November 15th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Only tested
Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Impulse, timmy, bushmaster
Marker Setup: z series intimidator
was wicked switch
powerlyte scepter
halo b
68/3k
Recommended
Upgrades:
electro hopper, maybe a barrel
Strengths: super fast, good looking, anti-chop eye
Weaknesses: reg isn't very good,
Review: THE GOOD:Keeps up with higher end guns it is cool looking and comes in a bunch of different colors. It has a anti-chop eye so it will never chop paint. it has a stock barrel that is better than most but i still would recomend upgrading to a boomstick or ultralite.

THE BAD: if the anti-chop gets dirty it won't work but thats the same with all paintball detection systems. The reg isn't very consistent. it uses weird size gas fittings so if you want to change regs you might have to change the whole drop forward. most air tanks won't fit on the drop forward/asa.
Conclusion: even though there are a few things wrong with it i still think it is the best gun for under $400. 9 out of 10 because of the reg and can't fit most air tanks on it.
Rating:
9 out of 10Last edited on Tuesday, January 6th, 2004 at 7:40 pm PST
I found this review  
2 Comments - Add Comment

r84x Thursday, October 30th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
Less than a month35 of 40 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
3 years
Similar
Products Used:
Model 98 Custom with E-Bolt, electronic trigger, HPA, J&J 14" ceramic barrel, expansion chamber. That was my old/backup marker, which shot very well, and like all Tippmanns, was incredibly reliable. The rate of fire on the TES is better than the Tippy, as is the TES's eye, but I have not owned my TES long enough to compare the ruggedness and reliability of the m98.
Marker Setup: Dragun TES / J&J Edge Ceramic Barrel Kit / System X 68ci - 4500psi HPA / Empire Reloader Hopper (soon to be an egg) / backup is a tricked out ebolt m98c
Recommended
Upgrades:
While the stock barrel is better than most, I would highly recommend to anyone who wants to play seriously to get a barrel kit. I use the J&J Edge ceramic kit, and have seen great results with it. Slick as hell and accurate. Spyder-threaded, by the way.
Another recommendation is to get an agitated/forcefed hopper. I am currently using an Empire Reloader agitated hopper, and easily outshoot it. With the TES, getting above 15 balls per second is fairly easy, so I am moving to an Evlution II hopper (with a Z-Board).
HPA should be a given, if you can afford it, as it offers many advantages over CO2.
Strengths: Rate of fire, value pricing, electronic eye, many features found on higher end markers.
Weaknesses: Plastic grip and the eye, but there is a nice E-Grip upgrade coming soon.
Review: While at the 2003 World Cup in Orlando, playing for the University of Nebraska X-Ball team, I came across a display from a manufacturer I knew little about. Someone was railing on a display marker, and I was intrigued. Approaching the man behind the counter of the Dragun trailer, I asked him what he was shooting. He told me it was the Dragun TES, a new marker from Dragun. After test firing it myself and firing it faster than I thought I could, I asked about the price. I was shocked. He told me I could have one for $260, about half of what I estimated it to be. This was the World Cup, after all, where you can get great new gear for very little dough, but $260 seemed really low. After a day or two of rationalizing spending money I did not really have, I picked one up. After working out a few minor problems with the marker, I used it in 3 games of XBall. I found that I could have a very high ROF and decent accuracy, and I even impressed a couple hardcore Angel freaks on my team. After putting nearly 6,000 rounds of paint through it, I had surprisingly a surprisingly low amount of ball chopping, less than 2 dozen. That was with the eye turned OFF. I am thus far unimpressed with the eye, it works really well at 10 bps or less, but when you really start to rail on it, the eye seems to sputter. I am sure that the new grip and electronics coming out in a couple months will work a lot better, but for now the eye will suffice.
Conclusion: Overall, this is a great mid-level marker. I don't know of any other sub-$300 marker that gets 20 bps, but I 'm sure there is one out there. I would recommend buying this to anyone out there, even as an entry level marker for someone with a little more cash than I had when I got into paintball. The eye is about the only major weakness, but that can be dealt with. I would recommend that you wait for the new gripframe to come out, I looked at the prototype in Orlando and it is great. 9 out of 10, because no one is perfect.
Rating:
9 out of 10
I found this review  
21 Comments - Add Comment

olred8u Monday, October 27th, 2003
Period of
Product Use:
6 months1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Paintball
Experience:
4 years
Similar
Products Used:
Spyder E99, Spyder Electa DX, and any stack tub blow backs
Marker Setup: Dragunfly mechanical and others
Strengths: The anti-chop eye and the trigger is wicked
Weaknesses: the grip is big and if your into looks its ugly
Review: Where can I start,
The milling and the fade job looks sick!
the two pice vertical feed is a plus,
the lcd screen makes it wok easy,
the trigger is comparable to a Impulse,
and its a stack tube blow back with an anti-chop eye, that really works. Spyder and other companies have yet to come out with one.
It comes with a hard case to carry it in, thats always nice.
Conclusion: I run a local paintball store and we sell them for $299.99. And for that price it is so worth the money. If your a young gun, or a newby and wanting to get a higher end gun, this is the one to get. I would even use it in the World Cup, if I wasent such a Cocker fan. But this year at the world cup I did see a Division on X-ball team useing two of them.
Rating:
10 out of 10
I found this review  
5 Comments - Add Comment
Previous Page
Pages (23):  First  |  20  |  21  |  22  |  23
                            
Write a review and share your thoughts with other paintballers.
Show:
Places to Buy
No StoresSponsored Links


Help / FAQ  |  Contact Us  |  About Us  |  Advertising Info  |  Link to Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
Top

Paintball Review

Copyright © 2000-2014 Hillclimb Media